Solicitation
Triennial Circuit Breaker and Feeder Testing
Department of Veterans Affairs
AI summaryThe Department of Veterans Affairs wants the electrical power distribution system at the Reno VA Medical Center in Nevada tested, plus a breaker coordination study and an updated arc flash analysis. The solicitation says only certified service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSBs) can bid, though SAM.gov lists a general veteran-owned small business set-aside. It is one firm-fixed-price (FFP: one set price, whatever the work ends up costing) line, and the response due date is November 9, 2026, 12:00 PM Pacific (an amendment moved it to Nov 20, 2026, 12:00 PM PST · 3:00 PM Eastern). More in the summary
A newer version of this notice was posted Oct 23, 2026. It moves the due date from Nov 9, 2026 to Nov 20, 2026, which is the date shown on this page. See the latest version.
AI summary Beta
Summary of the version posted Oct 15, 2026. The notice was amended Oct 23, 2026. The due date moved from Nov 9, 2026 to Nov 20, 2026. Check what else changed on SAM.gov. This summary may miss requirements: 2 of 6 attachments weren't read (Facility Floor Plan.pdf, Wage Determination 2015-5595 Washoe County.pdf). Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
The Department of Veterans Affairs wants the electrical power distribution system at the Reno VA Medical Center in Nevada tested, plus a breaker coordination study and an updated arc flash analysis. The solicitation says only certified service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSBs) can bid, though SAM.gov lists a general veteran-owned small business set-aside. It is one firm-fixed-price (FFP: one set price, whatever the work ends up costing) line, and the response due date is November 9, 2026, 12:00 PM Pacific.
Who can bid (6)
- Certified service-disabled veteran-owned small business (SDVOSB) listed in the SBA certification database at the time of offer and at award
- Small business under the size standard shown on the form for NAICS 238210
- All contractor employees certified as Certified Technicians by the International Electrical Testing Association (NETA) or an equivalent organization, each with an Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) 10-hour construction safety course, and a superintendent with the OSHA 30-hour certification
Show all 6Show fewer
- Five continuous years of experience in maintenance, inspection and testing of electrical power distribution systems in healthcare, industrial, educational and commercial facilities
- All certifications and licenses required by local, state and federal jurisdictions
- Insurance: employer's liability of at least $100,000, general liability of $1,000,000 per occurrence, and automobile liability of $200,000 per person, $500,000 per occurrence and $20,000 property damage; general liability must have no asbestos exclusion, shown before award
How to submit: Email all documentation to alex.arter@va.gov, due November 9, 2026, 12:00 PM Pacific. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (7)
- Serious: Only certified SDVOSBs can bid; SAM.gov label differs. The solicitation says a total SDVOSB set-aside, and offers from firms not certified and listed in the Small Business Administration (SBA) database at the time of offer are not considered, while SAM.gov shows a Veteran-Owned Small Business set-aside; ask the contracting officer if you are not a certified SDVOSB.
- Serious: Subcontracting certification must come with the offer. Offers without the signed limitations on subcontracting certification are not considered; the box checked is special trade construction, with no more than 75 percent paid to firms that are not certified SDVOSBs.
- Serious: Certified technicians and five years of experience. Every technician must hold a certification from the International Electrical Testing Association (NETA) or an equivalent group, and the firm needs five continuous years of testing experience on electrical power systems.
Show all 7Show fewer
- Worth checking: Scope goes beyond breaker testing. The single price also covers a facility-wide coordination study of the overcurrent protective devices (breakers and fuses), updated one-line diagrams, an updated arc flash analysis and new labels on all equipment.
- Worth checking: Most testing is at night and on weekends in a working hospital. The recommended schedule has most testing from 6 PM to 6 AM, plus a Saturday and a Sunday, and outages must be coordinated with the facility 2 weeks ahead.
- Worth checking: Insurance proof before award. The winning bidder must show general liability coverage with no asbestos exclusion before award.
- Minor: Report due 7 days after testing. A full written report with data, photos, repair cost estimates and a medium-voltage cable replacement estimate is due after the work ends.
Read from the notice and 4 attachments. 2 of 6 not read. Show which files.
- 36C26127Q0067 0001.docx (read)
- 36C26127Q0067_1.docx (read)
- C27 - Single-Line Schematics.pdf (read)
- Facility Single Line Diagram.pdf (read)
- Facility Floor Plan.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Wage Determination 2015-5595 Washoe County.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
Full summary
What they want
- Test the electrical distribution system at the VA Reno facility: oil-cooled medium-voltage switches, medium-voltage cables (very low frequency tests, every vault inspected), liquid-filled transformers (24.9kV primary side), circuit breakers, feeder cables, and air-cooled transformers (480V primary side)
- Test and exercise all 225-amp, 3-pole circuit breakers and above, including panel main breakers; torque busing and lug connections; megger (insulation test) all low voltage feeder cables; clean electrical connections; and label each tested item
- Take standard and infrared photos of every item tested (JPEG, under 4MB each, named by building and panel), and work with the VA to fix and re-scan hot spots
- Do an overcurrent protective device coordination study for the entire Reno facility, update the one-line diagrams (color-coded for the three emergency power branches), and update the arc flash hazard analysis with new arc flash labels on all equipment
- Deliver a written PDF report within 7 days of testing and survey completion, with test data, photos, failed components with repair cost estimates, National Electrical Code (NEC) violations with cost estimates, and a separate cost estimate to replace all medium-voltage cabling by vault
- Report any failed item to the contracting officer's representative (COR) right away; repairs are the facility's job and are not in this scope
- Follow the recommended testing schedule as a starting point: about 12 days plus time for new facilities, mostly 6 PM to 6 AM, with a Saturday day shift and an early Sunday shift; send a progress chart schedule for COR review
- Contract type
- Firm-fixed-price; one line item, quantity 1.00, unit JB
- Period of performance
- No base or option structure is stated. The Statement of Work says the work should be done as soon as possible after the notice to proceed, and its recommended schedule runs about 12 days plus time for new facilities.
- Place of performance
- Reno VA Medical Center (VA Sierra Nevada Health Care System), 975 Kirman Ave, Reno, NV 89502
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- How they'll choose
- Price only; the Government awards to the responsible bidder whose offer conforms to the solicitation and is most advantageous to the Government
- Offers due
- November 9, 2026, 12:00 PM Pacific (from the version posted Oct 15, 2026; amended since)
- How to submit
- Email all documentation to alex.arter@va.gov
What they'll judge offers on
- Price
What to include when you submit
- Include the solicitation number; your name, address and telephone number; your Unique Entity ID (UEI); and a statement of how far you agree with all terms, conditions and provisions
- Complete and sign the limitations on subcontracting certification (Veterans Affairs Acquisition Regulation (VAAR) 852.219-75) and return it with the offer
- Fill in the price schedule: one line item, quantity 1.00, unit JB, with unit price and amount
- Acknowledge Amendment 0001 (dated October 14, 2026), which added the Single-Line Schematics attachment
- Prices must stay firm for 60 calendar days from the date offers are received
- Before award, the successful bidder must show evidence of general liability insurance with no asbestos exclusion
After award, you must have
- Electrical safety training for each technician (OSHA 29 CFR 1910 Subpart S and National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) 70E, as a Qualified Person), with certificates or the employer's written certification submitted to the contracting officer before work From 36C26127Q0067_1.docx:
Training certifications shall be submitted to the VA Contracting Officer before work.
- Calibration documentation for all instruments, test equipment, tools and personal protective equipment before starting work From 36C26127Q0067_1.docx:
Prior to initiating work, Contractor shall provide documentation that all instruments, test equipment, tools, and PPE have current calibration.
Current contractor
No incumbent is named. The solicitation was first posted September 25, 2026 as a Sources Sought notice. No competition or value figures are given.
Not in the notice text
- Facility Floor Plan.pdf and Wage Determination 2015-5595 Washoe County.pdf are scanned files attached but not read; parts of the solicitation form and the two single-line diagram files (their middle sections) were also left out of the text read.
- The documents read do not mention a site visit, so whether one is held or required is unknown.
- The wage rule is a wage determination (No. 2015-5595, Washoe County) listed in Section D and not read; the documents read name no Davis-Bacon wage determination.
- No question deadline is given, and the notice gives no contact for questions beyond the submission email.
- No start date or finish date is given, only that the work should be done as soon as possible after the notice to proceed.
- The contract's total value is not stated.
Eligibility and how to respond
- Only veteran-owned small businesses certified through SBA's VetCert can bid as the prime contractor. Not certified through VetCert yet? Apply on VetCert (SBA), or start with the veteran-owned guide. More open veteran-owned set-asides under NAICS 238210
- How to submit, from the AI summary: Email all documentation to alex.arter@va.gov. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
- Service contracts usually set minimum pay rates (the Service Contract Act). Price the labor with the SCA price calculator.
- Construction contracts over $2,000 pay at least the local Davis-Bacon wage rates, from the wage determination in the solicitation. Price your labor from it: How to price a government contract, and how Davis-Bacon differs from the Service Contract Act.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 15, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Office
- 261-Network Contract Office 21 (36C261), Mather, CA
- Product/service code
- J061 · Maint/Repair/Rebuild of Equipment – Electric Wire and Power Distribution Equipment
- Business type
- Construction & renovation (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 238210)
- Versions
9 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 23, 2026 · AmendmentDue Nov 20, 2026
- Oct 23, 2026 · AmendmentDue Nov 20, 2026
- Oct 23, 2026 · AmendmentDue Nov 20, 2026 (changed)
- Oct 19, 2026 · AmendmentDue Nov 9, 2026
- Oct 15, 2026 · Amendment 0001 (this version)Due Nov 9, 2026
- Oct 14, 2026 · AmendmentDue Nov 9, 2026
- Oct 9, 2026 · AmendmentDue Nov 9, 2026
- Oct 9, 2026 · SolicitationDue Nov 9, 2026 (changed)
- Sep 25, 2026 · Sources SoughtDue Oct 2, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
- Open SDVOSB set-aside contracts
Terms on this notice: Solicitation, SDVOSB (service-disabled veteran-owned small business), Set-aside
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- 657A5-26-111, Triennial Electrical TestingThe VA's Network Contracting Office 15 wants a contractor to do three-yearly electrical testing, inspection and maintenance of the power distribution system at the Marion VA…
- SOURCES SOUGHT NOTICE - Triennial Electrical Inspection Testing and Maintenance Services Requirement - Louis A Johnson VA Medical Center 36C24527Q0039This is a sources sought notice, not a request for offers: the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Network Contracting Office (NCO) 5 is asking firms to send a capability…
- Triennial Electrical Maintenance - Amendment 4 Pop: 12/01/2026 - 11/30/2027 Plus 4 Option YearsOnly service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSBs) can bid.
- WTX Elevator Inspections and Load Testing ServicesOnly certified Service-Disabled Veteran-Owned Small Businesses (SDVOSBs) listed in the SBA certification database can bid on this Department of Veterans Affairs job.