Solicitation
Triennial Circuit Breaker and Feeder Testing
Department of Veterans Affairs
AI summaryOnly service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSB) verified in the Small Business Administration (SBA) database can bid. The Department of Veterans Affairs Network Contracting Office 21, for the Reno VA Healthcare System, wants its electrical power system tested every three years. The response due date is November 9, 2026, 12:00 PM Pacific (an amendment moved it to Nov 20, 2026, 12:00 PM PST · 3:00 PM Eastern), and the award is decided on price only. More in the summary
A newer version of this notice was posted Oct 23, 2026. It moves the due date from Nov 9, 2026 to Nov 20, 2026, which is the date shown on this page. See the latest version.
AI summary Beta
Summary of the version posted Oct 19, 2026. The notice was amended Oct 23, 2026. The due date moved from Nov 9, 2026 to Nov 20, 2026. Check what else changed on SAM.gov. This summary may miss requirements: 2 of 6 attachments weren't read (Facility Floor Plan.pdf, Wage Determination 2015-5595 Washoe County.pdf). Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
Only service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSB) verified in the Small Business Administration (SBA) database can bid. The Department of Veterans Affairs Network Contracting Office 21, for the Reno VA Healthcare System, wants its electrical power system tested every three years. The response due date is November 9, 2026, 12:00 PM Pacific, and the award is decided on price only.
Who can bid (7)
- Be a certified service-disabled veteran-owned small business (SDVOSB) listed in the SBA certification database when you submit the offer and at award
- Be a small business under the size standard for NAICS 238210 (shown as $19 Million on the SF 1449)
- Hold all certifications and licenses that local, state and federal authorities require for this work
Show all 7Show fewer
- All contractor employees certified as technicians by the International Electrical Testing Association (NETA) or an equivalent body, each with an Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) 10-hour construction safety course; the superintendent needs the OSHA 30-hour course
- At least five continuous years of documented experience testing electrical power distribution systems in healthcare, industrial, educational and commercial facilities
- Insurance: general liability of $1,000,000 per occurrence; automobile liability of $200,000 per person, $500,000 per occurrence and $20,000 property damage; employer's liability of at least $100,000. Before award, show general liability coverage with no asbestos exclusion
- Active registration in the System for Award Management (SAM), the federal contractor database (clause 52.204-7 is listed)
How to submit: Email to alex.arter@va.gov, due November 9, 2026, 12:00 PM Pacific. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (10)
- Serious: Service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses only. Only SDVOSBs listed in the SBA certification database can bid; offers from other firms are not considered.
- Serious: Signed subcontracting-limit certification must come with the offer. A missing certification makes the offer ineligible; the form marks special trade construction, so no more than 75% of the amount paid to you may go to firms that are not certified SDVOSBs.
- Serious: Certified testing technicians and five years of experience required. Every worker needs NETA or equivalent technician certification, so a firm without certified electrical testers cannot meet the requirement.
Show all 10Show fewer
- Worth checking: Mostly night and weekend testing in a working hospital. Most testing days run 6:00 PM to 6:00 AM, and outages must be coordinated with the VA 2 weeks ahead, so staffing and scheduling need planning.
- Worth checking: Scope goes beyond testing. The work also includes a facility-wide coordination study, updated one-line diagrams, a new arc flash analysis and installing new arc flash labels, all of which must be priced.
- Worth checking: Limits on how much work can go to other firms. No more than 75% of the amount paid to you may go to firms that are not certified SDVOSBs, measured by the end of the base term and each option period.
- Worth checking: Insurance proof needed before award. The winning bidder must show general liability coverage without an asbestos exclusion before award.
- Worth checking: Wage determination 2015-5595 for Washoe County is attached but not read. The wage rates that apply to workers are in a scanned file that could not be read; check it on SAM.gov before pricing.
- Minor: Final report due 7 days after testing. The full written report with data, photos and cost estimates is due within 7 days of finishing testing and survey.
- Minor: Repairs of failed items are not read (it may be an attached file the AI skipped; check SAM.gov). You test and report; the facility fixes failures, but you must still give repair cost estimates in the report.
Read from the notice and 4 attachments. 2 of 6 not read. Show which files.
- 36C26127Q0067 0001.docx (read)
- 36C26127Q0067_1.docx (read)
- C27 - Single-Line Schematics.pdf (read)
- Facility Single Line Diagram.pdf (read)
- Facility Floor Plan.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Wage Determination 2015-5595 Washoe County.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
Full summary
What they want
- Test the medium-voltage switches and cables, liquid-filled and air-cooled transformers, circuit breakers and feeder cables marked on the color-coded one-line diagrams (drawings of how power flows through the building)
- Exercise and test circuit breakers of 225 amps and up, torque busing and lug connections, test low-voltage feeder cables with a megger (insulation tester), clean connections and label each item tested
- Take standard and infrared photographs of each item tested; infrared scans are done on energized equipment, with follow-up scans after any retightening
- Do an overcurrent protective device coordination study for the whole facility, update the single-line diagrams, and update the arc flash hazard analysis with new arc flash labels on all equipment
- Deliver a written PDF report within 7 days of finishing testing and survey, with test data, photos, failed components, repair cost estimates, and a separate estimate to replace the medium-voltage cable
- Follow the VA's sample 12-day test sequence as a starting point; most testing is set for 6:00 PM to 6:00 AM, with photography in normal hours
- Repairs of failed items are not part of the work; the facility handles them
- Contract type
- Firm-fixed-price (FFP): one set price, whatever the work ends up costing. One line item, QTY 1.00, unit JB
- Period of performance
- Not stated. The VA wants the work done as soon as possible after the notice to proceed; the sample schedule runs Day 1 through Day 12, plus a to-be-decided day for new facilities
- Place of performance
- Reno VA Medical Center, 975 Kirman Ave, Reno, NV 89502
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- How they'll choose
- Price only: the Government awards to the responsible bidder whose offer meets the solicitation and is most advantageous, and price is the only factor listed
- Offers due
- November 9, 2026, 12:00 PM Pacific (from the version posted Oct 19, 2026; amended since)
- How to submit
- Email to alex.arter@va.gov
What they'll judge offers on
- Price
What to include when you submit
- Send all documents electronically by email to alex.arter@va.gov
- Include the solicitation number 36C26127Q0067, your name, address and telephone number, and your Unique Entity Identifier (UEI)
- Complete and sign the Standard Form 1449 (SF 1449): the form you sign and return as your offer, and fill in the price for the one line item
- Return the signed limitations on subcontracting certification (VAAR 852.219-75), which limits how much work you may pay to firms that are not certified SDVOSBs; offers without it are not considered
- Include a statement of how far you agree with all terms and conditions, and acknowledge Amendment 0001 (it added the single-line schematics)
- Hold your prices firm for 60 calendar days after the response due date
After award, you must have
- Before work starts, give the contracting officer National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) 70E electrical safety training certificates showing each technician is a Qualified Person, or a written statement from the employer
- Before work starts, document that all test instruments, tools and protective gear have current calibration, with dated labels visible
Not in the notice text
- Attached but not read: the Facility Floor Plan and Wage Determination 2015-5595 Washoe County (scanned files with no readable text). The middle of the solicitation file, the single-line schematics and the Facility Single Line Diagram were also only partly read.
- Whether a site visit is held or required: the text read does not mention one, and this is a construction code (NAICS 238210).
- Which wage rule applies: the notice names wage determination 2015-5595 for Washoe County, but the file was not read.
- The deadline for questions, if any, is not given in the text read.
- How long the contract runs: no start date or end date is given beyond the sample test sequence.
- No dollar estimate for the work is given.
Eligibility and how to respond
- Only service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSBs) certified through SBA's VetCert can bid as the prime contractor. Not certified through VetCert yet? Apply on VetCert (SBA), or start with the SDVOSB guide. More open service-disabled veteran-owned set-asides under NAICS 238210
- How to submit, from the AI summary: Email to alex.arter@va.gov. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
- Service contracts usually set minimum pay rates (the Service Contract Act). Price the labor with the SCA price calculator.
- Construction contracts over $2,000 pay at least the local Davis-Bacon wage rates, from the wage determination in the solicitation. Price your labor from it: How to price a government contract, and how Davis-Bacon differs from the Service Contract Act.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 19, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Office
- 261-Network Contract Office 21 (36C261), Mather, CA
- Product/service code
- J061 · Maint/Repair/Rebuild of Equipment – Electric Wire and Power Distribution Equipment
- Business type
- Construction & renovation (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 238210)
- Versions
9 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 23, 2026 · AmendmentDue Nov 20, 2026
- Oct 23, 2026 · AmendmentDue Nov 20, 2026
- Oct 23, 2026 · AmendmentDue Nov 20, 2026 (changed)
- Oct 19, 2026 · Amendment 0001 (this version)Due Nov 9, 2026
- Oct 15, 2026 · AmendmentDue Nov 9, 2026
- Oct 14, 2026 · AmendmentDue Nov 9, 2026
- Oct 9, 2026 · AmendmentDue Nov 9, 2026
- Oct 9, 2026 · SolicitationDue Nov 9, 2026 (changed)
- Sep 25, 2026 · Sources SoughtDue Oct 2, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
- Open SDVOSB set-aside contracts
Terms on this notice: Solicitation, SDVOSB (service-disabled veteran-owned small business), Set-aside
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- Triennial Electrical Maintenance - Amendment 4 Pop: 12/01/2026 - 11/30/2027 Plus 4 Option YearsOnly service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSBs) can bid.
- 657A5-26-111, Triennial Electrical TestingThe VA's Network Contracting Office 15 wants a contractor to do three-yearly electrical testing, inspection and maintenance of the power distribution system at the Marion VA…
- SOURCES SOUGHT NOTICE - Triennial Electrical Inspection Testing and Maintenance Services Requirement - Louis A Johnson VA Medical Center 36C24527Q0039This is a sources sought notice, not a request for offers: the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Network Contracting Office (NCO) 5 is asking firms to send a capability…
- WTX Elevator Inspections and Load Testing ServicesOnly certified Service-Disabled Veteran-Owned Small Businesses (SDVOSBs) listed in the SBA certification database can bid on this Department of Veterans Affairs job.