Solicitation
Triennial Circuit Breaker and Feeder Testing
Department of Veterans Affairs
AI summaryThe Department of Veterans Affairs (VA), Network Contracting Office 21, is setting this job aside for service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSB): testing the electrical distribution system at the Reno VA Medical Center, 975 Kirman Ave, Reno, Nevada, which the VA does every three years. The contractor tests breakers, feeder cables, medium-voltage switches and transformers, takes regular and infrared (heat-detecting) photos, and updates the facility's coordination study (how protective devices trip in order), one-line diagrams (drawings of how power flows) and arc flash (electrical blast) hazard analysis. Award is on price alone for one firm-fixed-price job (one set price, whatever the work ends up costing), and the VA, not the contractor, repairs anything that fails. More in the summary
A newer version of this notice was posted Oct 23, 2026. It moves the due date from Nov 9, 2026 to Nov 20, 2026, which is the date shown on this page. See the latest version.
AI summary Beta
Summary of the version posted Oct 14, 2026. The notice was amended Oct 23, 2026. The due date moved from Nov 9, 2026 to Nov 20, 2026. Check what else changed on SAM.gov. This summary may miss requirements: 2 of 6 attachments weren't read (Facility Floor Plan.pdf, Wage Determination 2015-5595 Washoe County.pdf). Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
The Department of Veterans Affairs (VA), Network Contracting Office 21, is setting this job aside for service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSB): testing the electrical distribution system at the Reno VA Medical Center, 975 Kirman Ave, Reno, Nevada, which the VA does every three years. The contractor tests breakers, feeder cables, medium-voltage switches and transformers, takes regular and infrared (heat-detecting) photos, and updates the facility's coordination study (how protective devices trip in order), one-line diagrams (drawings of how power flows) and arc flash (electrical blast) hazard analysis. Award is on price alone for one firm-fixed-price job (one set price, whatever the work ends up costing), and the VA, not the contractor, repairs anything that fails.
Who can bid (6)
- Service-disabled veteran-owned small business (SDVOSB) certified by the Small Business Administration (SBA) and listed in the SBA certification database when the offer is submitted and at award; also small under the NAICS 238210 size standard (the solicitation form shows $19 Million)
- Agree to the limitations on subcontracting: pay no more than 75 percent of the amount the VA pays you to firms that are not certified SDVOSBs, measured by the end of the base term
- All contractor employees certified as technicians by the International Electrical Testing Association (NETA) or an equivalent body, each with the 10-hour OSHA construction safety course; the superintendent needs the 30-hour OSHA certification
Show all 6Show fewer
- At least five continuous years of working experience in maintenance, inspection and testing of electrical power distribution systems in healthcare, industrial, educational and commercial facilities
- All certifications and licenses required by local, state and federal jurisdictions for this work
- Insurance: general liability of $1,000,000 per occurrence; automobile liability of $200,000 per person, $500,000 per occurrence and $20,000 property damage; employer's liability of at least $100,000. The successful bidder must show general liability coverage with no asbestos exclusion before award
How to submit: Email to alex.arter@va.gov; all documentation must be submitted electronically, due November 9, 2026, 12:00 PM Pacific (3:00 PM Eastern). What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (9)
- Serious: Total SDVOSB set-aside, verified in SBA database. Only service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses certified by the SBA and listed in its database can bid; other small businesses and uncertified firms are out.
- Serious: Signed subcontracting certification required with the offer. The limitations on subcontracting certificate must be completed, signed and returned with the offer, or the offer is not considered; the 75 percent cap limits how much work can go to firms that are not certified SDVOSBs.
- Serious: Certified technicians and five years of testing experience. Every technician must hold NETA or equivalent certification, and the firm needs five continuous years testing power systems in facilities like hospitals, which narrows who can bid.
Show all 9Show fewer
- Worth checking: SAM.gov shows no set-aside. The SAM.gov listing says the set-aside is not stated, but the solicitation document says total SDVOSB set-aside; ask the contracting officer to confirm before bidding.
- Worth checking: Overnight and weekend testing in an operating hospital. The suggested schedule has most testing from 6 PM to 6 AM, a Saturday and a Sunday, and the contractor must plan multiple test teams to keep to it.
- Worth checking: Coordination study and arc flash update are part of the price. Beyond breaker testing, the work includes a facility-wide study, redrawn one-line diagrams and new arc flash labels, which adds engineering work to price.
- Worth checking: Proof of insurance without asbestos exclusion before award. The successful bidder must give the contracting officer evidence of general liability insurance with no asbestos exclusion before award, so check your policy.
- Minor: Final report due 7 days after testing, with repair cost estimates. The report must be sent within 7 days of testing and survey completion and must price repairs for failed items and for replacing all medium-voltage cable, even though repairs are not part of the job.
- Minor: Coordinate outages 2 weeks ahead. The contractor must coordinate with the COR and the facility 2 weeks before any outages, which affects when testing can start.
Read from the notice and 4 attachments. 2 of 6 not read. Show which files.
- 36C26127Q0067 0001.docx (read)
- 36C26127Q0067_1.docx (read)
- C27 - Single-Line Schematics.pdf (read)
- Facility Single Line Diagram.pdf (read)
- Facility Floor Plan.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Wage Determination 2015-5595 Washoe County.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
Full summary
What they want
- Test and exercise the electrical power distribution system shown on the color-coded one-line diagrams: medium-voltage (MV) switches, liquid-filled transformers (24.9 kV primary) and air-cooled transformers (480 V primary), circuit breakers rated 225 amps and up, and feeder cables, following the ANSI/NETA testing standard
- Test existing MV cables with very low frequency (VLF) methods from vault to vault, and inspect every vault with pictures
- Torque busing and lug connections, megger (insulation-test) all low-voltage feeder cables, clean electrical connections, and label each tested item with the test date and the testing firm
- Take standard photos and infrared photos of every item tested; infrared work is done while the system is energized during normal working hours, with follow-up photos after the VA fixes loose connections
- Do an overcurrent protective device coordination study for the entire Reno facility, correct and update the one-line diagrams (red for life safety, blue for critical, green for equipment branch), and update the arc flash hazard analysis, with new arc flash labels provided and installed and old ones removed
- Report any failed item to the contracting officer's representative (COR, the VA's on-site contact) right after the failed test; corrective repairs are not part of this work
- Send a written PDF final report to the contracting officer and COR within 7 days of testing and survey completion, with all test data, photos, deficiencies, repair cost estimates, and a separate cost estimate to replace all existing MV cabling vault by vault
- Follow the VA's suggested testing schedule: about 12 testing days made up mostly of overnight shifts (6 PM to 6 AM), plus a Saturday and a Sunday; changes are considered case by case
- Contract type
- Firm-fixed-price (one set price, whatever the work ends up costing); one job line (Item 0001), total SDVOSB set-aside
- Period of performance
- Starts after the notice to proceed (the VA's order to start work); no end date is stated. The VA's suggested testing schedule runs Day 1 through Day 12 plus a to-be-decided day for new facilities.
- Place of performance
- Reno VA Medical Center (VA Sierra Nevada Health Care System), 975 Kirman Ave, Reno, Nevada 89502
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- How they'll choose
- Price only: award to the responsible offeror whose offer meets the solicitation, judged on price alone
- Offers due
- November 9, 2026, 12:00 PM Pacific (3:00 PM Eastern) (from the version posted Oct 14, 2026; amended since)
- How to submit
- Email to alex.arter@va.gov; all documentation must be submitted electronically
What they'll judge offers on
- Price: one total for Item 0001 (1 job)
What to include when you submit
- Include the solicitation number; your name, address and phone number; your Unique Entity Identifier (UEI) and electronic funds transfer (EFT) indicator if it applies; and a statement of how far you agree with all terms, conditions and provisions and any amendments
- Fill in the price for Item 0001 (1 job) on the price schedule; the proposal must reflect all work in the Statement of Work
- Sign and return the limitations on subcontracting certification (VAAR 852.219-75) with the offer; offers without it are not considered. The certification marked in this solicitation is the special trade construction one: no more than 75 percent of the amount the VA pays you to firms that are not certified SDVOSBs
- Include answers to any provisions that ask you to fill in information, representations or certifications that are not already in SAM.gov
- Acknowledge Amendment 0001 in the acknowledgment-of-amendments block of the solicitation form
- Hold your prices firm for 60 calendar days after the offer due date
- Be verified in the Small Business Administration (SBA) database when you submit the offer
After award, you must have
- Training certificates showing each technician is a qualified person under the electrical safety standard NFPA 70E, sent to the contracting officer before work starts, along with proof that all instruments, tools and protective gear are currently calibrated From 36C26127Q0067_1.docx:
Training certifications shall be submitted to the VA Contracting Officer before work.
Current contractor
No incumbent is named. The notice was first posted on SAM.gov as a Sources Sought on September 25, 2026; no response counts or capable-firm numbers are given.
Not in the notice text
- Not read: the facility floor plan and the Washoe County wage determination 2015-5595 (scanned PDFs with no text), part of the middle of the solicitation clauses, and part of the two single-line diagram files, which show the equipment to be tested
- Which wage rates apply: the solicitation lists Wage Determination 2015-5595 Washoe County, which could not be read
- How much equipment is on the one-line diagrams, so the number of breakers, transformers and cable runs to test is not clear
- When testing must finish: no end date is stated, only that work starts after the notice to proceed
- The Government's estimate is not given
- Whether a site visit or a question deadline applies: neither appears in the text provided
Eligibility and how to respond
- SAM.gov lists no set-aside, but the notice text limits who can bid:
- The notice text says this is set aside for service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSBs), but SAM.gov lists no set-aside. Ask the contracting officer which one applies before you bid.
- How to submit, from the AI summary: Email to alex.arter@va.gov; all documentation must be submitted electronically. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
- Service contracts usually set minimum pay rates (the Service Contract Act). Price the labor with the SCA price calculator.
- Construction contracts over $2,000 pay at least the local Davis-Bacon wage rates, from the wage determination in the solicitation. Price your labor from it: How to price a government contract, and how Davis-Bacon differs from the Service Contract Act.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 14, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Office
- 261-Network Contract Office 21 (36C261), Mather, CA
- Product/service code
- J061 · Maint/Repair/Rebuild of Equipment – Electric Wire and Power Distribution Equipment
- Business type
- Construction & renovation (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 238210)
- Versions
9 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 23, 2026 · AmendmentDue Nov 20, 2026
- Oct 23, 2026 · AmendmentDue Nov 20, 2026
- Oct 23, 2026 · AmendmentDue Nov 20, 2026 (changed)
- Oct 19, 2026 · AmendmentDue Nov 9, 2026
- Oct 15, 2026 · AmendmentDue Nov 9, 2026
- Oct 14, 2026 · Amendment 0001 (this version)Due Nov 9, 2026
- Oct 9, 2026 · AmendmentDue Nov 9, 2026
- Oct 9, 2026 · SolicitationDue Nov 9, 2026 (changed)
- Sep 25, 2026 · Sources SoughtDue Oct 2, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
Terms on this notice: Solicitation
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- SOURCES SOUGHT NOTICE - Triennial Electrical Inspection Testing and Maintenance Services Requirement - Louis A Johnson VA Medical Center 36C24527Q0039This is a sources sought notice, not a request for offers: the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Network Contracting Office (NCO) 5 is asking firms to send a capability…
- 657A5-26-111, Triennial Electrical TestingThe VA's Network Contracting Office 15 wants a contractor to do three-yearly electrical testing, inspection and maintenance of the power distribution system at the Marion VA…
- Triennial Electrical Maintenance - Amendment 4 Pop: 12/01/2026 - 11/30/2027 Plus 4 Option YearsOnly service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSBs) can bid.
- WTX Elevator Inspections and Load Testing ServicesOnly certified Service-Disabled Veteran-Owned Small Businesses (SDVOSBs) listed in the SBA certification database can bid on this Department of Veterans Affairs job.