Solicitation
Triennial Circuit Breaker and Feeder Testing
Department of Veterans Affairs
AI summaryOnly certified service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSBs) can bid on solicitation 36C26127Q0067 from the Department of Veterans Affairs (Network Contract Office 21). It covers testing of the electrical power system at the Reno VA Medical Center in Nevada, and SAM.gov shows no set-aside. The response due date is November 20, 2026, 12:00 PM Pacific, extended from November 9, 2026, and price is the only evaluation factor. The work includes breaker, feeder and transformer testing, infrared photos, a coordination and arc flash study with updated drawings, and a final report, mostly at night and on weekends. More in the summary
A newer version of this notice was posted Oct 23, 2026. See the latest version.
AI summary Beta
Summary of another version of this notice: check what changed on SAM.gov. This summary may miss requirements: 3 of 8 attachments weren't read (Facility Floor Plan.pdf, D1014-8 C03 36C26124P0555_TESTING REPORT.pdf and 1 more). Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
Only certified service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSBs) can bid on solicitation 36C26127Q0067 from the Department of Veterans Affairs (Network Contract Office 21). It covers testing of the electrical power system at the Reno VA Medical Center in Nevada, and SAM.gov shows no set-aside. The response due date is November 20, 2026, 12:00 PM Pacific, extended from November 9, 2026, and price is the only evaluation factor. The work includes breaker, feeder and transformer testing, infrared photos, a coordination and arc flash study with updated drawings, and a final report, mostly at night and on weekends.
Who can bid (5)
- Stay within the limit on subcontracting for special trade construction: no more than 75 percent of the amount paid, excluding materials, may go to firms that are not certified SDVOSBs.
- Return the signed VAAR 852.219-75 certificate of compliance with the quote.
- Be registered in SAM.gov with a unique entity identifier (UEI) and have at least five continuous years of experience maintaining, inspecting and testing electrical power distribution systems in healthcare, industrial, educational and commercial facilities (checked as a responsibility matter after quotes).
Show all 5Show fewer
- All contractor employees certified as Certified Technicians by NETA or an equivalent organization, each with OSHA 10-hour construction safety training; the superintendent needs OSHA 30-hour certification.
- Show evidence of general liability insurance with no asbestos exclusion before award. Minimums: general liability $1,000,000 per occurrence; automobile liability $200,000 per person, $500,000 per occurrence and $20,000 property damage; employer's liability of at least $100,000.
How to submit: Email to alex.arter@va.gov; split into several emails if the files are over 20MB. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (11)
From the version posted Oct 23, 2026.
- Serious: Signed subcontracting certificate must come with the quote. The VAAR 852.219-75 certificate limits payments to firms that are not certified SDVOSBs to 75 percent of the amount paid, excluding materials; quotes without the signed certificate are not evaluated.
- Worth checking: SAM.gov shows no set-aside. SAM.gov lists no set-aside, but the solicitation and the answers to questions say total SDVOSB set-aside, and the VA says it will update the SAM.gov notice.
- Worth checking: Testing is at night, on weekends and on federal holidays. Electrical testing runs 6:00 PM to 6:00 AM, weekends and federal holidays, with outages set with the contracting officer's representative (COR, the VA's on-site contact) 2 weeks ahead to protect patient care.
Show all 11Show fewer
- Worth checking: Contractor does the 25 kV switching. The vendor is responsible for switching the medium-voltage system, which needs qualified high-voltage staff; VA electricians may help only at 600 volts and less.
- Worth checking: Engineer's seal required on the study. The coordination study and arc flash analysis must be sealed by a licensed Professional Engineer (PE), so a firm without one on staff needs to hire one.
- Worth checking: Certified technicians and experience required. All employees must be certified by the International Electrical Testing Association (NETA) or an equivalent group and hold Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) 10-hour training, and the firm needs five continuous years of experience.
- Worth checking: Equipment counts come from earlier tests and the scope may grow. The counts of switches, breakers and cables are from previous tests, and the sample schedule adds a Day 12 plus days to be decided for newer buildings that the documents do not list.
- Worth checking: Insurance without asbestos exclusion before award. The successful bidder must show general liability insurance with no asbestos exclusion before award, which some policies do not provide.
- Minor: Optional site visit on November 5, 2026. The site visit is at 1:00 PM PST at the front entrance of Building 12, Reno VA Medical Center, and attendance is optional but encouraged to see equipment types, locations and quantities.
- Minor: Protective relay testing and engraved arc flash labels are in scope. The answers add relay testing and professionally engraved arc flash labels showing room numbers, which the statement of work does not spell out.
- Minor: Repairs are not read (it may be an attached file the AI skipped; check SAM.gov) but the report must price them. The VA fixes failed items, but the report must include repair cost estimates, code violation costs, and a separate estimate to replace all existing medium-voltage cabling.
Read from the notice and 5 attachments. 3 of 8 not read. Show which files.
- 36C26127Q0067 0002.docx (read)
- 36C26127Q0067 0001.docx (read)
- 36C26127Q0067_1.docx (read)
- C27 - Single-Line Schematics.pdf (read)
- Facility Single Line Diagram.pdf (read)
- Facility Floor Plan.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- D1014-8 C03 36C26124P0555_TESTING REPORT.pdf: not read (it couldn't be opened): open it on SAM.gov
- Wage Determination 2015-5595 Washoe County.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
Full summary
What they want
- Test the Reno VA electrical power distribution system to the American National Standards Institute (ANSI)/NETA Maintenance Testing Specification and Veterans Health Administration (VHA) Directive 1028: 11 medium-voltage switches, 10 medium-voltage transformers, 477 circuit breakers, 570 feeder cables and 27 low-voltage transformers (counts from previous tests).
- Test existing medium-voltage cables with very low frequency (VLF) procedures from vault to vault, inspect every vault, and photograph them.
- Exercise all circuit breakers of 225 amps (3-pole) and above, torque busing and lug connections, test low-voltage feeder cables with a megohm meter, clean connections, and label each tested item.
- Take standard and infrared photos of each item tested (JPEG, under 4MB each); infrared work is done in normal hours, with follow-up photos after the VA fixes loose connections.
- Do a coordination study (how breakers trip in sequence) and an updated arc flash hazard analysis for the whole facility, with color-coded one-line drawings in PDF and CAD, new engraved arc flash labels with room numbers, and removal of old labels.
- Switch the 25 kV medium-voltage system for the outages; VA electricians may help with switching at 600 volts and less; protective relay testing is in scope.
- Send a written PDF report within 7 days of testing and survey completion, with test data, photos, failed items, cost estimates for repairs and code violations, and a separate cost estimate to replace all existing medium-voltage cable.
- Follow the VA's suggested schedule: 12 test days plus days to be decided for newer buildings, mostly 6 PM to 6 AM, with outages coordinated with the COR 2 weeks ahead. The VA does the repairs of failed items.
- Contract type
- Firm-fixed-price (FFP): one set price, whatever the work ends up costing. One line item, item 0001, quantity 1.00, unit JB.
- Period of performance
- No contract length stated. The VA wants the work done as soon as possible after notice to proceed (NTP, the VA's go-ahead to start). The sample schedule has 12 test days plus days to be decided.
- Place of performance
- Reno VA Medical Center, 975 Kirman Ave, Reno, NV 89502
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- How they'll choose
- Price only. The five years of experience is checked after quotes as a responsibility matter (whether the firm can do the work), not as technical acceptability.
- Offers due
- November 20, 2026, 12:00 PM Pacific
- How to submit
- Email to alex.arter@va.gov; split into several emails if the files are over 20MB
What they'll judge offers on
- Price
What to include when you submit
- Give a price on the B.2 price schedule (item 0001, quantity 1.00, unit JB), using the testing sequence in the statement of work schedule as the basis for pricing.
- Include the signed VAAR 852.219-75 limitations on subcontracting certificate.
- Include proof of SDVOSB certification status, and the FAR 52.212-3 representations and certifications if they are not already in SAM.gov.
- Sign SF 1449 Block 30 if required, and acknowledge the amendments (Amendments 0001 and 0002 are posted).
- Include what FAR 52.212-1(a) lists: the solicitation number; your name, address and phone number; your unique entity identifier (UEI); the information needed to evaluate price; and a statement of how far you agree with the terms.
- Hold your prices firm for 60 calendar days after the date offers are due.
After award, you must have
- Have a Professional Engineer (PE) seal the coordination study and arc flash analysis. The engineer does not need a Nevada license. From 36C26127Q0067 0002.docx:
Yes engineering seal is required. No, it does not need to be Nevada.
- Give the VA training certifications showing each technician is a Qualified Person under NFPA 70E (the National Fire Protection Association's electrical safety standard) before work starts, or a written certification from the employer. From 36C26127Q0067_1.docx:
Training certification shall be provided indicating each technician is a Qualified Person as defined by NFPA 70E.
- Provide documentation that all instruments, test equipment, tools and personal protective equipment (PPE) have current calibration before starting work. From 36C26127Q0067_1.docx:
Prior to initiating work, Contractor shall provide documentation that all instruments, test equipment, tools, and PPE have current calibration.
Current contractor
No incumbent is named. The answers say the previous vendor had an engineer on staff for the study, and an attached prior testing report (attached but not read) carries the number 36C26124P0555 in its file name.
Not in the notice text
- Attached but not read: Facility Floor Plan.pdf and Wage Determination 2015-5595 Washoe County.pdf (scanned, no text), D1014-8 C03 36C26124P0555_TESTING REPORT.pdf (too large); the middle of 36C26127Q0067_1.docx, C27 - Single-Line Schematics.pdf and Facility Single Line Diagram.pdf was left out.
- Which wage rule applies is not stated in the text read. Wage Determination 2015-5595 for Washoe County is listed (scanned, not read), and the clause list includes the Service Contract Labor Standards price adjustment clause 52.222-43; check the wage determination file on SAM.gov.
- How long the contract runs after notice to proceed is not stated.
- The anticipated award date was written against the November 9, 2026 due date (2-3 weeks after it); it is not restated for the November 20, 2026 response due date.
- The buildings covered by Day 12 plus days to be decided (newer facilities since 2017) and a full equipment list with counts are not given.
- The 2024 study model and drawing software format are not specified; the VA says it can provide its 2020 circuit breaker testing in the format it used.
Eligibility and how to respond
- SAM.gov lists no set-aside, but the notice text limits who can bid:
- The notice text says this is set aside for service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSBs), but SAM.gov lists no set-aside. Ask the contracting officer which one applies before you bid.
- How to submit, from the AI summary: Email to alex.arter@va.gov; split into several emails if the files are over 20MB. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
- Service contracts usually set minimum pay rates (the Service Contract Act). Price the labor with the SCA price calculator.
- Construction contracts over $2,000 pay at least the local Davis-Bacon wage rates, from the wage determination in the solicitation. Price your labor from it: How to price a government contract, and how Davis-Bacon differs from the Service Contract Act.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 23, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Office
- 261-Network Contract Office 21 (36C261), Mather, CA
- Product/service code
- J061 · Maint/Repair/Rebuild of Equipment – Electric Wire and Power Distribution Equipment
- Business type
- Construction & renovation (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 238210)
- Versions
9 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 23, 2026 · AmendmentDue Nov 20, 2026
- Oct 23, 2026 · Amendment 0001 (this version)Due Nov 20, 2026
- Oct 23, 2026 · AmendmentDue Nov 20, 2026 (changed)
- Oct 19, 2026 · AmendmentDue Nov 9, 2026
- Oct 15, 2026 · AmendmentDue Nov 9, 2026
- Oct 14, 2026 · AmendmentDue Nov 9, 2026
- Oct 9, 2026 · AmendmentDue Nov 9, 2026
- Oct 9, 2026 · SolicitationDue Nov 9, 2026 (changed)
- Sep 25, 2026 · Sources SoughtDue Oct 2, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
Terms on this notice: Solicitation
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- SOURCES SOUGHT NOTICE - Triennial Electrical Inspection Testing and Maintenance Services Requirement - Louis A Johnson VA Medical Center 36C24527Q0039This is a sources sought notice, not a request for offers: the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Network Contracting Office (NCO) 5 is asking firms to send a capability…
- 657A5-26-111, Triennial Electrical TestingThe VA's Network Contracting Office 15 wants a contractor to do three-yearly electrical testing, inspection and maintenance of the power distribution system at the Marion VA…
- Triennial Electrical Maintenance - Amendment 4 Pop: 12/01/2026 - 11/30/2027 Plus 4 Option YearsOnly service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSBs) can bid.
- WTX Elevator Inspections and Load Testing ServicesOnly certified Service-Disabled Veteran-Owned Small Businesses (SDVOSBs) listed in the SBA certification database can bid on this Department of Veterans Affairs job.