Combined Synopsis/Solicitation
Annual Test/Inspection of FireFly Device and Door Drop Cleveland VA Medical Center
Department of Veterans Affairs
AI summaryCombined synopsis/solicitation 36C25027Q0034 is a request for quotations (RFQ) set aside for certified service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSB), with a response due date of November 4, 2026, 12:00 PM Eastern. The Department of Veterans Affairs (VA), Network Contracting Office 10, wants yearly inspection and testing of Firefly fire-door release devices and drop doors at the Louis Stokes VA Medical Center and Fisher House in Cleveland, Ohio. The count is unclear: 18 devices in the notice, 19 devices in the specific tasks. The work is a base year starting December 1, 2026 plus four option years. More in the summary
AI summary Beta
Combined synopsis/solicitation 36C25027Q0034 is a request for quotations (RFQ) set aside for certified service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSB), with a response due date of November 4, 2026, 12:00 PM Eastern. The Department of Veterans Affairs (VA), Network Contracting Office 10, wants yearly inspection and testing of Firefly fire-door release devices and drop doors at the Louis Stokes VA Medical Center and Fisher House in Cleveland, Ohio. The count is unclear: 18 devices in the notice, 19 devices in the specific tasks. The work is a base year starting December 1, 2026 plus four option years.
Who can bid (5)
- Certified service-disabled veteran-owned small business (SDVOSB): the set-aside is 100 percent SDVOSB, and an SDVOSB must be designated in SAM.gov as certified by the Small Business Administration (SBA)
- Agree not to pay more than 50 percent of the amount the Government pays to firms that are not certified SDVOSBs or veteran-owned small businesses (limitations on subcontracting for services); sign the certificate with the quote
- Annual representations and certifications completed in SAM.gov (active SAM registration)
Show all 5Show fewer
- IDEA certified technicians; the quote must show the contractor is IDEA certified (the documents do not say what IDEA stands for)
- Insurance: employer's liability of at least $100,000, general liability of $500,000.00 per occurrence, and automobile liability; the winner must show general liability coverage with no asbestos exclusion before award
How to submit: Email to Contract Specialist Lakeisha Jackson (Lakeisha.Jackson@va.gov) and Contracting Officer Christopher Callihan (Christopher.Callihan@va.gov). What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (10)
From the version posted Oct 21, 2026.
- Serious: Only certified service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses can bid. This is a total set-aside, so firms without SBA SDVOSB certification are not eligible to receive the award.
- Serious: Signed subcontracting certificate must come with the quote. A quote without the whole signed VA limitations on subcontracting certificate is rejected, and the clause caps pay to non-SDVOSB firms at 50 percent.
- Worth checking: Device count differs: 18 or 19. The notice and scope say 18 devices, but the specific tasks say visual inspection of 19 devices and testing of 18 drop doors. The place of performance lists 15 plus 4 locations. Ask the contracting officer which count to price.
Show all 10Show fewer
- Worth checking: Test month given as both January and December. One part says each device is tested in January, and another says the work is completed in December each year. This affects scheduling and staffing.
- Worth checking: NAICS code and size standard conflict. The solicitation gives NAICS 541350 with an $11.5 Million size standard, but a small business program clause gives NAICS 812331 with a $40 Million size standard. Ask the contracting officer which governs.
- Worth checking: Text copied from another VA solicitation. The description names the Chillicothe VA Medical Center and lockout/tagout (a safety procedure that locks off equipment during servicing) procedures, which do not match a Firefly inspection in Cleveland. The quality control plan also cites OSHA lockout/tagout. Confirm what applies.
- Worth checking: Insurance proof required before award. The winner must show general liability insurance with no asbestos exclusion before award, plus employer's liability and automobile coverage.
- Minor: Questions due October 28, 2026. Questions go by email to the contract specialist and the contracting officer by October 28, 2026, 12:00 PM ET, before the response due date of November 4, 2026.
- Minor: Option year end dates and labels differ. The last option year ends December 1, 2031 in the price schedule and December 30, 2031 in the period list. Two price lines are labeled Option 2.
- Minor: Service Contract Act wage rules apply. A Department of Labor wage determination for Cuyahoga County (2015-4727, Revision 31) is attached and clause 52.222-41 applies. The attached text does not say which job title covers this work.
Read from the notice and 4 attachments. Show which files.
- Combined Synopsis Solicitation - Annual Test-Inspection of Firefly Device and Door Drop.pdf (read)
- 36C25027Q0034.docx (read)
- VA Notice of Limitations on Subcontracting Certificate of Compliance.pdf (read)
- Wage Determination - Cuyahoga County OH - 2015-4727 Rev 31.pdf (read)
Full summary
What they want
- Yearly on-site inspection and testing of Cookson Firefly release devices and roll-down fire doors (drop doors): 18 in the notice, 19 devices in the specific tasks; each price line is QTY 1.00 JB (job)
- Full visual inspection of every device and a drop test of every door to the manufacturer's guidelines; each door is dropped twice
- Change the batteries on each unit with properly rated replacements; doors are stickered and signed by IDEA certified technicians
- Send a pass/fail inspection checklist in PDF to the contracting officer's representative (COR) within 3 business days of each test
- Work with the Electric Shop: the fire alarm system goes into test mode first, and the COR delivers a shutdown request at least one week before work starts
- Work hours 0700-1600 Eastern Standard Time, Monday through Friday except federal holidays; check in and out at the Machine Shop
- Bring all labor, tools, equipment and supplies; no government furnished equipment is issued
- Send a written quality control plan (QCP) within 14 calendar days of award, and update it annually
- Contract type
- Firm-fixed-price (FFP): one set price, whatever the work ends up costing. Each of the five price lines is QTY 1.00 JB (job)
- Period of performance
- Base year December 1, 2026 to December 1, 2027, plus four one-year option years; the last option year ends December 1, 2031 in the price schedule and December 30, 2031 in the period list
- Place of performance
- Louis Stokes VA Medical Center, 10701 East Blvd., Cleveland, Ohio 44106 (15 locations), and Fisher House 1 and 2, 10521 Lee Ave., Cleveland, Ohio 44106 (4 locations)
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- How they'll choose
- Comparative evaluation of quotations, price and other factors considered. Technical capability and past performance together are more important than price. The Government may pick a higher-priced quotation, and options are evaluated at the time of award
- Offers due
- November 4, 2026, 12:00 PM Eastern
- How to submit
- Email to Contract Specialist Lakeisha Jackson (Lakeisha.Jackson@va.gov) and Contracting Officer Christopher Callihan (Christopher.Callihan@va.gov)
What they'll judge offers on
- Technical Capabilities: ability to do the work under the listed Joint Commission, VA service safety program, fire prevention plan and NFPA standards; the contractor demonstrates it is IDEA certified
- Past Performance: has successfully performed this work previously; completed the work in a timely manner
- Price: firm and fixed, with every option year priced on the price schedule
What to include when you submit
- Give a price for every price line, all four option years included, and a grand total
- Complete, sign and return the whole VA limitations on subcontracting certificate (clause 852.219-75) with the quote; without it the offer is rejected and not evaluated
- Include the solicitation number, your name, address and telephone number, and your Unique Entity ID (UEI), the number SAM.gov gives each registered business
- State whether the solicitation's terms and conditions are acceptable without change, or list each exception with the reason
- Show how you meet the listed Joint Commission, VA and NFPA standards, that you are IDEA certified, and past performance of this work, including that it was done in a timely manner
- Complete annual representations and certifications in SAM.gov
- Hold prices firm for 60 calendar days after the response due date
- Send questions by email to both contacts by October 28, 2026, 12:00 PM ET
After award, you must have
- Contractor employees at VA facilities may need a basic background investigation From Combined Synopsis Solicitation - Annual Test-Inspection of Firefly Device and Door Drop.pdf:
Contractor employees providing services at VA facilities may undergo a security…
Current contractor
No incumbent is named. Past performance is judged on having successfully performed this work previously; no previous contract number or follow-on is stated.
Not in the notice text
- Which count to price: 18 devices (notice and scope) or 19 devices (specific tasks), and whether testing falls in January or December
- Which NAICS code and size standard apply: 541350 with $11.5 Million, or 812331 with $40 Million
- What IDEA stands for and what proof of IDEA certification a quote needs
- Which wage determination job title applies to this work
- The Government's estimate or budget is not stated
Eligibility and how to respond
- Only service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSBs) certified through SBA's VetCert can bid as the prime contractor. Not certified through VetCert yet? Apply on VetCert (SBA), or start with the SDVOSB guide. More open service-disabled veteran-owned set-asides under NAICS 541350
- How to submit, from the AI summary: Email to Contract Specialist Lakeisha Jackson (Lakeisha.Jackson@va.gov) and Contracting Officer Christopher Callihan (Christopher.Callihan@va.gov). Check it in the notice before you send anything.
- Service contracts usually set minimum pay rates (the Service Contract Act). Price the labor with the SCA price calculator.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 21, 2026
- Notice type
- Combined Synopsis/Solicitation
- Office
- 250-Network Contract Office 10 (36C250), Dayton, OH
- Product/service code
- H212 · Equipment and Materials Testing – Fire Control Equipment
- Business type
- Engineering, architecture & research (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 541350)
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
- Open SDVOSB set-aside contracts
Terms on this notice: Solicitation, SDVOSB (service-disabled veteran-owned small business), Set-aside
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- Annual Inventory and Inspection of Fire and Smoke DoorsThe Department of Veterans Affairs (Central Texas VA contracting office in Temple, TX) wants a contractor to inventory and inspect fire and smoke doors, and to survey and fix…
- Annual/Sem-i annual fire smoke inspections and auto door services l EKHThe Department of Veterans Affairs wants quotes on solicitation 36C25526Q0617 for inspection, maintenance and repair of fire doors, smoke doors and automatic doors at the Dwight…
- Fire Alarm, Suppression Systems, and Hood Testing, Inspection, and Certification Services - SAVAHCSOnly certified service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSBs) can bid on solicitation 36C26227Q0010 from the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Network Contracting…
- Boiler Controls Inspection and Testing
- Government Publishing Office FY26 Equipment InspectionThe U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO) wants a NETA-certified electrical testing company to inspect, test, calibrate and repair 148 electrical breakers and protective relays…