Solicitation
Construction Services for the Gate 7 Parking Garage St. Elizabeths West Campus
General Services Administration · Public Buildings Service
AI summarySolicitation 47PB5126R0038, Phase 1 of two: technical proposals are due November 9, 2026, 4:00 PM Eastern Time (the response due date), after Amendment 0002 moved it from October 26, 2026 (passed). Only firms that take part in Phase 1 receive the Phase 2 drawings and specifications, and the Phase 2 due date is not set. The General Services Administration (GSA) wants one contractor to build the new Gate 7 Parking Garage and site work at the St. Elizabeths West Campus in Southeast Washington, DC, for the Department of Homeland Security (DHS). It is a single firm-fixed-price (FFP) construction contract, meaning one set price whatever the work ends up costing, with an estimated cost of $120,000,000.00 to $160,000,000.00. More in the summary
AI summary Beta
This summary may miss requirements: 1 of 12 attachments weren't read (Gate 7 Garage_65 Construction Documents_Lighting Cutsheets.pdf). Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
Solicitation 47PB5126R0038, Phase 1 of two: technical proposals are due November 9, 2026, 4:00 PM Eastern Time (the response due date), after Amendment 0002 moved it from October 26, 2026 (passed). Only firms that take part in Phase 1 receive the Phase 2 drawings and specifications, and the Phase 2 due date is not set. The General Services Administration (GSA) wants one contractor to build the new Gate 7 Parking Garage and site work at the St. Elizabeths West Campus in Southeast Washington, DC, for the Department of Homeland Security (DHS). It is a single firm-fixed-price (FFP) construction contract, meaning one set price whatever the work ends up costing, with an estimated cost of $120,000,000.00 to $160,000,000.00.
Who can bid (7)
- Registered in the System for Award Management (SAM.gov), with representations and certifications completed. The notice says all responsible firms may send proposals; SAM.gov does not state a set-aside.
- Take part in Phase 1 to receive the Phase 2 specifications and drawings, which go out as a Google Document; a GACA account is needed to receive them
- Safety Manager with a bachelor's degree or higher in a safety-related field and ten or more years of site construction safety management. A GSA answer allows 20 years of safety experience, a Certified Safety Professional (CSP) certification and two qualifying projects in place of the degree, if safety is the person's primary job.
Show all 7Show fewer
- All key personnel must have a minimum of two relevant projects completed within the past ten years in which the individual served in a similar role
- Two recent relevant construction projects as past performance, each with a completed Past Performance Questionnaire (PPQ, a form your past client fills out about your work)
- Phase 2: a bid guarantee, such as a bid bond, of 20 percent of the bid price or $3,000,000, whichever is less
- Phase 2: a project labor agreement (PLA) price proposal; offers without one cannot be awarded
How to submit: Email to Contracting Officer Jennifer Silkensen at jennifer.silkensen@gsa.gov; files are limited to 25 MB each, and larger documents go through a GSA Affiliated Custom Account (GACA). What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (13)
From the version posted Oct 22, 2026.
- Serious: Two-phase buy: this notice is Phase 1. Phase 1 technical proposals are due November 9, 2026, 4:00 PM Eastern Time; Phase 2 drawings and specifications go only to firms that took part in Phase 1, so a business that skips it may be shut out.
- Serious: Bid bond in Phase 2, then payment and performance bonds. A bid bond of 20 percent of the bid price or $3,000,000, whichever is less, is due with Phase 2 proposals, and payment and performance bonds follow after award.
- Serious: Project labor agreement price proposal required in Phase 2. A project labor agreement (PLA) is a pre-hire deal with labor unions on wages and work rules; firms that don't price one cannot receive the award.
Show all 13Show fewer
- Serious: Safety Manager and key personnel must meet set experience. The Safety Manager needs ten or more years of site construction safety management, and all key personnel need two relevant projects in the past ten years; firms without such staff are weak on a factor worth 25%.
- Worth checking: Large project: estimated cost $120,000,000.00 to $160,000,000.00. A job of this size needs bonding capacity and past projects of similar scale, which is hard for a small business to show alone.
- Worth checking: Funds are not presently available. The Government's obligation depends on appropriated funds, and no legal liability arises until award.
- Worth checking: Final completion time differs: 59 days or 60 days. The Agreement gives 59 calendar days after substantial completion to reach contract completion, while the statement of work gives 60 days (655 days in total from the notice to proceed).
- Worth checking: Liquidated damages of $1,351.78 per calendar day. If substantial completion runs past 595 calendar days from the notice to proceed, the contractor owes this amount for each day of delay.
- Worth checking: Active high-security campus and controlled information. Work is inside a National Historic Landmark campus with strict access control, and controlled unclassified information (CUI, sensitive but unclassified project data) must stay in GSA-approved systems, not email.
- Worth checking: Proposals go by email with a 25 MB file limit. Receipt time is set by the Government's computer system, GSA has seen email delays, and late proposals are rejected unless narrow exceptions apply.
- Minor: Pre-proposal conference canceled; site visit planned for Phase 2. Amendment 0002 cancels the Phase 1 conference to be rescheduled for Phase 2, and the Phase 2 site visit date will come in a later amendment; no site visit is required for Phase 1.
- Minor: Federal construction wage rates apply. Workers must be paid at least the Davis-Bacon wage rates in General Decision DC20260002 for the District of Columbia, which raises labor cost.
- Minor: Acknowledge all amendments in the proposal. Amendments 0001 and 0002 exist, and the solicitation requires proof of receipt of every amendment inside the proposal.
Read from the notice and 11 attachments. 1 of 12 not read. Show which files.
- Solicitation Amendment 47PB5126R0038_0002 SF30.pdf (read)
- Solicitation Amendment 47PB5126R0038_0001.pdf (read)
- 47PB5126R0038 SF1442 Gate 7 Parking Garage.pdf (read)
- 47PB5126R0038 Gate 7 Parking Garage Solicitation 201 SEPT 2026.pdf (read)
- 47PB5126R0038 Gate 7 Parking Garage Agreement 101 SEPT 2026.pdf (read)
- 26-0918_Gate 7 Garage_Final DBB SOW FY25 v1.pdf (read)
- Gate 7 Garage_65 Narrative.pdf (read)
- Gate 7 Garage_65 Construction Documents_Structural Calculations.pdf (read)
- Attachment 1 Proprietary Information Agreement.pdf (read)
- Attachment 2 - PBS Past Performance Questionnaire.pdf (read)
- DC20260002 DB WD Sept 2026.pdf (read)
- Gate 7 Garage_65 Construction Documents_Lighting Cutsheets.pdf: not read (it couldn't be opened): open it on SAM.gov
Full summary
What they want
- Build a new multi-level parking garage with surface parking, access and screening infrastructure, and campus improvements; the design narrative describes 5 levels
- Site work: clearing, grading, excavation, utility relocations and connections, stormwater management, landscaping, and erosion control
- Substructure and structure: foundations, retaining walls, structural framing, parking decks, ramps, stairs, elevators, and roof assemblies
- Mechanically ventilated garage system with gas detection, including installation, testing, balancing, and commissioning support (checking that systems work as designed)
- Exterior shell: panelized precast concrete envelope with in-laid brick, mesh-filled openings, doors, windows, louvers, and waterproofing
- Mechanical, electrical, plumbing, fire protection, fire alarm, lighting, IT, electronic security, access control, closed-circuit TV, and parking guidance systems
- Physical security elements: vehicle barriers, bollards, gates, credentialing booths, and screening-related infrastructure
- Work around active campus operations, protect historic and environmental resources, and deliver testing, training, warranties, as-built drawings, and building information model (BIM) and COBie (building asset data) closeout files
- Contract type
- Single firm-fixed-price (FFP) construction contract, awarded in two phases (Phase 1 qualifications, Phase 2 price and technical proposals)
- Period of performance
- Start within 10 days after receiving the notice to proceed (NTP); substantial completion within 595 calendar days of NTP; contract completion within 59 calendar days of substantial completion in the Agreement (the statement of work says 60 days, 655 days in total)
- Place of performance
- St. Elizabeths West Campus, 2701 Martin Luther King Jr. Avenue SE, Washington, DC 20032 (Southeast Washington, DC)
- Estimated value
- Estimated construction cost range of $120,000,000.00 to $160,000,000.00
- How they'll choose
- Best value tradeoff in two phases: non-price factors combined are significantly more important than Total Evaluated Price. Phase 1 is an advisory down-select (GSA tells each firm whether to go on, but a firm told no may still take part in Phase 2). GSA says it will not do a price realism analysis.
- Offers due
- November 9, 2026, 4:00 PM Eastern Time
- How to submit
- Email to Contracting Officer Jennifer Silkensen at jennifer.silkensen@gsa.gov; files are limited to 25 MB each, and larger documents go through a GSA Affiliated Custom Account (GACA)
What they'll judge offers on
- Phase 1 (this notice), four factors at 25% each: Factor 1 Safety Performance Record; Factor 2 Relevant Experience of the Offeror; Factor 3 Key Personnel Qualifications; Factor 4 Past Performance of Offeror
- Phase 2: Factor 1 Phase 1 Qualifications Evaluation (25%); Factor 2 Technical Approach / Construction Management Approach (25%); Factor 3 Project Schedule / Phasing / Logistics (20%); Factor 4 Quality Control / Safety / Risk Management Approach (20%); Factor 5 Small Business Participation (10%)
- Price (Phase 2): Total Evaluated Price, which adds the price of all options to the base price; a project labor agreement (PLA) price is lowered by the lesser of 10% or $15 million for the comparison
What to include when you submit
- Phase 1: send one electronic technical proposal organized to match the four Phase 1 evaluation factors, with the acknowledgement of all amendments included
- The cover letter, table of contents, section dividers, past performance questionnaires, amendments and Proprietary Information Agreement form don't count toward the Phase 1 page limit
- Factor 4: send past performance information for two recent relevant construction projects, with the Past Performance Questionnaire (Attachment 2) for each; they may be the same projects used for Factor 2 or different ones
- GSA evaluates only the first two projects submitted under each factor
- Safety Manager and other key personnel must each show the required experience, including two relevant projects completed within the past ten years in a similar role
- Time of receipt is the time the GSA contact's computer system records, not the time you sent it; confirm receipt before the deadline
- Phase 2 (later, date not set): send the price proposal as a separate electronic document, using the Standard Form 1442 (SF 1442, the form you sign as your offer) and the Agreement price form
- Phase 2 also needs a PLA price proposal, a bid bond on Standard Form 24, a subcontracting plan, GSA Form 527 (contractor qualification and financial information), representations and certifications, and proprietary information agreements
After award, you must have
- Payment and performance bonds after award From the notice:
BONDING: A bid bond is required in Phase 2 as well as payment and performance bonds after award.
- Insurance for the life of the contract: employers' liability of at least $2,000,000, commercial general liability of at least $5,000,000 per occurrence, automobile liability, and $5,000,000 per claim professional liability for the licensed design professionals the contractor hires From 47PB5126R0038 Gate 7 Parking Garage Agreement 101 SEPT 2026.pdf:
(b) Broad form comprehensive commercial general liability insurance in the…
- All personnel must pass a security check before working on the contract From the notice:
SECURITY: Before employees are allowed to work under the anticipated contract, all personnel are required to pass a security check.
Not in the notice text
- Only the start and end of the solicitation, the Agreement and the statement of work were read, so the Phase 1 factor details, Phase 1 page limits, joint venture rules and small business sections may add requirements; check the full files on SAM.gov. The lighting cutsheets file (Gate 7 Garage_65 Construction Documents_Lighting Cutsheets.pdf) was attached but not read.
- Phase 1 page limit and how many projects Factor 2 (Relevant Experience) asks for are not in the text read.
- The date for Phase 2 technical and price proposals is not set.
- The Phase 2 site visit and pre-proposal conference dates will be announced in a later amendment; the notice does not say if the site visit will be required.
- The notice does not say what the SBU Document is that must be submitted before firms receive the Phase 2 documents.
- SAM.gov does not state a set-aside; the notice says all responsible business firms may send proposals. Whether the subcontracting plan applies to small businesses is not stated in the text read.
- The specifications, construction drawings and Project Manual are provided to Phase 2 firms only, so the full technical scope is not visible in Phase 1.
Eligibility and how to respond
- No set-aside: any business, large or small, can bid unless the notice says otherwise.
- How to submit, from the AI summary: Email to Contracting Officer Jennifer Silkensen at jennifer.silkensen@gsa.gov; files are limited to 25 MB each, and larger documents go through a GSA Affiliated Custom Account (GACA). Check it in the notice before you send anything.
- Construction contracts over $2,000 pay at least the local Davis-Bacon wage rates, from the wage determination in the solicitation. Price your labor from it: How to price a government contract, and how Davis-Bacon differs from the Service Contract Act.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 22, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Office
- PBS Project Delivery Capital Construction - Branch Northeast, Washington, DC
- Product/service code
- Y1AZ · Construction of Other Administrative Facilities and Service Buildings
- Business type
- Construction & renovation (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 236220)
- Versions
3 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 22, 2026 · Amendment 0002 (this version)Due Nov 9, 2026 (changed)
- Oct 6, 2026 · Amendment 0001Due Oct 26, 2026
- Sep 27, 2026 · SolicitationDue Oct 26, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
Terms on this notice: Solicitation
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- 654-24-004 | Remediate Old Parking GaragePhase 1 of a two-phase Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) design-build repair, open only to verified service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSBs).
- Dino Replace Swing Arm GatesThe National Park Service wants a contractor to replace 11 metal pipe swing gates (plus new bollards, footings, signs and paint) at Dinosaur National Monument on the…
- FY27 NRM - 36C26126Q1261 | Re-slurry and Re-stripe Bldg. 88 and 98 Parking LotsOnly verified service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSBs) can bid on this Department of Veterans Affairs construction job.
- Construction of Chilled Water Plant and Site Utility Upgrades at VA Medical Center in West Haven, CTSolicitation W912WJ26RA008 is a phased buy: only Volume I (past performance) is due by the response due date, November 20, 2026, 1:00 PM Eastern.
- Design Build to Install Parking Shades and Parking Lot Reconfiguration Project 593-26-306This is Phase 1 of a two-phase buy by the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA), open only to service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSBs).