Sources Sought
Multi-Award Multi-Platform OTA
Department of Defense · Department of the Air Force
AI summaryThis is a sources sought notice, a market research request and not a solicitation. It comes from the Department of the Air Force (Air Force Life Cycle Management Center, AFLCMC WBK), for the B-1 System Program Office at Tinker Air Force Base, Oklahoma. It wants capability statements from firms able to join a standing pool of direct Other Transaction Agreement (OTA) holders. An OTA is a flexible government agreement outside the usual contract rules. The work is aircraft sustainment and parts obsolescence, planned for 10 years (2027 to 2037). The response due date is November 14, 2026, 5:00 PM Central, but Section 10 of the synopsis says October 30, 2026. More in the summary
Market research, not a bid. Replying is free and tells Department of the Air Force who could do this work. Send a short reply to the contracting contact; no price is needed. See the contact
A newer version of this notice was posted Oct 23, 2026. See the latest version.
AI summary Beta
Summary of the version posted Oct 15, 2026. The notice was amended Oct 23, 2026. Check what else changed on SAM.gov.
This is a sources sought notice, a market research request and not a solicitation. It comes from the Department of the Air Force (Air Force Life Cycle Management Center, AFLCMC WBK), for the B-1 System Program Office at Tinker Air Force Base, Oklahoma. It wants capability statements from firms able to join a standing pool of direct Other Transaction Agreement (OTA) holders. An OTA is a flexible government agreement outside the usual contract rules. The work is aircraft sustainment and parts obsolescence, planned for 10 years (2027 to 2037). The response due date is November 14, 2026, 5:00 PM Central, but Section 10 of the synopsis says October 30, 2026.
Who can bid (6)
- U.S. entities only; the Government may exclude foreign entities and firms under unmitigated foreign ownership, control or influence (FOCI)
- To receive an individual award: significant participation by a nontraditional defense contractor (NDC) or small business, or an all-NDC or small business team, or a 33% non-Federal cost share. An NDC is a firm not performing, and not having performed for the past year, any DoD contract or subcontract under full Cost Accounting Standards coverage
- Before an agreement award or prototype order, hold the certifications that fit your scope of work: AS9100 or AS9120B, NADCAP for relevant special processes, NAS 410 Level 3 inspection personnel, and an active DD Form 2345 (Joint Certification Program) registration
Show all 6Show fewer
- Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) Level 2 compliance or an active path to it, and a current NIST SP 800-171 self-assessment score in the Supplier Performance Risk System (SPRS) before any award involving controlled unclassified information (CUI)
- Ability to provide personnel with Secret clearances and to hold or obtain a Secret facility clearance; classified work only by U.S. citizens in accredited environments. Uncleared firms say whether they need Government sponsorship via DD Form 254
- Export control compliance policies under the International Traffic in Arms Regulations (ITAR) and Export Administration Regulations (EAR), and cloud services at the FedRAMP Moderate level for any CUI or technical data
How to submit: DoD SAFE (Department of Defense Secure Access File Exchange) to the Agreements Officer at julie.adamski@us.af.mil and cory.milford@us.af.mil, and to the Program Office at steven.cunha@us.af.mil, zachary.capps.6@us.af.mil and janet.hulin.1.ctr@us.af.mil. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (8)
- Serious: U.S. entities only. Foreign firms and firms with unmitigated foreign ownership, control or influence will not be reviewed.
- Serious: Award needs a statutory qualifying path. To receive an award you need significant participation by a nontraditional defense contractor (NDC) or small business, an all-NDC or small business team, or a 33% non-Federal cost share. Your response must name the path.
- Worth checking: Responses also qualify sources for later agreements. The Government will use these responses to qualify and award later 10 U.S.C. 4023 agreements. Not responding does not bar you from forthcoming solicitations.
Show all 8Show fewer
- Worth checking: Many aerospace certifications. AS9100 or AS9120B (aerospace quality standards), NADCAP (National Aerospace and Defense Contractors Accreditation Program), NAS 410 (inspector certification) and DD Form 2345 (a military critical technical data agreement) are needed before an award or prototype order, though subcontractors may hold some. Proof is requested with the response.
- Worth checking: Cybersecurity and clearance requirements. Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) Level 2, a Supplier Performance Risk System (SPRS) score, National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) SP 800-171 safeguards, Federal Risk and Authorization Management Program (FedRAMP) Moderate cloud services, and a Secret facility clearance for classified work are all asked about.
- Worth checking: 10-page limit. The capability statement covers five parts and many technical areas in 10 pages, with figures, tables and past performance counted.
- Worth checking: Unlimited Rights in Government-funded data. You must say whether you agree to give the Government Unlimited Rights in data made only with Government funding, and describe flexible licensing of your background intellectual property.
- Minor: No commitment to award. This is market research only; the Government pays no response costs, gives no feedback and takes no phone calls.
Read from the notice and 1 attachment. Show which files.
- Multi-Award Multi-Platform OTA Sources Sought Synopsis.pdf (read)
Full summary
What they want
- A capability statement of up to 10 pages in five parts: company profile and teaming, statutory eligibility, technical capabilities, certifications and logistics, and data rights with past performance
- Show capability in areas such as machining, large metal 3D printing, composite tooling, reverse engineering of legacy parts and technical data packages (TDPs)
- Show support for military airworthiness certification (MIL-HDBK-516C), with at least two examples of resolving certification or safety-of-flight gaps
- Show avionics, wire harness, radio frequency (RF) cable, environmental stress screening and testing, software and firmware, and model based systems engineering (MBSE) capability
- Show kitting, packaging, shipping, repair, overhaul and modification capability, plus a parts tracking and inventory system
- Provide Public Key Infrastructure (PKI) certificates for the Government's Configuration Management/Device Management (CM/DM) system
- Agree to serve as a direct parent awardee with the Air Force, with no consortium in between, and say whether you qualify as a nontraditional defense contractor (NDC)
- Contract type
- Multi-award, multi-platform Other Transaction Agreement (OTA) under 10 U.S.C. 4022 (prototype projects) and later 10 U.S.C. 4023 (experimental purchases); work is ordered through Prototype Project Orders (PPOs)
- Period of performance
- 10 years (2027 to 2037); anticipated program launch in Fiscal Year 2027
- Place of performance
- Oklahoma City, OK, USA (as SAM.gov gives it)
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- Contract vehicle
- New standing pool of direct parent OTAs, run by the B-1 System Program Office (AFLCMC/WBN) at Tinker AFB. Other Air Force program offices and Air Logistics Complexes would place competitive PPOs against it
- How they'll choose
- No evaluation factors are stated. Responses are used for market research and to qualify sources for later agreements; no feedback or evaluation is given to respondents
- Offers due
- November 14, 2026, 5:00 PM Central (from the version posted Oct 15, 2026; amended since)
- How to submit
- DoD SAFE (Department of Defense Secure Access File Exchange) to the Agreements Officer at julie.adamski@us.af.mil and cory.milford@us.af.mil, and to the Program Office at steven.cunha@us.af.mil, zachary.capps.6@us.af.mil and janet.hulin.1.ctr@us.af.mil
- Page limits
- Capability statement: 10 pages total, including figures, tables and past performance; title page and table of contents are not counted
What to include when you submit
- Send a PDF or Microsoft Word (.docx) file
- Part 1: company name, Commercial and Government Entity (CAGE) code, Unique Entity Identifier (UEI), address, website, business size and socio-economic designations under NAICS 336413, a point of contact, willingness to be a direct parent awardee, and any facility clearance and its level
- Part 2: your qualifying path under 10 U.S.C. 4022(d) (significant NDC participation, an all-NDC or small business team, or a 33% non-Federal cost share), a statement whether you are an NDC, and your interest in fast experimental test articles under later 4023 orders
- Part 3: technical capabilities in nine areas, including two examples for MIL-HDBK-516C airworthiness work, and which testing is in-house versus outsourced to a third-party laboratory
- Part 4: current status and expiration dates of AS9100 or AS9120B, NADCAP and NAS 410 Level 3 accreditations and of DD Form 2345 with CAGE code linkage, with proof, plus kitting, warehousing and part tracking
- Part 5: your position on granting the U.S. Government Unlimited Rights in data developed only with Government funding, and up to three relevant project summaries completed within the past five years
- Give proof of certifications: source certificates with clear scope statements, official registrar verification numbers, and active listings in Government or industry databases
- Conspicuously mark any proprietary, competition-sensitive or business-confidential information
Current contractor
No incumbent is named. The Government plans a standing pool of direct agreement holders; the number of awards and the value are not stated.
Not in the notice text
- Which response due date applies: November 14, 2026, 5:00 PM Central (SAM.gov, cover page, Section 9.1.3) or October 30, 2026, 5:00 PM Central (Section 10)
- The number of agreements to be awarded, the total value and the ordering ceiling are not stated
- How firms will be selected for the pool, and the evaluation factors for later awards, are not stated
- What counts as significant NDC or small business participation will be set at the time of each project solicitation
- Which platforms and parts the first Prototype Project Orders will cover is not stated
- SAM.gov does not state a set-aside; the synopsis targets NDCs and small businesses but does not set aside the pool
Eligibility and how to respond
- No set-aside. Any business can reply: this is market research, and no bid is being taken yet.
- To respond, send a short reply to the contracting contact near the top of this page. No price is needed.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 15, 2026
- Notice type
- Sources Sought
- Office
- FA8138 AFLCMC WBK, Tinker AFB, OK
- Product/service code
- R425 · Support – Professional: Engineering/Technical
- Business type
- Aircraft, ship & vehicle parts (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 336413)
- Versions
2 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 23, 2026 · Amendment 0001Due Nov 14, 2026
- Oct 15, 2026 · Sources Sought (this version)Due Nov 14, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
Terms on this notice: Sources sought notice
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- RECEPTACLE ASSEMBLY End Item F-16 NSN 1680010573391RK PN 16VP003-3The U.S. Air Force (423rd Supply Chain Management Squadron, Tinker AFB, Oklahoma) is doing market research to find companies that can newly manufacture a F-16 receptacle assembly…
- Drive Unit, Hydraulic, NSN#1650013406328, PN# 16M002-821The Defense Logistics Agency (DLA) Aviation office at Oklahoma City plans to buy an estimated 15 hydraulic drive units for F-16 leading edge flaps, under a firm-fixed-price (FFP:…
- 1560014188986 / Rib, Airfoil / Aircraft, Stratofortress B-52DLA Aviation plans a full and open, firm-fixed-price buy of QTY 7 EACH of an airfoil rib (NSN 1560014188986, part number 1-75011-17) for the B-52 Stratofortress.
- Actuator and Ballscrew Overhaul/RepairSources sought (market research, not a request for proposals): the U.S. Coast Guard Aviation Logistics Center wants to find businesses that can repair and overhaul five aircraft…
- Indicator, CylinderDLA Aviation (Huntsville, AL) is asking Parker-Hannifin, the maker, for a firm-fixed-price proposal to add an aircraft part, INDICATOR, CYLINDER (NSN 1650-01-119-7380, part…