Sources Sought
Multi-Award Multi-Platform OTA
Department of Defense · Department of the Air Force
AI summaryThe Department of the Air Force (AFLCMC, the Air Force Life Cycle Management Center) is asking for capability statements for a planned pool of direct Other Transaction Agreement (OTA, a flexible deal outside the usual FAR contract rules) holders for aircraft parts, repair and engineering work. This is a sources sought notice, not a solicitation, and only U.S. entities may take part. The response due date is Nov 14, 2026, 5:00 PM Central on SAM.gov, but the attachment says 04 Nov 2026, 5:00 PM Central. More in the summary
Market research, not a bid. Replying is free and tells Department of the Air Force who could do this work. Send a short reply to the contracting contact; no price is needed. See the contact
AI summary Beta
The Department of the Air Force (AFLCMC, the Air Force Life Cycle Management Center) is asking for capability statements for a planned pool of direct Other Transaction Agreement (OTA, a flexible deal outside the usual FAR contract rules) holders for aircraft parts, repair and engineering work. This is a sources sought notice, not a solicitation, and only U.S. entities may take part. The response due date is Nov 14, 2026, 5:00 PM Central on SAM.gov, but the attachment says 04 Nov 2026, 5:00 PM Central.
Who can bid (9)
- U.S. entity only; foreign companies and firms under unmitigated Foreign Ownership, Control, or Influence (FOCI) will not be considered
- To get an individual award, meet at least one statutory path: a significant nontraditional defense contractor (NDC) or small business participant, an all-NDC or small business team, or a one-third (33%) non-Federal cost share
- Aerospace quality accreditation: AS9100 (design and manufacturing) or AS9120B (distributors) from an accredited third-party registrar, held before award or order and only as it applies to your scope of work
Show all 9Show fewer
- National Aerospace and Defense Contractors Accreditation Program (NADCAP) certification for the special processes in your scope (it may be met through audited and qualified sub-tier suppliers), and access to Level 3 non-destructive inspection staff and facilities that meet NAS 410
- Active registration in the Joint Certification Program (DD Form 2345, Military Critical Technical Data Agreement) to receive export-controlled technical data
- Cybersecurity: demonstrable compliance with, or a path toward, Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) Level 2, and a current NIST SP 800-171 self-assessment score in the Supplier Performance Risk System (SPRS) before an award involving CUI
- Cloud services used for CUI, CAD models or technical data must meet the FedRAMP Moderate baseline (or equivalent) and DFARS 252.204-7012 cyber incident reporting
- Personnel with Secret clearances and a Secret-level facility clearance, or the ability to get one, for classified tasks; classified work only by U.S. citizens
- Export control compliance policies under the International Traffic in Arms Regulations (ITAR) and Export Administration Regulations (EAR), limiting access to U.S. persons
How to submit: DoD SAFE (Department of Defense Secure Access File Exchange) to the Agreements Officer at julie.adamski@us.af.mil and cory.milford@us.af.mil, also to the Program Office at steven.cunha@us.af.mil, zachary.capps.6@us.af.mil and janet.hulin.1.ctr@us.af.mil, due November 14, 2026, 5:00 PM Central (SAM.gov); the attachment's section 10 says 04 Nov 2026, 5:00 PM Central. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (9)
From the version posted Oct 23, 2026.
- Serious: U.S. entities only. Foreign companies and firms under unmitigated foreign ownership, control or influence will not be reviewed, so check your ownership before spending time on a response.
- Serious: Award needs NDC, small business team or 33% cost share. A firm that is not a nontraditional defense contractor and cannot team with one or put up one-third of project cost from non-Federal money may not qualify for an individual award.
- Serious: Aerospace certifications needed before award. AS9100 or AS9120B, NADCAP, NAS 410 Level 3 inspection access and a DD Form 2345 registration can take months to get, and your subcontractors must hold the ones their work needs.
Show all 9Show fewer
- Worth checking: Must be a direct parent awardee. The Government will deal directly with each pool member and not through a consortium manager, so a small firm must take on the agreement itself.
- Worth checking: Cybersecurity and cloud requirements. CMMC Level 2 progress, an SPRS score and FedRAMP Moderate cloud tools are expected for work involving CUI, which can be costly for a small firm.
- Worth checking: Secret clearances for classified tasks. Classified tasks need cleared U.S. citizen staff and a Secret-level facility clearance, or the ability to get one; uncleared firms must say if they need Government sponsorship.
- Worth checking: Unlimited Rights in Government-funded data. Respondents must state whether they agree to give the Government Unlimited Rights in data developed only with Government funding.
- Minor: No feedback and no contact by phone. Phone questions are not accepted and respondents get no feedback, so any questions must be settled from the document or by email to the listed contacts.
- Minor: Only market research; no award from this notice. This synopsis does not commit the Government to issue a solicitation or sign an agreement, and scope details may change.
Read from the notice and 1 attachment. Show which files.
- Multi-Award Multi-Platform OTA Sources Sought Synopsis V2.pdf (read)
Full summary
What they want
- Capability statements from firms that can be direct parent awardees in a standing pool of agreement holders; one or more of the listed capabilities is enough
- Prototype and part manufacturing: CNC machining, large metal additive manufacturing (3D printing), composite layup and tooling
- 3D laser scanning, reverse engineering of legacy aircraft parts, and Level 3 technical data packages (TDPs, the drawings and data needed to build a part)
- Military airworthiness certification support under MIL-HDBK-516C, including structural substantiation and flight safety data
- Avionics assemblies, wire harnesses, and radio frequency (RF) cables, plus environmental stress screening and reliability testing
- Software and firmware work, model based systems engineering (MBSE), and public key infrastructure (PKI) certificates for the configuration and device management system
- Parts kitting, packaging and shipping, repair, overhaul and modification of aircraft and components, and electromagnetic effects and test planning
- Contract type
- Planned multi-award parent Other Transaction Agreement (OTA) under 10 U.S.C. 4022, with 10 U.S.C. 4023 experimental purchases later; individual orders are competitive Prototype Project Orders
- Period of performance
- Anticipated 10 years (2027 – 2037); program launch anticipated in Fiscal Year 2027
- Place of performance
- Oklahoma City, OK, USA
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- Contract vehicle
- New standing pool of agreement holders run by the B-1 System Program Office (AFLCMC/WBN) at Tinker Air Force Base; other Air Force offices will place orders on it
- Offers due
- November 14, 2026, 5:00 PM Central (SAM.gov); the attachment's section 10 says 04 Nov 2026, 5:00 PM Central
- How to submit
- DoD SAFE (Department of Defense Secure Access File Exchange) to the Agreements Officer at julie.adamski@us.af.mil and cory.milford@us.af.mil, also to the Program Office at steven.cunha@us.af.mil, zachary.capps.6@us.af.mil and janet.hulin.1.ctr@us.af.mil
- Page limits
- Capability statement: 10 pages total, including figures, tables and past performance; title page and table of contents are not counted
What to include when you submit
- File format: Adobe PDF (.pdf) or Microsoft Word (.docx)
- Part 1: company name, CAGE code, UEI, address, website, business size and socio-economic designations under NAICS 336413, and a point of contact with name, title, phone and email
- Confirm you are willing and able to be a direct parent awardee with the Air Force, with no consortium in between, and say whether you hold a facility clearance and at what level
- Part 2: name your qualifying path under 10 U.S.C. 4022(d) (significant nontraditional defense contractor (NDC) participation, an all-NDC or small business team, or a one-third non-Federal cost share), and say whether you are an NDC
- State your capability and interest in fast-turnaround experimental test articles, early destructive testing and reverse-engineering models under future 10 U.S.C. 4023 tasks
- Part 3: describe your technical capabilities in each area listed (machinery and maximum part size, reverse engineering and 3D scanning, MIL-HDBK-516C airworthiness, avionics and PCB production, environmental testing, ground support equipment, software, MBSE), saying what is done in-house and what is outsourced
- Include at least two examples where you resolved critical certification gaps or safety-of-flight issues for a Service under the airworthiness process
- Part 4: confirm status and expiration dates of AS9100 or AS9120B, NADCAP and NAS 410 Level 3 accreditations, and of DD Form 2345; proof of certifications is requested
- Describe parts kitting, provisioning data, warehousing, part tracking and your inventory system
- Part 5: state whether you agree to give the Government Unlimited Rights in data developed only with Government funding, and your approach to commercial licensing of background intellectual property
- Past performance: up to three (3) relevant project summaries completed within the past five (5) years showing rapid prototyping, legacy aircraft reverse engineering, or work under Other Transaction Agreements
- Describe how you protect controlled unclassified information (CUI) under NIST SP 800-171, DoDI 5200.48 and DoDI 8582.01
- Conspicuously mark any proprietary or business-confidential information
Not in the notice text
- SAM.gov says the response due date is Nov 14, 2026, 5:00 PM Central; the attachment says 04 Nov 2026, 5:00 PM Central in one place and gives no day in another; confirm with the contracting office
- How many firms will join the pool, the total value or ceiling of the agreement, and the size of individual orders are not stated
- The set-aside is not stated on SAM.gov; the attachment targets nontraditional defense contractors and small businesses but does not set the work aside
- Whether the Government will issue a formal solicitation or hold an industry day is not stated
- The exact place of performance is not stated beyond the SAM.gov location; work will depend on each order and on the ordering Air Force office
- Appendix A product service code table was printed as a list; the individual orders' product service codes are not tied to specific work
Eligibility and how to respond
- No set-aside. Any business can reply: this is market research, and no bid is being taken yet.
- To respond, send a short reply to the contracting contact near the top of this page. No price is needed.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 23, 2026
- Notice type
- Sources Sought
- Office
- FA8138 AFLCMC WBK, Tinker AFB, OK
- Product/service code
- R425 · Support – Professional: Engineering/Technical
- Business type
- Aircraft, ship & vehicle parts (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 336413)
- Versions
2 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 23, 2026 · Amendment 0001 (this version)Due Nov 14, 2026
- Oct 15, 2026 · Sources SoughtDue Nov 14, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
Terms on this notice: Sources sought notice
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- RECEPTACLE ASSEMBLY End Item F-16 NSN 1680010573391RK PN 16VP003-3The U.S. Air Force (423rd Supply Chain Management Squadron, Tinker AFB, Oklahoma) is doing market research to find companies that can newly manufacture a F-16 receptacle assembly…
- Drive Unit, Hydraulic, NSN#1650013406328, PN# 16M002-821The Defense Logistics Agency (DLA) Aviation office at Oklahoma City plans to buy an estimated 15 hydraulic drive units for F-16 leading edge flaps, under a firm-fixed-price (FFP:…
- 1560014188986 / Rib, Airfoil / Aircraft, Stratofortress B-52DLA Aviation plans a full and open, firm-fixed-price buy of QTY 7 EACH of an airfoil rib (NSN 1560014188986, part number 1-75011-17) for the B-52 Stratofortress.
- Actuator and Ballscrew Overhaul/RepairSources sought (market research, not a request for proposals): the U.S. Coast Guard Aviation Logistics Center wants to find businesses that can repair and overhaul five aircraft…
- Indicator, CylinderDLA Aviation (Huntsville, AL) is asking Parker-Hannifin, the maker, for a firm-fixed-price proposal to add an aircraft part, INDICATOR, CYLINDER (NSN 1650-01-119-7380, part…