Solicitation
Next Generation (NextGen) Passport Personalization Printers Support
Department of State
AI summaryThe Department of State (Acquisitions - AQM Momentum, for the Bureau of Consular Affairs) wants one contractor to supply and support the printers that personalize U.S. passport books at domestic passport sites. The prime contractor must hold a Top Secret facility clearance (a government security approval for the company) when work begins. The response due date is shown as November 30, 2026 on SAM.gov but November 30, 2027 in the notice text. More in the summary
Paused. The notice says the buy is on hold, so this date may change. Check SAM.gov for updates.
A newer version of this notice was posted Oct 26, 2026. It moves the due date from Feb 28, 2025 to Nov 30, 2026, which is the date shown on this page. See the latest version.
AI summary Beta
Summary of another version of this notice: check what changed on SAM.gov. This summary may miss requirements: 10 of 22 attachments weren't read (19AQMM24R0113A0004.pdf, Attachment A - Pricing Table_Final_8.16.2024 Amendment 0003.xlsx and 8 more). Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
The Department of State (Acquisitions - AQM Momentum, for the Bureau of Consular Affairs) wants one contractor to supply and support the printers that personalize U.S. passport books at domestic passport sites. The prime contractor must hold a Top Secret facility clearance (a government security approval for the company) when work begins. The response due date is shown as November 30, 2026 on SAM.gov but November 30, 2027 in the notice text.
Who can bid (5)
- Top Secret facility clearance for the prime contractor, issued by the Defense Counterintelligence and Security Agency (DCSA), held when contract performance begins
- Staff with individual security clearances; on-site maintenance staff need at least a SECRET clearance, and others need a favorable Moderate Risk Public Trust determination
- Subcontractors who handle classified information or do on-site maintenance need their own facility clearance, and the Government must approve them
Show all 5Show fewer
- A secure area for storing printers and parts that meets National Industrial Security Program closed-area rules, with an intrusion detection system; State inspects it before approval
- A passing C-SCRM Questionnaire (all required answers "Yes"); a No-Go rating removes the offer from consideration
How to submit: due November 30, 2026, 1:00 PM Eastern, per SAM.gov. The notice text says November 30, 2027, 1:00 p.m. EST. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (7)
From the version posted Oct 26, 2026.
- Serious: Top Secret facility clearance required. Only companies that already hold a Top Secret facility clearance from DCSA can perform as prime contractor.
- Serious: Cleared staff and Government-approved secure storage room. Most staff need security clearances or public trust determinations, and the project storage room must pass a Diplomatic Security inspection, which adds cost and lead time.
- Serious: Cybersecurity supply chain go/no-go gate. A single missing "Yes" on the C-SCRM Questionnaire removes the offer, before price or past performance are weighed.
Show all 7Show fewer
- Worth checking: Due date moved many times since first posting. The notice text lists many closing-date changes since August 2024, including a suspension that said a new due date would be set when the Government reopens.
- Worth checking: Contract looks like a recompete with a possible incumbent. The solicitation form is titled as a recompete, so an existing supplier may have an advantage in past performance and knowledge of the sites.
- Minor: Maximum order size is capped. The contract allows at most 15 high-capacity and 10 low-capacity printers in total, including shipping, installation, warranties and consumables.
- Minor: Organizational conflict of interest certification. Each offer must certify whether it knows of a possible conflict of interest and disclose the facts if so; the Government can disqualify a firm with an unresolved conflict.
Read from the notice and 12 attachments. 10 of 22 not read. Show which files.
- 19AQMM24R0113 SF33.pdf (read)
- 19AQMM24R0113 Amend 0005.pdf (read)
- 19AQMM24R0113 Amend 0003.pdf (read)
- 19AQMM24R0113 Amend 0001.pdf (read)
- 19AQMM24R0113 Amend 0002.pdf (read)
- 19AQMM24R0113 - Appendix I Amendment 0003 Tracked Changes_v2.docx (read)
- 19AQMM24R0113 - Appendix I Amendment 0003 Changes Accepted.docx (read)
- Appendix 2 - Section C PWS Changes Accepted Amendment 0003.docx (read)
- Appendix 2 - Section C PWS Tracked Changes Amendment 0003.docx (read)
- Appendix 2 - Section C PWS.docx (read)
- Attachment D - Passport Printer Security Requirements.docx (read)
- Attachment B - CA Domestic Operational and Test Sites - Place of Delivery and Support.docx (read)
- 19AQMM24R0113A0004.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Attachment A - Pricing Table_Final_8.16.2024 Amendment 0003.xlsx: not read (the AI doesn't read this file type yet): open it on SAM.gov
- Attachment E - Bidders Signed DD-254.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Attachment A - Pricing Table.xlsx: not read (the AI doesn't read this file type yet): open it on SAM.gov
- Attachment H - DOS Connectivity Requirements.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- 19AQMM24R0113 - Appendix I.docx: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Attachment F - Past Performance Questionnaire.xlsx: not read (the AI doesn't read this file type yet): open it on SAM.gov
- Attachment C - CST Contract Status Report Template.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Attachment G - SCRM Questionnaire and C-SCRM Software Producer Attestation Form.xlsx: not read (the AI doesn't read this file type yet): open it on SAM.gov
- NextGen Questions and Answers 9 5 2024 Final.xlsx: not read (the AI doesn't read this file type yet): open it on SAM.gov
Full summary
What they want
- Provide and support NextGen Passport Personalization Printers at domestic passport agencies, passport centers and test sites: up to 15 high-capacity and 10 low-capacity printers over the contract
- Program management, transition support and a security operations plan
- Consumable materials, warranty and support services at passport site locations, plus support for lab sites
- Maintenance of high-capacity and low-capacity printers, with maintenance plans sent with the proposal
- Enhancement software and relocation of low-capacity printers when an agency moves
- Optional purchase of additional printers and related items under the contract
- Meet State Department security rules for secure manufacture, storage and maintenance of the printers
- Contract type
- Single-award indefinite-delivery, indefinite-quantity (IDIQ) contract: one winner, with orders issued as needed. Orders may be firm-fixed-price (FFP: one set price), time-and-material (T&M: paid for labor hours and materials), or a hybrid of the two
- Place of performance
- Washington, DC, USA per SAM.gov. The contract says each order names its own place of performance; Attachment B lists the domestic passport agency, center and test site addresses
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- How they'll choose
- Not fully stated in the text read. Factor 2 (Past Performance) and Factor 3 (cybersecurity supply chain go/no-go) are rated, and price is checked for fairness and reasonableness. The Factor 1 section and the award decision rule were not in the part of the text read
- Offers due
- November 30, 2026, 1:00 PM Eastern, per SAM.gov. The notice text says November 30, 2027, 1:00 p.m. EST
What they'll judge offers on
- Factor 2 Past Performance: recent, relevant work of similar size, scope and complexity, rated by relevance and confidence; a firm with no record gets a neutral rating
- Factor 3 Cybersecurity Supply Chain Risk Management (C-SCRM): go/no-go, needs the C-SCRM Questionnaire and, for critical software, a Software Producer Attestation Form
- Price: fair and reasonable, with option prices added to the base-year price
What to include when you submit
- Price every contract line item number (CLIN: one priced line of the order) using Attachment A, Pricing Table
- Submit the Comprehensive Security Plan with the proposal
- Submit the Maintenance Plan for High-Capacity Personalization Printers and the Maintenance Plan for Low Capacity Personalization Printers with the proposal
- Complete the C-SCRM Questionnaire; for critical software, also the C-SCRM Software Producer Attestation Form for each software producer
- Give Diplomatic Security a copy of your company hiring practice and hiring forms with the proposal
- Include an organizational conflict of interest certification, with a disclosure statement if you know of a possible conflict
- Send past performance information; Attachment F, Past Performance Questionnaire, is attached but was not read
Current contractor
No incumbent is named.
Not in the notice text
- Much of the solicitation was not fully read: the middle of the SF 33 (Standard Form 33, the solicitation and offer form), the Section L instructions, the Factor 1 evaluation text, and the full performance work statement (PWS) were cut off; check the posted documents on SAM.gov
- Attached but not read: Amendment 0004, Attachment A Pricing Tables, Attachment E Bidders Signed DD-254 (security classification form), Attachment H DOS Connectivity Requirements, Appendix I (original), Attachment C Contract Status Report Template, Attachment F Past Performance Questionnaire, Attachment G C-SCRM Questionnaire, and the Questions and Answers file
- How to submit offers, page limits, and the set-aside status are not stated in the text read; SAM.gov lists no set-aside
- Length of the base period and any option periods is not stated in the text read
- The Government's estimate and the award decision rule (such as best value tradeoff) are not stated in the text read
- Which response due date is correct: November 30, 2026 or November 30, 2027
Notice details
- Posted
- Feb 4, 2025
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Office
- Acquisitions - Aqm Momentum, Washington, DC
- Product/service code
- DB02 · IT and Telecom – Compute Support Services, Non-HPC (labor)
- Business type
- IT, software & telecom (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 541519)
- Versions
39 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 26, 2026 · AmendmentPaused, was due Nov 30, 2026 (changed)
- Sep 11, 2026 · AmendmentDue Oct 30, 2026 (changed)
- Aug 17, 2026 · AmendmentDue Sep 30, 2026 (changed)
- Jul 15, 2026 · AmendmentDue Aug 17, 2026 (changed)
- Jun 17, 2026 · AmendmentDue Jul 20, 2026 (changed)
- May 19, 2026 · AmendmentDue Jun 22, 2026 (changed)
- May 8, 2026 · AmendmentDue May 22, 2026
- Apr 13, 2026 · AmendmentDue May 22, 2026 (changed)
- Mar 16, 2026 · AmendmentDue Apr 20, 2026 (changed)
- Mar 2, 2026 · AmendmentDue Mar 31, 2026 (changed)
- Feb 2, 2026 · AmendmentDue Mar 16, 2026 (changed)
- Dec 29, 2025 · AmendmentDue Feb 15, 2026 (changed)
- Oct 29, 2025 · AmendmentDue Jan 1, 2026 (changed)
- Sep 11, 2025 · AmendmentDue Oct 31, 2025 (changed)
- Aug 22, 2025 · AmendmentDue Sep 15, 2025 (changed)
- Jul 25, 2025 · AmendmentDue Aug 29, 2025 (changed)
- Jul 11, 2025 · AmendmentDue Jul 31, 2025 (changed)
- Jun 18, 2025 · AmendmentDue Jul 17, 2025 (changed)
- Jun 11, 2025 · AmendmentDue Jun 30, 2025 (changed)
- May 20, 2025 · AmendmentDue Jun 16, 2025 (changed)
- Apr 25, 2025 · AmendmentDue May 29, 2025 (changed)
- Apr 2, 2025 · AmendmentDue May 5, 2025 (changed)
- Mar 11, 2025 · AmendmentDue Apr 7, 2025 (changed)
- Feb 24, 2025 · AmendmentDue Mar 17, 2025 (changed)
- Feb 4, 2025 · Amendment 0005 (this version)Due Feb 28, 2025 (changed)
- Jan 22, 2025 · AmendmentDue Feb 10, 2025 (changed)
- Jan 7, 2025 · AmendmentDue Jan 27, 2025 (changed)
- Dec 11, 2024 · AmendmentDue Jan 10, 2025 (changed)
- Nov 27, 2024 · AmendmentDue Dec 17, 2024 (changed)
- Nov 7, 2024 · AmendmentDue Dec 2, 2024 (changed)
- Oct 24, 2024 · AmendmentDue Nov 12, 2024 (changed)
- Oct 9, 2024 · AmendmentDue Oct 28, 2024 (changed)
- Sep 25, 2024 · AmendmentDue Oct 15, 2024 (changed)
- Sep 20, 2024 · AmendmentDue Sep 30, 2024
- Sep 5, 2024 · AmendmentDue Sep 30, 2024 (changed)
- Aug 26, 2024 · AmendmentDue Sep 12, 2024 (changed)
- Aug 16, 2024 · AmendmentDue Sep 3, 2024 (changed)
- Jul 8, 2024 · AmendmentDue Aug 19, 2024 (changed)
- Jun 18, 2024 · SolicitationDue Jul 2, 2024
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
Terms on this notice: Solicitation
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- Research Initiatives in Support of FHWA Next Generation Structural Materials and SystemsThe Federal Highway Administration's Bridge Engineering Research Team has a 5-year open Broad Agency Announcement (BAA) for research on next-generation bridge and highway…
- U.S. Senate Wellbeing ApplicationThe U.S. Senate Sergeant at Arms (SAA) wants a hosted, customizable employee wellbeing app for all Senate employees under solicitation 2027-R-007.
- Next Generation Undersea Security Initiative (NG-USI)The Navy's Strategic Systems Programs (SSP) is looking for companies to join the Next Generation Undersea Security Initiative (NG-USI), which will develop prototypes in 22 focus…
- IRS Audio-Visual (AV) and Video Teleconferencing (VTC) Enterprise Systems Integration, Support, and Maintenance Master IDIQThe IRS wants up to three small businesses to share a new five-year IDIQ contract (a framework contract where the IRS sends out separate task orders over time) for audio-visual…
- FOIA - Case ManagementNAVSUP Fleet Logistics Center Norfolk (Navy) is doing market research for a cloud-based Freedom of Information Act (FOIA, the law that lets the public request federal records)…