Solicitation
FY27 Remove/Install Two (2) Commercial-Grade Laser/LED Projectors
Department of Veterans Affairs
AI summaryThe Department of Veterans Affairs, for the Orlando VA Healthcare System, wants two new commercial-grade laser or LED projectors (QTY 2.00 EA) installed in Orlando, Florida, replacing two Christie WU7K-M lamp projectors and tied into the existing Crestron control system. The response due date is November 4, 2026, 1:00 PM Eastern, and all work must be done within 60 calendar days after award. The buyer compares quotes on technical capability, past performance and price, and may pick a quote that is not the lowest price. More in the summary
AI summary Beta
The Department of Veterans Affairs, for the Orlando VA Healthcare System, wants two new commercial-grade laser or LED projectors (QTY 2.00 EA) installed in Orlando, Florida, replacing two Christie WU7K-M lamp projectors and tied into the existing Crestron control system. The response due date is November 4, 2026, 1:00 PM Eastern, and all work must be done within 60 calendar days after award. The buyer compares quotes on technical capability, past performance and price, and may pick a quote that is not the lowest price.
Who can bid (6)
- Small business status may be required: SAM.gov states no set-aside, but the clause list includes the notice of total small business set-aside clause. Confirm with the contracting officer
- Be an authorized dealer of the proposed projector manufacturer and give a letter of authorization with your quote
- Programmers doing the Crestron work must hold current Crestron certification
Show all 6Show fewer
- Installers must have demonstrated experience with commercial audio-visual projector installation
- Offer TAA-compliant projectors that are new, unused and factory sealed (no refurbished or gray-market equipment)
- Be registered in the System for Award Management (SAM)
How to submit: Not clearly stated: signed and dated offers go to the office specified in the solicitation (Network Contracting Office 8, Orlando VA Healthcare System); questions go to rohan.mckenzie@va.gov. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (11)
From the version posted Oct 21, 2026.
- Serious: Authorized-dealer letter and Crestron-certified programmer required. Without a letter of authorization from the projector maker and a certified Crestron programmer, a quote may not meet the technical capability factor.
- Worth checking: Set-aside is not stated on SAM.gov. The clause list includes the total small business set-aside notice, but SAM.gov gives no set-aside; ask the contracting officer who may bid.
- Worth checking: Past performance questionnaires come from your references. Your references must return their completed questionnaires directly to the contracting officer; ones you send in yourself are not considered.
Show all 11Show fewer
- Worth checking: On-site work limited to evenings, within 5 consecutive workdays. All on-site work happens Monday through Friday, 4:30 PM to 8:30 PM local time, and must finish in no more than five consecutive after-hours workdays.
- Worth checking: 60 days from award covers equipment lead time. Ordering, delivery, installation and final acceptance must all fit inside 60 calendar days after award.
- Worth checking: The site visit was Oct 12, 2026. Check the notice and its amendments for whether attendance was required, and whether another visit is offered.
- Minor: Response due date moved to November 4, 2026. Amendment 0001 extends the response due date to November 4, 2026, 1:00 PM; the original solicitation form shows October 26, 2026, 1:00 PM EDT.
- Minor: Service Contract Act wage determination applies. Wage determination 2015-4553, Revision 35 (Orange, Osceola and Seminole counties, Florida) sets the labor wage rule; the documents do not mention Davis-Bacon wages.
- Minor: Solicitation number mismatch on Attachment A. Attachment A, the request for information form, is headed with RFQ No. 36C24827Q0037, while the solicitation is 36C24827Q0036; ask the contracting officer which governs.
- Minor: Attachment B lists more requirements than the statement of work. The worksheet adds Ethernet/LAN control and brightness lines that are not in the statement of work's specification table, so quote to the longer list.
- Minor: No services or claims during a Government shutdown. If VA is affected by a shutdown during the work period, the contractor may not provide services or submit claims during or after it.
Read from the notice and 5 attachments. Show which files.
- 36C24827Q0036 0001.docx (read)
- 36C24827Q0036_1.docx (read)
- ATTACHMENT B TECHNICAL CAPABILITY WORKSHEET.docx (read)
- ATTACHMENT A REQUEST FOR INFORMATION.docx (read)
- ATTACHMENT C PAST PERFORMANCE QUESTIONNAIRE.docx (read)
Full summary
What they want
- Supply 2 new, factory-sealed, Trade Agreements Act (TAA, made in an approved country) compliant laser or LED projectors with interchangeable zoom lenses (item 0001, QTY 2.00 EA)
- Remove the 2 existing Christie WU7K-M projectors, palletize them for the Government's point of contact (POC), and give disposal paperwork (item 0002, QTY 1.00 SV)
- Install the new projectors in the existing mounting locations, with mounting, alignment, cabling and lens setup, after hours within no more than 5 consecutive workdays (item 0003, QTY 1.00 SV)
- Program and connect the projectors to the existing Crestron control system (a brand of room audio-visual control) and keep the current user screens working (item 0004, QTY 1.00 SV)
- Test the system, tune the image, give an end-user demonstration, and hand over as-built drawings, manuals and warranties (item 0005, QTY 1.00 SV)
- Hold a pre-installation site walk, scheduled within 10 calendar days after award, and send the final installation schedule and lens plan within 5 calendar days after the walk
- Pass through the full manufacturer warranty, at least 5 years on the projector and the illumination system, and warrant installation work for 90 calendar days after acceptance
- Contract type
- Firm-fixed-price (FFP: one set price, whatever the work ends up costing)
- Period of performance
- Base period November 9, 2026 to January 8, 2027; all work, including equipment lead time, within 60 calendar days after award
- Place of performance
- Orlando VA Medical Center, 13800 Veterans Way, Orlando, FL 32827; exact install locations set during the pre-installation site walk
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- How they'll choose
- Comparative evaluation under FAR 13.106-2(b)(3): quotes are compared to each other for the best benefit to the Government, and the lowest price does not have to win
- Offers due
- November 4, 2026, 1:00 PM Eastern
- How to submit
- Not clearly stated: signed and dated offers go to the office specified in the solicitation (Network Contracting Office 8, Orlando VA Healthcare System); questions go to rohan.mckenzie@va.gov
What they'll judge offers on
- Technical Capability: proposed projector characteristics (Attachment B worksheet), installation plan, and Crestron certification conformance (authorized-dealer letter and programmer certification)
- Past Performance: past performance questionnaires, the Contractor Performance Assessment Reporting System (CPARS, the government's contractor rating database), and other sources
- Price: the sum of all line-item prices is the Total Evaluated Price
What to include when you submit
- Complete and submit Attachment B, the Technical Capability Worksheet: name the make and model and fill in the proposed characteristics for all 20 listed items
- Include an installation plan with a day-by-day plan, the removal, disposal, testing and turnover approach, and the reason for your lens configuration
- Include a letter of authorization (LOA) showing you are a distributor of the proposed manufacturer's projectors
- Include proof of the certification held by the programmer who will do the Crestron integration and programming
- Complete and submit Section B.2, the Price/Cost Schedule, with the make and model written in for item 0001
- Past performance: send Attachment C to your references; a minimum of two (2) and a maximum of three (3) completed questionnaires should be returned on your behalf, sent by the references directly to the contracting officer, not by you
- Offers must include the solicitation number, your name, address and telephone number, your Unique Entity ID (UEI), and a statement of how far you agree with the solicitation terms and any amendments
- Hold your prices firm for 60 calendar days from the date for receipt of offers
- Acknowledge Amendment 0001 on the amendment acknowledgment line
- Send any request for information (RFI, a written question) on Attachment A, with the email subject line 'Request for Information 36C24827Q0036'
After award, you must have
- Get VA facility access and badging for on-site staff before their first day of on-site work From 36C24827Q0036_1.docx:
All Contractor personnel performing on-site work shall obtain VA facility access and badging prior to the first day of on-site work.
Current contractor
No incumbent contractor is named. The work replaces two existing Christie WU7K-M lamp-based projectors that the statement of work calls incumbent equipment.
Not in the notice text
- SAM.gov states no set-aside; the clause list includes the notice of total small business set-aside clause, and the solicitation form's set-aside boxes could not be read reliably, so check with the contracting officer
- How to submit the offer (email address or portal) is not stated; the documents say to submit to 'the office specified in this solicitation'
- No Government estimate or price ceiling is given
- Answers to any requests for information are to be issued by written amendment; Amendment 0001 only moves the response due date
- Page limits for the quote are not stated
Eligibility and how to respond
- No set-aside: any business, large or small, can bid unless the notice says otherwise.
- How to submit, from the AI summary: Not clearly stated: signed and dated offers go to the office specified in the solicitation (Network Contracting Office 8, Orlando VA Healthcare System); questions go to rohan.mckenzie@va.gov. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
- Construction contracts over $2,000 pay at least the local Davis-Bacon wage rates, from the wage determination in the solicitation. Price your labor from it: How to price a government contract, and how Davis-Bacon differs from the Service Contract Act.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 21, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Office
- 248-Network Contract Office 8 (36C248), Tampa, FL
- Product/service code
- 6730 · Photographic Projection Equipment
- Business type
- Construction & renovation (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 238210)
- Versions
4 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 21, 2026 · Amendment 0001 (this version)Due Nov 4, 2026 (changed)
- Oct 7, 2026 · SolicitationDue Oct 26, 2026 (changed)
- Oct 5, 2026 · Amendment 0001Date Oct 16, 2026
- Oct 5, 2026 · PresolicitationDate Oct 16, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
Terms on this notice: Solicitation