Combined Synopsis/Solicitation
Admin Management, Data Management, Software Development (Quality Assurance Inspection Software for EMS)
Department of Veterans Affairs
AI summaryOnly service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSB) may bid: the Department of Veterans Affairs, Network Contracting Office 20, is buying a commercial off-the-shelf (COTS) software-as-a-service (SaaS) system for environmental management services (EMS) inspections and operations tracking, for the Portland VA Medical Center in Oregon. Quotes are due November 3, 2026, 5:00 PM Pacific, by email. The plan is a five-year firm-fixed-price (FFP: one set price, whatever the work ends up costing) purchase order: one base year plus four one-year options, listed as January 1, 2027 to December 31, 2031. More in the summary
AI summary Beta
The notice looks incomplete: Part of the revised RFQ text was cut from what was provided: the price/cost schedule (B.3) with line item details, the contract clauses (including the full limits on subcontracting clause), and the wage determination for the Service Contract Act. Total pricing tables are not available. Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
Only service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSB) may bid: the Department of Veterans Affairs, Network Contracting Office 20, is buying a commercial off-the-shelf (COTS) software-as-a-service (SaaS) system for environmental management services (EMS) inspections and operations tracking, for the Portland VA Medical Center in Oregon. Quotes are due November 3, 2026, 5:00 PM Pacific, by email. The plan is a five-year firm-fixed-price (FFP: one set price, whatever the work ends up costing) purchase order: one base year plus four one-year options, listed as January 1, 2027 to December 31, 2031.
Who can bid (6)
- Service-disabled veteran-owned small business (SDVOSB) set-aside: the Government says SBA veteran certification is the basis for eligibility
- Small under the NAICS 541519 size standard of $34 million
- Limits on subcontracting (VAAR 852.219-75) apply; a certificate of compliance goes in Part I, and the Government says SaaS does not appear to be an excluded other direct cost
Show all 6Show fewer
- SAM.gov registration with a Unique Entity ID, entered in block 17a of the SF 1449
- Product must be registered in eMASS (VA's security authorization system) with a current approved VA authorization to operate (ATO)
- Product must have a FedRAMP ID number and be hosted on FedRAMP-approved infrastructure
How to submit: Email to Contracting Officer Tyrone Whalen at tyrone.whalen@va.gov, with a copy to Danielle Carrico; each part as a separate attachment (email size limit about 10 MB, large files may be split over several emails). What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (9)
From the version posted Oct 13, 2026.
- Serious: SDVOSB set-aside: only certified service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses can bid. Firms that are not service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses cannot compete; the Government also said the set-aside is based on SBA veteran certification.
- Serious: Limits on subcontracting apply to the software subscription. The Government answered that SaaS does not appear to be an excluded other direct cost, so a firm that mainly resells another company's software may not meet the subcontracting limit; the clause text itself was not in the text provided.
- Serious: VA security approval and FedRAMP ID required. The product must already be registered in eMASS with a current VA authorization to operate and have a FedRAMP ID; the Government did not relax the timing or say whether a product still in FedRAMP review is accepted.
Show all 9Show fewer
- Worth checking: Software must be fully operational at award. Only a ready COTS SaaS product is accepted, with no development or customization, and a testing plan is due 5 days after award and a technical kickoff within 10 days.
- Worth checking: Travel and training are inside the fixed price. On-site training at about two sites (60 and 40 trainees) and all travel must be priced into the fixed price for every year, and optional modules and extra licenses are not priced.
- Worth checking: User count and license scope are unclear. The SOW says 10 initial users, about 20 projected users, and unlimited site licenses; the Government would not say how many users to price in each year or how a yearly user true-up is priced.
- Worth checking: Round-the-clock help desk during a national crisis. The help desk is weekdays during business hours, but must run 24/7 in a national crisis, and the Government answered that no downtime is allowed before system rollover.
- Minor: Annual invoicing only after acceptance testing. The firm invoices once a year at the start of each period, and only after the system passes acceptance testing, which affects cash flow.
- Minor: Tier 1 background check for staff. Contractor staff need a Tier 1 background investigation; no clearance or citizenship rule is stated.
Read from the notice and 3 attachments. Show which files.
- 36C26026Q1017 0001.docx (read)
- 36C26026Q1017 revised 10-13-2026.docx (read)
- 36C26026Q1017.docx (read)
Full summary
What they want
- Provide one single-tenant (dedicated to VA) COTS SaaS system for EMS operations, hosted on FedRAMP-approved infrastructure (the federal cloud security program), fully operational at award with no custom development
- Licenses for 10 initial users, plus unlimited site and interface licenses for facilities the Government defines
- Configure the system to VA's organizational structure and user permissions, with forms, inspection checklists, audit reports, ad-hoc reports and dashboards for local, regional (VISN) and national levels
- Help load up to two years of EMS records that the Government supplies (Word documents, spreadsheets, electronic forms)
- On-site classroom training plus web-based training before go-live; the Government estimates two sites (Portland and Vancouver), about 60 and 40 trainees
- Maintenance, software updates within 30 days of release, 99.0 percent availability, and a Tier II help desk Monday to Friday 8:00 AM to 6:00 PM Pacific (24/7 during a national crisis)
- Disaster recovery, failover and backups of all software and data, plus multi-factor and replay-resistant sign-in
- Send a system testing and acceptance plan within 5 days after award, hold a technical kickoff within 10 days, and send periodic progress reports
- Contract type
- Firm-fixed-price (FFP) purchase order
- Period of performance
- 1 base year plus four 12-month option years: base January 1, 2027 to December 31, 2027, options through December 31, 2031. Base year coverage does not begin until the Go Live date
- Place of performance
- Portland VA Medical Center, 3710 NW US Veterans Hospital Road, Portland, OR 97239. Tasks are performed at contractor facilities; training is on-site at Government facilities (the Government estimates Portland and Vancouver)
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- How they'll choose
- Comparative evaluation for best overall value: quotes are compared directly; the Government may pick a quote that is not the lowest price if it adds benefits. No numeric weights are given
- Offers due
- November 3, 2026, 5:00 PM Pacific
- How to submit
- Email to Contracting Officer Tyrone Whalen at tyrone.whalen@va.gov, with a copy to Danielle Carrico; each part as a separate attachment (email size limit about 10 MB, large files may be split over several emails)
- Page limits
- None stated for the technical or past performance parts
What they'll judge offers on
- Factor 1, Technical: answers to ten questions (COTS SaaS operational at award with no customization, FedRAMP, NIST security standards, multi-factor sign-in, encryption, tracking of loads, tonnage and assets, reports, dashboards and history, access levels, on-site and web training)
- Factor 2, Past Performance
- Factor 3, Price
What to include when you submit
- Part I, executed quote: complete and sign the SF 1449 (Standard Form 1449, the form you sign and return as your offer), including block 17a with your SAM.gov UEI (Unique Entity ID) and blocks 30a to 30c, the amendment acknowledgement, and the VAAR 852.219-75 limitations on subcontracting certificate
- Part II, price: unit and extended prices for line items 0001 through 4001 (base year and four options, one year each), in two decimal places; the price must be all inclusive (labor, licenses, travel, training and fees)
- Do not price optional modules or additional licenses; the Government says they would be added later by agreed modification
- Part III, technical: answer the ten technical questions listed in the revised RFQ; no separate compliance matrix or demonstration is required
- Part IV, past performance: Amendment 0001 says it may be submitted if past performance information is available; there is no minimum or maximum number of contracts
- For past performance, list contracts of similar scope, size and complexity (federal, state, local or private) that are ongoing or completed within the last five years, with company name and address, description of services, reference contact name, phone and email, dates, contract type and total value
- For software and IT references you may give number of supported users and sites instead of facility square footage; CPARS reports (government past performance ratings) are accepted and no questionnaire is needed
- Past performance of a subcontractor or teaming partner may be considered
- Hold your prices firm for 60 calendar days after the due date
- Parts I through III are required to be considered further
After award, you must have
- Tier 1 background check for contractor staff; VA accounts and facility access are provided to the awarded vendor From 36C26026Q1017 0001.docx:
There is only a need for a Tier 1 background.
Current contractor
No incumbent: in answers to vendor questions the Government says this is a new requirement, so it is not a follow-on to the earlier subscription a vendor asked about.
Not in the notice text
- Part of the revised RFQ text was cut from what was provided: the price/cost schedule (B.3) with line item details, the contract clauses (including the full limits on subcontracting clause), and the wage determination for the Service Contract Act. Total pricing tables are not available
- Amendment 0001 moves the quote deadline to November 3, 2026, 5:00 PM Pacific; the attached revised RFQ form still prints October 13, 2026 in its offer-due blocks
- The Government did not say how many records are to be loaded, whether they hold personal or health information, or who cleans and maps them
- The Government did not give recovery time or recovery point targets, which will be set with the VA point of contact after award
- The Government did not say whether a FedRAMP Ready or In Process product is accepted, which impact level applies, or when the VA authorization must be complete
- The award date and go-live date are not set; the Government's budget will not be released
- The reporting frequency for the Periodic Progress Report is not given
- Relative importance of the three evaluation factors is not stated
Eligibility and how to respond
- Only service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSBs) certified through SBA's VetCert can bid as the prime contractor. Not certified through VetCert yet? Apply on VetCert (SBA), or start with the SDVOSB guide. More open service-disabled veteran-owned set-asides under NAICS 541519
- How to submit, from the AI summary: Email to Contracting Officer Tyrone Whalen at tyrone.whalen@va.gov, with a copy to Danielle Carrico; each part as a separate attachment (email size limit about 10 MB, large files may be split over several emails). Check it in the notice before you send anything.
- Service contracts usually set minimum pay rates (the Service Contract Act). Price the labor with the SCA price calculator.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 13, 2026
- Notice type
- Combined Synopsis/Solicitation
- Office
- 260-Network Contract Office 20 (36C260), Vancouver, WA
- Product/service code
- H979 · Other QC/Test/Inspect – Cleaning Equipment and Supplies
- Business type
- IT, software & telecom (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 541519)
- Versions
2 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 13, 2026 · Amendment 0001 (this version)Due Nov 3, 2026 (changed)
- Sep 28, 2026 · Combined Synopsis/SolicitationDue Oct 13, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
- Open SDVOSB set-aside contracts
Terms on this notice: Solicitation, SDVOSB (service-disabled veteran-owned small business), Set-aside
Latest amendment note (Amendment 1) from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- Circle CVI Software or equivalent in support of VA Portland Healthcare System Portland, OregonThe Department of Veterans Affairs, for the VA Portland Healthcare System in Portland, Oregon, wants to renew yearly subscription licenses and remote support for Circle cvi42…
- 460-24-009 CLC and Fourth Floor Patient Elopement SystemThe VA Medical Center in Wilmington, DE wants a contractor to remove its old Stanley WanderGuard patient elopement (wandering) alarm system and install a new one that uses…
- New Action: TIC Application Firewall Maintenance Renewal (VA-27-00009587)
- Quality Assurance Services - Civil Works, Interagency and International Services (IIS), and Military Construction Projects in Puerto Rico and U.S. Virgin IslandsThe U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Caribbean District, seeks a small business for quality assurance services on civil works, interagency and international services, and military…
- PMX-281 IT Strategy, Software Modernization, and Digital Decision Intelligence Advisory SubscriptionsOnly holders of an active Department of Defense (DoD) Enterprise Software Initiative (ESI) blanket purchase agreement (BPA: a standing pricing agreement), or their authorized…