Solicitation
Specialized Shipping and Storage Containers (F100CoreModuleContainer End Item F100 NSN 8145014524579NZ PN P4078843)
Department of Defense · Defense Logistics Agency
AI summaryDLA Aviation at Oklahoma City (Tinker AFB) wants to buy 5 steel shipping and storage containers for the F100 engine core module (NSN 8145-01-452-4579NZ, P/N P4078843), delivered by 1 January 2027. Only sources already approved by the Air Force can win; a new company would have to be approved first. It is a firm-fixed-price request for proposals with offers due 12 November 2026. More in the summary
AI summary Beta
This summary may miss requirements: 2 of 6 attachments weren't read (853594_ CDRL.pdf, 853363_QUALASSURANCE.pdf). Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
DLA Aviation at Oklahoma City (Tinker AFB) wants to buy 5 steel shipping and storage containers for the F100 engine core module (NSN 8145-01-452-4579NZ, P/N P4078843), delivered by 1 January 2027. Only sources already approved by the Air Force can win; a new company would have to be approved first. It is a firm-fixed-price request for proposals with offers due 12 November 2026.
Who can bid (5)
- Be an approved source for this part, or become one through the design control activity before award
- Active SAM.gov registration, with annual representations and certifications current
- A current NIST SP 800-171 DoD assessment (not more than 3 years old) posted in SPRS, if you must implement NIST SP 800-171
Show all 5Show fewer
- Item Unique Identification (IUID) marking and reporting through WAWF
- Surplus offerors need engineering approval of the surplus material before the government accepts the offer
How to submit: Not clearly stated; the cover page says offers go to the issuing office, DLA Weapons Support at Oklahoma City, 3001 Staff Drive, Tinker AFB OK 73145-3070 (buyer James Callins, james.callins@us.af.mil, 385-591-1684). What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (7)
From the version posted Oct 9, 2026.
- Serious: Limited to Air Force approved sources. A company that is not already approved must qualify through the design control activity, which can take a long time and cost money.
- Serious: Tight delivery date. Delivery of all 5 containers is required by 1 January 2027, only a few weeks after offers are due.
- Worth checking: First article testing may be added for new sources. If a non-OEM company becomes approved, the government will amend the solicitation to add first article line items, which means extra testing, reports and time.
Show all 7Show fewer
- Worth checking: Defense priority rated order. The order carries a DPAS rating, so you must give it priority in your production schedule.
- Worth checking: Cybersecurity assessment needed. Many DoD offers must show a current NIST SP 800-171 score in SPRS, which a small shop may not have.
- Worth checking: Some solicitation files could not be read. The CDRL (deliverables list) and quality assurance documents are scanned images, and the qualification requirements file listed in Section J was not read (it may be an attached file the AI skipped; check SAM.gov), so key requirements may be missing from this summary.
- Minor: Evaluation and instructions are incomplete. No award method or proposal format is given in the text provided, so you cannot tell how offers will be ranked.
Read from the notice and 4 attachments. 2 of 6 not read. Show which files.
- RFP SPRTA127R0023.pdf (read)
- DI-NDTI-81307A.pdf (read)
- TEST INSPECTION REPORT.pdf (read)
- 4328808_EDL_REPORT.pdf (read)
- 853594_ CDRL.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- 853363_QUALASSURANCE.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
Full summary
What they want
- 5 shipping and storage containers (steel) for the F100 engine core module, P/N P4078843 (the schedule allows a minimum of 2 and a maximum of 8)
- Delivery to ship-to code SW3211 by 1 January 2027, FOB origin
- Item Unique Identification (IUID) marking on the items
- Compliance with the engineering data package (container assembly drawings, parts lists, welding and marking specs)
- Test/inspection reports and a first article qualification test plan if the offeror is a new, non-OEM source
- Contract type
- Firm-fixed-price (negotiated request for proposals, SF 1447), DPAS rated order
- Period of performance
- One delivery: 5 each by 1 JAN 2027
- Place of performance
- USA; ship-to code SW3211, FOB origin
- Estimated value
- A figure of $444,265.65 appears on the cover page of the solicitation but is not labeled
- How they'll choose
- Not stated. Sections L and M are only partly filled in. The government says it will consider SPRS risk scores, and that Sections L and M will be added if a new source is approved.
- Offers due
- Nov 12, 2026 3:00 PM Central (-06:00), per the SAM.gov response deadline
- How to submit
- Not clearly stated; the cover page says offers go to the issuing office, DLA Weapons Support at Oklahoma City, 3001 Staff Drive, Tinker AFB OK 73145-3070 (buyer James Callins, james.callins@us.af.mil, 385-591-1684)
What they'll judge offers on
- Item risk, price risk and supplier risk from the Supplier Performance Risk System (SPRS)
- Shipping cost under FOB origin (surface transport) is added when comparing offers
What to include when you submit
- Sign and return the SF 1447 solicitation/contract form
- Hold prices firm for 120 days
- Complete the representations and certifications in SAM or in the solicitation (Section K)
- Surplus material offers must include the Required Information for Surplus Material Evaluation form
- Fill in the contractor fields (F.O.B. address and inspection location) in the schedule
- Check that your NIST SP 800-171 assessment score is posted in SPRS
Current contractor
No incumbent is named. The engineering data list names RTX Corporation (CAGE 77445) as the manufacturer and design source, and the solicitation refers to non-OEM contractors needing approval.
Not in the notice text
- The contents of the CDRL (853594_CDRL.pdf) and the quality assurance file (853363_QUALASSURANCE.pdf), which are scanned images with no readable text
- The qualification requirements file (8145014524579NZ_QUALRQMT.pdf) is listed in Section J but was not read (it may be an attached file the AI skipped; check SAM.gov)
- Award method, evaluation factors and proposal format (Sections L and M are not fully written)
- How to submit the offer (email, portal or mail) is not stated
- What the unlabeled $444,265.65 on the cover page represents
- The process, cost and timeline for a new source to gain engineering approval
- The higher-level quality standard that applies to the item
Eligibility and how to respond
- No set-aside, but the notice names requirements you must meet before you can bid:
- The notice mentions an approved or qualified source list. Only listed sources may be eligible, so check that your company or product is on it.
- How to submit, from the AI summary: Not clearly stated; the cover page says offers go to the issuing office, DLA Weapons Support at Oklahoma City, 3001 Staff Drive, Tinker AFB OK 73145-3070 (buyer James Callins, james.callins@us.af.mil, 385-591-1684). Check it in the notice before you send anything.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 9, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Office
- DLA Aviation at Oklahoma City, OK, Tinker AFB, OK
- Product/service code
- 8145 · Specialized Shipping and Storage Containers
- Business type
- Aircraft, ship & vehicle parts (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 336412)
- Versions
2 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 9, 2026 · Solicitation (this version)Due Nov 12, 2026 (changed)
- Sep 22, 2026 · PresolicitationDate Nov 7, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
Terms on this notice: Solicitation
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- Specialized Shipping and Storage Containers (Shipping And Storage End Item F100 NSN 8145014512435NZ PN P4078842)The Defense Logistics Agency (DLA Aviation, Tinker AFB, Oklahoma) wants pricing and delivery for a part called SHIPPING AND STORAGE (a Pratt & Whitney F100 engine item), about 30…
- Actuator, Electro-MeThe Defense Logistics Agency (DLA) Aviation office in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania has a solicitation for an electro-mechanical actuator (the title reads ACTUATOR,ELECTRO-ME), a…
- Control Unit, SupervThe Defense Logistics Agency (DLA Aviation, Philadelphia) is soliciting a supervisory control unit, an aircraft engine part (PSC 2995).
- Guard, Gasoline EngiThe Navy's NAVSUP Weapon Systems Support has posted a solicitation for a gasoline engine guard (a guard for an aircraft-related engine part, NAICS 336412).
- Gas Turbines and Jet Engines, Aircraft, Prime Moving; and Components (Hot Section Module End Item F100 NSN 2840015822797NZ PN 4089013-800;4089013-801)The Defense Logistics Agency (DLA Aviation, Oklahoma City) wants to buy new-manufacture F100 engine Hot Section Modules (part numbers 4089013-800 and 4089013-801) for delivery to…