Solicitation
C-130 Pison, Linear Actua
Department of Defense · Defense Logistics Agency
AI summaryOnly qualified sources can receive this award: Amendment 0001 names six approved firms (the RFQ itself names three), and other firms must first finish a source qualification. DLA Aviation at Ogden, Utah wants QTY 4 EA of national stock number (NSN, the Government's item ID) 1650-00-404-6550, a C-130 linear actuating piston (drag strut), part number 394018-7, for foreign military sales (FMS, items bought for an allied country). Amendment 0001 dissolved the small business set-aside and set the response due date at November 16, 2026, 11:59 PM Mountain. More in the summary
AI summary Beta
This summary may miss requirements: 2 of 9 attachments weren't read (Unmarked Eng Data 2022.pdf, TDP.zip). Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
Only qualified sources can receive this award: Amendment 0001 names six approved firms (the RFQ itself names three), and other firms must first finish a source qualification. DLA Aviation at Ogden, Utah wants QTY 4 EA of national stock number (NSN, the Government's item ID) 1650-00-404-6550, a C-130 linear actuating piston (drag strut), part number 394018-7, for foreign military sales (FMS, items bought for an allied country). Amendment 0001 dissolved the small business set-aside and set the response due date at November 16, 2026, 11:59 PM Mountain.
Who can bid (6)
- Be a qualified source. The amendment names Lockheed Martin, Triumph Actuation, Logistical Support, Heroux-Devtek, Integral Aerospace and HDI Landing Gear. The RFQ names Hydromach, Johnson Manufacturing and International Precision. Others must submit a qualification package.
- Complete qualification before the date set for award. The documents estimate 365 days and an estimated $1500 of testing cost; award will not be delayed for a firm to qualify.
- U.S. contractors only.
Show all 6Show fewer
- Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) Level 1, the basic level of Department of Defense cybersecurity certification.
- Active registration in the System for Award Management (SAM) and a CAGE code.
- Hold, or obtain before delivery, supply chain traceability records showing the part comes from an approved manufacturer; produce them within three business days of a request.
How to submit: Send quotations to the issuing office in Block 5A: DLA Aviation - Ogden, buyer April J Blakeley, april.blakeley@us.af.mil, (385) 591-8032. The documents give no other submission method.. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (8)
From the version posted Oct 15, 2026.
- Serious: Only qualified sources can win. A firm not already approved must complete a source qualification before award, and award will not wait for it.
- Serious: Qualification takes about 365 days. The Government estimates a year of testing, at the offeror's own expense, with a qualification article or a waiver.
- Worth checking: Two different lists of qualified sources. Amendment 0001 lists six firms and the RFQ lists three; neither says it replaces the other. Ask the Contracting Officer which list governs.
Show all 8Show fewer
- Worth checking: Technical drawings are controlled. The technical data package is attached but controlled (access must be requested), and release to foreign-owned or influenced companies needs foreign disclosure approval.
- Worth checking: First article testing and waiver choice. Without a waiver you must bid with first article testing; a failed first article counts as late delivery, and production before approval is at your risk.
- Worth checking: Foreign military sales, U.S. contractors only. Production units ship to an allied country's FMS ship-to code, and the order carries a DO-A1 priority rating.
- Minor: Production delivery on or before March 30, 2028 (Bid B). If you bid without first article testing, all 4 units are due by that date.
- Minor: Ten-year traceability record keeping. Test reports, material certifications and process sheets must be kept and produced on request.
Read from the notice and 7 attachments. 2 of 9 not read. Show which files.
- SPRHA126Q0984_______0001.pdf (read)
- SPRHA126Q0984.pdf (read)
- SOW.pdf (read)
- SPI.pdf (read)
- EDL.pdf (read)
- MQR.pdf (read)
- CDRLFATR.pdf (read)
- Unmarked Eng Data 2022.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- TDP.zip: not read (access is restricted): request it on SAM.gov
Full summary
What they want
- QTY 4 EA of NSN 1650-00-404-6550, Piston, Linear Actuating (drag strut, nose landing gear), C-130, part number 394018-7 (Lockheed Martin drawing 394018).
- Bid A (first article required): CLIN 0001AB, 1 EA first article, plus CLIN 0001AC, 3 EA production. Bid B (first article waived): CLIN 0001AD, 4 EA. These are two prices for the same 4 units.
- A first article test report (CDRL A001, a contract data item) sent with the first article, tested by the Government before production is approved.
- Mark items per MIL-STD-130 with a serial number and item unique identification (IUID, a permanent digital marking); package per the Special Packaging Instruction (SPI) at military level.
- Build to quality standard AS9100 and keep supply chain traceability records for ten years after final payment.
- Propose a delivery schedule you can meet, based on your own production lead time.
- Contract type
- Firm-fixed-price (FFP: one set price per unit) request for quotation; foreign military sales requirement
- Period of performance
- Bid A: first article due 365 calendar days after receipt of order, then 3 production units due 180 calendar days after first article approval (the Government has 120 days to approve). Bid B: 4 units due on or before March 30, 2028.
- Place of performance
- Not stated in the SAM.gov fields. First article ships to Hill Air Force Base, Utah (809 MXSS/MXDEB), FOB destination. Production ships FOB origin to foreign military sales ship-to code DTW004; no street address is given.
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- How they'll choose
- Price is the only listed factor; all other factors combined are significantly less important than price
- Offers due
- November 16, 2026, 11:59 PM Mountain
- How to submit
- Send quotations to the issuing office in Block 5A: DLA Aviation - Ogden, buyer April J Blakeley, april.blakeley@us.af.mil, (385) 591-8032. The documents give no other submission method.
What they'll judge offers on
- Price or Cost: extended prices, with a first article evaluation cost of $2,000.00 added for the first-article bid (Bid A)
- Supplier Performance Risk System (SPRS) item, price and supplier risk may also be considered by the Contracting Officer
What to include when you submit
- Quote on Bid A (first article required) unless you meet a waiver condition; then quote on Bid B.
- Waiver conditions (not more than 36 months since the earlier contract finished): previously furnished to a prime contractor for delivery to the Air Force, currently in production for the Air Force, or previously furnished to the Air Force.
- For Bid B, give the earlier contract number, item number, contract date, and the name and address of the Government agency that issued it.
- Price Bid A as CLIN 0001AB (1 EA first article) and CLIN 0001AC (3 EA production); the first article test report line is not separately priced. Price Bid B as CLIN 0001AD (4 EA).
- Acknowledge Amendment 0001 before the response due date: on the amendment form, on your quotation, or by separate letter or electronic message naming the solicitation and amendment numbers.
- Propose a delivery schedule based on your own production lead time review.
- Show your qualification: send a source approval request package, or evidence you are already qualified for NSN 1650-00-404-6550, before award.
- Fill in the contractor fill-in lines for the FOB origin address and the Government inspection and acceptance location, and give your CAGE code.
- Hold your prices firm for 120 days.
- Complete the representations, including those on covered telecommunications equipment and foreign-made unmanned aircraft systems.
After award, you must have
- Comply with the AS9100 quality standard as a higher-level contract quality requirement. From SPRHA126Q0984.pdf:
AS9100 9100…
- Item unique identification (IUID) marking and a serial number on each unit. From SPRHA126Q0984.pdf:
IUID Required: Yes…
Current contractor
No incumbent is named. The documents list the qualified sources: six firms in Amendment 0001 and three in the RFQ.
Not in the notice text
- The technical data package (TDP.zip, controlled: request access on SAM.gov) and a scanned file (Unmarked Eng Data 2022.pdf) are attached but not read. The first article test report data item (CDRLFATR.pdf) text also could not be read; check it on SAM.gov.
- The documents say to send quotations to the issuing office but do not name an email, portal or other submission method.
- Whether the amendment's list of six qualified sources replaces the RFQ's list of three.
- No Government estimate or contract value is given.
- The ship-to address for the foreign military sales production units is not given.
- Amendment 0001 gives no response time of day; SAM.gov gives 11:59 PM Mountain.
Eligibility and how to respond
- No set-aside: any business, large or small, can bid unless the notice says otherwise.
- How to submit, from the AI summary: Send quotations to the issuing office in Block 5A: DLA Aviation - Ogden, buyer April J Blakeley, april.blakeley@us.af.mil, (385) 591-8032. The documents give no other submission method. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 15, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Office
- DLA Aviation at Ogden, UT, Hill Air Force Base, UT
- Product/service code
- 1650 · Aircraft Hydraulic, Vacuum, and De-Icing System Components
- Business type
- Aircraft, ship & vehicle parts (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 336413)
- Versions
2 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 15, 2026 · Amendment 0001 (this version)Due Nov 16, 2026 (changed)
- Sep 14, 2026 · SolicitationDue Oct 14, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
Terms on this notice: Solicitation
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- Head, Linear Actuati // 1650-01-585-8779HS // 68A412808-1003Defense Logistics Agency Aviation at Oklahoma City plans to buy a Head, Linear Actuator, national stock number (NSN) 1650-01-585-8779HS, part number 68A412808-1003, and has…
- Head, Linear Actuati // 1650-01-585-8779HS // 68A412808-1003The Defense Logistics Agency (DLA) Aviation office at Oklahoma City, run through DLA Weapons Support at Tinker Air Force Base, wants a new-built linear actuator head (HEAD,LINEAR…
- Valve, Linear, DirectThe Defense Logistics Agency (DLA) Aviation at Oklahoma City wants quotes on QTY 2 EA of a new-manufacture hydraulic control selector valve (NSN 4810-00-818-0440HS, part number…
- New Manufacture: VALVE, LINEAR, DIRECT End Item B1 NSN 4810011482014HS PN 50010-11The Defense Logistics Agency (DLA Aviation at Oklahoma City, OK) wants new-manufacture linear direct valves.
- KC-135/E3 Valve, Linear DirectDLA Aviation at Oklahoma City plans to buy linear direct valves (NSN 4810008180440HS, part numbers 526574 and 52657-4), listed for KC-135/E3 aircraft.