Presolicitation
New Manufactured Material, NSN: 2840-01-532-7658PR (AMC 3N)
Department of Defense · Defense Logistics Agency
AI summaryDEFENSE LOGISTICS AGENCY (DLA) Aviation at Oklahoma City plans to buy F110 engine accessory gearboxes and says it will compete the buy with only a limited number of sources under FAR 6.302; General Electric (GE, Commercial and Government Entity (CAGE) code 07482) is the only known source. Other firms may tell the contracting officer of their interest and capability within 15 days of the notice. The best estimated quantity is 42 each (range 11 to 63), delivery is requested by March 31, 2027, and offers are due December 2, 2026, 4:00 PM Central (5:00 PM Eastern). More in the summary
Advance notice of a coming solicitation, not a bid yet. If it asks for capability statements, sending one is free and puts you on Defense Logistics Agency's list before the solicitation is posted. See the contact
A newer version of this notice was posted Nov 2, 2026. See the latest version.
The agency plans to buy from a few companies it names, without full competition. Other companies can still send an offer or a capability statement, and the agency says it will consider them.
AI summary Beta
Summary of the version posted Oct 15, 2026. The notice was amended Nov 2, 2026. Check what else changed on SAM.gov. Some details are in the notice's attachments, which this summary didn't read. Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
DEFENSE LOGISTICS AGENCY (DLA) Aviation at Oklahoma City plans to buy F110 engine accessory gearboxes and says it will compete the buy with only a limited number of sources under FAR 6.302; General Electric (GE, Commercial and Government Entity (CAGE) code 07482) is the only known source. Other firms may tell the contracting officer of their interest and capability within 15 days of the notice. The best estimated quantity is 42 each (range 11 to 63), delivery is requested by March 31, 2027, and offers are due December 2, 2026, 4:00 PM Central (5:00 PM Eastern).
Who can bid
- Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) Level 2 (Self) applies: a self-assessment of cybersecurity practices
How to submit: A letter request for proposal will be available for download from SAM.gov on the release date; electronic procedures are used and the notice says no telephone requests. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (4)
- Serious: Limited sources; GE is the only known source. The Government plans to compete with a limited number of sources and knows of only GE, so other firms must show interest and capability to the contracting officer within 15 days of this notice, or they may be left out.
- Worth checking: Government may decide not to compete the buy. Whether the buy is competed is decided by the Government based on responses, so a response may not lead to a competed solicitation.
- Worth checking: Cybersecurity certification level applies. The notice lists CMMC Level 2 (Self) as applicable, so a bidder needs a current self-assessment of its cybersecurity practices.
Show all 4Show fewer
- Minor: Wide quantity range. The estimated quantity is 42 each but could be 11 to 63, which makes pricing and production planning harder.
Read from the notice text only.
Full summary
What they want
- Gearbox, Accessory D for the F110 engine: National Stock Number (NSN) 2840-01-532-7658PR, part number 9521M33G21
- Best estimated quantity 42 each, with a quantity range of 11 each to 63 each
- Item size and weight as listed: length 3.0 ft, width 2.0 ft, height 1.0 ft, weight 60 lbs
- Ship to SW3211 with requested delivery of March 31, 2027
- Contract type
- Request for proposal (RFP) for supplies, limited-sources purchase under FAR 6.302; the Government is not using FAR Part 12 (commercial item) policies
- Period of performance
- Requested delivery: March 31, 2027
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- Offers due
- December 2, 2026, 4:00 PM Central (5:00 PM Eastern) (from the version posted Oct 15, 2026; amended since)
- How to submit
- A letter request for proposal will be available for download from SAM.gov on the release date; electronic procedures are used and the notice says no telephone requests
What to include when you submit
- A firm that is not GE can identify its interest and capability to meet the requirement with a commercial item to the contracting officer within 15 days of this notice
- Send questions about the synopsis or later solicitation to Breann Irving at breann.irving@us.af.mil or 385-591-1658
- Only written or faxed requests received directly from the requestors are acceptable
Current contractor
No incumbent is named. The notice says GE (CAGE code 07482) is the only known source and lists the history as GE Aviation.
Not in the notice text
- The letter request for proposal, with its evaluation basis, instructions and clauses, is released on SAM.gov on the estimated issue date.
- Place of performance is not stated; the notice gives only the ship-to code SW3211.
- Estimated value is not stated.
- Whether drawings or other technical data are available is not stated.
Eligibility and how to respond
- No set-aside, but the notice names requirements you must meet before you can bid:
- The notice mentions CMMC, the Defense Department's cybersecurity certification. Check the level it asks for.
- How to submit, from the AI summary: A letter request for proposal will be available for download from SAM.gov on the release date; electronic procedures are used and the notice says no telephone requests. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 15, 2026
- Notice type
- Presolicitation
- Office
- DLA Aviation at Oklahoma City, OK, Tinker AFB, OK
- Product/service code
- 2840 · Gas Turbines and Jet Engines, Aircraft, Prime Moving; and Components
- Business type
- Aircraft, ship & vehicle parts (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 336412)
- Versions
3 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Nov 2, 2026 · SolicitationDue Dec 2, 2026
- Oct 15, 2026 · Presolicitation (this version)Date Dec 2, 2026
- Oct 15, 2026 · Sources SoughtDue Dec 2, 2026
- Related notices
Other notices that name this solicitation, or that this one names.
- SUPPORT,GEARBOX COM_End_Item_F110_NSN_2840015327658PR_PN_9521M33G21 · FD20302700097Posted earlier Aug 5, 2026 · Due Aug 6, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
Terms on this notice: Solicitation
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- New Manufactured material F108 BLADE SET,FAN,AIRCR, NSN 2840-01-196-6053PNDLA Aviation at Tinker AFB, Oklahoma wants a firm fixed price proposal for new-manufacture F108 fan blade sets (NSN 2840-01-196-6053PN), 27 to 163 each.
- New Manufactured Material, NSN: 2915-01-463-7933 PR (3D)Defense Logistics Agency (DLA) Aviation at Oklahoma City, OK plans to buy F110 engine afterburner fuel controls from GE, which the notice calls the only known source that can…
- New Manufacture Material, NSN 2840016760196PR (AMC 3R)The Defense Logistics Agency (DLA) Aviation at Oklahoma City plans to buy F110 engine turbine rotors (NSN 2840016760196PR) and intends to compete with only a limited number of…
- Gas Turbines and Jet Engines, Aircraft, Prime Moving; and Components (Hot Section Module End Item F100 NSN 2840015822797NZ PN 4089013-800;4089013-801)The Defense Logistics Agency (DLA Aviation, Oklahoma City) wants to buy new-manufacture F100 engine Hot Section Modules (part numbers 4089013-800 and 4089013-801) for delivery to…
- Gas Turbines and Jet Engines, Aircraft, Prime Moving; and Components (Cold Section Module End Item F100 NSN 2840015806609NZ PN 4089012-800)The Defense Logistics Agency (DLA Aviation, Tinker AFB, Oklahoma) is asking Pratt & Whitney, the only source it will deal with, to price 30 cold section modules for the F100 jet…