Combined Synopsis/Solicitation
Fabricated Components for the SR Embedded Floor Plates for the ALS-U Project
Department of Energy
AI summaryThe University of California, for Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (LBNL) and the Department of Energy (DOE), wants 96 fabricated embedded floor plates for the Advanced Light Source Upgrade (ALS-U) storage ring, under request for proposal (RFP) AA-2027-02. The RFP says it is a small business set-aside, but SAM.gov states no set-aside. Delivery runs from January 5, 2027 to July 30, 2027, and the response due date is November 11, 2026, 5:00 PM Pacific. More in the summary
AI summary Beta
This summary may miss requirements: 2 of 9 attachments weren't read (4. Price Proposal Schedule, Attachment A, RFP AA-2027-02 Rev. 1.xlsx, 4. Price Proposal Schedule, Attachment A, RFP AA-2027-02.xlsx). Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
The University of California, for Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (LBNL) and the Department of Energy (DOE), wants 96 fabricated embedded floor plates for the Advanced Light Source Upgrade (ALS-U) storage ring, under request for proposal (RFP) AA-2027-02. The RFP says it is a small business set-aside, but SAM.gov states no set-aside. Delivery runs from January 5, 2027 to July 30, 2027, and the response due date is November 11, 2026, 5:00 PM Pacific.
Who can bid (6)
- Small business under NAICS 332999 (size standard of 750 employees). Joint ventures or teaming with large businesses are accepted. The RFP says awards go only to small businesses; SAM.gov states no set-aside.
- Deliver only domestic end products (made in the United States) unless a Buy American exception is approved
- A quality management system or quality control program, shown by a manual or written procedures, including how quality rules pass to lower-tier suppliers
Show all 6Show fewer
- Calibrated measuring tools and a CMM or equivalent calibrated device that can meet the drawing measurements, with records
- Successful work in the last five years on contracts similar in type and complexity
- Not currently ineligible for new federal prime contracts or subcontracts (for example, not excluded or debarred)
How to submit: Email (or other secure electronic submission) to Arielle Anoop, University Procurement Representative, AAnoop@lbl.gov. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (10)
From the version posted Oct 21, 2026.
- Serious: Set-aside shown differently on SAM.gov and in the RFP. SAM.gov states no set-aside, while the RFP says it is a small business set-aside with awards only to small businesses; a firm over the 750-employee size standard should ask before bidding.
- Serious: Every technical criterion is pass/fail. Failing any one of the five technical criteria makes the whole proposal unacceptable, so each section needs complete evidence.
- Worth checking: Past work must include kitting and inventory management. The past performance criterion asks for at least two similar contracts in five years that include kitting and inventory management, which a plain metal shop may lack.
Show all 10Show fewer
- Worth checking: Written approval needed before production and shipping. Series production waits for LBNL approval of the first article, and no shipment goes out before written approval; LBNL's stated response is 20 business days for first article and production shipments.
- Worth checking: First article due January 5, 2027. Two type 1 first articles are due January 5, 2027, and the remaining batches are due between February 15, 2027 and July 30, 2027.
- Worth checking: First articles must be measured with a CMM. A coordinate measuring machine (CMM), which measures part dimensions precisely, or a laser tracker is needed for first articles, so you need one or a subcontractor with one.
- Worth checking: Only domestic end products. The Buy American Act applies, so imported plates need an approved exception, and foreign content must be disclosed on the certifications form.
- Worth checking: Option numbers differ between documents. The SOW table lists five options with machining as Options 4 and 5, but one SOW section reviews machining under options 2/3; ask the Procurement Representative which numbering governs.
- Minor: Exceptions to the sample subcontract can end an award. Taking exceptions may count against you, and unresolved exceptions can stop an award to an otherwise successful bidder.
- Minor: Storage option puts loss risk and insurance on the supplier. If the storage option is used, the supplier carries the risk of loss and insurance for stored plates until LBNL signs for them.
Read from the notice and 7 attachments. 2 of 9 not read. Show which files.
- QA RFP AA-2027-02.docx (read)
- 0. RFP AA-2027-02.pdf (read)
- 2. Sample Subcontract, AA-2027-02.pdf (read)
- 5. Rep Cert AA-2027-02.docx (read)
- 1. AL-1953-0482C, SOW, SR Embedded Floor Plates.pdf (read)
- 3. ALS-U Supplier Quality Evaluation Survey, RFP AA-2027-02.pdf (read)
- 6. Past Performance Reference Information Form, Attachment B, AA-2027-02.docx (read)
- 4. Price Proposal Schedule, Attachment A, RFP AA-2027-02 Rev. 1.xlsx: not read (the AI doesn't read this file type yet): open it on SAM.gov
- 4. Price Proposal Schedule, Attachment A, RFP AA-2027-02.xlsx: not read (the AI doesn't read this file type yet): open it on SAM.gov
Full summary
What they want
- Make 96 embedded floor plates in nine design variants from LBNL drawings: 2 first articles (sample plates checked before the full run) of type 1, then 9 batches
- Quantity note: the Q&A sets the total at 96, with 11 plates of type 3 and 1 of type 9; the sample subcontract table still adds up to 108 until updated at award
- Inspect every plate: first articles on all dimensions using a coordinate measuring machine (CMM) or laser tracker, production parts on the dimensions in drawing AL-1952-8314
- Serialize machined parts under EG-1002-1955 and SAE AS478-15B2 and send quality papers with each batch: certificates of conformance, material certifications, packing lists, inspection reports
- Wait for LBNL's written notice to proceed (NTP) at three hold points: first article shipment, start of series production, and each production shipment
- Pack on pallets, label each shipment, and ship free on board (F.O.B.) destination with freight prepaid to LBNL, One Cyclotron Road, Building 69, Berkeley, CA
- Name a project manager as the single contact, hold a manufacturing readiness review with a manufacturing plan before bulk production, and track action items from meetings
- Price the options: inspection templates (Option 1), CMM inspection of all plates (Option 2), monthly storage (Option 3), and extra machined holes on 26 plates each (Options 4 and 5)
- Contract type
- Fixed-price subcontract (total firm fixed price: one set price, whatever the work ends up costing) issued by the University of California under its DOE prime contract
- Period of performance
- Deliveries: first article of 2 plates due January 5, 2027, then batches due from February 15, 2027 through July 30, 2027
- Place of performance
- Berkeley, CA, USA per SAM.gov. Delivery address: Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, One Cyclotron Road, Building 69, Berkeley, CA 94720
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- How they'll choose
- Lowest price technically acceptable: award to the lowest overall price among offers rated Pass on every technical criterion
- Offers due
- November 11, 2026, 5:00 PM Pacific
- How to submit
- Email (or other secure electronic submission) to Arielle Anoop, University Procurement Representative, AAnoop@lbl.gov
What they'll judge offers on
- Criterion 1, Ability to Meet Technical Requirements (pass/fail): meets the statement of work and drawings
- Criterion 2, Delivery and Schedule (pass/fail): lead times, carrier and shipping cost estimate, firm calendar delivery dates
- Criterion 3, Manufacturing Capabilities and Capacity (pass/fail): production plan, calibrated measuring tools, CMM or equivalent equipment evidence, lower-tier subcontractors named
- Criterion 4, Past Performance (pass/fail): at least two similar contracts in the last five years, including kitting and inventory management
- Criterion 5, Quality Assurance (pass/fail): the ALS-U Supplier Quality Evaluation Survey, quality manual or procedures, and a sample manufacturing traveler
- Price: lowest evaluated price among technically acceptable offers
What to include when you submit
- Send three separate documents: a cover letter, a technical volume and a business volume, in MS Word, MS Excel or PDF.
- Cover letter: your name and address, the solicitation number and title, and the name, title, email and phone of the people with authority to commit your firm and negotiate the subcontract.
- Technical volume: address all five criteria, including a delivery schedule with firm calendar dates, proposed carrier and shipping cost estimate, and proposed lead times.
- Technical volume: include the completed ALS-U Supplier Quality Evaluation Survey AL-1208-0209 and Past Performance Reference Information Form, Attachment B (one form per reference).
- Past performance: describe at least two contracts from the last five years, with letters of reference, project documents, problems solved, corrective actions, and reference contacts.
- Past performance: also state the name and age of your Inventory Management System and Enterprise Risk Management system.
- Manufacturing capacity: send a tool list with calibration tracking evidence, identify all subcontractors and subcontracted equipment, and give equipment specifications (measurement size, accuracy), calibration records and photos.
- Business volume: the signed Representations and Certifications form and the Price Proposal Schedule, Attachment A (Rev. 1), with a total firm fixed price and firm calendar delivery dates.
- Business volume: state that you take no exceptions to the Sample Subcontract, or send a redlined copy with a business case for each exception.
- Indicate on the Representations and Certifications form whether you would furnish any foreign end product; mark any proprietary data.
- Proposals stay valid for 90 days from the response due date. An alternate proposal may be sent with an explanation of its benefits.
After award, you must have
- Make the first article and the production plates at the same facility From 2. Sample Subcontract, AA-2027-02.pdf:
The Subcontractor shall produce both the first article and the production quantity at the same facility.
- Give export control classification information for all items before award From 0. RFP AA-2027-02.pdf:
Before Subcontract award, the offeror will provide export control classification information for all items…
Not in the notice text
- The drawing package and bill of materials (AL-1953-0511, AL-1952-8314) are on a Google Drive folder named in the notice, the Price Proposal Schedule (Attachment A, Rev. 1) is a spreadsheet attached but not read, and parts of the SOW, certifications form and quality survey were left out.
- Plate material, size, tolerances and weight are not in the text read; they are in the drawings on Google Drive.
- No contract value or budget is stated.
- How optional items (Options 1 to 5) count toward the lowest evaluated price is not stated.
- No page limit is given for the proposal volumes.
- The technical representative, subcontract number and reporting recipients are listed as TBD.
- The contents of SOW Section 4.1 (reporting requirements) were partly left out of the text read.
Eligibility and how to respond
- No set-aside: any business, large or small, can bid unless the notice says otherwise.
- How to submit, from the AI summary: Email (or other secure electronic submission) to Arielle Anoop, University Procurement Representative, AAnoop@lbl.gov. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 21, 2026
- Notice type
- Combined Synopsis/Solicitation
- Office
- Berkeley Natl Lab - DOE Contractor, CA
- Product/service code
- 6640 · Laboratory Equipment and Supplies
- Business type
- Manufactured parts & equipment (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 332999)
- Versions
2 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 21, 2026 · Amendment 0001 (this version)Due Nov 11, 2026
- Oct 19, 2026 · Combined Synopsis/SolicitationDue Nov 11, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
Terms on this notice: Solicitation
Latest amendment note (Amendment 1) from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- MITR Chemically Milled Plate
- ShackleThe Defense Logistics Agency (DLA) Weapons Support office wants quotes on a request for quotations (RFQ) for 1,145 shackles, National Stock Number (NSN: the item's catalog…
- Request for Proposal Neptune Cask Interface SystemOak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL), run by UT-Battelle for the Department of Energy, asks for proposals to build and deliver a proof-of-concept "Neptune" cask interface…
- HIP CAN StudyBattelle, which runs the Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL) for the Department of Energy, wants 19 line items of metal shims, plates, foils, steel cans and tooling.
- Primer Feed Mechanisms (PFMs)The Army (ACC-New Jersey, for PM Combat Ammunition Systems) plans to buy Primer Feed Mechanisms for the M777A2 155mm Howitzer under a single five-year IDIQ contract.