Solicitation
Request for Proposal Neptune Cask Interface System…
Department of Energy
AI summaryOak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL), run by UT-Battelle for the Department of Energy, asks for proposals to build and deliver a proof-of-concept "Neptune" cask interface assembly, plus a simple test stand. The anticipated deal is a firm-fixed-price (FFP, one set price) subcontract for December 1, 2026 to July 31, 2027, awarded to the lowest-priced offer that meets every requirement. The response due date is November 12, 2026, 5:00 PM Eastern; Amendment 01 moved it from November 5, 2026. More in the summary
AI summary Beta
This summary may miss requirements: 1 of 9 attachments weren't read (Attachment A MHC-DS-SPEC-005-R0.pdf). Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL), run by UT-Battelle for the Department of Energy, asks for proposals to build and deliver a proof-of-concept "Neptune" cask interface assembly, plus a simple test stand. The anticipated deal is a firm-fixed-price (FFP, one set price) subcontract for December 1, 2026 to July 31, 2027, awarded to the lowest-priced offer that meets every requirement. The response due date is November 12, 2026, 5:00 PM Eastern; Amendment 01 moved it from November 5, 2026.
Who can bid
- A quality program that complies with ISO 9001 (2015 edition or later), and the ability to be added to the ORNL Evaluated Suppliers List, which may require a quality assurance assessment
- Key personnel (Project Manager, Project Engineer, Quality Representative) and their alternates must currently be employees of the offeror or its lower-tier subcontractors, with experience on projects of comparable scope
- Active SAM.gov registration is strongly encouraged; the Representations and Certifications form is required if the proposal exceeds $15,000
How to submit: Not stated in the documents. Questions and contact go to Procurement Officer Rachel Botes, botesre@ornl.gov, 865-341-4882.. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (10)
From the version posted Oct 15, 2026.
- Serious: ISO 9001 quality program required. Bidders without an ISO 9001-compliant quality program, or that cannot be added to ORNL's evaluated suppliers list, are unlikely to qualify; an on-site inspection of your shop is possible.
- Worth checking: Lowest price technically acceptable award. Price decides among acceptable offers, and an offer rated unacceptable on any one factor is not considered, so meet every factor and price sharply.
- Worth checking: Award planned on initial offers. The Company intends to award without a second round, so the first offer should carry your best price and terms.
Show all 10Show fewer
- Worth checking: Delivery date and subcontract end date differ. The RFP will evaluate a 7/31/2027 receipt-on-site date, while the draft subcontract (Attachment H) ends on September 15, 2027. Ask the Procurement Officer which governs.
- Worth checking: Heavy quality paperwork with each shipment. You must supply mill test data, weld inspection reports with radiographic films, nondestructive test reports, calibration records and certificates of conformance, which adds cost for a small shop.
- Minor: Response due date moved to November 12, 2026. Amendment 01 extends the response due date to 11/12/2026 at 5pm EST (it was November 5, 2026 in the original RFP) and the questions deadline to October 28, 2026. The amendment's information table also prints a garbled date for the response due date; its opening paragraph and SAM.gov both say November 12, 2026.
- Minor: Part of the work is design-build. Besides build-to-print parts, you must design and build a test stand that places the top of one component 37-1/8" above the floor.
- Minor: Statement of Work number cited two ways. The technical proposal instructions cite SOW MHC-DS-SPEC-004-R0, while the attachment list and section 4 name MHC-DS-SPEC-005-R0. Confirm the right document with the Procurement Officer.
- Minor: Deliveries on site restricted for foreign nationals. Deliveries to ORNL must be made by a U.S. citizen or a foreign national approved in ORNL's access systems; others are denied entry.
- Minor: Funding released by purchase order. Funding comes in purchase order releases through the Ariba Network, and without a release there is no funding for work. Payment is Net 30 (large business) or Net 15 (small business) after final acceptance.
Read from the notice and 8 attachments. 1 of 9 not read. Show which files.
- RFP PR507071 Neptune Amendment 01.pdf (read)
- RFP PR507071 Neptune.pdf (read)
- Attachment H Draft FFP Subcontract PR507071.pdf (read)
- Attachment F Reps-and-Certs-Abbreviated-2026.03.09.pdf (read)
- Attachment D Prime-Flowdown-Clauses-BSD-CS-2258-09.30.2026.pdf (read)
- Attachment C Terms-Conditions-Fixed-Price-BSD-CS-2150-09.30.2026-1.pdf (read)
- Attachment B Quality Assurance Special Provisions.pdf (read)
- Attachment E Milestone Payment Clause.pdf (read)
- Attachment A MHC-DS-SPEC-005-R0.pdf: not read (it couldn't be opened): open it on SAM.gov
Full summary
What they want
- Build to print: make and assemble the machined parts and procured components shown on drawing MMHC1CAVE20-ASSY (SOW section 2.1, bullet 1)
- Design and build a simple test stand: four pieces of hollow structural steel (HSS) tubing welded to a top plate and a bottom plate, with the top of component MMHC1CAVE20-P001 at 37-1/8" above the floor
- Run a quality program that meets ISO 9001 (the international quality management standard), 2015 edition or later
- Provide quality records with shipments: mill certificates, weld inspection reports, nondestructive test reports, pressure or leak test reports, dimensional reports and certificates of conformance
- Deliver the assembly to ORNL, Oak Ridge, TN, undamaged and working, with an operating and maintenance manual
- Hit the schedule: the Company will evaluate the ability to meet a 7/31/2027 receipt-on-site date
- Contract type
- Firm-fixed-price (FFP) subcontract anticipated under UT-Battelle's prime contract with the Department of Energy
- Period of performance
- Anticipated December 1, 2026 to July 31, 2027 in the RFP; the draft subcontract lists December 1, 2026 to September 15, 2027
- Place of performance
- Oak Ridge, TN, USA (SAM.gov); ship-to is Oak Ridge National Laboratory, 1 Bethel Valley Road, Building 7120. The draft subcontract leaves the seller's primary performance location to be determined at award
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- How they'll choose
- Lowest price technically acceptable (LPTA): award goes to the responsible bidder with the lowest-priced offer that meets all requirements; an offer rated unacceptable on any factor is out
- Offers due
- Nov 12, 2026, 5:00 PM Eastern
- How to submit
- Not stated in the documents. Questions and contact go to Procurement Officer Rachel Botes, botesre@ornl.gov, 865-341-4882.
- Page limits
- Technical proposal: 20 pages, excluding personnel resumes
What they'll judge offers on
- Fabrication Plan strategy and scope of work adherence
- Quality Plan & Quality Program
- Personnel Experience/Past Performance
- Schedule: ability to meet a 7/31/2027 receipt-on-site date
What to include when you submit
- Send a complete proposal package: Technical Proposal, Cost Proposal, Exceptions/Non-Compliance, and Conditions of Proposal / Assumptions.
- Use MS Excel, MS Word or PDF, on the Company's forms if any are provided.
- Technical Proposal sections: Fabrication Plan, Quality Plan & Quality Program, and Personnel Experience/Past Performance. Include a glossary of acronyms.
- Include a P6 or Microsoft Project schedule that conforms with the Statement of Work (SOW).
- Name key personnel (Project Manager, Project Engineer, Quality Representative) and alternates. They must be employees of the offeror or its lower-tier subcontractors.
- Include an organizational chart, and a statement on any disciplinary action against professional licenses (or a statement that there is none).
- Describe the application of ISO 9001 quality requirements.
- Put no certified cost or pricing information in the technical proposal.
- Price in U.S. dollars with a breakdown of materials and equipment and supporting supplier quotes or catalog cut sheets. State any tariffs separately.
- A milestone payment plan may be proposed; payments must show significant progress against the schedule.
- State a definite delivery time. Days count calendar days unless you say business days. Offers stay valid 120 calendar days unless you state otherwise.
- List any exceptions in a separate Exceptions/Non-Compliance section; saying nothing means you accept all requirements, terms and conditions.
- Provide a company profile with business size, and names, positions, emails and phone numbers of people who can negotiate and commit the company.
- If the proposal exceeds $15,000, return the Representations and Certifications – Abbreviated form (BSD-CS-2260).
- List any foreign end products and their country of origin.
- Acknowledge Amendment 01 in writing.
- If a large business and the offer is $900,000 or more, submit a Small Business Subcontracting Plan; if the offer exceeds $2.5 million, return the Cost Accounting Standards form (BSD-CS-2039).
After award, you must have
- Enroll in electronic funds transfer (EFT) during Ariba registration, since payment is by EFT From RFP PR507071 Neptune Amendment 01.pdf:
EFT enrollment shall be completed during the…
Not in the notice text
- The Statement of Work (Attachment A, MHC-DS-SPEC-005-R0) is attached but not read (too large), so quantities, materials, dimensions, tolerances and testing details are not covered here.
- Attachments C (terms and conditions), D (prime contract flowdown clauses) and F (representations and certifications) were only partly read; the middle of each was left out.
- How to submit the proposal (email, Ariba or another portal) is not stated in the documents read.
- The quantity and unit of issue of the assembly, and the Government's estimate or budget; neither is given in the documents read.
- Whether a site visit is held; the documents read do not mention one.
- Which end date governs: July 31, 2027 (RFP) or September 15, 2027 (draft subcontract).
Eligibility and how to respond
- No set-aside: any business, large or small, can bid unless the notice says otherwise.
- How to submit, from the AI summary: Not stated in the documents. Questions and contact go to Procurement Officer Rachel Botes, botesre@ornl.gov, 865-341-4882. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 15, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Office
- Ornl Ut-Battelle LLC-DOE Contractor, Oak Ridge, TN
- Product/service code
- 3695 · Miscellaneous Special Industry Machinery
- Business type
- Manufactured parts & equipment (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 332999)
- Versions
2 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 15, 2026 · Amendment 0001 (this version)Due Nov 12, 2026 (changed)
- Oct 13, 2026 · SolicitationDue Nov 5, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
Terms on this notice: Solicitation
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- ShackleThe Defense Logistics Agency (DLA) Weapons Support office wants quotes on a request for quotations (RFQ) for 1,145 shackles, National Stock Number (NSN: the item's catalog…
- Fabricated Components for the SR Embedded Floor Plates for the ALS-U ProjectThe University of California, for Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (LBNL) and the Department of Energy (DOE), wants 96 fabricated embedded floor plates for the Advanced…
- HIP CAN StudyBattelle, which runs the Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL) for the Department of Energy, wants 19 line items of metal shims, plates, foils, steel cans and tooling.
- Primer Feed Mechanisms (PFMs)The Army (ACC-New Jersey, for PM Combat Ammunition Systems) plans to buy Primer Feed Mechanisms for the M777A2 155mm Howitzer under a single five-year IDIQ contract.
- Yoke, Towing and Lif