Presolicitation
CON-NRM-663A4-24-209 Replace Fire Suppression Systems BLDG 61
Department of Veterans Affairs
AI summaryPresolicitation 36C26027R0008: Network Contracting Office 20 of the Department of Veterans Affairs, for the VA Puget Sound Medical Center - American Lake, plans to replace the fire suppression and fire alarm systems in Building 61 in Lakewood, WA. It is set aside 100% for service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSB), with one firm-fixed-price (FFP: one set price, whatever the work costs) award based on best value. The request for proposals (RFP) is expected on or about November 2, 2026, and a bid bond is required. More in the summary
Advance notice of a coming solicitation, not a bid yet. If it asks for capability statements, sending one is free and puts you on Department of Veterans Affairs's list before the solicitation is posted. See the contact
AI summary Beta
The notice looks incomplete: The request for proposals (RFP) is not posted yet: the response due date, evaluation factors, drawings and specifications are expected on SAM.gov on or about November 2, 2026. Check the notice: its text gives November 2, 2026 as the date the solicitation is expected, not the offer due date. Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
Presolicitation 36C26027R0008: Network Contracting Office 20 of the Department of Veterans Affairs, for the VA Puget Sound Medical Center - American Lake, plans to replace the fire suppression and fire alarm systems in Building 61 in Lakewood, WA. It is set aside 100% for service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSB), with one firm-fixed-price (FFP: one set price, whatever the work costs) award based on best value. The request for proposals (RFP) is expected on or about November 2, 2026, and a bid bond is required.
Who can bid (4)
- Service-disabled veteran-owned small business (SDVOSB); the project is 100% set aside
- SDVOSB firms must be certified by the Small Business Administration
- Active System for Award Management (SAM) registration with a fully completed Representations and Certifications section
Show all 4Show fewer
- Bid bond: a guarantee of at least 20 percent of the bid price, not more than $3 million
How to submit: Not stated yet. Solicitation documents will be on SAM.gov under Contract Opportunities, solicitation 36C26027R0008, on the date of issue. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (10)
From the version posted Oct 23, 2026.
- Serious: SDVOSB-only set-aside with SBA certification. Only service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses certified by the Small Business Administration can get this award; other firms are shut out.
- Serious: Bid bond required. You must get a bid bond for at least 20 percent of your bid price, up to $3 million, from a surety; a small business without bonding capacity cannot compete.
- Worth checking: NAICS code and size standard conflict. SAM.gov lists NAICS 236220 (Commercial and Institutional Building Construction), but the notice text gives NAICS 238210 with a $19M size standard; ask the contracting officer which governs.
Show all 10Show fewer
- Worth checking: No response due date yet. This is a presolicitation: the RFP is expected on or about November 2, 2026, and SAM.gov gives no response date.
- Worth checking: Site visit anticipated, details in the RFP. The notice says an organized site visit is anticipated but does not say whether attendance will be required; check the RFP.
- Worth checking: Work in a working hospital campus with after-hours shutdowns. Utility shutdowns happen on weekends during low patient demand, and noisy work runs in the evening, which raises labor cost and scheduling effort.
- Worth checking: Shutdown notice period differs: 28 days or 21 days. The statement of work asks for system shutdown requests 28 calendar days ahead in Part 5 and 21 calendar days ahead in Part 6; ask the contracting officer which applies.
- Worth checking: Hazardous material testing and abatement at contractor cost. An option line item for lead and asbestos testing and abatement is required, and the contractor bears the testing, reporting and abatement costs if needed.
- Worth checking: Strict infection control barriers. The contractor must keep negative pressure with HEPA exhaust for higher-level infection control plans and submit infection and construction risk assessment forms within one month of notice to proceed.
- Minor: No on-site office, storage or parking. Materials must arrive just in time through the loading dock, with no storage container and no parking on campus.
Read from the notice and 2 attachments. Show which files.
- 36C26027R0008_1.docx (read)
- Attachment_663A4-24-209 - Construction DRAFT SOW_07OCT2026.pdf (read)
Full summary
What they want
- Replace the dry-pipe sprinkler system in the attic, with a connection to the existing fire alarm system and a new nitrogen generator
- Replace sprinkler heads on the 1st, 2nd and 3rd floors and install a new fire alarm system
- Install new fire alarm control panels in Building 61 and Building 62
- Connect the new fire alarm system to campus monitoring and remove the existing fire alarm system
- Remove and dispose of existing equipment; do cutting and patching and repair finishes; price an option line item for lead and asbestos testing and abatement
- Send product data and submittals for VA approval before ordering materials or starting on site
- Meet VA safety and infection control rules, including weekly progress meetings with the contracting officer's representative (COR) and daily reports
- Demonstrate the systems, hand over closeout records and give a one-year parts and labor warranty
- Contract type
- Firm-fixed-price construction contract, one award planned, request for proposals under FAR Part 15
- Period of performance
- 365 calendar days after receipt of notice to proceed
- Place of performance
- VA Puget Sound Medical Center - American Lake, 9600 Veterans Drive Southwest, Lakewood, WA 98439
- Estimated value
- Project magnitude between $1,000,000.00 and $5,000,000.00
- How they'll choose
- Best value determination (one firm-fixed-price award)
- How to submit
- Not stated yet. Solicitation documents will be on SAM.gov under Contract Opportunities, solicitation 36C26027R0008, on the date of issue
What to include when you submit
- Include product data on the materials to be installed with the proposal
- Provide a bid bond (a guarantee that backs your offer) of at least 20 percent of the bid price, not more than $3 million
- Hold an active SAM registration with completed Representations and Certifications before submitting an offer
- SDVOSB firms must be certified by the Small Business Administration before submitting an offer
- Amendments are posted only on SAM.gov; check the number of amendments issued before you submit
- Send questions about the presolicitation in writing to monique.king1@va.gov; industry comments are being accepted and no deadline for them is given
After award, you must have
- Everyone on the job, including subcontractors, has completed 30-hour or 10-hour OSHA Construction Safety Training; certificates are due before notice to proceed From Attachment_663A4-24-209 - Construction DRAFT SOW_07OCT2026.pdf:
All persons including subcontractors shall have completed the 30 Hour OSHA Construction Safety…
Current contractor
No incumbent is named; the notice says the agency anticipates making one firm-fixed-price award.
Not in the notice text
- The request for proposals (RFP) is not posted yet: the response due date, evaluation factors, drawings and specifications are expected on SAM.gov on or about November 2, 2026. Check the notice: its text gives November 2, 2026 as the date the solicitation is expected, not the offer due date.
- Whether the site visit will be required, and its date
- Whether a Davis-Bacon wage determination (federal minimum pay rates for construction workers) applies; the documents do not say
- The statement of work attached is marked DRAFT and dated October 7, 2026, so requirements may change in the RFP
- The 100% Construction Documents (drawings and specifications) that the work must follow were not attached
- Deadline for industry comments
Eligibility and how to respond
- Only service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSBs) certified through SBA's VetCert can bid as the prime contractor. Not certified through VetCert yet? Apply on VetCert (SBA), or start with the SDVOSB guide. More open service-disabled veteran-owned set-asides under NAICS 236220
- How to submit, from the AI summary: Not stated yet. Solicitation documents will be on SAM.gov under Contract Opportunities, solicitation 36C26027R0008, on the date of issue. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
- Construction contracts over $2,000 pay at least the local Davis-Bacon wage rates, from the wage determination in the solicitation. Price your labor from it: How to price a government contract, and how Davis-Bacon differs from the Service Contract Act.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 23, 2026
- Notice type
- Presolicitation
- Office
- 260-Network Contract Office 20 (36C260), Vancouver, WA
- Product/service code
- Z1DA · Maintenance of Hospitals and Infirmaries
- Business type
- Construction & renovation (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 236220)
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
- Open SDVOSB set-aside contracts
- SDVOSB and veteran-owned contracts
Terms on this notice: Solicitation, SDVOSB (service-disabled veteran-owned small business), Set-aside
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- 662-27-113 | Construct BLDG 40 Impact Completion Items
- FY27 NRM - 36C26126Q1261 | Re-slurry and Re-stripe Bldg. 88 and 98 Parking LotsOnly verified service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSBs) can bid on this Department of Veterans Affairs construction job.
- N4008526R0228 Design-Build (DB), Repair Otc Dorm King Hall BLDG 291, Naval Station Newport Ri, Newport Rhode IslandOnly the six holders of the Navy's Global Contingency Construction (GCC) multiple-award contract (MAC) can bid on this design-build renovation of King Hall at Naval Station…
- Connect Maglocks to Fire System, B6040Only four holders of the Navy's maintenance and repair (M&R) multiple award construction contract (MACC, a pool of pre-approved builders) can bid: T.E. Davis Construction…
- Repair Auto Maintenance Facility Bldg 575 (230040)Only the seven General MACC (multiple award construction contract) holders named in solicitation N4008527R9000 (N40085-27-R-9000 in the documents) can bid; proposals are due…