Presolicitation
US Government Seeks to Lease Space in Lawrence, KS
General Services Administration · Public Buildings Service
AI summaryThe General Services Administration (GSA) Public Buildings Service, for the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA), wants to lease 4,015 to 4,216 ANSI/BOMA Occupant Area (ABOA) square feet of contiguous first-floor office space in Lawrence, KS. ABOA is the floor area the agency actually occupies. The lease is 10 years with the first 5 years firm, the response due date is November 20, 2026, 4:00 PM Central, and award goes to the lowest priced technically acceptable offer. More in the summary
Advance notice of a coming solicitation, not a bid yet. If it asks for capability statements, sending one is free and puts you on Public Buildings Service's list before the solicitation is posted. See the contact
A newer version of this notice was posted Oct 20, 2026. It moves the due date from Nov 4, 2024 to Nov 20, 2026, which is the date shown on this page. See the latest version.
AI summary Beta
Summary of another version of this notice: check what changed on SAM.gov. This summary may miss requirements: 2 of 14 attachments weren't read (3B.J(2026.10.20)Form 1217-2LS0137.pdf, 3B.K2(2026.10.20)Dual Agency Disclosure Form-2KS0137.pdf). Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
The General Services Administration (GSA) Public Buildings Service, for the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA), wants to lease 4,015 to 4,216 ANSI/BOMA Occupant Area (ABOA) square feet of contiguous first-floor office space in Lawrence, KS. ABOA is the floor area the agency actually occupies. The lease is 10 years with the first 5 years firm, the response due date is November 20, 2026, 4:00 PM Central, and award goes to the lowest priced technically acceptable offer.
Who can bid (6)
- Space must be within the city limits of Lawrence, KS.
- Space must be on the first floor.
- Space must be contiguous (one connected area).
Show all 6Show fewer
- Offer 4,015 to 4,216 ABOA square feet of space, plus 120 to 200 square feet of ware yard space.
- Provide 5 fenced or surface parking spaces reserved for the Government, with the cost included in the rent.
- The name of the owning or leasing entity may not include a federal agency name or acronym.
Things to watch (7)
From the version posted Oct 20, 2026.
- Serious: You need a qualifying building in Lawrence. Only a property owner or controller can offer first-floor, contiguous space of the stated size inside the Lawrence city limits, so a business without such a building cannot bid.
- Worth checking: Notice type and attached documents differ. SAM.gov lists this as a Presolicitation, but the attached request for lease proposals asks for offers with the same date and time SAM.gov shows as the response due date; confirm with the lease contracting officer.
- Worth checking: Stay-in-place work is for the incumbent lessor only. One exhibit lists build-out work for the current lessor under existing Lease LKS11015, so a new bidder may be competing against a lessor already in place.
Show all 7Show fewer
- Worth checking: Lessor may have to finance the build-out. The RLP says the lessor may owe the full cost of tenant improvements up front, which needs cash or financing for work that is repaid through rent.
- Worth checking: Broker commission agreement due with the offer. GSA uses a tenant broker, Cushman & Wakefield US, Inc., and an executed commission agreement must go in with the first offer.
- Worth checking: Extra security and site work. USDA's requirements add security items, an exterior storage building, signage and a fenced, lit parking area, all of which add cost to the offer.
- Minor: HUBZone price preference. The RLP refers to a price evaluation preference for HUBZone (Historically Underutilized Business Zone) small businesses, which they may waive; other bidders get no such preference.
Read from the notice and 12 attachments. 2 of 14 not read. Show which files.
- 3B.B(2026.10.20)Stay in Place SOW final (09-10-2026)-2KS0137.pdf (read)
- 3B(2026.10.20)RLP-2KS0137.pdf (read)
- 3B.A(2026.10.20)Draft Lease-2KS0137.pdf (read)
- 3B.C(2026.10.20)ASRs-2KS0137.pdf (read)
- 3B.D(2026.10.20)USDA ADP Room and Wiring Guidelines v3-2KS0137.pdf (read)
- 3B.E(2026.10.20)USDA Signage Guide-2KS0137.pdf (read)
- 3B.F(2026.10.20)Security Requirements (FSL Level I) (Aug. 2022)-2KS0137.pdf (read)
- 3B.K(2026.10.20)Exhibit, RLP - Broker Project-2KS0137.pdf (read)
- 3B.L(2026.10.20)Exhibit, Lease - Broker Project-2KS0137.pdf (read)
- 3B.G(2026.10.20) Form 3516-2KS0137.pdf (read)
- 3B.H(2026.10.20)Form 3517B-2KS0137.pdf (read)
- 3B.I(2026.10.20)Form 1364 (Open with Adobe Only)-2KS0137.pdf (read)
- 3B.J(2026.10.20)Form 1217-2LS0137.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- 3B.K2(2026.10.20)Dual Agency Disclosure Form-2KS0137.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
Full summary
What they want
- Lease 4,015 to 4,216 ABOA square feet of contiguous, first-floor space within the city limits of Lawrence, KS, in a modern-quality building.
- Also 120 to 200 square feet of ware yard space, per the notice's wording.
- 5 fenced or surface parking spaces reserved for the Government, secured and lit, with the cost included in the rent.
- A fully serviced lease: utilities and janitorial are part of the rent, and the offer must say whether rent stays firm or adjusts yearly for operating costs.
- Build out the space (tenant improvements, or TI: the finish work for the agency's needs) and price it in the offer, including design and project management fees but no building shell costs.
- Install USDA security items: hardened customer counter, door chime, panic buttons, intrusion alarm, secured ceilings, bollards at the gas main and perimeter lighting.
- Provide about 200 square feet of exterior storage with a 10-foot by 10-foot overhead door, a monument sign, lockable mailboxes and a through-the-wall drop box.
- Provide a computer (ADP) room and Category 6 network wiring following USDA's ADP and Wiring Guidelines.
- Contract type
- Lease of space through a GSA Request for Lease Proposals (RLP); fully serviced lease
- Period of performance
- 10 years, 5 years firm. The Government may end the lease in whole or in part after the firm term with at least 90 days' written notice, and has one 5-year renewal option (it may drop or shorten the option if needed for budget scoring).
- Place of performance
- Lawrence, KS, USA. The space must be within the city limits of Lawrence.
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- How they'll choose
- Lowest priced technically acceptable: the lease goes to the responsible offeror whose proposal meets the RLP and lease requirements at the lowest price. Prices are compared by present value cost per ABOA square foot (future rent discounted at 5 percent). The contracting officer may negotiate with offers in the competitive range.
- Offers due
- November 20, 2026, 4:00 PM Central
What they'll judge offers on
- Technical acceptability: the offer must conform to the RLP and lease requirements (space size and location, building, parking, security and other features)
- Price: present value cost per ABOA square foot over the firm term and options, counting rent, operating costs, any lump-sum items and the architect/engineer and project management fees for tenant improvements
What to include when you submit
- Send the Proposal to Lease Space (GSA Form 1364) with the offered rent and other price data. Do not complete the lease template; GSA fills it in for the selected offeror.
- Include an executed broker commission agreement with the initial offer and a dual agency acknowledgement statement (Exhibit K, Broker Project).
- Enter commissions on GSA Form 1217, Lessor's Annual Cost Statement, in blocks 31a and 31b.
- Show with plans that the rentable space yields ABOA space within the required range of 4,015 to 4,216 square feet.
- State whether rent is firm for the whole term or adjusts yearly for operating costs, and list those costs if it adjusts.
- Do not use a federal agency name or acronym in the name of the entity that owns or leases the space.
Current contractor
No incumbent is named. The documents refer to existing Lease LKS11015 for the USDA Lawrence office, and one exhibit is for the incumbent lessor only. The current lessor is not named. No sources sought, market research or Government estimate is given.
Not in the notice text
- Parts of the solicitation were not read: the middle of the Request for Lease Proposals (including the instructions for offerors and how and where to deliver proposals), the middle of the draft lease, and parts of Forms 3516 and 3517B. Form 1217 and the dual agency disclosure form are attached but not read, and Form 1364 would not open as text.
- How and where to deliver proposals, and the full list of required submittals, are in the RLP sections not read.
- Whether there is a site visit or pre-offer meeting is not stated in the text read.
- The required occupancy date and build-out schedule, and the tenant improvement allowance amount, are not stated in the text read.
- Whether any set-aside applies is not stated; SAM.gov shows none.
- The lease value or Government estimate is not given.
Eligibility and how to respond
- No set-aside: any business, large or small, can bid unless the notice says otherwise.
- How and where to submit is in the notice text and its attachments on SAM.gov.
- Service contracts usually set minimum pay rates (the Service Contract Act). Price the labor with the SCA price calculator.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 3, 2024
- Notice type
- Presolicitation
- Office
- PBS R00 Center for Broker Services, Washington, DC
- Product/service code
- X1AA · Lease/Rental of Office Buildings
- Business type
- Real estate, rentals & leasing (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 531120)
- Versions
11 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 20, 2026 · Amendment 0010Due Nov 20, 2026 (changed)
- Aug 27, 2026 · Amendment 0009Date Sep 3, 2026 (changed)
- Jul 13, 2026 · Amendment 0008Date Aug 3, 2026
- Jul 13, 2026 · Amendment 0007Date Aug 3, 2026 (changed)
- Oct 8, 2024 · Amendment 0006Date Nov 4, 2024
- Oct 3, 2024 · Amendment 0005 (this version)Date Nov 4, 2024
- Oct 3, 2024 · Amendment 0004Date Nov 4, 2024 (changed)
- Jul 8, 2024 · Amendment 0003Date Jul 18, 2024
- Jul 8, 2024 · Amendment 0002Date Jul 18, 2024 (changed)
- May 13, 2024 · Amendment 0001Date May 30, 2024
- Apr 26, 2024 · PresolicitationDate May 30, 2024
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
Terms on this notice: Solicitation
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- DACA675270001300 - United States Army Corps of Engineers (USACE) seeks to lease approximately 555 gross square feet of office space in SeaTac, Washington for Air Mobility CommandThe U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (Seattle District) wants to lease about 555 square feet of ground-floor office space inside SeaTac Airport, Washington, for its Air Mobility…
- General Services Administration (GSA) seeks to lease office space in Santa Rosa, CAThe General Services Administration (GSA) Public Buildings Service plans to lease 4,310 to 4,526 ANSI/BOMA office area (ABOA: the usable floor area) square feet of fully serviced…
- United States Government Seeks to Lease Office Space in Detroit, MIThe General Services Administration is looking for office space to lease in downtown Detroit, MI, between 10,574 and 12,500 usable square feet.
- U.S. Government Seeks to Lease Office Space in Denver, ColoradoThe General Services Administration (GSA) is asking building owners and their authorized representatives to send expressions of interest for 21,476 to 22,550 ABOA (usable office…
- General Services Administration (GSA) seeks to lease Warehouse, Office, Light Industrial, and Wareyard space in Sumner, WAThe General Services Administration (GSA) wants to lease 441,250 to 442,000 ABOA square feet (ABOA: usable floor area) of warehouse, office, light industrial and wareyard space…