Sources Sought
NSN 6150-01-555-9772
Department of Defense · Defense Logistics Agency
AI summaryDefense Logistics Agency (DLA) Aviation plans an unrestricted request for proposals (RFP) for a cable assembly, national stock number 6150-01-555-9772, used on the F-16 aircraft. Spec quantity is 12 with an Estimated Annual Demand (EAD) of 12 each, over a 5-year base period with no option, and a Government First Article Test is required. SAM.gov lists December 11, 2026, 3:00 PM Eastern as the response due date; the RFP is expected on or about November 11, 2026, on DIBBS (DLA's online bid board). More in the summary
Market research, not a bid. Replying is free and tells Defense Logistics Agency who could do this work. Send a short reply to the contracting contact; no price is needed. See the contact
A newer version of this notice was posted Oct 26, 2026. It moves the due date from Oct 22, 2026 to Dec 11, 2026, which is the date shown on this page. See the latest version.
AI summary Beta
Summary of another version of this notice: check what changed on SAM.gov. Some details are in the notice's attachments, which this summary didn't read. Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
Defense Logistics Agency (DLA) Aviation plans an unrestricted request for proposals (RFP) for a cable assembly, national stock number 6150-01-555-9772, used on the F-16 aircraft. Spec quantity is 12 with an Estimated Annual Demand (EAD) of 12 each, over a 5-year base period with no option, and a Government First Article Test is required. SAM.gov lists December 11, 2026, 3:00 PM Eastern as the response due date; the RFP is expected on or about November 11, 2026, on DIBBS (DLA's online bid board).
Who can bid
- Source Control and Higher-Level Contract Quality apply to this critical-application item; approved sources are listed in the notice.
- A Government First Article Test is required.
How to submit: Electronic offers are not accepted; the RFP will be on DIBBS (https//www.dibbs.bsm.mil) and a paper copy will be available to requesters. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (5)
From the version posted Oct 26, 2026.
- Serious: Approved sources are listed and Source Control applies. Four companies are listed as approved sources, and the notice doesn't say how a business not on the list could be approved.
- Serious: Government First Article Test required. A first article must pass Government testing before production, so a new supplier carries test cost and time.
- Worth checking: Electronic offers are not accepted. You must send a completed solicitation package by the method the RFP gives, not by electronic means.
Show all 5Show fewer
- Worth checking: Certified cost or pricing data may be needed. The value isn't expected to pass the Truth in Negotiations Act (TINA) threshold, but you may still have to send certified cost or pricing data.
- Minor: Long delivery schedule: 623 Total DARO. The schedule runs through first article testing, evaluation and production, so it takes a long time to reach full production.
Read from the notice text only.
Full summary
What they want
- Supply an indefinite quantity cable assembly, NSN 6150-01-555-9772, for the F-16: SPEC QUANTITY: 12, Estimated Annual Demand 12 each.
- Pass a Government First Article Test (FAT) before production.
- Meet the delivery schedule as written: 180 DARO for FAT, 180 DAFAR for Evaluation, 263 DAFAA for Production, 623 Total DARO.
- Deliver FOB Destination to any facility in the Continental United States as cited on each delivery; inspection and acceptance at origin by the Government.
- Meet Source Control and Higher-Level Contract Quality requirements for this critical-application item.
- Contract type
- Indefinite quantity; 5-year base period without an option
- Period of performance
- 5-year base period, no option
- Place of performance
- Richmond, VA, USA (as SAM.gov gives it); stock delivery to any facility in the Continental United States as cited on each delivery
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- How they'll choose
- Not stated; pricing is evaluated on the Estimated Annual Demand of 12 each
- Offers due
- December 11, 2026, 3:00 PM Eastern
- How to submit
- Electronic offers are not accepted; the RFP will be on DIBBS (https//www.dibbs.bsm.mil) and a paper copy will be available to requesters
What to include when you submit
- Submit a completed solicitation package; electronic offers are not acceptable.
- Be prepared to submit certified cost or pricing data with your offer if necessary; the total value isn't estimated to exceed the Truth in Negotiations Act (TINA) threshold.
- The Guaranteed Minimum will be cited in the solicitation.
Current contractor
No incumbent is named. Approved sources listed: Safran Electrical Components USA, Inc. (05593), Newvac LLC (60118), BAE Systems Information and Electronic (97117), and Jo-Kell, Inc. (5V049).
Not in the notice text
- The RFP, its terms, price schedule and the Guaranteed Minimum will be on DIBBS (DLA's online bid board) when it is issued, not in this notice.
- The delivery schedule codes (DARO, DAFAR, DAFAA) aren't spelled out in the notice.
- How awards are decided beyond pricing on the Estimated Annual Demand isn't stated.
- How a business not on the approved sources list could qualify isn't stated.
- How to deliver the completed paper offer package isn't stated.
Eligibility and how to respond
- SAM.gov lists no set-aside, but the notice text says who the work is meant for. Any business can reply, and no bid is being taken yet:
- The notice mentions an approved or qualified source list. Only listed sources may be eligible, so check that your company or product is on it.
- The notice text says this is set aside for small businesses, but SAM.gov lists no set-aside. Ask the contracting officer which one applies before you bid.
- To respond, send a short reply to the contracting contact near the top of this page. No price is needed.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 20, 2026
- Notice type
- Sources Sought
- Office
- DLA Aviation, Richmond, VA
- Product/service code
- 6150 · Miscellaneous Electric Power and Distribution Equipment
- Business type
- Electronic parts & equipment (supplies) (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 334419)
- Versions
2 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 26, 2026 · PresolicitationDue Dec 11, 2026 (changed)
- Oct 20, 2026 · Sources Sought (this version)Due Oct 22, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
Terms on this notice: Sources sought notice
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- 6150-01-657-2104; Yjn; Virginia Class Submarine
- Nom: Cable Assembly, Power WSDC FGZ End Item: Missile, Minuteman III, LGM-30 PR: 7014489918, NSN: 6150-001090979: Iaw P/N: 21-55000-4174 RFP: SPE4A527R0010Defense Logistics Agency (DLA) Aviation plans to buy a power cable assembly for the Minuteman III missile, National Stock Number (NSN) 6150-001090979, part number 21-55000-4174.
- 6150-01-657-8320; Yjn; Virginia Class Submarine
- 6150-01-555-9778; 26F; F-16 Aircraft
- Request for Information - Knox License and CablesThe Air Force Life Cycle Management Center's Special Warfare Program Office (AFLCMC/WISN) is asking companies whether they can supply Knox license server software and three kinds…