Solicitation
N6247826R2431 FACILITIES AND LIGHTING MAINTENANCE SERVICES at Joint Base Pearl Harbor Hickam, Oahu, Hawaii
Department of Defense · Department of the Navy
AI summaryOnly small businesses in the Small Business Administration's 8(a) program can bid. The buyer is the Department of the Navy's NAVFACSYSCOM HAWAII (Naval Facilities Engineering Systems Command Hawaii). It wants facilities and lighting maintenance and repair at Joint Base Pearl Harbor Hickam and other Oahu, Hawaii locations. This is an indefinite delivery indefinite quantity (IDIQ) contract, where orders are placed as needed, with a 12-month base period, four 12-month options and a six-month option to extend services. The response due date is November 4, 2026, 5:00 PM Hawaii. More in the summary
AI summary Beta
Summary of the version posted Oct 26, 2026. The notice was amended Oct 27, 2026. Check what else changed on SAM.gov. This summary may miss requirements: 8 of 18 attachments weren't read (26-2431 OPS (Amd 007).xlsx, 26R2431_Amend04.pdf and 6 more). Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
Only small businesses in the Small Business Administration's 8(a) program can bid. The buyer is the Department of the Navy's NAVFACSYSCOM HAWAII (Naval Facilities Engineering Systems Command Hawaii). It wants facilities and lighting maintenance and repair at Joint Base Pearl Harbor Hickam and other Oahu, Hawaii locations. This is an indefinite delivery indefinite quantity (IDIQ) contract, where orders are placed as needed, with a 12-month base period, four 12-month options and a six-month option to extend services. The response due date is November 4, 2026, 5:00 PM Hawaii.
Who can bid (7)
- Small business in the Small Business Administration's 8(a) program (the SAM.gov set-aside is 8(a), FAR 19.8)
- Active, complete System for Award Management (SAM) registration, including the DFARS provisions
- Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) Level 1 (Self) status and a current affirmation of continuous compliance in the Supplier Performance Risk System (SPRS) for each system that handles federal contract information or controlled unclassified information, before award
Show all 7Show fewer
- Relevant projects of $925,000 or more in total value and self-performed experience in all listed scope areas (as quoted in bidder questions about Factor 1)
- Limit on subcontracting for services: no more than 50 percent of the amount the Government pays may go to subcontractors that are not similarly situated entities
- Insurance coverage in at least the minimum amounts set in Annex 0200000; the Government does not accept umbrella policies
- Hawaii general excise license number requested on the contractor information addendum
How to submit: Through PIEE (Procurement Integrated Enterprise Environment, the Defense Department's online portal), per the solicitation's submittal requirements. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (10)
- Serious: 8(a) set-aside: only 8(a) firms can bid. A business outside the SBA 8(a) program cannot receive this award.
- Serious: CMMC Level 1 (Self) required before award. Without a current CMMC status and affirmation entered in SPRS, a firm is not eligible for award, and the CMMC unique identifiers must go in the proposal.
- Serious: Corporate Experience bar: $925,000 projects and self-performance across many specialties. Bidder questions quote the Corporate Experience factor as requiring projects of $925,000 or more and self-performed experience in every listed scope area; a bidder asked to cut this to three of five areas, and the Government's answer was not in the text read.
Show all 10Show fewer
- Worth checking: HEMP shelter emergency calls and cleared staff. A bidder question says HEMP shelter work may need staff with Secret security clearances and asks whether emergency orders must be answered within one hour; the Government's answer was not in the text read.
- Worth checking: Contractor pays for repairs up to 32 hours and $2,500 each. A bidder question quotes the solicitation as making the contractor responsible for repairs found during scheduled maintenance, up to 32 hours of labor and $2,500.00 of direct material per deficient condition, which affects pricing.
- Worth checking: 50 percent limit on subcontracting. A prime may not pay more than half of the Government's payments to subcontractors that are not similarly situated entities, so teaming plans must stay inside this limit.
- Minor: Response due date moved by amendments. Amendment 0007 moves the response due date to 04 Nov 2026 from 13 Oct 2026; SAM.gov shows November 4, 2026, 5:00 PM Hawaii.
- Minor: Set-aside clause list cites a total small business clause. SAM.gov shows an 8(a) set-aside while the clause list includes the Notice of Total Small Business Set-Aside; ask the contracting officer which governs.
- Minor: The pre-proposal conference was May 12, 2026. Check the amendments for slides, answers or an attendee list, and whether taking part was required.
- Minor: Hawaii labor and tax costs to price in. The Government tells bidders to price Hawaii payroll burden, prepaid health insurance, general excise tax and Service Contract Labor Standards wages (wage determination 2015-5689).
Read from the notice and 10 attachments. 8 of 18 not read. Show which files.
- Solicitation - N6247826R2431.pdf (read)
- Amend0007 N6247826R24310007.pdf (read)
- 26R2432_RFI_No1_05192026.pdf (read)
- 26R2431 CommTechSpecs_10262026.pdf (read)
- 26R2431_Amend06.pdf (read)
- 26R2431_RFIs_No2_05292026.pdf (read)
- 26R2431 CommTechSpecs_12082025.pdf (read)
- 26R2431 Notices and Attachments_Amd01.pdf (read)
- 26R2431 Notices and Attachments.pdf (read)
- WD 15-5689.pdf (read)
- 26-2431 OPS (Amd 007).xlsx: not read (the AI doesn't read this file type yet): open it on SAM.gov
- 26R2431_Amend04.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- 26R2431_Amend03.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- 26R2431_Amend02.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- 26R2431 PreProposal_AttendanceSheet.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- 26R2431 PreProposal_Brief.pptx: not read (the AI doesn't read this file type yet): open it on SAM.gov
- Attach 2_Request For Information.xlsx: not read (the AI doesn't read this file type yet): open it on SAM.gov
- 26-2431 OPS.xlsx: not read (the AI doesn't read this file type yet): open it on SAM.gov
Full summary
What they want
- Scheduled (recurring) and as-ordered (non-recurring) maintenance, repair, alteration, demolition and minor construction at various Oahu locations
- Lighting work: relamping, ballast renewal and incidental electrical repair within light fixtures
- Building systems upkeep: ventilation intake and exhaust filters, dust collector filter cartridges, swimming pools, training facilities, high security revolving doors, circle interlocking doors and reverse osmosis systems
- Solar and power systems: photovoltaic (PV, solar electric) systems, solar hot water systems and uninterruptible power systems (UPS, battery backup)
- High-altitude electromagnetic pulse (HEMP) shelters: work on the hardness critical assemblies, the parts that keep a shelter shielded
- Locksmith services: repair, install and neutralize locks, duplicate keys, pin cylinders and combinate or re-combinate locks
- Memorial fountain and water storage tank upkeep
- Management duties listed in the performance work statement (PWS): NAVFAC Maximo (the Navy's maintenance work-order software) data entry, a quality management plan, and inspection and surveillance reports
- Contract type
- Indefinite delivery indefinite quantity (IDIQ) contract with firm-fixed-price (FFP: one set price) line items for recurring and non-recurring work. Allowed per order: minimum $2,500.00, maximum $350,000.00. The Government intends to issue a task order at award to cover the minimum guarantee for CLIN 0001 (contract line item number), base period recurring work.
- Period of performance
- 12-month base period, four 12-month option periods and a six-month option to extend services. The solicitation shows a period of performance from 01 Feb 2027 to 01 Aug 2032, about 5.5 years with all options.
- Place of performance
- Joint Base Pearl Harbor Hickam, Oahu, Hawaii, and outlying areas supported by the installation; various locations on Oahu, Hawaii
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- How they'll choose
- Source selection procedures: bidders send separate non-price and price proposals, and the Government intends to award without discussions. The text read does not say whether the award is a best-value tradeoff or lowest price technically acceptable.
- Offers due
- November 4, 2026, 5:00 PM Hawaii (from the version posted Oct 26, 2026; amended since)
- How to submit
- Through PIEE (Procurement Integrated Enterprise Environment, the Defense Department's online portal), per the solicitation's submittal requirements
What they'll judge offers on
- Factor 1, Corporate Experience: Attachment L-1 project data sheets (up to five project slots); bidder questions quote a $925,000 or more total project value and self-performance of all listed scope areas
- Factor 2, Safety: technical approach to safety narrative, Attachment L-3
- Factor 3, Past Performance: completed CPARS (Contractor Performance Assessment Reporting System) evaluations
- Price proposal: Offeror Pricing Schedule and exhibit line items, updated by Amendment 0007
What to include when you submit
- Send both a non-price proposal and a price proposal; leaving out any item or part of an item may make the proposal ineligible for award
- Complete and submit the pricing exhibits for the base period, Option Periods One to Four and the Option to Extend Services, using the Offeror Pricing Schedule updated by Amendment 0007
- Sign and return the Standard Form 1449 (SF 1449, the commercial services offer form) using the legal or doing-business-as name and address recorded in SAM
- Submit FAR 52.212-3 representations and certifications with the proposal, with the contractor information addendum filled in, including the Hawaii general excise license number
- Include a VETS-4212 statement: either the report is filed, or a statement that the firm has had no contracts subject to FAR 52.222-37
- Provide the CMMC unique identifiers issued by SPRS for each contractor information system that handles federal contract information or controlled unclassified information
- Corporate Experience: fill in an Attachment L-1 data sheet for each project; bidder questions quote a $925,000 or more total value per project and self-performance experience across all listed scope areas
- Safety: send the technical approach to safety narrative using Attachment L-3
- Past Performance: send completed CPARS evaluations
- Acknowledge every amendment to the solicitation
Current contractor
Notice No. 1 (April 22, 2026) lists GMB, Inc., 1007 Dillingham Blvd, Honolulu, as the incumbent contractor on two previous contracts, N6247821D2401 and N6247821D2404, each 60 months with all options. It says no abstract of offers exists and the previous contract was awarded by competitive negotiation. It also says the specifications changed from the previous contracts.
Not in the notice text
- Much of the solicitation (including Sections L and M, the instructions and evaluation details, about 119,000 characters), the full performance work statement and the attachments are only partly read; the Offeror Pricing Schedule spreadsheets, Amendments 0002 to 0004 (scanned), the pre-proposal brief and the RFI answers spreadsheet were attached but not read
- The Government's answers to bidder questions (RFI answers dated 23 October 2026) were not in the text read, including the Corporate Experience self-performance rule and the HEMP emergency response time
- Whether the award is a best-value tradeoff or lowest price technically acceptable, and the order of importance of the factors, is not stated in the text read
- Page limits for the Corporate Experience and Safety attachments are not stated in the text read
- Minimum insurance amounts are in Annex 0200000, which was not read
- Whether Davis-Bacon construction wage rules apply to the alteration, demolition and minor construction work is not stated; the text read cites Service Contract Labor Standards wage determination 2015-5689
- Total contract ceiling is not stated; only per-order limits of $2,500.00 minimum and $350,000.00 maximum are given
Eligibility and how to respond
- Only firms in SBA's 8(a) program can bid as the prime contractor. Not in the 8(a) program? How the 8(a) program works. More open 8(a) set-asides under NAICS 561210
- How to submit, from the AI summary: Through PIEE (Procurement Integrated Enterprise Environment, the Defense Department's online portal), per the solicitation's submittal requirements. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
- Construction contracts over $2,000 pay at least the local Davis-Bacon wage rates, from the wage determination in the solicitation. Price your labor from it: How to price a government contract, and how Davis-Bacon differs from the Service Contract Act.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 27, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Office
- Navfacsyscom Hawaii, Pearl Harbor, HI
- Product/service code
- Z1JZ · Maintenance of Miscellaneous Buildings
- Business type
- Facilities, janitorial & grounds (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 561210)
- Versions
24 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 27, 2026 · Amendment 0007 (this version)Due Nov 4, 2026
- Oct 26, 2026 · AmendmentDue Nov 4, 2026
- Oct 26, 2026 · AmendmentDue Nov 4, 2026 (changed)
- Oct 26, 2026 · AmendmentDue Oct 13, 2026
- Sep 15, 2026 · AmendmentDue Oct 13, 2026
- Sep 15, 2026 · AmendmentDue Oct 13, 2026 (changed)
- Aug 20, 2026 · AmendmentDue Sep 14, 2026
- Aug 20, 2026 · AmendmentDue Sep 14, 2026 (changed)
- Jul 20, 2026 · AmendmentDue Aug 21, 2026
- Jul 20, 2026 · AmendmentDue Aug 21, 2026 (changed)
- Jun 25, 2026 · AmendmentDue Jul 17, 2026
- Jun 25, 2026 · AmendmentDue Jul 17, 2026
- Jun 25, 2026 · AmendmentDue Jul 17, 2026 (changed)
- Jun 15, 2026 · AmendmentDue Jun 26, 2026
- Jun 15, 2026 · AmendmentDue Jun 26, 2026
- Jun 11, 2026 · AmendmentDue Jun 26, 2026 (changed)
- May 29, 2026 · AmendmentDue Jun 12, 2026
- May 19, 2026 · AmendmentDue Jun 12, 2026
- May 5, 2026 · AmendmentDue Jun 12, 2026
- May 5, 2026 · AmendmentDue Jun 12, 2026
- Apr 24, 2026 · AmendmentDue Jun 12, 2026
- Apr 23, 2026 · SolicitationDue Jun 12, 2026
- Feb 10, 2026 · AmendmentNo date on SAM.gov
- Feb 10, 2026 · PresolicitationNo date on SAM.gov
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
- Open 8(a) set-aside contracts
Terms on this notice: Solicitation, 8(a) program, Set-aside
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- Sources Sought for Grounds Maintenance and Landscaping Services, MCBH, Oahu, HawaiiThe Navy (NAVFAC Hawaii) is asking businesses to show they can handle grounds and tree maintenance, landscaping and pest control at Marine Corps Base Hawaii and other Oahu sites.