Presolicitation
692-21-101 CON NRM Improve Site Lighting and Lighting Controls for Energy Efficiency
Department of Veterans Affairs
AI summaryOnly Service-Disabled Veteran-Owned Small Businesses (SDVOSBs) can bid on the planned request for proposals (RFP) from Veterans Affairs Network Contracting Office 20 to replace site lighting with more energy efficient lighting at the VA Southern Oregon Rehabilitation Center and Clinics in White City, OR. This is a presolicitation, an early notice that is not a request for pricing, and the RFP is expected in Fiscal Year 2027. SAM.gov's response date is November 3, 2026, 8:00 AM Pacific; the text does not say what it is for. More in the summary
Advance notice of a coming solicitation, not a bid yet. If it asks for capability statements, sending one is free and puts you on Department of Veterans Affairs's list before the solicitation is posted. See the contact
AI summary Beta
Only Service-Disabled Veteran-Owned Small Businesses (SDVOSBs) can bid on the planned request for proposals (RFP) from Veterans Affairs Network Contracting Office 20 to replace site lighting with more energy efficient lighting at the VA Southern Oregon Rehabilitation Center and Clinics in White City, OR. This is a presolicitation, an early notice that is not a request for pricing, and the RFP is expected in Fiscal Year 2027. SAM.gov's response date is November 3, 2026, 8:00 AM Pacific; the text does not say what it is for.
Who can bid
- Must be a Service-Disabled Veteran-Owned Small Business (SDVOSB); the RFP will be a total set-aside for SDVOSBs
- Work is subject to the VA Limitations on Subcontracting (limits on how much of the work can go to subcontractors)
Things to watch (4)
From the version posted Oct 16, 2026.
- Serious: SDVOSB set-aside only. Only Service-Disabled Veteran-Owned Small Businesses can bid; other firms are shut out.
- Worth checking: RFP will be posted under a different number. This notice is 36C26027R0026, but the text says the RFP will be posted only under 36C26027R0027; follow that identifier for updates.
- Worth checking: No solicitation yet. This notice is not a solicitation and the Government isn't committed to issue one, so there is nothing to bid on until the RFP is released.
Show all 4Show fewer
- Minor: Limits on subcontracting and Buy American Act. The VA limits how much work a firm can subcontract, and materials must meet the Buy American Act (a preference for U.S.-made goods).
Read from the notice text only.
Full summary
What they want
- Remove existing lighting and install new, more energy efficient lighting in various locations across campus
- One firm-fixed-price (FFP: one set price, whatever the work ends up costing) contract for the entire scope of work
- Meet the Buy American Act and the VA Limitations on Subcontracting
- Contract type
- Firm-fixed-price construction contract (one award anticipated)
- Place of performance
- White City, OR
- Estimated value
- Not stated
Not in the notice text
- The RFP release date, offer due date, evaluation method and submission instructions are not given; the text says only that the RFP is expected in the upcoming months of Fiscal Year 2027.
- Whether there is a site visit, and which wage rule applies (such as a Davis-Bacon wage determination), is not stated.
- Contract value, bonding requirements and period of performance are not stated.
Eligibility and how to respond
- Only service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSBs) certified through SBA's VetCert can bid as the prime contractor. Not certified through VetCert yet? Apply on VetCert (SBA), or start with the SDVOSB guide. More open service-disabled veteran-owned set-asides under NAICS 238210
- How and where to submit is in the notice text and its attachments on SAM.gov.
- Construction contracts over $2,000 pay at least the local Davis-Bacon wage rates, from the wage determination in the solicitation. Price your labor from it: How to price a government contract, and how Davis-Bacon differs from the Service Contract Act.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 16, 2026
- Notice type
- Presolicitation
- Office
- 260-Network Contract Office 20 (36C260), Vancouver, WA
- Product/service code
- Z1DA · Maintenance of Hospitals and Infirmaries
- Business type
- Construction & renovation (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 238210)
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
- Open SDVOSB set-aside contracts
- SDVOSB and veteran-owned contracts
Terms on this notice: Solicitation, SDVOSB (service-disabled veteran-owned small business), Set-aside
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- Airfield Lighting Computer SystemNo set-aside is used for this Air Force request for quotes (RFQ).