Sources Sought
RFI VHA Radiology and Cardiology Enterprise Imaging
Department of Veterans Affairs
AI summaryVeterans Affairs (Technology Acquisition Center NJ) posted an update to its request for information (RFI) 36C10B26Q0453 on a single enterprise imaging system for radiology and cardiology across the Veterans Health Administration. The update says the actual solicitation, RFP 36C10B27R0003, will be released unrestricted (no set-aside), with an estimated release in November 2026. Responses to the RFI are due November 10, 2026, 10:00 AM Eastern. More in the summary
Market research, not a bid. Replying is free and tells Department of Veterans Affairs who could do this work. Send a short reply to the contracting contact; no price is needed. See the contact
AI summary Beta
Veterans Affairs (Technology Acquisition Center NJ) posted an update to its request for information (RFI) 36C10B26Q0453 on a single enterprise imaging system for radiology and cardiology across the Veterans Health Administration. The update says the actual solicitation, RFP 36C10B27R0003, will be released unrestricted (no set-aside), with an estimated release in November 2026. Responses to the RFI are due November 10, 2026, 10:00 AM Eastern.
How to submit: Email to Contract Specialist Chante Frith (Chante.Frith@va.gov) and Contracting Officer Matthew Truex (Matthew.Truex1@va.gov), with "Response to RFI - Veterans Health Administration Radiology and Cardiology Enterprise Imaging System" in the subject line. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (4)
From the version posted Oct 26, 2026.
- Serious: Very large national scope. The system must serve 18 regional networks, move about 20 petabytes of images, and run with 99.99% uptime. A small business would likely need a teaming partner or a large product vendor.
- Worth checking: This is an RFI, not a request for offers. Responding does not make you a bidder. The real solicitation is a separate RFP (36C10B27R0003), estimated for November 2026, and not responding does not bar you from it.
- Worth checking: FedRAMP High and VA cloud authorization asked about. The RFI asks whether your system is authorized in the VA Enterprise Cloud and whether you are FedRAMP High certified or will be within 6 months. A product without this may struggle later.
Show all 4Show fewer
- Minor: Security and background checks. Remote support runs over a VA site-to-site VPN, with annual VA security and privacy training and background investigations for the vendor and all subcontractors.
Read from the notice and 3 attachments. Show which files.
- 36C10B26Q0453 0001.docx (read)
- 36C10B26Q0453_RFI VHA Radiology and Cardiology Enterprise Imaging System.pdf (read)
- 36C10B26Q0453.docx (read)
Full summary
What they want
- RFI responses only, not offers: information on a nationwide radiology and cardiology image archive and viewer (PACS, a picture archiving and communication system)
- Vendor neutral archive (VNA, a storage system for medical images from any vendor) with a web viewer, plus support for AI tools such as intracranial hemorrhage, large vessel occlusion, mammography and lung nodule detection
- Migration of about 20 petabytes and more than 2 billion existing images from local and regional systems
- Support for both the current VistA and the new Oracle Health electronic health records, with patient identification by both EDIPI and SSN
- Integrated voice recognition reporting, worklist engine, peer review and National Teleradiology Program workflows
- Hosting as 100% software-as-a-service (SaaS) in a FedRAMP High environment, in the VA Enterprise Cloud, or a hybrid of the two, with a 99.99% uptime goal
- 24x7x365 technical support, plus vendor-run patching and security updates
- Answers to 13 listed business questions on timeline, migration approach, risks and staffing
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- Offers due
- November 10, 2026, 10:00 AM Eastern
- How to submit
- Email to Contract Specialist Chante Frith (Chante.Frith@va.gov) and Contracting Officer Matthew Truex (Matthew.Truex1@va.gov), with "Response to RFI - Veterans Health Administration Radiology and Cardiology Enterprise Imaging System" in the subject line
- Page limits
- Response: no more than 15 pages
What to include when you submit
- Include company name, address, point of contact, telephone number, email address, CAGE code or SAM unique entity ID (UEI), and SBA VetCert certification if applicable
- List any previous or existing VA contracts where similar work was performed, and say whether an existing contract vehicle should be used
- Send a Word (.docx) or PDF file in Arial or Times New Roman, 12 point minimum; tables and illustrations may use 8 point or larger and may be landscape
- Email file size must not exceed 5 MB
- Mark proprietary or confidential material on every page that contains it
- No marketing materials allowed
Current contractor
No incumbent is named. The RFI says it is related to earlier RFIs 36C10X24Q0024 and 36C10X25Q0015, and the VA's current PACS vendors are listed as Philips Intellispace, Philips Vue, Carestream (legacy version), Agfa, Optum, Visage and Intelerad. No contract values or number of planned awards are given.
Not in the notice text
- Set-aside for the RFP is stated as unrestricted; the exact contract type, term, value and evaluation factors are not given and will be in the RFP (36C10B27R0003)
- Place of performance is not stated
- Whether the June 2, 2026 deadline in the RFI document is replaced by the November 10, 2026 date is not spelled out in the RFI document itself
Eligibility and how to respond
- No set-aside. Any business can reply: this is market research, and no bid is being taken yet.
- To respond, send a short reply to the contracting contact near the top of this page. No price is needed.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 26, 2026
- Notice type
- Sources Sought
- Office
- Technology Acquisition Center NJ (36C10B), Eatontown, NJ
- Product/service code
- DA10 · IT and Telecom – Business Application/Application Development Software as a Service
- Business type
- IT, software & telecom (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 541511)
- Versions
3 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 26, 2026 · Amendment 0002 (this version)Due Nov 10, 2026 (changed)
- Oct 26, 2026 · Amendment 0001Due Jun 2, 2026
- May 21, 2026 · Sources SoughtDue Jun 2, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
Terms on this notice: Sources sought notice
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- F-35 JPO Enterprise Data Science and Analytics Support
- TECHNOLOGY LICENSING OPPORTUNITY: ReactorCast
- Strategy Execution Software, Installation and TrainingThe Naval Surface Warfare Center, Port Hueneme Division (NSWC PHD), under the Navy's Commanding Officer, is doing market research to find businesses that can supply commercial…
- Web Sustainment/Content Management/Cloud HostingThis is a sources sought notice (market research), not a request for proposals: the Defense Human Resources Activity, for the Personnel and Readiness Management Agency (PRMA) and…
- AF-PLM Capability Integration, Sustainment & LicensesSolicitation FA8770-26-R-B009-SS2 is a sources sought notice (a request for information, or RFI) from the Department of the Air Force (office FA8770 AFLCMC GBK) for market…