Combined Synopsis/Solicitation
Vertical Transportation Equipment (VTE) Maintenance, Repair, & Inspection Services
Department of Defense · Department of the Air Force
AI summaryDepartment of the Air Force (19th Contracting Squadron) wants a small business to maintain, repair and inspect six traction and eleven hydro/electric elevators at Little Rock Air Force Base. Pricing is firm-fixed-price (one set price, whatever the work ends up costing) for a base year, four option years and a six-month extension. The response due date is November 18, 2026, 12:00 PM Central, and the only site visit is October 26, 2026 (passed), 10:00 AM CT. More in the summary
AI summary Beta
Department of the Air Force (19th Contracting Squadron) wants a small business to maintain, repair and inspect six traction and eleven hydro/electric elevators at Little Rock Air Force Base. Pricing is firm-fixed-price (one set price, whatever the work ends up costing) for a base year, four option years and a six-month extension. The response due date is November 18, 2026, 12:00 PM Central, and the only site visit is October 26, 2026 (passed), 10:00 AM CT.
Who can bid
- Small business under North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) code 238290 (size standard $22 million); large businesses are not considered.
- The contractor and any subcontractor must be fully licensed in the State of Arkansas to perform vertical transportation equipment (VTE) maintenance; the license goes with the offer.
- Active SAM.gov registration.
How to submit: Email to the contract specialist (owen.sinning.1@us.af.mil) and the contracting officer (camille.ezugwu@us.af.mil); offers must be received before the deadline. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (11)
From the version posted Oct 15, 2026.
- Serious: Small businesses only. The buy is a total small business set-aside, so only small businesses can bid under industry code 238290.
- Serious: Arkansas elevator license required with the offer. The prime and any subcontractor must be licensed in Arkansas, and the license is listed as due with the solicitation bid document, so a firm without it cannot bid.
- Worth checking: The site visit was Oct 22, 2026. Check the notice and its amendments for whether attendance was required, and whether another visit is offered.
Show all 11Show fewer
- Worth checking: Parts and all calls are inside the fixed price. The monthly fixed price covers repairs, replacements and emergency calls. Obsolete parts must be replaced with engineered equivalents at the contractor's cost, so repair costs are the bidder's risk.
- Worth checking: Emergency calls answered in person within 2 hours. A technician must reach the base and start work within 2 hours of an emergency call. Routine calls get 24 hours, so a nearby crew is needed.
- Worth checking: Limitations on Subcontracting clause applies. Clause 52.219-14 is checked, which limits how much of the work a small business prime may pass to other firms. Check the clause before planning to subcontract.
- Worth checking: Base access rules for workers. Personnel entering Little Rock Air Force Base must be U.S. citizens with a REAL ID, a home-state driver's license or a passport, and the base is not open. Non-citizens may need up to 30 days for authorization.
- Minor: Service Contract Act wage rates apply. Industry code 238290 is a construction code, but the documents apply a Service Contract Act wage determination (WD 2015-5117, Revision 32) for five Arkansas counties including Pulaski. They do not mention Davis-Bacon (construction wage rates).
- Minor: Start dates differ between contract line item numbers. Contract line item number (CLIN: one priced line of the order) 0001 starts January 1, 2027, while CLIN 0002 starts December 1, 2026. Both end November 30, 2027. Option CLIN 3002 ends December 1, 2030, while CLIN 3001 ends November 30, 2030.
- Minor: Price evaluation cites two different line ranges. One copy of the evaluation provision totals CLINs 0001 to 5003, while the other totals CLINs 0001 to 5002, which is the last line listed.
- Minor: Plans and reports due 30 days after award. The Maintenance Control Program and an initial elevator condition report are due within 30 calendar days of award. The quality system must also be open to Government viewing in that time.
Read from the notice and 4 attachments. Show which files.
- Solicitation - FA446027Q0005.pdf (read)
- Combo Synopsis - FA446027Q0005 .pdf (read)
- PWS VTE Maintenance and Repair Services.pdf (read)
- Attachment 2 - Wage Determinations - 2015-5117 21 Aug 26.pdf (read)
Full summary
What they want
- Full maintenance, repair and inspection of six traction elevators (CLIN 0001) and eleven hydro/electric elevators (CLIN 0002) on base. The monthly fixed price covers inspections, repairs, replacements and routine and emergency calls.
- Within 30 calendar days of award, inspect every unit with the contracting officer and submit a condition report, and deliver a written Maintenance Control Program (MCP) for each elevator.
- Run fire service inspections every 30 days and the code-required inspections and tests with a Qualified Elevator Inspector (QEI), including the five-year test in the first annual test.
- Respond in person to routine calls within 24 hours and emergency calls within 2 hours; the goal is 95% elevator operating time.
- Send a written report within 2 business days of work, and give inspection records and certificate copies within 1 business day of a request.
- Keep a quality control plan (QCP, a written plan for catching and fixing defects) and a quality management system; the performance work statement (PWS) asks for 100% compliance.
- Keep a counterfeit electronic part detection and avoidance system, and replace parts that are no longer made with engineered equivalents at the contractor's cost.
- Invoice through Wide Area WorkFlow (WAWF, the Defense Department's online invoicing system) by the 10th of each month.
- Contract type
- Firm-fixed-price (FFP) non-personal services, commercial request for quotation (RFQ)
- Period of performance
- Base year (CLIN 0002: December 1, 2026 to November 30, 2027; CLIN 0001 shows a January 1, 2027 start), four 12-month option years through November 30, 2031, and a 6-month extension option from December 1, 2031 to May 31, 2032; about 5.5 years in all
- Place of performance
- Little Rock AFB, AR 72099 (base facilities)
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- How they'll choose
- Lowest price with an acceptable past performance rating: offers are ranked by price, and the lowest-priced offer rated Acceptable on past performance wins.
- Offers due
- November 18, 2026, 12:00 PM Central (1:00 PM Eastern)
- How to submit
- Email to the contract specialist (owen.sinning.1@us.af.mil) and the contracting officer (camille.ezugwu@us.af.mil); offers must be received before the deadline
What they'll judge offers on
- Price: all responsive offers ranked by total price of the base and option lines
- Past Performance: rated Acceptable or Unacceptable; at least two years of experience with similar scope and magnitude, accomplished within four years of the current date
What to include when you submit
- Include the solicitation number; your name, address and telephone number; your Unique Entity ID (UEI); and the information needed to evaluate the factors.
- Include completed representations and certifications (other than those in SAM.gov) and a statement of how far you agree with all terms, conditions and provisions.
- Fill in the vendor information sheet in the Combo Synopsis: company name, whether SAM.gov registration is active, CAGE code (the firm's federal ID code), business size, net payment terms (mandatory), warranty information, Wide Area WorkFlow access yes or no, and signature.
- Send your Arkansas State elevator maintenance license with the offer.
- Document past performance: at least two years of similar-scope work accomplished within four years of the current date.
- Price the base lines (CLINs 0001 and 0002) and every option line (1001 to 5002); hold prices firm for 60 calendar days after the date set for receipt of offers.
- Quotes received after the deadline will not be considered.
After award, you must have
- Inspections and tests must be done using a Qualified Elevator Inspector (QEI). From PWS VTE Maintenance and Repair Services.pdf:
A17.1 Appendix N, using a Qualified Elevator Inspector (QEI). The first annual test shall…
- Contractor staff must get base passes; the performance work statement says all personnel entering the base must be U.S. citizens with a REAL ID, a home-state driver's license or a passport. From PWS VTE Maintenance and Repair Services.pdf:
Non-US citizens: Getting authorization to base may take up to 30 days with proper authorization.
Not in the notice text
- Part of the solicitation PDF (the middle, mostly representations and clause text) was attached but not read.
- The documents do not say whether attending the October 26, 2026 site visit is required.
- No dollar estimate or budget for the work is given.
- The regular scheduled workday hours for routine calls are not stated.
- Whether escalators, wheelchair or stair lifts, dock levelers or dumbwaiters are included is unclear; the PWS says they may be, but Appendix C lists only elevators.
- What 'current date' means for the four-year past performance window is not defined.
Eligibility and how to respond
- Set aside for small businesses: only a business that counts as small under this notice's NAICS code can bid as the prime contractor. More open small business set-asides under NAICS 238290
- How to submit, from the AI summary: Email to the contract specialist (owen.sinning.1@us.af.mil) and the contracting officer (camille.ezugwu@us.af.mil); offers must be received before the deadline. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
- Service contracts usually set minimum pay rates (the Service Contract Act). Price the labor with the SCA price calculator.
- Construction contracts over $2,000 pay at least the local Davis-Bacon wage rates, from the wage determination in the solicitation. Price your labor from it: How to price a government contract, and how Davis-Bacon differs from the Service Contract Act.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 15, 2026
- Notice type
- Combined Synopsis/Solicitation
- Office
- FA4460 19 CONS PKA, Little Rock AFB, AR
- Product/service code
- J039 · Maint/Repair/Rebuild of Equipment – Materials Handling Equipment
- Business type
- Construction & renovation (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 238290)
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
- Set-aside contracts explained
Terms on this notice: Solicitation, Set-aside
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- WTX Elevator Inspections and Load Testing ServicesOnly certified Service-Disabled Veteran-Owned Small Businesses (SDVOSBs) listed in the SBA certification database can bid on this Department of Veterans Affairs job.
- Vertical Transportation Equipment (VTE): Maintenance, Repair, and Inspection at Aviano Air Base, ItalyThis is a request for quotations (RFQ: the buyer asks for price quotes) from the Air Force's 31st Contracting Squadron for full-service maintenance, repair and inspection of…
- Green Mountain National Forest Storage tank cleaning and inspection at Hapgood PondThe U.S. Forest Service (Green Mountain National Forest) wants a small business to clean out and inspect a 10,000-gallon concrete drinking-water storage tank at Hapgood Pond…
- Munitions Maintenance and Inspection Facility and Conventional Munitions Cube Storage Addition, HIANG, JBPHH, HIThe Hawaii Air National Guard wants one small business to build two munitions facilities at Joint Base Pearl Harbor-Hickam, Hawaii: a new maintenance and inspection facility and…
- Europe South District Playground Inspection, Maintenance, and RepairThe Department of Defense Education Activity wants a contractor to inspect, maintain, repair and clean playgrounds at its schools and facilities in the Europe South Region.