Solicitation
PMI ICE Machine Service Contract -w/wd, B+4, POP 1/1/2027 - 12/31/2027
Department of Veterans Affairs
AI summaryPer Amendment 0001, only certified service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSBs) can bid on solicitation 36C26227Q0030, although SAM.gov lists no set-aside. The Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) wants preventive maintenance (PM) and sanitation service for Follett ice machines at the Phoenix VA Health Care System: 35 machines on the main campus plus machines at its outpatient clinics. The period runs from January 1, 2027 to December 31, 2027, with four option years through December 31, 2031. More in the summary
AI summary Beta
Summary of the version posted Oct 23, 2026. The notice was amended Oct 27, 2026. Check what else changed on SAM.gov. The notice looks incomplete: Part of the main solicitation file (36C26227Q0030_1.docx) was left out of what was read, including the statement of work, insurance requirements, personnel vetting clause and the text of the set-aside and subcontracting clauses; check these on SAM.gov. Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
Per Amendment 0001, only certified service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSBs) can bid on solicitation 36C26227Q0030, although SAM.gov lists no set-aside. The Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) wants preventive maintenance (PM) and sanitation service for Follett ice machines at the Phoenix VA Health Care System: 35 machines on the main campus plus machines at its outpatient clinics. The period runs from January 1, 2027 to December 31, 2027, with four option years through December 31, 2031.
Who can bid (5)
- Must be a certified service-disabled veteran-owned small business (SDVOSB): total SDVOSB set-aside, and offers must comply with VAAR 852.219-73
- Small under NAICS 811310, the governing code, with a size standard of $12.5 million
- Active registration in the System for Award Management (SAM), with verification in the offer
Show all 5Show fewer
- VA Form 10091 vendor file request submitted through the VA Customer Engagement Portal, with verification in the offer, and a W-9 sent to the VA Financial Service Center in Austin, Texas
- Signed VAAR 852.219-75 limitations on subcontracting certificate of compliance with the offer
How to submit: Email to jessica.brooks3@va.gov and NCO22SERVICES4SOLICITATIONINBOX@va.gov; offers must be in PDF; faxed offers are not accepted. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (9)
- Serious: Only certified SDVOSBs can bid. Amendment 0001 says the buy is a total SDVOSB set-aside under VAAR 852.219-73, so a business that is not a certified service-disabled veteran-owned small business cannot compete.
- Serious: Missing required documents means no evaluation. The VA Form 10091 verification, W-9, SAM verification and signed subcontracting certification must come with the offer, or the offer is not evaluated.
- Worth checking: SAM.gov shows no set-aside, but the amendment says SDVOSB. The SAM.gov record lists no set-aside, while Amendment 0001 answers a bidder question by confirming a total SDVOSB set-aside. Plan on the SDVOSB rule, and ask the contracting officer if unsure.
Show all 9Show fewer
- Worth checking: Work at many locations across Arizona. A bidder must cover 4 PMs a year at the Phoenix main campus and 2 PMs a year at each clinic, including Show Low in Navajo County, so travel and staffing matter.
- Worth checking: The site visit was Oct 27, 2026. Check the notice and its amendments for whether attendance was required, and whether another visit is offered.
- Worth checking: Detailed experience history required. Three years of contract-specific experience is required for the prime and any subcontractors; general statements do not count and may be treated as lacking experience.
- Minor: Redacted and unredacted technical proposals. Two separate PDF versions of the technical proposal, experience and certificates are required, which adds work and a chance of a formatting error.
- Minor: Email subject line is given two ways. The SF 1449 page and Section E show different subject lines for the offer email; use the Section E wording or ask the contract specialist.
- Minor: Show Low uses a different wage determination. Amendment 0001 says work at the Show Low clinic follows the Navajo County Service Contract Labor Standards wage determination 2015-5477 Revision 32, while the attached one covers Maricopa and Pinal counties.
Read from the notice and 7 attachments. Show which files.
- 36C26227Q0030 0001.docx (read)
- 36C26227Q0030_1.docx (read)
- W9 Request for Taxpayer Identification Number and Certification.pdf (read)
- P11 Follet Specs.pdf (read)
- P11 Sympony plus.docx (read)
- FMS Vendor File Update Request Form.pdf (read)
- VA10091 Vendor Request Form.pdf (read)
Full summary
What they want
- Preventive maintenance on 35 ice machines (550 lb per day) at the Phoenix main campus: QTY 4 QTR (4 PMs a year)
- Preventive maintenance on Follett ice machines at the community-based outpatient clinics (CBOCs): Show Low (1), CRRC (1), Fairmont (1), OPC (9), Northwest (2), Southeast (2), Thunderbird (1), Southwest (6) and Mid-Town (3), each line QTY 2 QTR (2 PMs a year)
- Sanitation and deep cleaning, descaling, diagnostics, operational testing, and refrigeration and electrical inspection tasks on the Follett ice machine fleet, following the machine maker's (OEM) procedures
- Documentation and reporting of the work done
- Service for any additional ice machines added at the main campus or clinics: QTY 10 EA
- Contract type
- Firm-fixed-price (FFP: one set price, whatever the work ends up costing), per the type of contract provision; Request for quotation (RFQ) under FAR Part 12 simplified procedures
- Period of performance
- Base period January 1, 2027 to December 31, 2027, plus four one-year options (Option 4 ends December 31, 2031); FAR 52.217-8 allows up to 6 more months, and FAR 52.217-9 caps the total at five years
- Place of performance
- Phoenix VA Health Care System, Carl T. Hayden VA Medical Center, 650 E. Indian School Road, Phoenix, AZ 85012, and its clinics (CBOCs), including Show Low in Navajo County
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- How they'll choose
- Comparative evaluation for best value: offers are compared against each other on each factor. Lowest price technically acceptable (LPTA) is not used.
- Offers due
- November 10, 2026, 4:00 PM Mountain (6:00 PM Eastern); written as MST in the documents (from the version posted Oct 23, 2026; amended since)
- How to submit
- Email to jessica.brooks3@va.gov and NCO22SERVICES4SOLICITATIONINBOX@va.gov; offers must be in PDF; faxed offers are not accepted
What they'll judge offers on
- Technical Approach (Factor 1): how you will do the preventive maintenance, sanitation, descaling, diagnostics, testing and documentation, including 4 PMs a year at the main campus and 2 at clinics, OEM requirements and technician qualifications
- Experience (Factor 2): past three years of similar work, with contract number, dollar value, period, prime contact, location and any subcontractor details; subcontractors' experience is evaluated too
- Required Documents (Factor 3): VA Form 10091 verification, W-9, SAM registration, signed subcontracting certification, signed amendments
- Price (Factor 4): checked as fair and reasonable by comparison; option prices are added to the base, and unbalanced option prices can make an offer unacceptable
- Past Performance (Factor 5): the Government reviews the Contractor Performance Assessment Reporting System (CPARS) and other past performance information
What to include when you submit
- Amendment 0001 confirms offers are due November 10, 2026, at 4:00 PM MST; Section E of the solicitation still shows November 9, 2026.
- Put the subject line as in Section E: RFQ# 36C26227Q0030_1 – PMI ICE Machine Service/Offer/Brooks. The Standard Form 1449 (SF 1449: the form you sign and return as your offer) page shows a shorter version: RFQ #36C26227Q0030_1 Brooks.
- Send both an unredacted technical proposal (with experience and certificates or licenses) and a redacted one, as separate PDF files labeled 'UNREDACTED' or 'REDACTED' in the file name and on the cover page.
- Label each submission with contractor name, business address, solicitation number 36C26227Q0030_1, and a contact name, phone and email.
- Number all pages, index them and cross-reference them to the statement of work (SOW) sections; do not use watermarks.
- Technical Approach: a narrative on how the services meet the SOW; your ability to meet 4 PMs a year at the main campus and 2 PMs a year at clinics; a statement on meeting Follett OEM requirements; technician capability; and evidence of technician qualifications or training.
- Experience: list the past three years of similar preventive maintenance, sanitation and refrigeration service work, each with contract number, dollar value, period of performance, prime contact (name, phone, email), location, and whether subcontractors were used.
- If a subcontractor will be used, give its name, address, telephone number, UEI, relevant experience, prior contract numbers, dollar values, periods, contact and work location.
- Required documents: verification of the VA Form 10091 submitted, the W-9 faxed to the VA Financial Service Center in Austin, Texas, verification of active SAM registration, and the signed VAAR 852.219-75 and 852.219-76 certifications if they apply.
- Work valued at $200,000 or more must comply with VETS-4212 federal contractor reporting.
- Sign and return all amendments with the submission.
- Fill in the Price/Cost Schedule and keep technical information out of the price.
- Hold prices firm for 60 calendar days from the date specified for receipt of offers, unless an addendum says otherwise.
- Questions go by email to jessica.brooks3@va.gov and NCO22SERVICES4SOLICITATIONINBOX@va.gov by 1:00 PM MST on October 29, 2026.
- Make sure the contract specialist has received the offer before the deadline; the Government is not responsible for email failures.
Not in the notice text
- Part of the main solicitation file (36C26227Q0030_1.docx) was left out of what was read, including the statement of work, insurance requirements, personnel vetting clause and the text of the set-aside and subcontracting clauses; check these on SAM.gov.
- The Follett specification file (P11 Follet Specs.pdf) could not be read; check it on SAM.gov.
- The Government's responses to the remaining technical questions are expected to be posted on October 28, 2026 and are not in the documents read.
- Whether the site visit is required is not stated; the text asks bidders to email to confirm attendance.
- The Government's estimate for the work is not given; unit prices are blank for bidders to fill in.
- No current contractor is named.
Eligibility and how to respond
- No set-aside: any business, large or small, can bid unless the notice says otherwise.
- How to submit, from the AI summary: Email to jessica.brooks3@va.gov and NCO22SERVICES4SOLICITATIONINBOX@va.gov; offers must be in PDF; faxed offers are not accepted. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
- Service contracts usually set minimum pay rates (the Service Contract Act). Price the labor with the SCA price calculator.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 27, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Office
- 262-Network Contract Office 22 (36C262), Gilbert, AZ
- Product/service code
- J041 · Maint/Repair/Rebuild of Equipment – Refrigeration, Air Conditioning, and Air Circulating Equipment
- Business type
- Equipment repair & maintenance (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 811310)
- Versions
5 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 27, 2026 · Amendment 0002 (this version)Due Nov 10, 2026
- Oct 23, 2026 · Amendment 0001Due Nov 10, 2026
- Oct 16, 2026 · SolicitationDue Nov 10, 2026 (changed)
- Oct 5, 2026 · Amendment 0001Date Nov 2, 2026
- Oct 5, 2026 · PresolicitationDate Nov 2, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
Terms on this notice: Solicitation
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- Preventive and Corrective Maintenance for Ice MachinesSolicitation 36C25727Q0009 is set aside for service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSB): only certified SDVOSBs can bid.