Solicitation
GRECC Preventive Maintenance Contract, Durham VAMC
Department of Veterans Affairs
AI summaryThe Department of Veterans Affairs (VA), Network Contracting Office 6, wants twice-a-year preventive maintenance and on-call repair of government-owned lab centrifuges and incubators for solicitation 36C24627Q0092 at the Durham VA Medical Center, 508 Fulton Street, Durham, NC. It is a small business set-aside per the notice text, with one base year starting April 1, 2027 and four option years. The response due date is November 12, 2026, 10:00 AM Eastern. More in the summary
AI summary Beta
The Department of Veterans Affairs (VA), Network Contracting Office 6, wants twice-a-year preventive maintenance and on-call repair of government-owned lab centrifuges and incubators for solicitation 36C24627Q0092 at the Durham VA Medical Center, 508 Fulton Street, Durham, NC. It is a small business set-aside per the notice text, with one base year starting April 1, 2027 and four option years. The response due date is November 12, 2026, 10:00 AM Eastern.
Who can bid
- Small business under NAICS 811210 (size standard $34 Million); the notice text says the buy is a small business set-aside
- Active SAM registration under the applicable NAICS code
- Experience maintaining the listed equipment: Beckman J2-21M, L8-80 and GPR centrifuges, an Eppendorf refrigerated centrifuge and microcentrifuge, a Nuair incubator and a Lab-Line shaker
Things to watch (8)
From the version posted Oct 22, 2026.
- Worth checking: Notice type conflict. SAM.gov lists this as a Solicitation, but the text calls it a Pre-Solicitation announcing an intent to solicit, while the attached document is a full solicitation with an SF 1449. Confirm with the Contracting Officer.
- Worth checking: Set-aside shown only in the text. SAM.gov says no set-aside is stated, but the notice text and the attachment describe a small business set-aside. Check the set-aside with the Contracting Officer before quoting.
- Worth checking: Emergency response times differ. The statement of work asks for a call back within two hours, an on-site engineer within 24 hours, and a performance standard that says respond within 24 hours. Ask which applies.
Show all 8Show fewer
- Worth checking: Emergency repairs need pre-approval. The Contracting Officer must approve each emergency repair proposal before work starts, and costs incurred without approval are denied. Repairs include parts and labor.
- Worth checking: Evaluation factors and quote instructions not stated. The evaluation provision lists no factors, and the quote submission method is not spelled out. Ask the Contracting Officer how and where to send quotes.
- Minor: Equipment listing differences. The statement of work lists model GPD, serial 9F003, while the price schedule lists a Beckman GPR centrifuge with the same serial number. Confirm the model before pricing.
- Minor: Solicitation number typo in question instructions. The notice asks that the email subject line include Solicitation No. 36C24627Q00921, which has one extra digit compared with 36C24627Q0092.
- Minor: Maintenance months and start date. Preventive maintenance must be finished in October and April, and the base year starts April 1, 2027, so the first April visit falls on the first day of the base year.
Read from the notice and 1 attachment. Show which files.
- 36C24627Q0092.docx (read)
Full summary
What they want
- Preventive maintenance twice a year (bi-annual) on 9 listed lab instruments for the Geriatric Research, Education, and Clinical Center (GRECC): cleaning, calibrating and test runs, per the maker's maintenance manual
- Scheduled service in October and April of each contract year, finished by the last day of each month
- Repairs, including parts and labor, when GRECC lab staff report a malfunction; emergency repair prices need Contracting Officer approval before work starts
- Emergency on-site response (CLIN 0010 and matching option lines, QTY 1.00 EA each)
- A preventive maintenance plan naming the services for each instrument type and the people who will do them
- On-site records of all maintenance and corrective actions, and a signed service ticket after each visit
- One week's notice before arriving on-site; check in with Engineering Service and wear a VA-issued photo ID badge
- Invoices submitted electronically through the VA's Tungsten invoicing system
- Contract type
- Firm-fixed-price (FFP): one set price, whatever the work ends up costing
- Period of performance
- Base year April 1, 2027 to March 31, 2028, plus four one-year options (Option 1 starts April 1, 2028; Option 4 ends March 31, 2032). Clause 52.217-8 allows up to 6 more months of extension.
- Place of performance
- Durham VA Medical Center, Geriatric Research, Education, and Clinical Center (GRECC), 508 Fulton Street, Durham, NC 27705
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- How they'll choose
- Award to the responsible bidder whose quote is most advantageous to the Government, price and other factors considered. The list of factors is blank in the posted provision.
- Offers due
- November 12, 2026, 10:00 AM Eastern (the SF 1449 form says 10:00am EST)
What to include when you submit
- Fill in the price schedule: a unit price and amount for each line, base year and four option years, plus a grand total
- Complete the Standard Form 1449 (SF 1449) blocks marked for the bidder (blocks 12, 17, 23, 24 and 30), the small business representations in clause 52.219-1, and the amendment acknowledgment
- Be registered in the System for Award Management (SAM) under NAICS 811210 to be eligible for award
- Send questions by email to the Contracting Officer, Monique Cordero; the subject line must carry the solicitation number and your company name. Telephone questions are not accepted.
After award, you must have
- Field service engineer able to be on-site within 24 hours of an emergency call; staff must show photo ID and wear a VA-issued badge From 36C24627Q0092.docx:
A Field Services Engineer (FSE) must be on-site within 24 hours of an emergency service call…
Current contractor
No incumbent is named in the documents.
Not in the notice text
- How and where to send quotes is not stated; the full instructions to bidders (clause 52.212-1) are only cited by reference.
- The evaluation factors list in the evaluation provision is blank.
- The Government's estimate or budget is not given.
- What the quantity of 2.00 EA means on each maintenance line (two visits a year per instrument) is not spelled out beyond the bi-annual frequency.
- Whether SAM.gov's notice type (Solicitation) or the text's Pre-Solicitation label is correct is not clear.
- A site visit is not mentioned in the documents.
Eligibility and how to respond
- No set-aside: any business, large or small, can bid unless the notice says otherwise.
- How and where to submit is in the notice text and its attachments on SAM.gov.
- Service contracts usually set minimum pay rates (the Service Contract Act). Price the labor with the SCA price calculator.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 22, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Office
- 246-Network Contracting Office 6 (36C246), Hampton, VA
- Product/service code
- J066 · Maint/Repair/Rebuild of Equipment – Instruments and Laboratory Equipment
- Business type
- Equipment repair & maintenance (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 811210)
- Versions
2 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 22, 2026 · Solicitation (this version)Due Nov 12, 2026
- Oct 22, 2026 · PresolicitationDate Nov 12, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
Terms on this notice: Solicitation
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- Wound Vac Cleaning Maintenance Service | St. Louis VAMCThis is a sources sought notice, a market research step and not a request for quotes.
- Preventive and Corrective Maintenance for Ice MachinesSolicitation 36C25727Q0009 is set aside for service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSB): only certified SDVOSBs can bid.
- INDEFINITE DELIVERY INDEFINITE QUANTITY (IDIQ) PREVENTIVE MAINTENANCE AND REPAIR SERVICES FOR U.S. FIRE APPARATUS AT NAVY Region (Yokosuka, Atsugi, and Sasebo), JAPANThe Navy's Naval Facilities Engineering Command Far East (NAVFAC FE) posted a sources sought notice (market research only, no award) for solicitation N40084FY27USFIRETRUCK:…