Solicitation
Metal Parts
Department of Defense · Department of the Navy
AI summaryNaval Surface Warfare Center Indian Head Division (Maryland) wants to buy five types of machined metal parts for M26 hardware (cap, initiator chamber, retainer cartridge, firing pin and firing pin housing) that go into aviation critical safety items. It plans a firm-fixed-price purchase order set aside for small businesses, with 5 first-article samples and 50 production units of each part, delivered to Indian Head, MD. Quotes are due October 21, 2026 (an amendment moved it to Nov 13, 2026, 10:00 AM EST). More in the summary
A newer version of this notice was posted Nov 2, 2026. See the latest version.
AI summary Beta
Summary of the version posted Sep 21, 2026. The notice was amended Nov 2, 2026. The due date moved from Oct 21, 2026 to Nov 13, 2026. Check what else changed on SAM.gov.
Naval Surface Warfare Center Indian Head Division (Maryland) wants to buy five types of machined metal parts for M26 hardware (cap, initiator chamber, retainer cartridge, firing pin and firing pin housing) that go into aviation critical safety items. It plans a firm-fixed-price purchase order set aside for small businesses, with 5 first-article samples and 50 production units of each part, delivered to Indian Head, MD. Quotes are due October 21, 2026 (passed).
Who can bid (6)
- Small business (total small business set-aside; NAICS 332710, size standard 500 employees per the notice)
- ITAR certification needed before the Government releases the technical drawings
- Export control compliance: ITAR registration, or Joint Certification Program (JCP) registration with a DD Form 2345, or both
Show all 6Show fewer
- Current CMMC Level 2 (Self) status for information systems that handle CUI, plus NIST SP 800-171 controls and a System Security Plan available for Government review within 30 days of award
- ISO 9001:2015 quality system and measuring equipment calibrated by an accredited lab (ISO/IEC 17025 or equivalent)
- Registered in SAM with a UEI and CAGE code
How to submit: Email to latrice.t.whitfield.civ@us.navy.mil, due October 21, 2026, 10:00 AM ET (SAM field: Oct 21, 2026 10:00 UTC-04:00). Questions due October 7, 2026; drawing and CDRL requests due Friday, October 16, 2026, 10:00 AM ET; answers promised by October 13, 2026.. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (8)
- Serious: Requests were due Oct 16, 2026. Check the amendments for what the agency sent or answered.
- Serious: Export control and cybersecurity requirements. You need ITAR or JCP registration, CMMC Level 2 self-assessment in SPRS, NIST 800-171 controls and a Government review of your security plan, which many small machine shops do not already have.
- Serious: Zero-defect acceptance on safety parts. These parts go into aviation critical safety items; the whole lot can be rejected for a single defect, and critical characteristics are inspected at 100%.
Show all 8Show fewer
- Worth checking: First article gates production at your risk. Production before first article approval is at your own cost, and the schedule (60 days to first article, then up to 60 days for approval, then 150 days) is long, with extra first articles at your cost if disapproved.
- Worth checking: Special processes: cadmium plating, baking and hydrostatic test. Plating thickness limits, a bake of at least 23 hours within 4 hours of plating, and 5500 to 6500 psi hydrostatic testing may require approved subcontractors, and you remain responsible for them.
- Minor: Notice mentions an exact brand the SOW does not name. The notice says quotes must match an exact brand in the Statement of Work, but the work statement lists Government drawing numbers and no brand, so ask the contract specialist what is meant.
- Minor: Chromate finish referenced alongside a hexavalent chromium prohibition clause. The plating requirement mentions a chromate finish while the contract also includes a prohibition on hexavalent chromium, so confirm with the Government how finishes must be done.
- Minor: Prime responsible for subcontractors. If you subcontract plating or testing, their quality and delivery problems count against you.
Read from the notice and 1 attachment. Show which files.
- Solicitation - N0017426Q1123.pdf (read)
Full summary
What they want
- Manufacture 5 first-article (FAT) and 50 production units each of the Cap (8595254 Rev E), Initiator Chamber (8593314 Rev J), Retainer Cartridge (8593313 Rev J), Firing Pin (8594744 Rev J) and Firing Pin Housing (8594858 Rev J) to Government drawings
- Cadmium plate parts, bake for hydrogen embrittlement relief and hydrostatic test the caps at 5500 to 6500 psi
- Inspect 100% of dimensions and deliver inspection reports and material, hardness and compliance certificates
- Submit an Inspection Test Plan for approval before first article manufacture and deliver the first article first
- Provide five data deliverables (CDRLs): inspection report, material certification data, completion certificate, inspection test plan and requests for variance
- Design and build all tooling and inspection fixtures needed
- Package each part with protective sleeve, desiccant and marked poly bags in heavy-duty cartons and ship to NSWC Indian Head
- Contract type
- Firm-fixed-price purchase order using simplified acquisition procedures (non-commercial products)
- Period of performance
- First article units (5 of each part) due 60 calendar days after award; production units (50 of each part) due 150 calendar days after first article approval; Government has 60 days to approve the first article
- Place of performance
- Delivery, inspection and acceptance at NSWC Indian Head Division, Indian Head, MD (Building 116); manufacturing site is the contractor's
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- How they'll choose
- Lowest Price Technically Acceptable (LPTA); award without discussions
- Offers due
- October 21, 2026, 10:00 AM ET (SAM field: Oct 21, 2026 10:00 UTC-04:00). Questions due October 7, 2026; drawing and CDRL requests due Friday, October 16, 2026, 10:00 AM ET; answers promised by October 13, 2026. (from the version posted Sep 21, 2026; amended since)
- How to submit
- Email to latrice.t.whitfield.civ@us.navy.mil
What they'll judge offers on
- Technical: quote must meet the required specifications (pass/fail)
- Price: must include all costs, including shipping and handling
What to include when you submit
- Include a cover sheet with Official Company Name; Point of Contact (name, email, phone); Unique Entity Identifier (UEI) and CAGE Code
- Quote all line items (0001-0010 parts, 0011-0015 data items); price must include shipping and handling
- Request the technical drawings and CDRLs by email before the quote deadline; ITAR certification must be provided first
- Provide the CMMC unique identifier(s) from SPRS for systems that handle CUI, and complete the representations and certifications (also kept in SAM)
- Late quotes will not be considered
Not in the notice text
- Technical drawings and CDRL forms are not included; materials, heat treatment, tolerances and surface finishes are only in the drawings
- Estimated value is not stated and the price schedule shows blank unit prices
- Section M (evaluation factors) of the RFQ is blank; the LPTA method comes from the notice text
- Whether the order is a DX or DO priority rated order is left for the Contracting Officer to mark
- The CMMC level in the solicitation provision is left blank, though the work statement says Level 2
- First article waiver is possible if you delivered the same drawings within the last 2 years, but whether waivers will be granted for this order is not stated
- Full delivery address is given after award; named Government contacts for the contracting officer, COR and TPOC are blank placeholders
Eligibility and how to respond
- Set aside for small businesses: only a business that counts as small under this notice's NAICS code can bid as the prime contractor. The notice also names requirements: More open small business set-asides under NAICS 332710
- The notice mentions export-controlled data. You may need a Joint Certification Program (DD Form 2345) approval to see the drawings.
- How to submit, from the AI summary: Email to latrice.t.whitfield.civ@us.navy.mil. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
Notice details
- Posted
- Nov 2, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Office
- NSWC Indian Head Division, MD
- Product/service code
- 5342 · Hardware, Weapon System
- Business type
- Manufactured parts & equipment (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 332710)
- Versions
3 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Nov 2, 2026 · Amendment 0002Due Nov 13, 2026
- Nov 2, 2026 · Amendment 0001 (this version)Due Nov 13, 2026 (changed)
- Sep 21, 2026 · SolicitationDue Oct 21, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
- Set-aside contracts explained
Terms on this notice: Solicitation, Set-aside
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- Fiber Optic Adapter - and Other Replacement PartsNAVSUP Weapon Systems Support (Navy) wants fiber optic adapters and other replacement parts made to five listed drawings: 629019, 629020, 629021, 629022 and 629296.
- U Bolt For Watervliet Arsenal
- Lever Castings for the Watervliet Arsenal
- Handle, P2TC for Watervliet Arsenal
- Interlocking Stop for the Watervliet Arsenal