Sources Sought
Repair Taxiway Pavements (Phase 3 and 4) Naval Air Station Oceana, Virginia
Department of Defense · Department of the Navy
AI summaryThis is a sources sought notice (market research, not a request for proposal) from the Naval Facilities Engineering Systems Command (NAVFAC) Mid-Atlantic for taxiway pavement repair, Phases 3 and 4, at Naval Air Station Oceana, Virginia. The notice gives an estimated range of $250,000,000 to $500,000,000. Large and small firms may send capability packages by the response due date of November 5, 2026, 2:00 PM Eastern. More in the summary
Market research, not a bid. Replying is free and tells Department of the Navy who could do this work. Send a short reply to the contracting contact; no price is needed. See the contact
AI summary Beta
This is a sources sought notice (market research, not a request for proposal) from the Naval Facilities Engineering Systems Command (NAVFAC) Mid-Atlantic for taxiway pavement repair, Phases 3 and 4, at Naval Air Station Oceana, Virginia. The notice gives an estimated range of $250,000,000 to $500,000,000. Large and small firms may send capability packages by the response due date of November 5, 2026, 2:00 PM Eastern.
Who can bid
- Prime contractor experience on at least two relevant projects (maximum five) meeting size, recency and scope: $30,000,000 or more final cost or at least 3 acres of pavement, completed within ten years
- Bonding information: surety name, maximum bonding capacity per project and aggregate maximum bonding capacity
- Unique Entity Identifier (UEI) and CAGE code, plus verification of small business status if responding as a small business
How to submit: Email only to Ashlee Beggs, ashlee.r.beggs.civ@us.navy.mil; attachment limited to 4MB. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (8)
From the version posted Oct 21, 2026.
- Serious: Very large project: $250 million to $500 million. The notice's estimated range is far above the $45,000,000 size standard for this code, so small firms will need strong bonding and large past projects.
- Serious: Large past project and bonding information required. Relevant projects must be $30,000,000 or more (or at least 3 acres of pavement) and finished within ten years. Surety and bonding capacity must be listed.
- Serious: Subcontractor experience mostly not counted. Only the prime contractor's own experience is considered. A small business can use a named small business first-tier subcontractor's experience, but not a large business's.
Show all 8Show fewer
- Worth checking: Set-aside not yet decided. SAM.gov shows no set-aside. The Government will decide after responses whether to set the work aside for small business, and the later solicitation may be unrestricted.
- Worth checking: Limits on subcontracting if set aside. If set aside for small business, the solicitation will include the limitations on subcontracting clause, which caps how much work a small prime can pass to others.
- Worth checking: Project Labor Agreement may be required. The Navy is asking the public about using a PLA (a labor deal with unions covering the project), which could affect cost and who bids.
- Minor: Phase 4 is an option. Phase 3 is the base bid and Phase 4 is an option, so the Government may choose not to order Phase 4.
- Minor: Email-only response with a 4MB limit. The package goes only by email, must be 4MB or smaller, and late or incomplete responses are not considered.
Read from the notice and 4 attachments. Show which files.
- TAXIWAY PLA Questionnaire.docx (read)
- Sources Sought -PLA Notice 27R0016 Taxiway Phase 3 -4.pdf (read)
- Project Information Form.docx (read)
- Contractor Information Form.docx (read)
Full summary
What they want
- Phase 3 (base bid): taxiway repair, infield grading, stormwater upgrades, electrical and airfield lighting work, and unexploded ordnance (UXO) cleanup
- Phase 3: remove concrete and asphalt pavement, crush the concrete for new base course, rebuild taxiways with 14-inch Portland cement concrete (PCC), and paint markings
- Phase 4 (option): similar taxiway, stormwater, lighting and infield work, plus finishing the compass rose started in Phase 2
- Stormwater pipes from 18-inch up to 60-inch (Phase 3) and 60 by 60 inch (Phase 4), including a concrete-lined Ditch B3 tied to an existing outfall channel
- Send two to five relevant past construction projects with the contractor and project forms
- Contract type
- Construction; phased project with Phase 3 as the base bid and Phase 4 as an option. Contract type not stated.
- Period of performance
- Not stated. Anticipated award: July 2027.
- Place of performance
- Virginia Beach, VA, USA (Naval Air Station Oceana, Virginia)
- Estimated value
- $250,000,000 to $500,000,000 (estimated range for this project, as stated in the notice)
- How they'll choose
- Capability review of past construction experience for market research; not an award evaluation.
- Offers due
- November 5, 2026, 2:00 PM Eastern
- How to submit
- Email only to Ashlee Beggs, ashlee.r.beggs.civ@us.navy.mil; attachment limited to 4MB
- Page limits
- Project Information Form: 2 pages per project; Contractor Information Form: 1 page
What they'll judge offers on
- Construction experience: tiered by role (Tier 1 prime that self-performed most work, Tier 2 prime using subcontractors, Tier 3 first-tier subcontractor), on projects similar in size, scope and complexity
- Bonding capacity
- Business type and small business status
What to include when you submit
- Complete the Contractor Information Form (UEI, CAGE code, contact, business type, surety name, bonding capacity per project and total). The notice says these forms are required.
- Send a minimum of two (2) and a maximum of five (5) relevant construction projects, one Project Information Form per project.
- Each project must be one construction project under a single task order or contract; for multiple-award or indefinite-delivery contracts, send the work done under a task order, not the whole contract.
- Recent means 100% contract completion within the last ten (10) years before the response due date.
- Relevant size: final construction cost of $30,000,000 or greater or a minimum of 3 acres of pavement.
- Across the projects, show experience with: new or full-depth replacement of airfield concrete pavement or shoulders; airfield lighting construction or repair; airfield signage and pavement markings; and large earthwork with stormwater, underdrain and cast-in-place concrete drainage structures.
- Say whether each project is new construction or renovation, give its final construction cost, and show how it meets the scope and complexity items.
- Experience of subcontractors is not considered. If you were a subcontractor on a project, show your work met all requirements.
- A small business may use a small business first-tier subcontractor's experience under 13 CFR 125.2(g) only if it names that subcontractor in its package.
- Include identification and verification of your firm's small business status.
- A mentor-protege joint venture under the 8(a) program must provide Small Business Administration (SBA) approval of the mentor-protege agreement to be considered small.
- Optional: answer the Project Labor Agreement (PLA) questionnaire, which asks about the possible use of a PLA on this project.
Current contractor
No incumbent: the notice says this is a new procurement that does not replace an existing contract and that no prior contract information exists.
Not in the notice text
- No solicitation, specifications or drawings are available yet.
- Whether a site visit will be held, and whether it will be required, is not stated.
- The notice does not say which wage rule applies to the future contract. The PLA questionnaire mentions prevailing wage rates under the Construction Wage Rates Requirements statute (formerly the Davis-Bacon Act).
- The contract type, base and option periods, and bonding requirements for the future contract are not stated.
- SAM.gov shows no set-aside; the set-aside decision comes after review of responses.
Eligibility and how to respond
- No set-aside. Any business can reply: this is market research, and no bid is being taken yet.
- To respond, send a short reply to the contracting contact near the top of this page. No price is needed.
- Construction contracts over $2,000 pay at least the local Davis-Bacon wage rates, from the wage determination in the solicitation. Price your labor from it: How to price a government contract, and how Davis-Bacon differs from the Service Contract Act.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 21, 2026
- Notice type
- Sources Sought
- Office
- Navfacsyscom Mid-Atlantic, Norfolk, VA
- Business type
- Construction & renovation (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 237310)
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
Terms on this notice: Sources sought notice
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- P-1417: Containerized Long Weapons Storage Magazine, Naval Weapons Station Yorktown, Yorktown, Virginia & P-1418: Conventional Prompt Strike (CPS) Weapons Maintenance and Storage Facility, Naval Weapons Station Yorktown, Yorktown, Virginia
- Primary Runway and Pavement Repairs Located at Joint Reserve Base New Orleans, Louisiana.Naval Facilities Engineering Systems Command Southeast announces a presolicitation for a design-bid-build, firm-fixed-price rebuild of runway and taxiway pavement at Naval Air…
- N4008526R0228 Design-Build (DB), Repair Otc Dorm King Hall BLDG 291, Naval Station Newport Ri, Newport Rhode IslandOnly the six holders of the Navy's Global Contingency Construction (GCC) multiple-award contract (MAC) can bid on this design-build renovation of King Hall at Naval Station…
- P084 Next Generation Torpedo Integration Lab, Naval Station Newport, Newport RiSolicitation N4008526R0178 is open to all businesses, with no set-aside, and the response due date is November 10, 2026, 2:00 PM Eastern.
- Northeast Region Pavement and Bridge Preservation Construction - NP NER PMS BMS FY24(1)Sealed bids from certified small businesses only: the Federal Highway Administration's Eastern Federal Lands Highway Division (EFLHD) plans a pavement and bridge preservation…