Solicitation
P084 Next Generation Torpedo Integration Lab, Naval Station Newport, Newport Ri
Department of Defense · Department of the Navy
AI summarySolicitation N4008526R0178 is open to all businesses, with no set-aside, and the response due date is November 10, 2026, 2:00 PM Eastern. The Navy's NAVFACSYSCOM Mid-Atlantic (Naval Facilities Engineering Systems Command) wants a 12,920-square-foot torpedo lab built at Naval Station Newport, for the Naval Undersea Warfare Center (NUWC) Division Newport. It is a firm-fixed-price (FFP: one set price) design-bid-build job (the Government supplies the design) with nine priced options, including a second 17,978-square-foot lab. Amendment 0003 removes the signed Project Labor Agreement requirement that the notice text still states. More in the summary
AI summary Beta
This summary may miss requirements: 9 of 21 attachments weren't read (Amendment 0002 - N4008526R0178.pdf, Attachment A - Pre-Proposal Inquiry Log Template.xlsx and 7 more). Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
Solicitation N4008526R0178 is open to all businesses, with no set-aside, and the response due date is November 10, 2026, 2:00 PM Eastern. The Navy's NAVFACSYSCOM Mid-Atlantic (Naval Facilities Engineering Systems Command) wants a 12,920-square-foot torpedo lab built at Naval Station Newport, for the Naval Undersea Warfare Center (NUWC) Division Newport. It is a firm-fixed-price (FFP: one set price) design-bid-build job (the Government supplies the design) with nine priced options, including a second 17,978-square-foot lab. Amendment 0003 removes the signed Project Labor Agreement requirement that the notice text still states.
Who can bid (9)
- No set-aside: open to businesses of any size under full and open competition.
- Able to furnish performance and payment bonds (guarantees that the work will be finished and bills paid) within 10 days after receiving the award.
- Submit one signed bank reference showing adequate financial resources.
Show all 9Show fewer
- Submit the latest three complete fiscal year financial statements for the prime contractor, plus evidence of working capital. For a joint venture, each company submits its own.
- Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) Level 1 (self-assessment) requirements apply.
- A PIEE account with the Proposal Manager role is needed to submit an offer; the account must be activated by your company's account administrator.
- Every offeror, large or small, must commit to a small business participation plan with a 20% minimum, or explain in writing why it is lower.
- Work in the controlled areas must be done by U.S. citizens; question answers say the contract requires U.S. citizenship to work on the shipyard.
- Carry at least the minimum insurance: general liability of $500,000 per occurrence, employer's liability of $100,000, and automobile liability.
How to submit: PIEE (Procurement Integrated Enterprise Environment, the Defense Department's online portal) Solicitation Module, per Attachment B; section 4.2 of the instructions was not read. Questions go by email to Demetrice Jenkins at demetrice.jenkins2.civ@us.navy.mil.. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (13)
From the version posted Oct 23, 2026.
- Serious: Bonds due 10 days after award. A small business needs bonding capacity for a project sized at $25 million to $100 million before it can start work.
- Serious: U.S. citizens only in controlled areas; security plan comes after award. Question answers say the Construction Security Plan, secured storage locations and parking are given only after award, and personal electronics are barred from the controlled work area.
- Worth checking: Large project size. The solicitation sizes the work at $25 million to $100 million, with 901 calendar days to finish and two buildings plus options.
Show all 13Show fewer
- Worth checking: Financial proof required with the price proposal. Three years of financial statements and a bank reference are required, and they are used to judge whether you are responsible enough for award.
- Worth checking: 20% small business participation commitment required. Large and small offerors alike must fill out Attachment F; a lower percentage needs a detailed written explanation.
- Worth checking: Project Labor Agreement requirement removed by Amendment 0003. The notice text says a signed agreement is required, but Amendment 0003 lists clauses 52.222-33 and 52.222-34 as deleted. Ask the contracting officer to confirm.
- Worth checking: All nine options are priced and evaluated. Your total price includes every option, so a gap in pricing the second building, demolition or A/V items could hurt your standing.
- Worth checking: PIEE account needed to submit. Registering and getting the Proposal Manager role approved by your company's account administrator takes time.
- Worth checking: Award may be made without discussions. The Government may award on the first offers it receives, so there may be no chance to fix mistakes.
- Minor: Response due date moved to November 10, 2026. Amendment 0005 moves the response due date from October 27, 2026 to November 10, 2026, 2:00 PM Eastern. The pre-proposal inquiry cutoff was not extended.
- Minor: Requests were due Aug 28, 2026. Check the amendments for what the agency sent or answered.
- Minor: Bond time: 10 days in one place, 15 days in another. One section says bonds are due 10 days after award; another says the completion time includes 15 days for submitting and approving bonds.
- Minor: Government air permits take at least six months. A question answer says the specification notes a minimum of six months for the Government to obtain air permits, which affects your schedule.
Read from the notice and 12 attachments. 9 of 21 not read. Show which files.
- Solicitation - N4008526R0178.pdf (read)
- Amendment 0005 N4008526R0178.pdf (read)
- Amendment 0004 N4008526R0178.pdf (read)
- Amendment 0003 N4008526R0178.pdf (read)
- Amendment 0001 - N4008526R0178 .pdf (read)
- NUWC P-1016 - Specifications.pdf (read)
- NUWC P084 - Specifications.pdf (read)
- Amendment 0004 PPI Responses.pdf (read)
- Attachment B - PIEE Vendor Access Instructions.pdf (read)
- Attachment C- Construction Experience Project Data.docx (read)
- Attachment E- Historical Small Business Utilization.docx (read)
- Attachment F-Small Business Participation Commitment.docx (read)
- Amendment 0002 - N4008526R0178.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Attachment A - Pre-Proposal Inquiry Log Template.xlsx: not read (the AI doesn't read this file type yet): open it on SAM.gov
- Attachment G - Individual SB Subcontracting Plan.docx: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Attachment D- Past Performance Questionnaire.docx: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Attachment H -Price Proposal Form.docx: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Attachment I - SECNAV FORM 5512.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- NUWC P-1016 - Drawings.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- NUWC P084 - Drawings.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Attachment J - WD RI20260001 7-30-2026.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
Full summary
What they want
- Base work (contract line item number (CLIN) 0001, 1 Project): build the P084 Next Generation Torpedo Integration Lab, a multi-story steel-frame 12,920-square-foot lab and office building for depot-level testing of torpedo systems.
- Site work: underground stormwater retention, mechanical and electrical utilities, telecommunications, landscaping, drainage, parking and exterior lighting.
- Building details: shallow foundation, metal standing seam roof, and masonry and metal panel walls. The specifications also list radio-frequency (RF) shielding, electronic security systems and total building commissioning.
- Option CLIN 0005 (1 Project): build the P1016 Consolidated Research, Development, Test and Evaluation (RDT&E) Systems Facility, a 17,978-square-foot multi-story lab with a steel frame and standing-seam roof.
- Option CLIN 0009 (1 Project): demolish Building 1272T (548 square meters), including its concrete pad and foundations, then backfill with crushed gravel. Option CLIN 0010 (1 Project): paved parking lot and low-impact development (LID) stormwater system instead of gravel.
- Options CLIN 0002 and 0006 (1 Project each): audio-visual (A/V) design by a Certified Technology Specialist - Design (CTS-D). Options CLIN 0003 and 0007 (1 Project each): A/V equipment, testing and training.
- Options CLIN 0004 and 0008 (1 Project each): furniture, fixtures and equipment (FF&E). Question answers say the contractor installs the FF&E and coordinates the timing.
- Install the Government-furnished uninterruptible power supply (UPS: battery backup). The Government provides card readers and access control keypads.
- Contract type
- Firm-fixed-price (FFP) construction contract; request for proposals (RFP) under Federal Acquisition Regulation (FAR) Part 15; one base price plus nine option line items (CLINs 0002 to 0010)
- Period of performance
- Start work within 15 calendar days after receiving notice to proceed; finish all work no later than 901 calendar days after award. That time includes 15 calendar days for submitting and approving bonds.
- Place of performance
- Newport, RI, USA (Naval Station Newport; Naval Undersea Warfare Center Division Newport)
- Estimated value
- Magnitude of construction: between $25,000,000 and $100,000,000 (the solicitation's size range, not a price)
- How they'll choose
- Best value tradeoff under FAR Part 15: award may go to an offer that is not the lowest priced or not the highest technically rated. Price is the total price, including all option items.
- Offers due
- November 10, 2026, 2:00 PM Eastern
- How to submit
- PIEE (Procurement Integrated Enterprise Environment, the Defense Department's online portal) Solicitation Module, per Attachment B; section 4.2 of the instructions was not read. Questions go by email to Demetrice Jenkins at demetrice.jenkins2.civ@us.navy.mil.
What they'll judge offers on
- Price: total price of the base work and all option items (Attachment H price form); the Government intends to evaluate all options but need not exercise them
- Factor 1, Corporate Experience: past construction projects (Attachment C project data sheets)
- Factor 5, Small Business Utilization and Participation: Attachment E (history) and Attachment F (20% minimum commitment)
- Other non-price factors and their order of importance are in the part of the solicitation not read
What to include when you submit
- Send with the price proposal: one signed bank reference, the latest three fiscal years of financial statements for the prime, a description of your facilities and equipment, and a list of your other work under contract (Amendment 0003).
- Items 3 through 11 of the price proposal submittal list are not scored as price; the Government uses them to check responsibility and responsiveness (Amendment 0003).
- Price the base work and all nine option items on the Price Proposal Form (Attachment H, attached but not read).
- Fill out Attachment F (Small Business Participation Commitment) and Attachment E (Historical Small Business Utilization). All offerors, large or small, must complete both.
- Describe past work on Attachment C, Construction Experience Project Data Sheets; the form has slots CON #1 to CON #5. Project counts and recency rules are in the part of the solicitation not read.
- Send questions as pre-proposal inquiries (PPIs: written questions) on the Attachment A log by email to the contracting specialist. The PPI cutoff date was not extended by Amendment 0005.
- Acknowledge receipt of every amendment with your offer.
- The Government intends to award without discussions, so make the first offer complete.
Not in the notice text
- About 203,000 of 228,000 characters in the middle of the main solicitation PDF (including the evaluation factors, proposal submission instructions and most clauses) were left out and not read.
- Attached but not read: Amendment 0002 (scanned), Attachments A (inquiry log), D (past performance questionnaire), G (subcontracting plan), H (price form), I (SECNAV Form 5512) and J (wage determination), and the drawings.
- Only price, Factor 1 (Corporate Experience) and Factor 5 (Small Business Utilization and Participation) are named in the text read. The other factors and their order of importance are in the part not read.
- Which wage rule applies: wage determination RI20260001, dated July 30, 2026, is listed as Attachment J but was not read, and the text read does not name Davis-Bacon.
- Whether attending the September 2, 2026 site visit is required is not stated in Amendment 0001.
- The date the pre-proposal inquiry (PPI) period closes is not in the text read; Amendment 0005 says that cutoff was not extended.
- Whether an offer guarantee (bid bond) is needed, and the bond amounts, are not stated in the text read.
- How many past projects to submit, and any recency or size limits, are not in the text read. Page limits are not given either.
- The notice text still says a signed Project Labor Agreement is required; Amendment 0003 deletes that item and clauses 52.222-33 and 52.222-34. Confirm with the contracting officer.
- The notice calls the P1016 building 'Option 1'; the price schedule lists it as Option Item No. 4 (CLIN 0005), while section 01 00 00 describes both buildings as the project.
- Question answers 43 through 137 in the Amendment 0004 PPI responses were left out of the text read.
Eligibility and how to respond
- No set-aside, but the notice names requirements you must meet before you can bid:
- The notice mentions CMMC, the Defense Department's cybersecurity certification. Check the level it asks for.
- How to submit, from the AI summary: PIEE (Procurement Integrated Enterprise Environment, the Defense Department's online portal) Solicitation Module, per Attachment B; section 4.2 of the instructions was not read. Questions go by email to Demetrice Jenkins at demetrice.jenkins2.civ@us.navy.mil. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
- Construction contracts over $2,000 pay at least the local Davis-Bacon wage rates, from the wage determination in the solicitation. Price your labor from it: How to price a government contract, and how Davis-Bacon differs from the Service Contract Act.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 23, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Office
- Navfacsyscom Mid-Atlantic, Norfolk, VA
- Product/service code
- Y1JB · Construction of Testing and Measurement Buildings
- Business type
- Construction & renovation (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 236220)
- Versions
6 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 23, 2026 · Amendment 0005 (this version)Due Nov 10, 2026 (changed)
- Oct 8, 2026 · Amendment 0004Due Oct 27, 2026 (changed)
- Sep 10, 2026 · Amendment 0003Due Oct 13, 2026
- Sep 2, 2026 · Amendment 0002Due Oct 13, 2026
- Aug 20, 2026 · Amendment 0001Due Oct 13, 2026
- Aug 13, 2026 · SolicitationDue Oct 13, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
Terms on this notice: Solicitation
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- N4008526R0228 Design-Build (DB), Repair Otc Dorm King Hall BLDG 291, Naval Station Newport Ri, Newport Rhode IslandOnly the six holders of the Navy's Global Contingency Construction (GCC) multiple-award contract (MAC) can bid on this design-build renovation of King Hall at Naval Station…
- Special Notice: FIO Posting for W9127826SC001 Tyndall Deployment Center - Crash/Fire Rescue Station - Demo Hangar 4 Progressive-Design-Build OT
- Customs and Border Protection Brown Field Border Patrol Station Vehicle Maintenance Facility San Diego County, CA
- (EAR048) Repair Fire Alarm System Eareckson Air Station Facilities
- Sources Sought for Indefinite Delivery Indefinite Quantity (IDIQ) Multiple Award Construction Contract (MACC) for Projects Under Naics 236220 Located Within the Naval Facilities Engineering Systems Command (NAVFAC) Northwest Area of Responsibility.Naval Facilities Engineering Systems Command (NAVFAC) Northwest is running a sources sought notice, a market survey, to find small businesses for a multiple award construction…