Sources Sought
Power Distribution and Illumination Systems, Electrical (PDISE)
Department of Defense · Department of the Army
AI summaryThe Army (Army Contracting Command, Aberdeen Proving Ground, Belvoir Division) is asking businesses whether they can build four types of rugged power distribution and lighting kits to existing Government drawings. This is a sources sought notice (market research), not a solicitation, so responses are not offers. The response due date is November 6, 2026, 4:00 PM Eastern, by email. More in the summary
Market research, not a bid. Replying is free and tells Department of the Army who could do this work. Send a short reply to the contracting contact; no price is needed. See the contact
A newer version of this notice was posted Oct 19, 2026. It moves the due date from Oct 22, 2026 to Nov 6, 2026, which is the date shown on this page. See the latest version.
AI summary Beta
Summary of another version of this notice: check what changed on SAM.gov.
The Army (Army Contracting Command, Aberdeen Proving Ground, Belvoir Division) is asking businesses whether they can build four types of rugged power distribution and lighting kits to existing Government drawings. This is a sources sought notice (market research), not a solicitation, so responses are not offers. The response due date is November 6, 2026, 4:00 PM Eastern, by email.
Who can bid
- Active registration in the System for Award Management (SAM) under NAICS 335999 and 335313 is strongly encouraged
How to submit: Email to the Contracting Officer (rosetta.wisdom-russell.civ@army.mil) and the Contract Specialist (thao.h.trinh.civ@army.mil). What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (5)
From the version posted Oct 19, 2026.
- Worth checking: First article testing within 180 to 360 days. A later award would need you to fabricate and test two units per configuration, with your own or a certified lab, on a set schedule.
- Worth checking: Long-lead military parts. Class L connectors, special circuit breakers, cables and lumber historically have long lead times, which affects schedule and price.
- Minor: Sources sought, not an offer request. You cannot win a contract from this notice, and the Government will not pay for your response costs.
Show all 5Show fewer
- Minor: Government may set aside the buy. The Government is deciding between a small business set-aside and full and open competition based on responses, so a response from a small business can shape it.
- Minor: Sub-contracting and in-house work questions. The Government asks if you can do at least 50% of the work in house and how you meet the limits on subcontracting, which matters if you plan to team.
Read from the notice text only.
Full summary
What they want
- Build-to-print manufacture (made exactly to Government drawings, no redesign) of four Power Distribution and Illumination Systems, Electrical (PDISE) items: M200 A/P Feeder, M100 A/P Feeder, M40 A/P Distribution, M46 Utility Assembly
- Assembly, first article inspection and first article testing of two units per configuration, within 180 to 360 days after contract award
- Environmental testing and failure reports under MIL-DTL-53126
- Military packaging, marking and crating to the listed drawings
- Chemical Agent Resistant Coating (CARC) painting of enclosures
- Delivery of the finished systems and components
- Contract type
- Not stated. This is a sources sought / request for information; the possible later buy is build-to-print production.
- Place of performance
- USA
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- How they'll choose
- Responses are reviewed as market research to pick the acquisition strategy; there is no award from this notice.
- Offers due
- November 6, 2026, 4:00 PM Eastern
- How to submit
- Email to the Contracting Officer (rosetta.wisdom-russell.civ@army.mil) and the Contract Specialist (thao.h.trinh.civ@army.mil)
- Page limits
- Response: 20 pages total, not counting the title page, executive summary and certificates/licenses
What to include when you submit
- Subject line: RFI Response: PDISE Manufacturing Capabilities – [Company Name]
- Send Adobe PDF or Microsoft Word; 8.5 x 11 paper, Times New Roman, 12 pt body and 10 to 11 pt in tables and graphics, 1-inch margins
- Section A: company profile with years in business, address, website, CAGE code and Unique Entity Identifier (UEI), business size and socio-economic status under both NAICS codes, and whether you would be prime, joint venture or subcontractor
- State whether you can perform at least 50% of the work in house and how you would meet the limits on subcontracting
- Give up to three recent build-to-print examples, each limited to two pages, with customer, period, scope, quantities, value and point of contact
- Section F: up to three contracts performed in the past five years, with contract number, customer, dollar value, period, and prime or subcontractor role
- Sections B to E: describe your cable and enclosure production, CARC painting, packaging, testing facilities, quality certification (ISO 9001:2015, AS9100D or equivalent), configuration control and long-lead part lead times
- Section G: per-unit rough order of magnitude (ROM) pricing for all four items at quantity ranges 1 to 50, 51 to 100 and 101 to 200 units, with assumptions and price breakpoints
- Mark any proprietary information clearly and keep it to a minimum
Not in the notice text
- The planned quantities, contract type, period of performance and Government estimate are not given.
- The Government drawings (technical data packages) are available only upon request.
- Whether a set-aside will be used is undecided until responses are reviewed.
Eligibility and how to respond
- No set-aside. Any business can reply: this is market research, and no bid is being taken yet.
- To respond, send a short reply to the contracting contact near the top of this page. No price is needed.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 7, 2026
- Notice type
- Sources Sought
- Office
- W6QK ACC-Apg Cont CT Wash Ofc, Alexandria, VA
- Business type
- Electronic parts & equipment (supplies) (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 335999)
- Versions
3 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 19, 2026 · Amendment 0002Due Nov 6, 2026 (changed)
- Oct 7, 2026 · Amendment 0001Due Oct 22, 2026
- Oct 7, 2026 · Sources Sought (this version)Due Oct 22, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
Terms on this notice: Sources sought notice
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- High Voltage Power Supplies (HVPS) for Electronic Fish BarriersThe U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE) Chicago District (W072 ENDIST CHICAGO) is doing market research on buying six high voltage power supplies (HVPS) for electric fish…
- Brush, Electrical Co
- HSR HF Dipole and Quad SC Magnet PS and QuenchBrookhaven Science Associates, which runs Brookhaven National Laboratory for the Department of Energy, is asking firms about building two very large high-current power supplies…
- Power DistributionThe Defense Logistics Agency in Mechanicsburg, PA wants to buy a manufactured part called POWER DISTRIBUTION, built to a Government drawing (drawing 53711, CAGE 8328922).
- Cable, Power, Electrical