Solicitation
Residential Reentry Center (RRC) Services and Home Confinement Services Located in the State of Michigan Within the Counties of Barry, Berrien, Branch, Calhoun, Cass, Kalamazoo, St. Joseph, or Van Buren
Department of Justice · Federal Prison System / Bureau of Prisons
More open Federal Prison System / Bureau of Prisons contracts
AI summaryThe Federal Bureau of Prisons (BOP) is asking for proposals on solicitation 15BRRC26R00000013 for one provider to run a 30-bed residential reentry center (RRC: a halfway house for federal offenders) and a home confinement program in eight Michigan counties. The center must be in Barry, Berrien, Branch, Calhoun, Cass, Kalamazoo, St. Joseph or Van Buren County, so you need a site with proof of the right to use it. The contract is a base year plus four option years, and the response due date is December 29, 2026, 2:00 PM Eastern. More in the summary
AI summary Beta
This summary may miss requirements: 4 of 16 attachments weren't read (07 15BRRC26R00000013 Sample Community Notification Letter.pdf, 06 15BRRC26R00000013 Environmental Checklist.pdf and 2 more). Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
The Federal Bureau of Prisons (BOP) is asking for proposals on solicitation 15BRRC26R00000013 for one provider to run a 30-bed residential reentry center (RRC: a halfway house for federal offenders) and a home confinement program in eight Michigan counties. The center must be in Barry, Berrien, Branch, Calhoun, Cass, Kalamazoo, St. Joseph or Van Buren County, so you need a site with proof of the right to use it. The contract is a base year plus four option years, and the response due date is December 29, 2026, 2:00 PM Eastern.
Who can bid
- A proposed facility in one of the eight listed Michigan counties, with signed proof of the right to use it submitted with the proposal
- Proper zoning for operating an RRC at each proposed site, proven within 90 days after proposal submission if not in the proposal, and kept for the life of the contract
- Meet the minimum standards for an affirmative determination of responsibility under FAR 9.104-1 and the mandatory technical and management requirements
How to submit: Email to Contracting Officer Kevin Hoff at khoff@bop.gov. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (9)
From the version posted Oct 26, 2026.
- Serious: A site with proof of right to use is needed at proposal time. You must already hold or have an option on a facility in the listed counties and submit signed proof, so a firm without a site cannot compete.
- Serious: Community notification and support proof required. Notification letters must go by registered or certified mail to law enforcement, two levels of local officials and the Congressional delegation, with documents showing community support and any opposition.
- Serious: Facility ready within 120 days of award, with a conflicting 240 days. Section F says the facility must be operational within 120 days after award, while the Section M facility factor says 240 days. Ask the contracting officer which governs.
Show all 9Show fewer
- Worth checking: Funds not yet available. No award will be made until funds are confirmed in writing, and the government may cancel the solicitation before or after the closing date without paying proposal costs.
- Worth checking: On-site inspection of the facility after proposals. BOP will inspect your proposed facility after receiving proposals, and an authorized contact must be present.
- Worth checking: One provider must take both service lines. The government intends to give the in-house RRC and home confinement lines to a single provider, so you must be able to bid and staff both.
- Worth checking: Units of issue in the price schedule are mixed. The RRC and home confinement lines list their quantities in months (MO) on some lines and days (DY) on others, and some lines show 1 DY or 12 MO, so check how to price each unit before bidding.
- Worth checking: Information security attestation with one-hour breach reporting. The attached vendor attestation requires reporting a breach of DOJ information within one hour and says only US citizens may access DOJ data.
- Minor: Guaranteed minimum but no revenue guarantee above it. Quantities above the guaranteed minimum are estimates only, and payment is for actual use.
Read from the notice and 12 attachments. 4 of 16 not read. Show which files.
- 04 15BRRC26R00000013 Statement of Work - 2022.pdf (read)
- 03 15BRRC26R00000013 Solicitation Document.pdf (read)
- 02 15BRRC26R00000013 Solicitation Cover Sheet.pdf (read)
- 01 15BRRC26R00000013 Solicitation Cover Letter.pdf (read)
- 16 15BRRC26R00000013 FBOP ATU Vendor Attestation.pdf (read)
- 15 15BRRC26R00000013 Subcontracting Plan.pdf (read)
- 13 15BRRC26R00000013 Local Area Concerns.pdf (read)
- 12 15BRRC26R00000013 RRC Cert of Compliance.pdf (read)
- 11 15BRRC26R00000013 Compliance Matrix - 2022.pdf (read)
- 10 15BRRC26R00000013 Service Contract Business Management.pdf (read)
- 09 15BRRC26R00000013 Sample Bank Notification Letter.pdf (read)
- 08 15BRRC26R00000013 Sample Client Notification Letter.pdf (read)
- 07 15BRRC26R00000013 Sample Community Notification Letter.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- 06 15BRRC26R00000013 Environmental Checklist.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- 05 15BRRC26R00000013 Performance Summary Table.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- 14 15BRRC26R00000013 Wage Determinations.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
Full summary
What they want
- Run an in-house RRC with 25 beds for men and 5 beds for women (30 total) in the listed Michigan counties
- Run home confinement services for placements within 180 miles of the RRC, with no limit on crossing state lines
- Base year: guaranteed minimum 5,490 RRC beds and estimated maximum 10,980; each option year 5,475 and 10,950, except the leap-year option year at 5,490 and 10,980
- Home confinement: guaranteed minimum 3,660 placements and estimated maximum 7,320 in the base year; 3,650 and 7,300 in the middle option years
- Have the facility fully operational and ready for performance to begin within 120 days after award
- Follow the BOP Statement of Work (March 2022): staffing, security, food service, medical, programs, discipline, records and release procedures
- Build offender accountability, job-finding and reentry programs, and a Community Relations Board
- Be evaluated on a possible government option to require smartphones with GPS tracking and biometrics for residents, decided at award
- Contract type
- Indefinite-delivery, indefinite-quantity (IDIQ) contract with firm-fixed unit prices (one set price per unit); services are ordered by task orders
- Period of performance
- Base period of 12 months plus four 12-month option years (60 months in all), with an option to extend services up to six months under FAR 52.217-8
- Place of performance
- Michigan, in Kalamazoo, St. Joseph, Barry, Calhoun, Van Buren, Cass, Berrien or Branch County; home confinement within 180 miles of the RRC
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- How they'll choose
- Best-value tradeoff in three areas. Past Performance counts more than Technical/Management, and those two combined count significantly more than Price. Price matters more as the non-price ratings become closer. Award may be made without discussions
- Offers due
- December 29, 2026, 2:00 PM Eastern
- How to submit
- Email to Contracting Officer Kevin Hoff at khoff@bop.gov
- Page limits
- Technical/Management: Community Relations Plan 2 pages; Offender Accountability Plan 5; Home Confinement Accountability Plan 3; Offender Reentry Program Plan 7; Home Confinement Reentry Plan 3; Food Service Plan 2; 120-day availability plan 3; Personnel Resources Plan 3. Past Performance volume: not to exceed 15 pages
What they'll judge offers on
- Past Performance (most important): In-House RRC accountability, programs, community relations, personnel, and communications and responsiveness, plus Home Confinement accountability and programming; in-house RRC counts more than home confinement
- Technical/Management: (a) Site Location: site validity and suitability, community relations program; (b) Accountability and Security; (c) Programs; (d) Facility; (e) Personnel; (f) Home Confinement accountability and programming
- Price: checked for reasonableness for the whole requirement, with a proposal risk assessment across the criteria
What to include when you submit
- Send three volumes as Adobe Acrobat (PDF) files: Volume I Technical/Management, Volume II Business Proposal, Volume III Past Performance
- Business Proposal: a cover letter with firm rates for the base period and each option year (no sliding scales), completed Sections A, B and K, the Section J attachments, the BOP Environmental Checklist and the Service Contract Business Management Questionnaire
- Technical/Management proposal needs a separate cover sheet naming the place of performance and a contact person who can obligate your firm and will be present at the on-site inspection
- Include official proof of right to use the site, signed by both parties (a deed, lease, bill of sale, option to lease or buy, or contingency lease or deed), and proof of zoning approval or provide it within 90 days after proposal submission
- Complete and sign the RRC Contract Facility Certificate of Compliance and the Local Area Concerns Within a Half-Mile Radius table
- Send proof that the local law enforcement agency, two levels of local officials and the Congressional delegation were notified by registered or certified mail, using the BOP letter, plus documents showing community support and any known opposition
- Include architectural floor plans, site plans and photographs taken within 120 days of proposal submission, plus the staffing pattern required by Statement of Work Chapter 2
- Past performance: the five most relevant contracts from the past three years, at most three pages each. Do not submit BOP RRC contracts. Send client and bank notification letters to your references
- Proposals must stay valid at least 240 days from the date the solicitation closes
After award, you must have
- Enroll in E-Verify (the federal employment eligibility check) within 30 calendar days after award if not already enrolled From 01 15BRRC26R00000013 Solicitation Cover Letter.pdf:
…to enroll in the E-Verify Program and to comply with the requirements of the E-Verify Program…
Not in the notice text
- Several files were attached but not read: the Wage Determinations, the Environmental Checklist, the Performance Summary Table and the Sample Community Notification Letter. The middle of the Solicitation Document (Sections G to L) and of the Statement of Work was also left out.
- The set-aside is not stated on SAM.gov, and Section K (representations) was not in the text read; check whether the work is open to all businesses.
- Which wage rule applies is not stated in the text read; a wage determination file is attached but not read.
- The full Section L instructions and key personnel list were not in the text read.
- Whether a smartphone option will be exercised is decided at award; its cost is not in the text read.
- Whether a small business subcontracting plan is required is not stated in the text read; a BOP template is attached.
- The FBOP vendor attestation on information security is attached as a proposed template; whether it must be signed and returned with the proposal is not stated in the text read.
Eligibility and how to respond
- No set-aside: any business, large or small, can bid unless the notice says otherwise.
- How to submit, from the AI summary: Email to Contracting Officer Kevin Hoff at khoff@bop.gov. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
- Service contracts usually set minimum pay rates (the Service Contract Act). Price the labor with the SCA price calculator.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 26, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Office
- Residential Reentry - Co, Washington, DC
- Product/service code
- G004 · Social – Social Rehabilitation
- Business type
- Medical & healthcare (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 623990)
- Versions
2 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 26, 2026 · Solicitation (this version)Due Dec 29, 2026
- Sep 24, 2026 · PresolicitationNo date on SAM.gov
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
Terms on this notice: Solicitation
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- RRC Services to be Located within the Kentucky counties of Ballard, Caldwell, Calloway, Carlisle, Crittenden, Fulton, Graves, Hickman, Livingston, Lyon, Marshall, McCracken, Paducah, and Trigg. Home Confinement Radius 150-milesThe Federal Bureau of Prisons wants a contractor to run a Residential Reentry Center (a halfway house) for male and female federal offenders in the Paducah, Kentucky area (14…
- Residential Reentry Services and Home Confinement Services located within the Hampton Roads, Virginia Metro Area to include the cities of Virginia Beach, Norfolk, Chesapeake, Newport News, Hampton, Portsmouth, Suffolk, Poquoson, and Williamsburg.The Federal Bureau of Prisons (BOP) wants one provider to run a residential reentry center (RRC: a halfway house for federal offenders) and a home confinement program in the…
- Residential Reentry Center Services with Home Confinement Services or Day Reporting Center Services to be Located within the County of Palm Beach, Florida. Home Confinement Services and Day Reporting Center Services within 100 miles of the facility.The Federal Bureau of Prisons is asking whether enough qualified providers exist to run a Residential Reentry Center (a halfway house) with home confinement services in Palm…