Solicitation
Residential Reentry Services and Home Confinement Services located within the Hampton Roads, Virginia Metro Area to include the cities of Virginia Beach, Norfolk, Chesapeake, Newport News, Hampton, Portsmouth, Suffolk, Poquoson, and Williamsburg.
Department of Justice · Federal Prison System / Bureau of Prisons
More open Federal Prison System / Bureau of Prisons contracts
AI summaryThe Federal Bureau of Prisons (BOP) wants one provider to run a residential reentry center (RRC: a halfway house for federal offenders) and a home confinement program in the Hampton Roads, Virginia area. It is a firm-fixed-price (FFP: set unit prices) indefinite-delivery, indefinite-quantity (IDIQ: orders vary within a range) contract with one base year and four one-year options. Bidders must propose their own facility; the response due date is December 22, 2026, 10:00 AM Mountain on SAM.gov but 1:00 PM Mountain on the solicitation form. More in the summary
AI summary Beta
This summary may miss requirements: 4 of 16 attachments weren't read (Section J Attach 10 - Local Area Concerns.pdf, Section J Attach 11 - Subcontracting Plan 07-2026.pdf and 2 more). Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
The Federal Bureau of Prisons (BOP) wants one provider to run a residential reentry center (RRC: a halfway house for federal offenders) and a home confinement program in the Hampton Roads, Virginia area. It is a firm-fixed-price (FFP: set unit prices) indefinite-delivery, indefinite-quantity (IDIQ: orders vary within a range) contract with one base year and four one-year options. Bidders must propose their own facility; the response due date is December 22, 2026, 10:00 AM Mountain on SAM.gov but 1:00 PM Mountain on the solicitation form.
Who can bid
- A proposed facility in the Hampton Roads area with signed proof of the right to use it and zoning approval for a residential reentry center, shown with the proposal.
- Proof that the local law enforcement agency, two levels of local officials and the congressional representative were notified of your plan to open an RRC.
- Financial capability shown by recent financial statements (audited, reviewed or CPA prepared) with the business questionnaire.
How to submit: Email to Rachel Brown, Contract Specialist, r16brown@bop.gov (the address on the proposal cover sheet); each proposal as a separate PDF, no hard copies. The full Section L submission instructions were not read.. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (11)
From the version posted Oct 21, 2026.
- Serious: You need a facility with signed right to use and zoning. Proof of the right to use the site goes in the first proposal, and missing zoning proof can drop a bidder from the competition or end the contract later.
- Serious: Community notification letters and support documents. You must notify local police, two levels of local officials and the congressional representative by certified mail before bidding, and show community support and any known opposition.
- Serious: Facility must be ready within 120 days after award. Bidders send a build-out plan with the proposal, and a site that needs renovation must be ready within that time.
Show all 11Show fewer
- Worth checking: On-site inspection of your facility. The BOP inspects each proposed site after proposals arrive, so the building must be ready to show.
- Worth checking: Revenue is guaranteed only at the minimum. Only 39 RRC residents and 30 home confinement participants a month are guaranteed, so costs above that depend on actual referrals.
- Worth checking: One provider must do both RRC and home confinement. The Government awards both services to a single provider, so a business must be able to price and run both.
- Worth checking: Past performance is the top factor. Past Performance counts most, and the five contracts you send must be similar in size, scope and complexity; bidders with none are rated neither well nor badly.
- Minor: Proposal must stay valid for 240 days. Your rates are held for at least 240 days after the solicitation closes, which is longer than the 60 days on the form.
- Minor: Payment can be withheld for poor performance. A performance table lets the Bureau withhold part of each invoice when requirements are not met.
- Minor: Option Year 1 minimum man-days differ from other years. Option Year 1 lists 17,155 man-days (resident days) a year for the minimum tier, while the base year and later options list 14,235.
- Minor: Submission format unclear: PDF only or also disk copies. The cover letter asks for separate PDF files with no hard copies, while the compliance matrix mentions compact disk copies.
Read from the notice and 12 attachments. 4 of 16 not read. Show which files.
- 15BRRC27R00000002 Solicitation Cover Letter.pdf (read)
- 15BRRC27R00000002.pdf (read)
- 15BRRC27R00000002 Proposal Cover Sheet.pdf (read)
- Section J - attach 01 RRC SOW March 2022 Final.pdf (read)
- Section J attach 02 - Performance Summary Table.pdf (read)
- Section J Attach 03 - Environmental Checklist.pdf (read)
- Section J Attach 04 - Sample Community Notification Letter.pdf (read)
- Section J Attach 05 - Sample Client Notification Letter.pdf (read)
- Section J Attach 06 - Sample Bank Notification Letter.pdf (read)
- Section J Attach 07 Service Contract Business Mgt Questionnaire June 2026.pdf (read)
- Section J Attach 08 - FINAL COMPLIANCE MATRIX June 2026.pdf (read)
- Section J Attach 09 - Certificate of Compliance.pdf (read)
- Section J Attach 10 - Local Area Concerns.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Section J Attach 11 - Subcontracting Plan 07-2026.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Section J Attach 13 - FBOP ATU Vendor Attestation FINAL.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Section J Attach 12 - Wage Determination 2015-4341 REV 36 DATED 8.22.2026.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
Full summary
What they want
- Run an RRC for male and female federal offenders in Hampton Roads, with a guaranteed minimum of 39 average daily population (ADP: the average number of residents each day), 35 male and 4 female, and an estimated maximum ADP of 96 (86 male, 10 female).
- Run a home confinement program (offenders live at home under supervision) within 100 miles of the RRC, with a guaranteed minimum ADP of 30 and an estimated maximum ADP of 75.
- Provide accountability and security for residents in the facility, at work and in the community, including routine use of smartphones as outlined in the statement of work.
- Run reentry programs that help each resident meet an Individualized Program Plan, including a cognitive behavioral program and links to community resources.
- Have the facility ready for operation within 120 days after contract award, and meet the statement of work for food service and medical services.
- Staff the center with trained people: 40 hours of training before working with federal residents and 20 hours of annual training.
- Bill the monthly rate while ADP is at or below the minimum (39 RRC, 30 home confinement), and the daily rate for the tiers above it.
- Contract type
- Firm-fixed-price (FFP) indefinite-delivery, indefinite-quantity (IDIQ) contract with tiered unit prices: a monthly rate at the minimum, daily rates above it
- Period of performance
- 1 base year + four 1-year options (60 months in all), plus an option to extend services up to six months under Federal Acquisition Regulation (FAR) 52.217-8; about 5.5 years if all are used
- Place of performance
- Hampton Roads, Virginia metropolitan area (Virginia Beach, Norfolk, Chesapeake, Newport News, Hampton, Portsmouth, Suffolk, Poquoson, Williamsburg); home confinement within 100 miles of the RRC facility
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- How they'll choose
- Best value tradeoff: Past Performance and Technical/Management together are significantly more important than Price; Past Performance is more important than Technical/Management
- Offers due
- December 22, 2026, 10:00 AM Mountain
- How to submit
- Email to Rachel Brown, Contract Specialist, r16brown@bop.gov (the address on the proposal cover sheet); each proposal as a separate PDF, no hard copies. The full Section L submission instructions were not read.
- Page limits
- Past Performance (Volume III): 15 pages, with each past performance contract summary 3 pages. Technical plans: Community Relations Plan 2 pages; Offender Accountability Plan 5; Home Confinement Offender Accountability Plan 3; Offender Reentry Program Plan 7; Home Confinement Program Plan 3; Food Service Plan 2; 120-day availability plan 3; Personnel Resources Plan 3.
What they'll judge offers on
- Past Performance (most important): In-House RRC factors, equal to each other: (a) Accountability, (b) Programs, (c) Community Relations, (d) Personnel, (e) Communications and Responsiveness; plus Home Confinement: (a) Accountability, (b) Programming. In-House factors count more than Home Confinement.
- Technical/Management: (1) Site Location: (a) Site Validity and Suitability, (b) Community Relations Program; (2) Accountability and Security; (3) Programs; (4) Facility; (5) Personnel; (6) Home Confinement: (a) Accountability, (b) Programming. In-House RRC elements count more than Home Confinement.
- Price: checked for reasonableness and weighed against the non-price ratings; it matters more as those ratings get closer. A proposal risk assessment is also made.
What to include when you submit
- Send three separate PDF files: a Business proposal, a Technical/Management proposal and a Past Performance proposal.
- Business proposal: a cover letter with firm rates for the Base Period and all Option Years (no sliding scales), Section A (SF 33, the solicitation form), Section B (prices), the Section J attachments listed in Section L, and Section K (representations and certifications).
- Business proposal also includes the BOP Environmental Checklist and the Service Contract Business Management Questionnaire, with financial statements, trade and bank references, licensing and the five most recent contracts.
- Technical/Management proposal: a cover sheet with the place of performance and a contact person authorized to represent the offeror, with phone and email, who will be present at the on-site inspection.
- Include signed proof of right to use the site (a deed, lease, bill of sale, option to lease or buy, or contingency lease or deed) and proof of zoning approval; if zoning proof is not in the proposal, send it within 90 days after proposal submission.
- Include the Local Area Concerns attachment for facilities within a half-mile, floor plans, site plans and photographs taken within 120 days of submission, and the signed RRC Contract Facility Certificate of Compliance.
- Include signed copies of the notification letters sent by registered or certified mail to the primary local law enforcement agency, two levels of local officials and the congressional representative, plus community support documents dated after the Pre-Solicitation Notice was posted.
- Include a staffing pattern and job descriptions for key staff, the minimum qualifications for staff who work with residents, a Prison Rape Elimination Act compliance approach, and a plan for resident transportation or transit vouchers.
- Past Performance: send the five most relevant federal, state, local or commercial contracts from the past three years, not BOP RRC contracts, and send client and bank notification letters to your references yourself.
- Keep the proposal valid for at least 240 days after the solicitation closes.
After award, you must have
- Facility ready for operation within 120 days after contract award. From 15BRRC27R00000002.pdf:
…ensuring operational availability within 120 days after contract award…
- Enroll in E-Verify (a federal employment eligibility system) within 30 days after award if not already enrolled, and use it for the contract period. From 15BRRC27R00000002 Solicitation Cover Letter.pdf:
…contractors must enroll in and comply with the E-Verify Program…
Current contractor
No incumbent is named in the documents read.
Not in the notice text
- Attached but not read: most of Section L (L.1 to L.6, the middle of the solicitation file), the Section B to K text between them, most of the statement of work, and Section J attachments 10 to 13 (Local Area Concerns, Subcontracting Plan, FBOP ATU Vendor Attestation, and Wage Determination 2015-4341 Rev 36).
- How and where proposals must be delivered, the file size limits, and whether there is a question deadline; Section L was not read.
- Whether Service Contract Act wage rates apply; a wage determination is attached but was not read.
- Whether a small business must send a subcontracting plan; the plan form is attached but was not read.
- The Government's estimate or total contract value is not stated.
- Which response due time governs: 10:00 AM Mountain on SAM.gov, or 1:00 PM Mountain on the solicitation form and cover sheet.
Eligibility and how to respond
- No set-aside: any business, large or small, can bid unless the notice says otherwise.
- How to submit, from the AI summary: Email to Rachel Brown, Contract Specialist, r16brown@bop.gov (the address on the proposal cover sheet); each proposal as a separate PDF, no hard copies. The full Section L submission instructions were not read. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
- Service contracts usually set minimum pay rates (the Service Contract Act). Price the labor with the SCA price calculator.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 21, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Office
- Residential Reentry - Co, Washington, DC
- Product/service code
- G004 · Social – Social Rehabilitation
- Business type
- Medical & healthcare (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 623990)
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
Terms on this notice: Solicitation
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- Residential Reentry Center (RRC) Services and Home Confinement Services Located within the city limits of Victorville, CaliforniaThe Federal Bureau of Prisons wants a private company to run a new Residential Reentry Center (a halfway house) inside the city limits of Victorville, California, plus a home…
- Residential Reentry Center (RRC) Services and Home Confinement Services Located within Bakersfield and surrounding areas within Kern county, CaliforniaThe Federal Bureau of Prisons wants one contractor to run a new halfway house (Residential Reentry Center) inside the city limits of Bakersfield, California, plus a home…
- Solicitation Notice: RRC Services to be Located within the Tennessee Counties of Carter, Cocke, Greene, Hamblen, Hancock, Hawkins, Johnson, Sullivan, Unicoi, and Washington. Home Confinement Radius 150-mile not Restricted by State or County LinesThe Federal Bureau of Prisons wants a private company to run a Residential Reentry Center (a halfway house) located in one of ten northeast Tennessee counties around Johnson…
- Residential Reentry Center (RRC) Services and Home Confinement Services Located in the State of Michigan Within the Counties of Barry, Berrien, Branch, Calhoun, Cass, Kalamazoo, St. Joseph, or Van BurenThe Federal Bureau of Prisons (BOP) is asking for proposals on solicitation 15BRRC26R00000013 for one provider to run a 30-bed residential reentry center (RRC: a halfway house…
- Residential Reentry Center (RRC) Services and Home Confinement Services Located Within the City Limits of New Orleans, LouisianaThe Department of Justice's Federal Bureau of Prisons (BOP) wants one contractor to run a Residential Reentry Center (RRC, a halfway house for federal offenders) and home…