Presolicitation
598-22-115 Site Utility Infrastructure-NLR
Department of Veterans Affairs
AI summaryOnly service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSB) verified in the Small Business Administration's VetCert program can bid. The Department of Veterans Affairs plans a request for proposals (RFP) to replace the water tower, pump house and water pipes at the North Little Rock VA campus in Arkansas. This is a presolicitation: the RFP is expected around November 17, 2026, with proposals expected around January 5, 2027. More in the summary
Advance notice of a coming solicitation, not a bid yet. If it asks for capability statements, sending one is free and puts you on Department of Veterans Affairs's list before the solicitation is posted. See the contact
AI summary Beta
The notice looks incomplete: This is a presolicitation. The RFP, with the evaluation factors, proposal instructions, price format, bonding requirements, drawings and specifications, is not yet posted on SAM.gov. Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
Only service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSB) verified in the Small Business Administration's VetCert program can bid. The Department of Veterans Affairs plans a request for proposals (RFP) to replace the water tower, pump house and water pipes at the North Little Rock VA campus in Arkansas. This is a presolicitation: the RFP is expected around November 17, 2026, with proposals expected around January 5, 2027.
Who can bid (4)
- Service-disabled veteran-owned small business (SDVOSB) set-aside: only SDVOSB firms may bid
- Verified for eligibility in the Small Business Administration's Veteran Small Business Certification (VetCert) and holding that certification, at the time the proposal is submitted
- Small business under NAICS 237110 (Water and Sewer Line and Related Structures Construction), size standard $45M
Show all 4Show fewer
- Registered in the System for Award Management (SAM) database
How to submit: Not stated; the RFP will be posted on SAM.gov and will have the instructions, due Proposals expected on or around January 5, 2027 (the RFP is expected on or around November 17, 2026). SAM.gov lists a response date of November 16, 2026, 4:00 PM Central.. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (5)
From the version posted Oct 26, 2026.
- Serious: SDVOSB set-aside: only verified SDVOSB firms can bid. A business must be a VetCert-verified service-disabled veteran-owned small business under NAICS 237110 when it submits its proposal, or it cannot compete.
- Worth checking: Response date on SAM.gov is before the RFP is issued. SAM.gov shows November 16, 2026 as the response date, but the RFP is tentatively issued on or around November 17, 2026 and proposals are expected around January 5, 2027; check the RFP for the real response due date.
- Worth checking: One site visit only, date set in the RFP. Only one site visit will be held and no extra or make-up visits will be granted, so a business that cannot attend on the date in the RFP has no second chance. The notice does not say whether the visit is required.
Show all 5Show fewer
- Worth checking: Large, phased construction with campus outage limits. Work covers a new water tank, pump house, controls, tower demolition and pipe replacement in multiple phases, with no prolonged outages at an active medical campus.
- Minor: Questions cut-off date comes later. The question deadline is not given yet; it will be listed in the RFP, and telephone requests are not accepted.
Read from the notice and 1 attachment. Show which files.
- 36C25626R0084.docx (read)
Full summary
What they want
- Build a new elevated water storage tank with its supporting structure, piping and accessories
- Demolish the existing 250,000-gallon elevated water tower, including below-grade structure and piping vaults, following the phasing schedule
- Build a new pump house with new pumps and controls, plus fence, paving, cameras, access control and an emergency generator
- Install a new automated control system that links to and controls the existing south pump house and the new north pump house
- Replace failing water pipe (cast iron, ductile iron, galvanized, asbestos cement and other materials) with new pipe, mostly in loops
- Install new backflow preventers on fire protection supply lines to buildings that have fire protection systems
- Pressure test, disinfect and hyper-chlorinate new piping as required by Federal, State and local codes
- Work in phases that limit impact on the campus, patients, visitors and staff, with no prolonged outages
- Contract type
- Construction contract to be awarded through a request for proposals (RFP) under FAR Part 15 (negotiated procedures); pricing type not stated
- Period of performance
- 720 calendar days after the Notice to Proceed is issued
- Place of performance
- Eugene J. Towbin (EJT) VA Healthcare Center, 2200 Fort Roots Drive, North Little Rock, AR 72114
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- Offers due
- Proposals expected on or around January 5, 2027 (the RFP is expected on or around November 17, 2026). SAM.gov lists a response date of November 16, 2026, 4:00 PM Central.
- How to submit
- Not stated; the RFP will be posted on SAM.gov and will have the instructions
What to include when you submit
- Download the RFP and all its attachments from SAM.gov once posted, and read them before sending questions to the contracting officer
- Acknowledge every amendment to the RFP; amendments are posted only on SAM.gov
- At proposal submission, state in writing to the contracting officer that you are an SDVOSB, a small business under NAICS 237110 and verified in VetCert
- Be registered in the System for Award Management (SAM)
- Point of contact: Contract Specialist Julius Jones, Julius.Jones@va.gov; telephone requests are not accepted
Current contractor
No incumbent is named. The notice does not describe this as a follow-on or recompete.
Not in the notice text
- This is a presolicitation. The RFP, with the evaluation factors, proposal instructions, price format, bonding requirements, drawings and specifications, is not yet posted on SAM.gov.
- Whether the site visit is required, its date, and the question cut-off date will be in the RFP.
- Which wage rule applies (for example a Davis-Bacon wage determination) is not stated.
- Bonding (bid, performance and payment bonds) and the pricing type are not stated.
- The Government's estimated value is not given; the $45M figure is only the size standard for the NAICS code.
Eligibility and how to respond
- Only service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSBs) certified through SBA's VetCert can bid as the prime contractor. Not certified through VetCert yet? Apply on VetCert (SBA), or start with the SDVOSB guide. More open service-disabled veteran-owned set-asides under NAICS 237110
- How to submit, from the AI summary: Not stated; the RFP will be posted on SAM.gov and will have the instructions. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
- Construction contracts over $2,000 pay at least the local Davis-Bacon wage rates, from the wage determination in the solicitation. Price your labor from it: How to price a government contract, and how Davis-Bacon differs from the Service Contract Act.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 26, 2026
- Notice type
- Presolicitation
- Office
- 256-Network Contract Office 16 (36C256), Ridgeland, MS
- Product/service code
- Y1DZ · Construction of Other Hospital Buildings
- Business type
- Construction & renovation (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 237110)
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
- Open SDVOSB set-aside contracts
- SDVOSB and veteran-owned contracts
Terms on this notice: Solicitation, SDVOSB (service-disabled veteran-owned small business), Set-aside
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- CSSC Utility Feed Transformer ReplacementThis is a sources sought notice (market research, not a solicitation) from the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE) Chicago District.