Solicitation
Navy Electronic Chart Display and Information System (ECDIS) Hardware and Software Production
Department of Defense · Department of the Navy
AI summaryOnly businesses that already hold an active SECRET facility clearance can bid on this Navy Electronic Chart Display and Information System (ECDIS) hardware and software production contract. SAM.gov lists it as N00025-26-R-5246; the notice text and documents say N00024-26-R-5246. The Naval Sea Systems Command, for the Portfolio Acquisition Executive (PAE) Mission Systems, wants ECDIS hardware production and software upkeep for surface and subsurface ships, with one base year and four option years. The response due date is January 13, 2027, 4:00 PM Eastern. More in the summary
AI summary Beta
This summary may miss requirements: 11 of 23 attachments weren't read (Att. J-02 ECDIS GFP Production List (9.18.26).xlsx, Att. J-04 ECDIS Production Spares Workbook.xlsx and 9 more). Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
Only businesses that already hold an active SECRET facility clearance can bid on this Navy Electronic Chart Display and Information System (ECDIS) hardware and software production contract. SAM.gov lists it as N00025-26-R-5246; the notice text and documents say N00024-26-R-5246. The Naval Sea Systems Command, for the Portfolio Acquisition Executive (PAE) Mission Systems, wants ECDIS hardware production and software upkeep for surface and subsurface ships, with one base year and four option years. The response due date is January 13, 2027, 4:00 PM Eastern.
Who can bid (4)
- Active U.S. Government-issued SECRET facility security clearance, personnel clearances and safeguarding capability, held at proposal submission; a firm under a DCSA-approved foreign ownership mitigation agreement such as a Proxy Agreement may compete
- Active, approved Contract Security Classification Specification (DD Form 254) and a Terms of Use Agreement signed by the Facility Security Officer and a corporate officer, to receive the ECDIS Library Set
- Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) Level 2 for the contractor's unclassified and controlled unclassified information (CUI) systems
Show all 4Show fewer
- Small business subcontracting plan with a 5 percent small disadvantaged business goal, sent with the proposal
Things to watch (8)
From the version posted Oct 22, 2026.
- Serious: SECRET facility clearance needed at proposal submission. A business without an active SECRET facility clearance, cleared staff and safeguarding capability cannot compete, and the clearance cannot be obtained after sending an offer.
- Serious: Library of Government data is locked behind a signed agreement and DD Form 254. The technical data package and Government-furnished information used to price the work are released only after a signed Terms of Use Agreement; the Navy extended the Library access request deadline to October 30, 2026.
- Serious: One award for all items. Offers must cover all units of all items; a business cannot bid on only the hardware or only the software.
Show all 8Show fewer
- Worth checking: Stepladder fixed prices carry cost risk. Unit prices are fixed across five years while the Navy picks quantities; the Navy said it will not add material-cost adjustments or change the 90-day ordering window.
- Worth checking: Cost-type lines need cost accounting and a detailed cost proposal. The cost-plus-fixed-fee engineering lines use Government-set hours, a fee table and a cost build-up spreadsheet that needs time-phased labor, indirect rates and subcontract pricing.
- Worth checking: CMMC Level 2 and controlled information handling. The Library Set is unclassified but controlled; it cannot go to foreign nationals, outside the United States, or onto unaccredited IT systems, with a 10-copy limit and destruction records.
- Worth checking: Subcontracting plan, make-or-buy program and software plan required with the proposal. These extra proposal documents add work for a small business; whether small businesses are exempt from the subcontracting plan is not stated in the text read.
- Minor: Solicitation number differs between SAM.gov and the notice text. SAM.gov shows N00025-26-R-5246 while the notice text and documents use N00024-26-R-5246; ask the contracting officer which number to use on the proposal.
Read from the notice and 12 attachments. 11 of 23 not read. Show which files.
- DRAFT RFP Q and A SAM.gov Posting 30 Sept 2026.pdf (read)
- Amendment Summary - Current Amendments 2.pdf (read)
- Supplement A1-TDP Option Selection Worksheet.pdf (read)
- Att. 00 - Solicitation - N0002426R5246 Rev. 1.pdf (read)
- N00024-26-R-5246 Exhibit A CDRLs.pdf (read)
- Att. J-03 ECDIS GFI LIST.pdf (read)
- Att. J-06 DFARS 252.227-7017 Data Rights Assertions List (Hardware).pdf (read)
- Att. J-07 DFARS 252.227-7017 Data Rights Assertions List (Software).pdf (read)
- Att. J-08 DFARS 252.227-7028 Assertions List.pdf (read)
- Att. J-09 Commercial Technical Data (TD), Commercial Computer Software (CS), or Commercial.pdf (read)
- Att. J-12 Terms of Use Agreement N00024-26-R-5246.pdf (read)
- Att. L-01 Rev 1 Bidders Q and A_9 Oct 2026.pdf (read)
- Att. J-02 ECDIS GFP Production List (9.18.26).xlsx: not read (the AI doesn't read this file type yet): open it on SAM.gov
- Att. J-04 ECDIS Production Spares Workbook.xlsx: not read (the AI doesn't read this file type yet): open it on SAM.gov
- Att. J-10 Note B Table 2A-2D.xlsx: not read (the AI doesn't read this file type yet): open it on SAM.gov
- Att. L-02 Proposal Cross Reference Matrix .docx: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Att. L-04 - Total Cost Price Build Up spreadsheet.xlsx: not read (the AI doesn't read this file type yet): open it on SAM.gov
- Att. L-08 Contractor Award Announcement Information.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Att. L-09 - Sections L & M Text Rev. 2.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Att. L-11 TOUA Master Copy Log.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Att. J-01 DD Form 254 for N00024-26-R-5246 - Signed..pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Att. J-11 List of Common Acronyms.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Att. L-10 REV 1 Infocenter Account Request Form.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
Full summary
What they want
- Hardware: build, integrate, test and sustain Navy ECDIS AN/SYN-1 racks, computers and displays in three versions, plus Scalable Integrated Bridge System (S-IBS) 5-node and 7-node tech refresh units
- First article unit, production readiness review, and later production orders on a stepladder price scale (price per unit drops as quantity rises)
- Software: maintain, modify, upgrade, integrate, test and deliver ECDIS software as level-of-effort work, with 16,000 hours in the software engineering support line and 6,350 hours in the hardware engineering support line each year (hours are caps)
- Hardware repairs, provisioned item orders (orders for spares and material placed as needed) and spares, ordered by Technical Instructions from the Navy
- Technical data package, data deliverables and reports listed in the contract data requirements list (CDRL)
- Total hardware ceiling: 160 AN/SYN-1 units and 40 S-IBS units, plus possible added quantities from FY28 onward
- Contract type
- Mixed: firm-fixed-price (one set price per unit) hardware lines with stepladder option pricing, cost-plus-fixed-fee (the Navy repays costs plus a set fee) engineering hours, and cost-no-fee lines for material and repairs
- Period of performance
- 1 base year + four 1-year option periods, beginning in FY27; delivery is planned FOB Destination
- Place of performance
- Washington Navy Yard, DC, USA (per SAM.gov); first article units go to the contractor's facility for Government inspection
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- How they'll choose
- Best value to the Government under FAR 15.101-1 (a tradeoff, not lowest price); one offeror gets all units of all items
- Offers due
- January 13, 2027, 4:00 PM Eastern
- Page limits
- Technical proposal page limit not stated in the text read; the software development plan (SDP) rationale page limit shows as TBD, and the initial SDP is outside the technical page limit
What to include when you submit
- Offerors must already hold the required SECRET facility clearance, personnel clearances and safeguarding capability when the proposal is submitted
- Price Attachment J-10 peripheral tables 2A to 2D and the Section B lines; the Navy fills Section B option pricing from J-10
- Fill in the cost proposal checklist and the Total Cost Price Build Up spreadsheet (Attachment L-04, attached but not read)
- Price each contract data requirements list (CDRL) item on DD Form 1423 using the Price Group in Block 17 and Estimated Total Price in Block 18
- Submit a small business subcontracting plan with a 5 percent goal for small disadvantaged businesses, or a detailed explanation why it cannot be included
- Submit a make-or-buy program (which work you make and which you subcontract), skipping items under the lesser of 1 percent of total estimated price or $1,500,000
- Submit an initial software development plan (SDP) plus an SDP rationale showing processes equivalent to CMMI capability level 3
- List any Government property you propose to use rent-free and describe your property management system
- Price on the basis that first article requirements will not be waived (Offer A); firms that previously delivered identical items may also send Offer B with the contract numbers
- Offers on any FOB basis other than the one in Section F are rejected as unacceptable
- Offer acceptance period: 60 calendar days from the receipt date unless the offeror inserts a different period (SF 33)
Current contractor
No incumbent is named. The notice calls this continued production and sustainment of Navy ECDIS, and the bidder Q&A mentions an incumbent and a 2017 solicitation without naming a company. The Navy says it already holds the data rights for the full technical data package, with no limited-rights markings.
Not in the notice text
- Sections L and M (proposal instructions and evaluation factors) are in Att. L-09 Sections L & M Text Rev. 2.pdf, attached but not read; the solicitation Att. 00 was only partly read (its middle left out), so the evaluation factors, submission method and page limits are unknown
- Also attached but not read: the DD Form 254 (security classification form), Proposal Cross Reference Matrix, Total Cost Price Build Up spreadsheet, GFP list, spares workbook, J-10 peripheral tables, award announcement information, acronym list, Master Copy Log and Infocenter account request form
- The deadline for written questions shows as TBD in the solicitation text read
- No estimated contract value is stated; the Government-estimated hours and quantities are in Section B
- The Q&A files answer questions on the draft RFP; later documents may change those answers
- Whether the contracting officer wants the proposal sent by email or a portal is not stated in the text read
Eligibility and how to respond
- No set-aside: any business, large or small, can bid unless the notice says otherwise.
- How and where to submit is in the notice text and its attachments on SAM.gov.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 22, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Office
- NAVSEA HQ, Washington Navy Yard, DC
- Product/service code
- 6605 · Navigational Instruments
- Business type
- Electronic parts & equipment (supplies) (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 334511)
- Versions
7 versions have been posted. The newest 4 are listed, newest first.
- Oct 22, 2026 · Amendment (this version)Due Jan 13, 2027
- Oct 19, 2026 · AmendmentDue Jan 13, 2027
- Oct 14, 2026 · AmendmentDue Jan 13, 2027
- Sep 30, 2026 · SolicitationDue Jan 13, 2027
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
Terms on this notice: Solicitation
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- Automated Celestial Navigation System (ACNS) ProductionThis is a sources sought notice (a market research request, not a request for proposals) from the Navy's Portfolio Acquisition Executive Mission Systems (PAE MS) for an Automated…
- Data Display Group, in Repair/Modification ofThe Navy (NAVSUP Weapon Systems Support) wants 18 Data Display Group units (NSN 7RH 6610 014956002 V2) repaired and returned to Ready for Issue condition.
- TR-317D and TR-353A Transducers and Spare Parts Production.The Navy (NUWC Division Newport) wants a contractor to design, build, test and deliver TR-317D and TR-353A transducers plus related spare parts.
- Egyptian Navy Autonomous INTelligence System (AINTS) Platform IntegrationThe Naval Information Warfare Systems Command (NAVWAR) issued this request for proposals (RFP) for integration of Autonomous INTelligence System (AINTS) platforms for the…
- Control-Display Uni, in Repair/Modification ofThe Navy's NAVSUP Weapon Systems Support office wants a control-display unit, part number 822-2654-001, repaired, tested and returned to ready-for-issue (RFI) condition, meaning…