Solicitation
Small Business D/B Military Construction MATOC
Department of Defense · Department of the Army
AI summaryTwo-phase buy: in Phase I, firms are rated on Past Performance and Technical Approach, and only a target of ten firms are invited to send Phase II proposals. The U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE) Louisville District plans about seven firm-fixed-price (FFP: one set price, whatever the work ends up costing) multiple-award task order contracts (MATOCs, several contracts whose holders compete for each task order), set aside 100% for small business, for design-build and design-bid-build construction and renovation in Michigan, Illinois, Indiana, Ohio and Kentucky. Each contract has up to a five-year ordering period, and the total capacity is not to exceed $240,000,000. More in the summary
A newer version of this notice was posted Oct 15, 2026. See the latest version.
AI summary Beta
Summary of the version posted Oct 13, 2026. The notice was amended Oct 15, 2026. Check what else changed on SAM.gov. Some details are in the notice's attachments, which this summary didn't read. Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
Two-phase buy: in Phase I, firms are rated on Past Performance and Technical Approach, and only a target of ten firms are invited to send Phase II proposals. The U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE) Louisville District plans about seven firm-fixed-price (FFP: one set price, whatever the work ends up costing) multiple-award task order contracts (MATOCs, several contracts whose holders compete for each task order), set aside 100% for small business, for design-build and design-bid-build construction and renovation in Michigan, Illinois, Indiana, Ohio and Kentucky. Each contract has up to a five-year ordering period, and the total capacity is not to exceed $240,000,000.
Who can bid
- 100% total small business set-aside: only small businesses can compete
- Active registration in the System for Award Management (SAM.gov), kept active through award; a joint venture's entity must be registered
- Bonding and financial capability meeting the solicitation's minimum requirements
How to submit: Not stated in the notice text; the solicitation is posted on SAM.gov. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (6)
- Serious: Two-phase process: only down-selected firms reach Phase II. Phase I is rated on Past Performance and Technical Approach, and a target of ten firms are invited to Phase II (Design/Technical, Management Approach and Price), so a firm not chosen in Phase I is shut out of pricing.
- Serious: Small business set-aside. Only small businesses may compete; the NAICS code is 236220.
- Worth checking: Bonding and financial capability required. Pro forma bonding and financial information must meet the solicitation's minimums, which matters for a $240,000,000 capacity contract with sample projects of $5,000,000 to $10,000,000.
Show all 6Show fewer
- Worth checking: Phase due dates not given in the text. SAM.gov shows one response deadline and the text does not say which phase it applies to or when Phase II proposals are due; the solicitation has had 9 versions.
- Worth checking: Davis-Bacon wages likely apply. Federal construction over $2,000 in the U.S. pays at least the Davis-Bacon wage rates in the wage determination attached to the solicitation. This summary doesn't name one: find it on SAM.gov and price your labor from it.
- Minor: Award without discussions. The Government may award without discussions, so the first proposal should be complete and priced to win.
Read from the notice text only.
Full summary
What they want
- Design-build construction and renovation projects under task orders (design and construction by one firm)
- Design-bid-build construction and renovation projects under task orders (design done separately, then built)
- Work across the Louisville District's area of responsibility: Michigan, Illinois, Indiana, Ohio and Kentucky
- A target of seven FFP indefinite-delivery, indefinite-quantity (IDIQ) multiple-award contracts, each with up to a five-year ordering period
- Contract type
- Firm-fixed-price (FFP) indefinite-delivery, indefinite-quantity (IDIQ) multiple-award task order contract (MATOC), target of seven contracts
- Period of performance
- Up to a five-year ordering period with an option to extend up to six months under FAR 52.217-8
- Place of performance
- Louisville District's area of responsibility: Michigan, Illinois, Indiana, Ohio and Kentucky
- Estimated value
- Capacity not to exceed $240,000,000 for the MATOC; sample project construction magnitude between $5,000,000 and $10,000,000
- How they'll choose
- Best value trade-off, in two phases; the Government intends to award without discussions
- Offers due
- November 12, 2026, 1:00 PM Eastern (from the version posted Oct 13, 2026; amended since)
- How to submit
- Not stated in the notice text; the solicitation is posted on SAM.gov
What they'll judge offers on
- Phase I: Past Performance and Technical Approach
- Phase II: Design/Technical, Management Approach and Price
- Pro forma information (bonding and financial capability) must meet the solicitation's minimum requirements
What to include when you submit
- Phase I proposals are rated on Past Performance and Technical Approach
- Only firms down-selected after Phase I are invited to submit Phase II proposals (Design/Technical, Management Approach and Price)
- Provide pro forma information such as bonding and financial capability
- A joint venture (JV) must have one valid SAM registration for the JV entity representing it as one firm
- Check SAM.gov for amendments, which are posted only there
Not in the notice text
- The solicitation documents are posted on SAM.gov and were not read; the notice text gives only a summary, and the due date for each phase and the submission method are not in it.
- The text says USACE "intends to issue" the request for proposal (RFP) and that the solicitation will be available "when posted", so what has been posted in the current version is unclear.
- Minimum bonding and financial thresholds, past performance requirements and evaluation weights are not stated.
- Which phase the November 12, 2026 SAM.gov response deadline belongs to is not stated.
- Whether there's a site visit: this summary doesn't say. Check the solicitation and its amendments on SAM.gov.
Eligibility and how to respond
- Set aside for small businesses: only a business that counts as small under this notice's NAICS code can bid as the prime contractor. More open small business set-asides under NAICS 236220
- How to submit, from the AI summary: Not stated in the notice text; the solicitation is posted on SAM.gov. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
- Construction contracts over $2,000 pay at least the local Davis-Bacon wage rates, from the wage determination in the solicitation. Price your labor from it: How to price a government contract, and how Davis-Bacon differs from the Service Contract Act.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 13, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Office
- W072 ENDIST Louisville, KY
- Product/service code
- Y1AZ · Construction of Other Administrative Facilities and Service Buildings
- Business type
- Construction & renovation (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 236220)
- Versions
10 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 15, 2026 · Amendment 0009Due Nov 12, 2026
- Oct 13, 2026 · Amendment 0008 (this version)Due Nov 12, 2026
- Oct 13, 2026 · Amendment 0007Due Nov 12, 2026
- Oct 13, 2026 · Amendment 0006Due Nov 12, 2026
- Oct 13, 2026 · Amendment 0005Due Nov 12, 2026 (changed)
- Sep 5, 2025 · Amendment 0004Due Sep 23, 2025
- Sep 3, 2025 · Amendment 0003Due Sep 23, 2025 (changed)
- Jul 17, 2025 · Amendment 0002Due Sep 9, 2025
- Jul 17, 2025 · Amendment 0001Due Sep 9, 2025
- Jul 17, 2025 · SolicitationDue Sep 9, 2025
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
- Set-aside contracts explained
Terms on this notice: Solicitation, Set-aside
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- MACH1 AOI Military Working Dog Facility Vandenberg Space Force LOE 1 and LOE 2Phase 1 solution briefs: due November 17, 2026, 12:00 PM Central.
- Sources Sought Notice - VISN 7 Construction MATOC 36C24726R0026The VA's Network Contracting Office 7 is doing market research (a sources sought notice, not a solicitation) to find Service-Disabled Veteran-Owned Small Businesses for a future…
- FY26 ZNRE224305P3 Improve Military Family Housing PAIP 9 Phase 3, Yokota Air Base, JapanThe U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Japan District, is seeking a construction contractor to modernize, renovate and repair 34 three-bedroom military family housing townhouse units…