Solicitation
Small Business D/B Military Construction MATOC
Department of Defense · Department of the Army
AI summaryPhase II of a two-phase U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE) Louisville District buy, under the Department of the Army, for a target of seven firm-fixed-price multiple-award task order contracts (MATOCs: several firms win a place, then compete for individual orders). Only offerors already moved onto Phase II may send proposals; the response due date is November 12, 2026, 1:00 PM Eastern. The contracts cover design-build and design-bid-build construction and renovation in Michigan, Illinois, Indiana, Ohio and Kentucky, with $240,000,000 total capacity over a five-year ordering period plus an optional six months. More in the summary
A newer version of this notice was posted Oct 15, 2026. It moves the due date from Sep 9, 2025 to Nov 12, 2026, which is the date shown on this page. See the latest version.
AI summary Beta
Summary of another version of this notice: check what changed on SAM.gov. The notice looks incomplete: The Phase II procedures (Section 00 22 18), the sample project, its price schedule, and Phase II page limits and the order of importance of the three factors are not in the text read; the files read are the Phase I solicitation and its amendments 0001 and 0002. Check the Phase II documents on SAM.gov. Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
Phase II of a two-phase U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE) Louisville District buy, under the Department of the Army, for a target of seven firm-fixed-price multiple-award task order contracts (MATOCs: several firms win a place, then compete for individual orders). Only offerors already moved onto Phase II may send proposals; the response due date is November 12, 2026, 1:00 PM Eastern. The contracts cover design-build and design-bid-build construction and renovation in Michigan, Illinois, Indiana, Ohio and Kentucky, with $240,000,000 total capacity over a five-year ordering period plus an optional six months.
Who can bid (4)
- Moved onto Phase II after the Phase I evaluation; this update is only for those offerors, and about ten were to be chosen
- Small business under NAICS 236220 (size standard $45,000,000 as listed with the code): this is a 100% total small business set-aside
- Active registration in the System for Award Management (SAM), kept active; a joint venture must be registered as one entity
Show all 4Show fewer
- Pro forma information, including bonding and financial capability, meeting the solicitation's minimum requirements
How to submit: Upload in PIEE (Procurement Integrated Enterprise Environment) under the Solicitation module with the Proposal Manager role; proposals are not submitted through ProjNet. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (8)
From the version posted Oct 15, 2026.
- Serious: Phase II is open only to firms moved on from Phase I. Phase I picked about ten firms to continue, so a business that did not take part in Phase I or was not moved on cannot send a Phase II proposal.
- Worth checking: Phase II instructions and sample project were not in the text read. The Phase II procedures (Section 00 22 18), the sample project and its price schedule set what you must send, so read them on SAM.gov before bidding.
- Worth checking: Award without discussions. The Government may award from the first proposals, so there may be no chance to fix mistakes or revise prices.
Show all 8Show fewer
- Worth checking: Binding hourly rates cap every future task order. The rates you propose become the ceiling for each role for the life of the MATOC, about 5.5 years, so they must cover cost increases.
- Worth checking: Bonding and financial capability proof required. A small business needs a surety or financial proof able to support a program with $240,000,000 capacity; bonds for each task order are decided order by order.
- Worth checking: Electronic upload through PIEE. You need a PIEE account with the Proposal Manager role, and the upload completion time counts as the time received, so large files need time.
- Minor: Questions close before the due date. ProjNet questions are turned off five calendar days before the closing date, and no answers are posted within two calendar days before it.
- Minor: Site visits and wage rules are set per task order. The solicitation says site visits are decided on a task order basis and urges offerors to inspect sites; the wage determination for each order is not given in the text read.
Read from the notice and 3 attachments. Show which files.
- W912QR25R0018 SBSA DB 240M - Final.pdf (read)
- AMDT 0002 SBSA DB 240M MATOC.pdf (read)
- AMDT 0001 SBSA DB 240M MATOC.pdf (read)
Full summary
What they want
- Win a place in the MATOC pool, a total small business set-aside, then compete for task orders for design-build (one contract covers design and construction) and design-bid-build construction and renovation
- Task orders support U.S. Army, U.S. Air Force, Army Reserve and Air Force Reserve construction in the Louisville District; the maximum for one task order is $15,000,000
- Send a Phase II proposal covering three factors: Design/Technical, Management Approach and Price
- Price the sample project, whose magnitude is anticipated between $5,000,000 and $10,000,000, and propose fixed hourly rates for the Project Manager, Superintendent, Contractor Quality Control (CQC) Manager and Site Safety and Health Officer
- Show bonding and financial capability that meets the solicitation's minimums
- Contract type
- Firm-fixed-price (FFP) indefinite-delivery, indefinite-quantity (IDIQ: orders placed as needs arise) multiple-award task order contract (MATOC); target of seven contracts
- Period of performance
- Up to a five-year ordering period with an option to extend up to six months under FAR 52.217-8 (about 5.5 years in all); no added capacity if the extension is used. Each task order sets its own performance period.
- Place of performance
- Louisville District Area of Responsibility: Michigan, Illinois, Indiana, Ohio and Kentucky; each task order names its own site
- Estimated value
- Capacity not-to-exceed $240,000,000 for the MATOC; maximum $15,000,000 per task order; sample project anticipated between $5,000,000 and $10,000,000
- How they'll choose
- Best value trade-off (the Government weighs technical strength against price and may pay more for a better offer). It intends to award without discussions, so the first offer should be your best.
- Offers due
- November 12, 2026, 1:00 PM Eastern
- How to submit
- Upload in PIEE (Procurement Integrated Enterprise Environment) under the Solicitation module with the Proposal Manager role; proposals are not submitted through ProjNet
What they'll judge offers on
- Design/Technical
- Management Approach
- Price: the sample project proposal plus the total estimated MATOC price built from the binding hourly rates, added together; no seed task order will be awarded
What to include when you submit
- Register in PIEE with the Solicitation, Proposal Manager role and your CAGE code (the five-character ID for your location) before the response due date
- Name files W912QR25R0018-FIRMNAME-VOLUME I and W912QR25R0018-FIRMNAME-VOLUME II, with a brief description if files are split
- Use font size 11 or larger, narrative format in the order of the evaluation factors, native file formats or searchable PDF, and unlocked spreadsheets
- Repeat information that relates to more than one evaluation factor in each factor's section
- Insert a price on every numbered item of the price schedule, including options; leaving one blank may make the offer unacceptable
- Fill in the binding hourly rates for Base Years 1 to 5 and the six-month extension; they become the ceiling for each task order
- Mark any information you want kept from other parties as FAR 52.215-1 requires
- Offers must give the Government at least 120 calendar days to accept, per Standard Form 1442 Item 13D
- Send questions only through ProjNet Bidder Inquiry; the Phase II procedures in Section 00 22 18 were not in the text read
After award, you must have
- Use of the Architect/Engineer designer of record named in the proposal for work under the MATOC (a Phase I rule; Phase II rules were not read)
Current contractor
No incumbent is named. A target of ten offerors was to move on from Phase I to Phase II, for a target of seven awards; the number of Phase I offers is not given.
Not in the notice text
- The Phase II procedures (Section 00 22 18), the sample project, its price schedule, and Phase II page limits and the order of importance of the three factors are not in the text read; the files read are the Phase I solicitation and its amendments 0001 and 0002. Check the Phase II documents on SAM.gov.
- The Phase II proposal due date is not repeated in the notice text; SAM.gov lists November 12, 2026, 1:00 PM Eastern.
- Whether a site visit applies: site visits are decided on a task order basis, and none is listed for this proposal.
- Which wage rule applies: the text read includes FAR 52.222-5 (Construction Wage Rate Requirements, Secondary Site of the Work) but names no Davis-Bacon wage determination; each task order sets its own area.
- Which firms were chosen for Phase II and how many offers Phase I drew are not stated.
- Whether the Phase I rules for the designer of record and past performance carry into Phase II is not stated.
Eligibility and how to respond
- Set aside for small businesses: only a business that counts as small under this notice's NAICS code can bid as the prime contractor. More open small business set-asides under NAICS 236220
- How to submit, from the AI summary: Upload in PIEE (Procurement Integrated Enterprise Environment) under the Solicitation module with the Proposal Manager role; proposals are not submitted through ProjNet. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
- Construction contracts over $2,000 pay at least the local Davis-Bacon wage rates, from the wage determination in the solicitation. Price your labor from it: How to price a government contract, and how Davis-Bacon differs from the Service Contract Act.
Notice details
- Posted
- Jul 17, 2025
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Office
- W072 ENDIST Louisville, KY
- Product/service code
- Y1AZ · Construction of Other Administrative Facilities and Service Buildings
- Business type
- Construction & renovation (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 236220)
- Versions
10 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 15, 2026 · Amendment 0009Due Nov 12, 2026
- Oct 13, 2026 · Amendment 0008Due Nov 12, 2026
- Oct 13, 2026 · Amendment 0007Due Nov 12, 2026
- Oct 13, 2026 · Amendment 0006Due Nov 12, 2026
- Oct 13, 2026 · Amendment 0005Due Nov 12, 2026 (changed)
- Sep 5, 2025 · Amendment 0004Due Sep 23, 2025
- Sep 3, 2025 · Amendment 0003Due Sep 23, 2025 (changed)
- Jul 17, 2025 · Amendment 0002 (this version)Due Sep 9, 2025
- Jul 17, 2025 · Amendment 0001Due Sep 9, 2025
- Jul 17, 2025 · SolicitationDue Sep 9, 2025
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
- Set-aside contracts explained
Terms on this notice: Solicitation, Set-aside
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- MACH1 AOI Military Working Dog Facility Vandenberg Space Force LOE 1 and LOE 2Phase 1 solution briefs: due November 17, 2026, 12:00 PM Central.
- Sources Sought Notice - VISN 7 Construction MATOC 36C24726R0026The VA's Network Contracting Office 7 is doing market research (a sources sought notice, not a solicitation) to find Service-Disabled Veteran-Owned Small Businesses for a future…
- FY26 ZNRE224305P3 Improve Military Family Housing PAIP 9 Phase 3, Yokota Air Base, JapanThe U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Japan District, is seeking a construction contractor to modernize, renovate and repair 34 three-bedroom military family housing townhouse units…