Presolicitation
Connector, Electric
Department of Defense · Department of the Navy
AI summaryThe Navy's NAVSUP (Naval Supply Systems Command) Weapon Systems Support office in Mechanicsburg wants electrical connector assemblies for shipboard use, built to Naval Sea Systems Command drawing 7349938 and military specification MIL-DTL-24231. The quantity is not given in the text. The response due date is October 30, 2026 (an amendment moved it to Nov 12, 2026, 2:00 PM UTC-4 · 1:00 PM Eastern), 2:00 PM Eastern. Two first article tests (sample units tested before production is approved) are required, and the drawings are released only on request. More in the summary
Advance notice of a coming solicitation, not a bid yet. If it asks for capability statements, sending one is free and puts you on Department of the Navy's list before the solicitation is posted. See the contact
A newer version of this notice was posted Oct 29, 2026. See the latest version.
AI summary Beta
Summary of the version posted Oct 16, 2026. The notice was amended Oct 29, 2026. The due date moved from Oct 30, 2026 to Nov 12, 2026. Check what else changed on SAM.gov. This summary may miss requirements: 1 of 2 attachments weren't read (015425968-N0010426RFE40-DWG-7-22-26.pdf). Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
The Navy's NAVSUP (Naval Supply Systems Command) Weapon Systems Support office in Mechanicsburg wants electrical connector assemblies for shipboard use, built to Naval Sea Systems Command drawing 7349938 and military specification MIL-DTL-24231. The quantity is not given in the text. The response due date is October 30, 2026 (passed), 2:00 PM Eastern. Two first article tests (sample units tested before production is approved) are required, and the drawings are released only on request.
Who can bid
- A documented quality system under ISO 9001 with calibration under ISO 10012 or ANSI Z540.3 with ISO 17025. A MIL-I-45208 system with MIL-STD-45662 calibration is the acceptable alternate.
How to submit: Email or fax the signed RFP package; the contact listed in the notice is LYDIA.M.SHALOKA.CIV@US.NAVY.MIL. Quotes sent through NECO (Navy Electronic Commerce Online) are not accepted., due October 30, 2026, 2:00 PM Eastern. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (8)
- Serious: Quantity and unit of issue not stated. The available text gives no quantity or unit of issue for the connector assemblies. A quote is priced per unit, so check the price schedule in the full solicitation.
- Serious: Two first article tests required. The contractor tests one cable specimen, and the Government separately tests one delivered connector assembly. Both are destructive, and the samples cannot be delivered against the contract quantity.
- Serious: Drawings are controlled. The drawings are attached but locked, so a bidder must request access on SAM.gov and email the contact before pricing the build.
Show all 8Show fewer
- Worth checking: Critical shipboard material. The Navy treats the connectors as special emphasis material because a defective part could injure people or damage the ship, so extra controls and paperwork apply.
- Worth checking: Welding needs Navy approval first. Any welding or brazing needs Navy-approved procedures and qualification data, and approval has to come before the work begins.
- Worth checking: Slow strain rate test lab restricted. That test on QQ-N-286 material must be done at one of a short list of named laboratories, so test cost and scheduling depend on them.
- Worth checking: Final delivery within 365 days. Delivery is due 365 days after the effective date, and the two first article tests and their approvals have to fit inside that time.
- Minor: Priority-rated order. Any award will be a DO-rated order, a priority rating for national defense use that must be accepted and scheduled ahead of unrated work.
Read from the notice and 1 attachment. 1 of 2 not read. Show which files.
- 3.04_Amend(2)_24137-0145.PDF (read)
- 015425968-N0010426RFE40-DWG-7-22-26.pdf: not read (access is restricted): request it on SAM.gov
Full summary
What they want
- Build electrical connector assemblies to NAVSEA drawing 7349938, parts list PL7349938, MIL-DTL-24231 and two notices of revision; quantity and unit of issue are not stated.
- Run a destructive contractor first article test on one cable specimen under paragraph 4.1.1.5 of 359-CAS-20-014-8.
- Deliver the connector assembly for Government destructive first article testing to Portsmouth Naval Shipyard, Building 240, Code 270, Kittery, Maine. Test samples do not count toward the contract quantity.
- Certify the material and tests listed for the penetrator and receptacle parts, including QQ-N-286 chemical and mechanical analysis, dye penetrant and liquid penetrant inspections, and production tests on each assembly.
- Get Navy approval of welding procedures and qualification data before any welding. Repair welding is not allowed on QQ-N-286 material.
- Final delivery on or before 365 days after the contract's effective date; certification data is due 20 days before scheduled delivery.
- The Government can furnish cables (NSN 1H-5995-01-481-6257) to the winner for the required hydrostatic testing.
- Keep an ISO 9001 quality system with calibration, and mark the nameplate with the CAGE code of the firm that wins the contract.
- Contract type
- Fixed-price supply contract (the clause list includes Inspection of Supplies--Fixed-Price); priority-rated (DO) order
- Period of performance
- Final delivery on or before 365 days after the effective date of the contract; one-year warranty from date of delivery
- Place of performance
- Not stated; the Government's first article sample goes to Portsmouth Naval Shipyard, Kittery, Maine
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- Offers due
- October 30, 2026, 2:00 PM Eastern (from the version posted Oct 16, 2026; amended since)
- How to submit
- Email or fax the signed RFP package; the contact listed in the notice is LYDIA.M.SHALOKA.CIV@US.NAVY.MIL. Quotes sent through NECO (Navy Electronic Commerce Online) are not accepted.
What to include when you submit
- Sign and return the complete RFP package before the closing date.
- To see the drawings, request access on the solicitation page on SAM.gov, then email the primary contact listed on the solicitation.
- DD Form 1423 Data Item A001 (Inspection and Test Plan) may be waived if it is already on file at NAVSUP WSS Mechanicsburg.
Not in the notice text
- The notice text is cut off partway through the quality system section, and the controlled drawings file 015425968-N0010426RFE40-DWG-7-22-26.pdf is attached but not read; request access to it on SAM.gov.
- Quantity and unit of issue of the connector assemblies.
- How the award is decided; no evaluation factors appear in the text. A clause entry for Evaluation of First Article Testing lists $59,000.00, and the text does not say what that figure covers.
- The set-aside status is not stated.
- Ordering information for the referenced standards is in an attachment to the contract that is not in the text.
Eligibility and how to respond
- No set-aside: any business, large or small, can bid unless the notice says otherwise.
- How to submit, from the AI summary: Email or fax the signed RFP package; the contact listed in the notice is LYDIA.M.SHALOKA.CIV@US.NAVY.MIL. Quotes sent through NECO (Navy Electronic Commerce Online) are not accepted. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 29, 2026
- Notice type
- Presolicitation
- Office
- NAVSUP Weapon Systems Support Mech, Mechanicsburg, PA
- Product/service code
- 5935 · Connectors, Electrical
- Business type
- Electronic parts & equipment (supplies) (FedReady's grouping, from product/service code 5935)
- Versions
13 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 29, 2026 · SolicitationDue Nov 12, 2026
- Oct 29, 2026 · Presolicitation (this version)Date Nov 12, 2026 (changed)
- Oct 16, 2026 · Amendment 0002Due Oct 30, 2026 (changed)
- Sep 25, 2026 · Amendment 0001Due Oct 9, 2026
- Sep 25, 2026 · SolicitationDue Oct 9, 2026
- Sep 25, 2026 · PresolicitationDate Oct 9, 2026 (changed)
- Sep 2, 2026 · SolicitationDue Sep 10, 2026
- Sep 2, 2026 · PresolicitationDate Sep 10, 2026
- Sep 2, 2026 · Amendment 0003Due Sep 10, 2026 (changed)
- Jul 24, 2026 · Amendment 0002Due Aug 27, 2026
- Jul 23, 2026 · Amendment 0001Due Aug 27, 2026 (changed)
- Jun 15, 2026 · SolicitationDue Jul 28, 2026 (changed)
- May 29, 2026 · PresolicitationDate Jul 12, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
Terms on this notice: Solicitation
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- Box Connector, Electric
- Connector, Fo RecepNAVSUP Weapon Systems Support (Navy, Mechanicsburg) wants a fiber optic receptacle cable assembly for a critical shipboard system, with delivery for the Portsmouth Naval Shipyard.
- UNICOR Marion Request for Quote Various Connectors. See AttachedFederal Prison Industries (UNICOR) in Marion, Illinois wants quotes for electrical components such as connectors, adapters, wire and cable used to build cable assemblies.
- 5935 - 01-678-7255 SWA5 MK48 Torpedo Receptacle (Ethernet)Full and open competition: Navy NAVSUP Weapon Systems Support wants MK48 torpedo ethernet receptacle connector assemblies (National Stock Number 5935-01-678-7255), three…