Sources Sought
613-22-700 | EHRM Infrastructure Upgrades Construction | Martinsburg, WV
Department of Veterans Affairs
AI summarySources sought 36C77627Q0036 is market research, not a solicitation: the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA), Program Contracting Activity Central, wants to hear from general contractors for EHRM Infrastructure Upgrades at the Martinsburg VA Medical Center in Martinsburg, WV. The work is telecom and fiber optic upgrades across the campus, with a VA magnitude of construction between $20,000,000.00 and $50,000,000.00 and about 700 calendar days of work. The solicitation is planned for December 2026, and the set-aside, if any, depends on the responses. More in the summary
Market research, not a bid. Replying is free and tells Department of Veterans Affairs who could do this work. Send a short reply to the contracting contact; no price is needed. See the contact
AI summary Beta
Sources sought 36C77627Q0036 is market research, not a solicitation: the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA), Program Contracting Activity Central, wants to hear from general contractors for EHRM Infrastructure Upgrades at the Martinsburg VA Medical Center in Martinsburg, WV. The work is telecom and fiber optic upgrades across the campus, with a VA magnitude of construction between $20,000,000.00 and $50,000,000.00 and about 700 calendar days of work. The solicitation is planned for December 2026, and the set-aside, if any, depends on the responses.
Who can bid
- No set-aside is stated; the type of set-aside, if any, will be decided after the responses come in, so say your business size and type
- Bonding company letter of intent showing your individual bonding capacity fits the project's magnitude of construction
- Past work: up to three contracts in the last seven years valued over $19,000,000.00, of comparable complexity and scope
How to submit: Email to Benjamin Niznik, Contract Specialist, Benjamin.Niznik@va.gov, with the Sources Sought number and project title in the subject line; no phone calls. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (8)
From the version posted Oct 23, 2026.
- Serious: Bonding letter of intent required with the response. You must send a letter from your bonding company showing capacity for a $20,000,000.00 to $50,000,000.00 project, which many small firms cannot get quickly.
- Worth checking: Market research only, not a solicitation. Nothing can be awarded from this notice, and VA will not pay for responses, so the real bid comes later in a solicitation that VA says is planned for December 2026.
- Worth checking: Large past projects asked for. VA wants contracts over $19,000,000.00 from the last seven years in occupied medical facilities, including fiber optic work, so smaller firms may not show enough experience.
Show all 8Show fewer
- Worth checking: Possible Project Labor Agreement (PLA). A PLA is a pre-hire union agreement; VA may require every contractor and subcontractor to join one, and the questionnaire must be returned with the response.
- Worth checking: 700 days stated, but phasing plan dates run to July 5, 2030. The sources sought estimates about 700 calendar days from Notice to Proceed, while the phasing plan's phases run from January 6, 2027 to July 5, 2030; ask VA which duration applies.
- Worth checking: Work in an occupied hospital with off-hours work. Telecom service must stay up while rooms are rebuilt, and work outside normal hours (7:00 AM to 4:30 PM, Monday to Friday) needs advance approval from the contracting officer's representative (COR) and costs the government nothing extra.
- Minor: Core switches cannot go offline. The data center move must keep both core network switches running, with VA activation windows when the contractor may not work and a 90-day limit on separating the cores.
- Minor: Procurement method and set-aside not yet decided. VA has not chosen between a proposal (RFP) and a price-only bid (IFB), and the set-aside depends on responses to this notice.
Read from the notice and 2 attachments. Show which files.
- P02 - 36C77627Q0036.pdf (read)
- P01 - Phasing Plan SOW.pdf (read)
Full summary
What they want
- Send a capability statement of no more than nine pages, with a bonding company letter of intent and the PLA (project labor agreement) questionnaire
- Future work: a general contractor to furnish all labor, materials and supervision for Electronic Health Records Modernization (EHRM) infrastructure upgrades, including demolition and removal of existing construction
- Future work: fiber optic cabling upgrades for about 56 campus buildings, plus campus civil work (underground duct banks and inter-building backbone cabling) in four phases
- Future work: renovate or build telecom rooms (TRs) and install telecom enclosures (TEs), with new racks, cooling, power, structured cabling and security access control
- Future work: upgrade the Building 511 Data Center (Room 221): keep six (6) existing cabinets and replace twelve (12) with new cabinets, moving racks, patch panels and patch cables
- Future work: renovate telecom rooms floor by floor in the Building 500 main hospital (basement plus six floors), then decommission old rooms once the new ones run
- Future work: keep hospital telecom service running throughout, which means off-hours work, utility tie-ins and coordination with VA Office of Information and Technology (OIT), who do the cutovers
- Contract type
- Planned competitive firm-fixed-price (FFP: one set price, whatever the work ends up costing) construction contract, design-bid-build (VA supplies final drawings and specifications); either a Request for Proposal (RFP) under FAR Part 15 or an Invitation for Bid (IFB) under FAR Part 14, to be decided after market research
- Period of performance
- About 700 calendar days from the Notice to Proceed, as estimated in the sources sought; the phasing plan's dates run from January 6, 2027 to July 5, 2030
- Place of performance
- Martinsburg VA Medical Center (VAMC), 510 Butler Ave., Martinsburg, WV 25405
- Estimated value
- VAAR (VA Acquisition Regulation) magnitude of construction between $20,000,000.00 and $50,000,000.00
- How they'll choose
- No evaluation for this sources sought. The later solicitation will be an RFP weighing technical and price factors, or an IFB on price only; market research decides which.
- Offers due
- November 6, 2026, 12:00 PM Eastern
- How to submit
- Email to Benjamin Niznik, Contract Specialist, Benjamin.Niznik@va.gov, with the Sources Sought number and project title in the subject line; no phone calls
- Page limits
- Whole response: 9 single-sided pages, single-spaced, 12-point font minimum, including the PLA questionnaire
What to include when you submit
- Send one application-generated (not scanned) PDF of 4MB or less; hard copies are not accepted
- Add a cover page with company name, address, Unique Entity Identifier (UEI) if available, socio-economic status, point-of-contact name, phone and email
- Section 1: company name, UEI, address, and point-of-contact name, phone and email
- Section 2: business size under NAICS 236220 and business type (for example small business, service-disabled veteran-owned, HUBZone, women-owned)
- Section 3: a statement of interest in the project
- Section 4: a letter of intent from your bonding company showing your individual bonding capacity fits the $20,000,000.00 to $50,000,000.00 magnitude
- Section 5: no more than three (3) contracts performed within the last seven (7) years, each valued over $19,000,000.00 and of comparable complexity and scope
- For each of the three contracts give project name, owner and contact information, scope, size (such as square footage), building use, dollar value, and start and completion dates
- Section 5 examples should show: a project of $19M or more in an occupied medical facility with uninterrupted service lines; executing phasing set in a construction documents package; limited staging and laydown; consistent off-hours work
- More Section 5 examples: mechanical, electrical, data and civil infrastructure; work that interrupted utilities or tied into existing structures; fiber optic cable installed in an occupied medical facility; phased telecommunication work with a seamless switch from old to new
- Describe your self-performed effort, as prime or subcontractor, in dollar value and description; self-performed means work your own company did, not work another company did for you
- Section 6: fill out the PLA questionnaire (seven questions with Yes/No and comments) and return it with the response
Current contractor
No incumbent is named. The phasing plan references contract 36C77622C0169 and purchase order 613C20234 for the architect-engineer design work, not a current contractor for this construction.
Not in the notice text
- Whether there will be a site visit and whether it would be required: not stated
- Which wage rule applies (a Davis-Bacon wage determination, the federal pay rates for construction): not stated
- Whether a bid bond and performance and payment bonds will be required on the future solicitation: only a bonding capacity letter is asked for now
- The set-aside, if any: SAM.gov lists none, and VA says it depends on the responses
- Appendix 1 (Draft Construction Schedule) and Appendix 2 (Final Bid Documents - Drawings) are named in the phasing plan but their text is not in the documents
- The email subject line must carry the project title and Sources Sought number; SAM.gov's place of performance shows only WV, while the documents give the Martinsburg address
Eligibility and how to respond
- No set-aside. Any business can reply: this is market research, and no bid is being taken yet.
- To respond, send a short reply to the contracting contact near the top of this page. No price is needed.
- Construction contracts over $2,000 pay at least the local Davis-Bacon wage rates, from the wage determination in the solicitation. Price your labor from it: How to price a government contract, and how Davis-Bacon differs from the Service Contract Act.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 23, 2026
- Notice type
- Sources Sought
- Office
- Pcac (36C776), Independence, OH
- Product/service code
- Y1DA · Construction of Hospitals and Infirmaries
- Business type
- Construction & renovation (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 236220)
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
Terms on this notice: Sources sought notice
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- 512A5-22-700 | EHRM Infra Upgrades | Perry Point, MD CO: Samantha Mihaila CS: Ric SochorOnly service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSB) can bid on this Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) construction project to upgrade infrastructure for the…
- FCI Three Rivers-Replace Generators, Transformers, and Electrical InfrastructureThe Federal Bureau of Prisons wants a contractor to replace two backup generators, transformers and electrical wiring at the Federal Correctional Institution (FCI) in Three…
- Callao, Peru Infrastructure Modernization - U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE) – Latin America and Caribbean District (SAA)The U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (Latin America and Caribbean District) is doing market research for a possible design-build project at the Callao Naval Base in Lima, Peru: seven…