Solicitation
Cylinder Assembly
Department of Defense · Defense Logistics Agency
AI summaryDLA Land Warren (Defense Logistics Agency, Warren, MI) wants to buy Cylinder Assemblies (NSN 3040-00-678-7076) built to a government technical data package, as a firm-fixed-price contract set aside 100% for small business, with a priced option for more units. Offers are due by email on 23 October 2026 at 4:00 PM, a first article test is required unless waived, and the drawings are export controlled so you must hold a Joint Certification Program (DD 2345) certification to see them. More in the summary
AI summary Beta
Summary of the version posted Sep 22, 2026. The notice was amended Nov 4, 2026. The due date moved from Oct 23, 2026 to Nov 16, 2026. Check what else changed on SAM.gov. This summary may miss requirements: 2 of 3 attachments weren't read (SPRDL126RA003 TDP - Cylinder Assembly EH6C0492EH.zip, SPRDL126RA003 SPI - AK06787076.pdf). Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
DLA Land Warren (Defense Logistics Agency, Warren, MI) wants to buy Cylinder Assemblies (NSN 3040-00-678-7076) built to a government technical data package, as a firm-fixed-price contract set aside 100% for small business, with a priced option for more units. Offers are due by email on 23 October 2026 at 4:00 PM, a first article test is required unless waived, and the drawings are export controlled so you must hold a Joint Certification Program (DD 2345) certification to see them.
Who can bid (9)
- Small business (total small business set-aside), NAICS 333995
- United States/Canada Joint Certification Program (JCP) certification with a current DD Form 2345, needed to access the export-controlled TDP
- Only your company's JCP-registered Data Custodian can request and download the TDP, and must have a SAM.gov account through login.gov
Show all 9Show fewer
- Active SAM registration to receive an award
- Quality system identified and described in your offer; an offer without it may be ineligible
- If you are not the manufacturer, you must hold supply chain traceability documentation showing the item conforms and comes from an approved manufacturer
- New material only unless the contracting officer approves otherwise
- To join a reverse auction, registration in the auction system and an online-trained employee
- A cybersecurity maturity (CMMC) level requirement provision and DoD assessment provisions appear in the solicitation, but their text is garbled; confirm the required level
How to submit: Email to the Contract Specialist, Alexandra Stone (ALEXANDRA.STONE@DLA.MIL, 385-591-0886), with subject header "Proposal Submission - SPRDL1-XX-X-XXXX (company name)" using the real solicitation number; the solicitation warns the system may switch to PIEE, so check the final instructions, due 23 October 2026 at 4:00 PM (local time Warren, MI; response deadline field shows Oct 23, 2026, 4:00 PM EDT). What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (10)
- Serious: Export-controlled drawings need JCP certification, and timing is unclear. The notice says certification takes about one week, the solicitation says 6 to 10 weeks, the form must be mailed (not emailed), and offers are due 23 October, so a firm without a current DD 2345 may not be able to bid.
- Serious: Quantities in the notice and the schedule do not match. The notice lists 166 basic and up to 166 option units, but the delivery schedule shows 371 units for both, which changes your price and capacity planning; confirm with the Contract Specialist.
- Worth checking: First article test required. You must build and test a first article, the test unit is consumed and not delivered, and the government can order more testing at your cost if the design or process changes; a waiver is possible but not guaranteed.
Show all 10Show fewer
- Worth checking: Possible online reverse auction. After offers close the government may run a price auction where the lowest price is shown to all bidders, so you need to be registered and trained and be ready to cut price.
- Worth checking: All or none. You must offer the full quantity in the solicitation; offers for less are ineligible, which is hard for a small shop with limited capacity.
- Worth checking: Mixed FOB and shipping terms. The notice says FOB Destination while the solicitation has inspection at origin and FOB Origin freight evaluation clauses, so you cannot be sure how freight is priced and who bears it.
- Worth checking: Strict packaging requirements and a conflict in packaging level. The solicitation requires Level A military packing to a special packaging instruction, while the notice says MIL B; the instruction itself was not available to read.
- Minor: Long record retention and fast document turnaround. Traceability and test records must be kept for ten years after final payment and handed over within three business days of a request.
- Minor: No payment for new tooling or test equipment. Any special tooling or test equipment you need must be built into your unit price.
- Minor: Rejection risk if goods are not inspected before shipping. Items shipped without DCMA inspection and acceptance at origin can be rejected at destination and returned at your expense.
Read from the notice and 1 attachment. 2 of 3 not read. Show which files.
- Solicitation - SPRDL126RA003.pdf (read)
- SPRDL126RA003 TDP - Cylinder Assembly EH6C0492EH.zip: not read (access is restricted): request it on SAM.gov
- SPRDL126RA003 SPI - AK06787076.pdf: not read (access is restricted): request it on SAM.gov
Full summary
What they want
- Manufacture and deliver Cylinder Assembly, NSN 3040-00-678-7076, TDP 8743887, to the government's technical data package (notice says 166 each basic; the schedule shows a quantity of 371)
- Price a separately priced option for more of the same item (notice says up to 166 each)
- Build and test a first article (1 unit, destroyed or consumed in testing) and get the test report approved by the DCMA contracting officer, unless the government grants a waiver
- Use MIL-STD-1916 for lot acceptance, with the option to propose a defect-prevention alternative to lot sampling
- Pack to military preservation, Level A, per Special Packaging Instruction AK06787076, with MIL-STD-129 marking and heat-treated wood packaging
- Have items inspected and accepted at your facility by DCMA before shipping, then deliver (notice says FOB Destination)
- Keep supply chain traceability and inspection and test records for ten years after final payment
- Contract type
- Firm-fixed-price, with a separately priced option for increased quantity; 100% small business set-aside; DO-rated order under DPAS
- Period of performance
- With first article test: 1 first-article unit within 135 days of award and the production quantity within 345 days. If the test is waived: production quantity within 210 days. Option quantity is due within 210 days after exercise; the option may be exercised up to 365 days after award or first article approval, with a possible 90-day extension
- Place of performance
- Not stated in the notice. Government inspection and acceptance is at origin (your facility, which you name in the offer); the notice says FOB Destination and the solicitation lists several depot addresses
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- How they'll choose
- Appears to be price-based (lowest evaluated offer, with freight cost adjustments), but a clear basis-of-award statement is not readable in the text; the government may hold discussions and an online reverse auction on price
- Offers due
- 23 October 2026 at 4:00 PM (local time Warren, MI; response deadline field shows Oct 23, 2026, 4:00 PM EDT) (from the version posted Sep 22, 2026; amended since)
- How to submit
- Email to the Contract Specialist, Alexandra Stone (ALEXANDRA.STONE@DLA.MIL, 385-591-0886), with subject header "Proposal Submission - SPRDL1-XX-X-XXXX (company name)" using the real solicitation number; the solicitation warns the system may switch to PIEE, so check the final instructions
What they'll judge offers on
- Price: unit prices, with the first article test price handled separately if you ask for a waiver
- Transportation cost for FOB Origin offers, using guaranteed shipping characteristics (basic quantity only)
- Meeting all material requirements of the solicitation, including the quality system description
- Contractor responsibility (FAR 9.104), possibly with a pre-award plant visit
What to include when you submit
- Offer must be received by the exact deadline; all parts must be in the email; PDF format preferred, an electronic read receipt is recommended
- Complete the SF 33 offer form and the Section B prices for all items, including a separate first article test price if you plan to ask for a waiver
- Name your inspection and acceptance facility (name, address, CAGE) in Section E
- Offer must cover the total quantity; partial offers are not eligible for award
- Include a description of your quality assurance system (unless you already use an accepted standard)
- If requesting a first article waiver, submit the First Article Waiver Worksheet on company letterhead, signed, with supporting documents
- Complete the FOB Origin shipping data, guaranteed shipping characteristics and economic purchase quantity fill-ins
- Acknowledge all amendments by number and date
- Object in writing before the closing date if you do not want your unit price released under FOIA
Not in the notice text
- Estimated contract value is not stated
- The Technical Data Package zip and the Special Packaging Instruction AK06787076 are controlled and were not read, so the actual item specification, tests and packaging details are unknown
- About 95,000 characters in the middle of the solicitation PDF (much of the Section I contract clauses and the Section K provisions) were left out, and some pages are garbled, so the full clause list, the CMMC level and the CLIN price schedule could not be read
- A clear statement of the basis of award (lowest price versus best value) was not readable; only the generic responsibility language and the freight, first article and reverse auction evaluation rules
- Which quantity is right: 166 each (notice) or 371 each (delivery schedule), and the unit of measure and CLIN layout
- Exact delivery destination and whether delivery is FOB Origin or FOB Destination
- Whether the TDP was available at the time of posting; the notice says it will be released once made available
- Whether CARC painting and pretreatment, higher-level quality standards or certified cost or pricing data will apply to this item
Eligibility and how to respond
- Set aside for small businesses: only a business that counts as small under this notice's NAICS code can bid as the prime contractor. The notice also names requirements: More open small business set-asides under NAICS 333995
- The notice mentions export-controlled data. You may need a Joint Certification Program (DD Form 2345) approval to see the drawings.
- How to submit, from the AI summary: Email to the Contract Specialist, Alexandra Stone (ALEXANDRA.STONE@DLA.MIL, 385-591-0886), with subject header "Proposal Submission - SPRDL1-XX-X-XXXX (company name)" using the real solicitation number; the solicitation warns the system may switch to PIEE, so check the final instructions. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
Notice details
- Posted
- Nov 4, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Office
- DLA Land Warren, MI
- Product/service code
- 3040 · Miscellaneous Power Transmission Equipment
- Business type
- Manufactured parts & equipment (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 333995)
- Versions
2 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Nov 4, 2026 · Amendment 0001 (this version)Due Nov 16, 2026 (changed)
- Sep 22, 2026 · SolicitationDue Oct 23, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
- Set-aside contracts explained
Terms on this notice: Solicitation, Set-aside
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- Cylinder Assembly
- Cylinder Assembly
- Cylinder Assembly, Actu
- Cylinder Assembly, Hydr
- Cylinder Assembly, aNAVSUP Weapon Systems Support (Navy) wants a contractor to repair and test a Cylinder Assembly (part number 8090201848-1) and return it to ready-for-issue condition.