Combined Synopsis/Solicitation
FCI Three Rivers-Replace Generators, Transformers, and Electrical Infrastructure
Department of Justice · Federal Prison System / Bureau of Prisons
More open Federal Prison System / Bureau of Prisons contracts
AI summaryOnly 8(a) small businesses (firms in the SBA's 8(a) business development program) can bid on this Federal Bureau of Prisons job to replace generators, transformers and electrical infrastructure at FCI Three Rivers, 1700 HWY 72 WEST, Three Rivers, TX. It is a firm-fixed-price (FFP: one set price, whatever the work ends up costing) construction contract lasting 450 calendar days from the notice to proceed. The response due date is November 30, 2026, at 11:00 AM EST. More in the summary
A newer version of this notice was posted Nov 2, 2026. See the latest version.
AI summary Beta
Summary of the version posted Oct 29, 2026. The notice was amended Nov 2, 2026. Check what else changed on SAM.gov. Some details are in the notice's attachments, which this summary didn't read. Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
Only 8(a) small businesses (firms in the SBA's 8(a) business development program) can bid on this Federal Bureau of Prisons job to replace generators, transformers and electrical infrastructure at FCI Three Rivers, 1700 HWY 72 WEST, Three Rivers, TX. It is a firm-fixed-price (FFP: one set price, whatever the work ends up costing) construction contract lasting 450 calendar days from the notice to proceed. The response due date is November 30, 2026, at 11:00 AM EST.
Who can bid
- 8(a) small business: this is a 100 percent 8(a) set-aside, and size under NAICS 236220 ($45.0 million) is checked in SAM.gov
- Registered in SAM.gov with up-to-date size information
How to submit: Email to hbuck@bop.gov. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch
- Serious: 8(a) set-aside. Only firms certified in the SBA 8(a) program can win this contract.
- Worth checking: The site visit was Oct 29, 2026. Check the notice and its amendments for whether attendance was required, and whether another visit is offered.
- Worth checking: Date passed (Oct 23, 2026): Prison access paperwork deadline. Visitors needed National Crime Information Center (NCIC) background paperwork (Attachment 10) sent to cvillarreal@bop.gov by 4:00 PM EST on Friday, October 23, 2026, and late paperwork was not accepted.
Read from the notice text only.
Full summary
What they want
- All labor, materials, equipment and tools to replace generators, transformers and electrical infrastructure at FCI Three Rivers
- Work as detailed in the attached Statement of Work
- Contract type
- Firm-fixed-price construction contract
- Period of performance
- 450 calendar days from the notice to proceed
- Place of performance
- FCI Three Rivers, 1700 HWY 72 WEST, Three Rivers, TX 78071
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- How they'll choose
- Price and past performance
- Offers due
- November 30, 2026, 11:00 AM EST (from the version posted Oct 29, 2026; amended since)
- How to submit
- Email to hbuck@bop.gov
What they'll judge offers on
- Price
- Past performance
What to include when you submit
- Send all pages of the attached written solicitation with your quote
- Technical proposal: technical/management approach, construction schedule with milestones, key personnel, quality control and safety approach, and assumptions affecting performance
- Price proposal: total price, a breakdown by labor, material and equipment (a sample cost summary spreadsheet is attached), and the basis of estimate
- A signed, completed Standard Form 1442 (SF 1442), the construction offer form
- Completed Offeror Representations and Certifications-Commercial Products and Commercial Services
- Narrative parts as searchable PDF; files readable in Adobe Acrobat Reader 11 and Microsoft Office 2016, with no embedded sound or video
- Label each electronic file clearly by volume, section and item
Not in the notice text
- The detailed requirements are in the attached Statement of Work and solicitation, not the notice text
- Which wage rule applies (for example a Davis-Bacon wage determination)
- Whether bid, performance or payment bonds are required
- No estimated contract value is given
- How past performance is shown (number of projects or references) is not stated in the notice text
Eligibility and how to respond
- Only firms in SBA's 8(a) program can bid as the prime contractor. Not in the 8(a) program? How the 8(a) program works. More open 8(a) set-asides under NAICS 236220
- How to submit, from the AI summary: Email to hbuck@bop.gov. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
- Construction contracts over $2,000 pay at least the local Davis-Bacon wage rates, from the wage determination in the solicitation. Price your labor from it: How to price a government contract, and how Davis-Bacon differs from the Service Contract Act.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 29, 2026
- Notice type
- Combined Synopsis/Solicitation
- Office
- National Acquisitions - Co, Washington, DC
- Product/service code
- Z2NZ · Repair or Alteration of Other Utilities
- Business type
- Construction & renovation (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 236220)
- Versions
8 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Nov 2, 2026 · Amendment 0007Due Nov 30, 2026
- Oct 29, 2026 · Amendment 0006 (this version)Due Nov 30, 2026
- Oct 27, 2026 · Amendment 0005Due Nov 30, 2026
- Oct 20, 2026 · Amendment 0004Due Nov 30, 2026
- Oct 20, 2026 · Amendment 0003Due Nov 30, 2026
- Oct 19, 2026 · Amendment 0002Due Nov 30, 2026
- Oct 15, 2026 · Amendment 0001Due Nov 30, 2026
- Oct 15, 2026 · Combined Synopsis/SolicitationDue Nov 30, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
- Open 8(a) set-aside contracts
Terms on this notice: Solicitation, 8(a) program, Set-aside
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- Building 141 Generator Replacement
- ID-KOOSKIA NFH-Repair Electrical Service to MechanThe U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (FWS), under the Department of the Interior, wants the main electrical service line to the mechanical building repaired at Kooskia National…
- 561-26-103 Upgrade Electrical and Plumbing in Building 18B
- Correct Electrical Deficiencies
- 540-22-700 | EHRM Infrastructure Upgrades Construction | Clarksburg WV