Solicitation
AZ BL COLO 7528(1) Burro Creek Road
Department of Transportation · Federal Highway Administration
AI summaryThe Federal Highway Administration, Central Federal Lands Division (Department of Transportation), wants a contractor to resurface and rehabilitate about 1.3 miles of Burro Creek Road in Mohave County, Arizona, 71 miles southwest of Kingman, to improve access to the Burro Creek Campground. Only small businesses can bid. The response due date is November 17, 2026, 2:00 PM Mountain, by paper sealed bid only, with an original bid bond. The lowest responsible bidder wins; the stated price range is $2,000,000 to $5,000,000. More in the summary
AI summary Beta
Summary of the version posted Oct 15, 2026. The notice was amended Oct 27, 2026. Check what else changed on SAM.gov. This summary may miss requirements: 4 of 7 attachments weren't read (AZ BL COLO 7528(1) Burro Creek Road_Plans.pdf, AZ BL COLO 7528(1) Burro Creek Road_FINAL HYD Report.pdf and 2 more). Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
The Federal Highway Administration, Central Federal Lands Division (Department of Transportation), wants a contractor to resurface and rehabilitate about 1.3 miles of Burro Creek Road in Mohave County, Arizona, 71 miles southwest of Kingman, to improve access to the Burro Creek Campground. Only small businesses can bid. The response due date is November 17, 2026, 2:00 PM Mountain, by paper sealed bid only, with an original bid bond. The lowest responsible bidder wins; the stated price range is $2,000,000 to $5,000,000.
Who can bid (4)
- Small business under NAICS 237310 (Highway, Street, and Bridge Construction): average annual gross receipts for the past 5 years must be below the $45 million size standard; this is a total small business set-aside
- Active registration in the System for Award Management (SAM) when bidding and at award, with NAICS 237310 in the SAM profile and annual representations and certifications completed
- Bid guarantee: an original bid bond with original signatures and corporate seals; the bond form's percent line shows 20
Show all 4Show fewer
- Veterans employment report (VETS-4212) declaration returned with the bid
How to submit: Printed sealed bid delivered to Eric Grosskreuz, Acquisition Program Specialist, Federal Highway Administration, Central Federal Lands Division Office, 12300 W. Dakota Avenue, Lakewood, CO 80228. Electronic bids are not accepted. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (10)
- Serious: Total small business set-aside. Only small businesses with average gross receipts under $45 million over the past 5 years can bid.
- Serious: Original bid bond required, photocopies rejected. A bid with a copied or faxed bond is non-responsive, so a surety must issue an original bond before the bid is delivered.
- Serious: Paper sealed bids only. Electronic bids are not accepted, so a printed bid must reach the Lakewood, Colorado office by the response due date.
Show all 10Show fewer
- Serious: Performance and payment bonds after award. The IFB points to a performance and payment bond requirement with 10 calendar days listed, so a bonding line is needed for the full contract.
- Worth checking: Every item in Schedule A and Option X must be priced. Leaving an item unpriced puts the bid at risk of being found ineligible for award.
- Worth checking: Quantities differ between the notice and the bid schedule. The notice lists ditch reconditioning at 2,000 LNFT, while the bid schedule shows 170.000 LNFT; culvert and boulder quantities also differ, so price from the bid schedule and ask the Government if unsure.
- Worth checking: Fire precaution plan can stop work. On Bureau of Land Management land, power equipment use may shut down during set hours or entirely under higher fire danger, and fire guards are required.
- Minor: Technical questions deadline of November 10, 2026. Questions about the plans and special contract requirements must be written, combined in one Word document and emailed to CFLContracts@dot.gov; the time zone is not stated.
- Minor: Native seed limited to listed suppliers. A redacted justification says the local seed mix is only available from the suppliers listed in the specifications.
- Minor: Masterworks reporting and training. The contractor must use the Government's Masterworks system for daily reports and pay notes and attend training.
Read from the notice and 3 attachments. 4 of 7 not read. Show which files.
- AZ BL COLO 7528(1) IFB.pdf (read)
- FP-24 Standard Specifications for Construction FHWA Federal Hwy Projects.pdf (read)
- AZ BL COLO 7528(1) Burro Creek Road JOFOC_Redacted.pdf (read)
- AZ BL COLO 7528(1) Burro Creek Road_Plans.pdf: not read (it couldn't be opened): open it on SAM.gov
- AZ BL COLO 7528(1) Burro Creek Road_FINAL HYD Report.pdf: not read (it couldn't be opened): open it on SAM.gov
- AZ BL COLO 7528(1) Burro Creek Road_FINAL GEO Report and FINAL PVMNT Report.pdf: not read (it couldn't be opened): open it on SAM.gov
- 11.12.4 Design Physical Data and Reports.zip: not read (the AI doesn't read this file type yet): open it on SAM.gov
Full summary
What they want
- Pavement rehabilitation of 1.3 miles: full depth reclamation (grinding up and reusing the old road base) plus asphalt concrete pavement (3,600 TON), with fog seals and tack coats
- Drainage work: new cross culverts, reconstruction of an existing headwall, ditch grading and reconditioning, berms, bank stabilization, flared end sections and riprap aprons
- Earthwork and stabilization: embankment benching, slope stabilization, slope scaling, and bridge approach repairs at the eastern abutment to fix undercutting
- Safety and traffic items: new regulatory and warning signs, pavement markings, and boulders to control public access
- Base Schedule A covers the main roadway rehabilitation; Option X covers repairing bridge sedimentation, addressing undercutting at the bridge approaches, and boulder placement
- Follow the Bureau of Land Management industrial fire precautions plan in Appendix A (fire guards and shutdown rules in higher fire danger)
- Use the Government's Masterworks system for daily reports and pay notes, and attend its training
- Anticipated schedule from the notice: advertisement October 2026, award January 2027, construction January 2027 through October 2027
- Contract type
- Sealed bid (invitation for bid, IFB) for a construction contract with unit-priced items: base Schedule A plus Option X
- Period of performance
- Begin work within 10 calendar days after the notice to proceed; the completion date is set in Special Contract Requirements (SCR) Section 108.01, which was not read. The notice gives construction as January 2027 through October 2027, and the IFB assumes notice to proceed by January 15, 2027
- Place of performance
- Burro Creek Road, Mohave County, Arizona, 71 miles southwest of Kingman; the project begins at the bridge over Burro Creek and ends at the cattle guard near US Hwy 93
- Estimated value
- Between $2,000,000 and $5,000,000 (the IFB's stated price range for the project work)
- How they'll choose
- Lowest responsible bidder conforming to the solicitation, provided funds are available. The Government adds the total price of Option X to Schedule A when comparing bids
- Offers due
- November 17, 2026, 2:00 PM Mountain (from the version posted Oct 15, 2026; amended since)
- How to submit
- Printed sealed bid delivered to Eric Grosskreuz, Acquisition Program Specialist, Federal Highway Administration, Central Federal Lands Division Office, 12300 W. Dakota Avenue, Lakewood, CO 80228. Electronic bids are not accepted
What they'll judge offers on
- Total bid price: every item in Schedule A and Option X must be priced
What to include when you submit
- Submit the original and 0 copies in sealed envelopes or packages showing the time and date for receipt, the solicitation number, and the bidder's name and address, plus the project number and name
- Include Standard Form 1442 (SF 1442: the solicitation, offer and award form), pages A-1 and A-2, completed and signed
- Include the Bid Schedule, pages A-5 through A-11, with a unit price and amount for every item in Schedule A and Option X and the totals
- Include the partnering interest page (A-12; formal partnering is voluntary)
- Include the authority-to-bind certificate that fits the bidder's business form (corporation, limited liability company, partnership, joint venture or sole proprietorship), pages A-13 through A-17
- Include the Buy American Act and Hazardous Materials pages, A-18 and A-19
- Include the bid guarantee under RFO Clause 52.228-1, pages B-1 through B-4: an original bid bond with original signatures and corporate seals
- Include the VETS-4212 declaration (page A-iii) and the Bidders' Information pages B-5 through B-8
- Acknowledge any amendments in Item 19 of the SF 1442 by the designated date and hour; failure may result in rejection
- Keep the bid open for at least 60 calendar days for Government acceptance
- Bid changes or withdrawals may be sent by mail or by email to cflcontracts@dot.gov before the time bids are due
After award, you must have
- Performance and payment bonds; the form lists 10 calendar days after award, and RFO Clause 52.228-15 and FP-24 Subsection 102.06 govern From AZ BL COLO 7528(1) IFB.pdf:
Item 12A: PERFORMANCE AND PAYMENT BONDS: See RFO Clause 52.228-15…
Current contractor
No incumbent is named. A redacted justification for other than full and open competition (JOFOC) covers the native seed only, saying the seed mix is available from the listed suppliers; the work itself is a small business set-aside.
Not in the notice text
- Part of the IFB (AZ BL COLO 7528(1) IFB.pdf, the middle of the file, about pages B-9 through E-37) and the FP-24 specifications were only partly read; the plans, hydrology report, geotechnical and pavement reports and the design physical data zip were attached but not read
- Whether there is a site visit is not stated in the text read
- The wage rule: the IFB lists a Department of Labor construction wage rate requirement (Section D), but the wage determination itself was not in the text read
- The completion date is set in SCR Section 108.01, which was not read; the number of calendar days to finish is not stated in the text read
- Whether liquidated damages, insurance amounts (FP-24 Subsection 107.05) and the bid bond amount apply is in the unread sections
- The exact bid bond amount and the performance and payment bond amounts are not stated in the text read; check the bond forms and RFO Clause 52.228-1
Eligibility and how to respond
- Set aside for small businesses: only a business that counts as small under this notice's NAICS code can bid as the prime contractor. More open small business set-asides under NAICS 237310
- How to submit, from the AI summary: Printed sealed bid delivered to Eric Grosskreuz, Acquisition Program Specialist, Federal Highway Administration, Central Federal Lands Division Office, 12300 W. Dakota Avenue, Lakewood, CO 80228. Electronic bids are not accepted. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
- Construction contracts over $2,000 pay at least the local Davis-Bacon wage rates, from the wage determination in the solicitation. Price your labor from it: How to price a government contract, and how Davis-Bacon differs from the Service Contract Act.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 27, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Office
- 6982AF Central Federal Lands Divisi, Lakewood, CO
- Product/service code
- Y1LB · Construction of Highways, Roads, Streets, Bridges, and Railways
- Business type
- Construction & renovation (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 237310)
- Versions
3 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 27, 2026 · Amendment 0002 (this version)Due Nov 17, 2026
- Oct 15, 2026 · Amendment 0001Due Nov 17, 2026
- Oct 15, 2026 · SolicitationDue Nov 17, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
- Set-aside contracts explained
Terms on this notice: Solicitation, Set-aside
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- New Mexico Forest Engineering and Road Maintenance (FERM)The U.S. Forest Service is signing up small businesses for Blanket Purchase Agreements (BPAs) to do road maintenance and construction work on New Mexico national forests, with…
- Road Maintenance - Sheyenne. Roadway reconditioning and aggregate surface place and aggregate spot surfacingThe USDA Forest Service, Dakota Prairie Grasslands, wants a contractor to grade and add gravel to roads, campground roads and trailheads in the Sheyenne National Grassland…
- Access Road Repair National Elk RefugeThe U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service has posted a presolicitation (an early notice; the full solicitation comes later) to repair the Access Road at the National Elk Refuge in…
- ND NP THRO 204(1) Buck Hill RoadThe Federal Highway Administration's Central Federal Lands Highway Division wants Buck Hill Road (Route 204) rebuilt in Theodore Roosevelt National Park near Medora, ND: about…
- ID FLAP KOOTEN 8450(1), Yellowstone Trail Road, Segment 1Only six named firms that hold the Idaho, Montana, and Surrounding Areas multiple award task order contract (MATOC) can send proposals for this Federal Highway Administration…