Sources Sought
Small Unmanned Aerial Systems Charging Connector/Interface
Department of Defense · Department of the Army
AI summaryThe Army (W6QK ACC-APG), for its C5ISR Center Power Division, is asking companies to describe existing products that could become a standard connector between a small drone battery and its charger. It covers Group 1 (0 to 20 lbs) and Group 2 (21 to 55 lbs) small unmanned aerial systems (sUAS). This is a sources sought notice, not a solicitation, and the Army does not plan to award a contract from it. The response due date is November 20, 2026, 5:00 PM Eastern. More in the summary
Market research, not a bid. Replying is free and tells Department of the Army who could do this work. Send a short reply to the contracting contact; no price is needed. See the contact
AI summary Beta
The Army (W6QK ACC-APG), for its C5ISR Center Power Division, is asking companies to describe existing products that could become a standard connector between a small drone battery and its charger. It covers Group 1 (0 to 20 lbs) and Group 2 (21 to 55 lbs) small unmanned aerial systems (sUAS). This is a sources sought notice, not a solicitation, and the Army does not plan to award a contract from it. The response due date is November 20, 2026, 5:00 PM Eastern.
How to submit: Email the information package to usarmy.apg.mbx.c5isr-center-uas-pe@army.mil. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch
From the version posted Oct 21, 2026.
- Worth checking: Unlimited Government data rights. Products should be usable by industry without limits; if yours is not, you must price the cost of giving the Government full unlimited data rights.
- Minor: No contract or payment comes from this notice. Responses are voluntary and unpaid, and respondents will not be told individually how the Government assessed them.
- Minor: Set-aside decision comes later. The set-aside is not stated on SAM.gov, and the Army says responses will help decide whether a future solicitation is open to all or set aside for small businesses.
Read from the notice and 1 attachment. Show which files.
- 20260527_UAS Charging Connector RFI Draft.pdf (read)
Full summary
What they want
- Describe a current product offering for the interface between the sUAS battery and the sUAS charger
- Mechanical details: a description of the connector, detailed physical dimensions and a CAD drawing of the design
- Electrical details: supported voltage, current and power ranges, and a detailed pin-out description
- Communications and data: the protocol (it must let the battery's Battery Management System (BMS) talk to the charger) and the data standard
- Data rights: who owns the relevant data rights or intellectual property, and what it costs for the Government to own it
- Testing and certifications: environmental tests such as water ingress and pull force, MIL-STD tests such as MIL-STD-810, and commercial standards or marks
- State whether the information package is company proprietary
- Place of performance
- Aberdeen Proving Ground, MD, USA
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- How they'll choose
- No award is planned from this notice; the Army will use responses to decide whether a later solicitation is full and open or a small-business set-aside
- Offers due
- November 20, 2026, 5:00 PM Eastern
- How to submit
- Email the information package to usarmy.apg.mbx.c5isr-center-uas-pe@army.mil
What to include when you submit
- Address the mechanical, electrical, communications and data, data rights, and testing and certification items; partial solutions and specialized capabilities are also encouraged
- Describe products that could in future be available for unlimited use by industry for military and commercial applications
- If the product is not currently available for unlimited use, include the cost of attaining it with full unlimited Government data rights
- Say whether the submitted package is company proprietary
Not in the notice text
- The NAICS code and product service code are not given on SAM.gov.
- Whether and when a solicitation will follow is not stated.
- The estimated value or number of expected awards is not stated.
Eligibility and how to respond
- No set-aside. Any business can reply: this is market research, and no bid is being taken yet.
- To respond, send a short reply to the contracting contact near the top of this page. No price is needed.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 21, 2026
- Notice type
- Sources Sought
- Office
- W6QK ACC-Apg, Aberdeen Proving Grou, MD
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
Terms on this notice: Sources sought notice