Presolicitation
Repair Punta Borinquen Lighthouse at USCG Base Borinquen, Aguadilla, Puerto Rico (PNUM 2993811)
Department of Homeland Security · U.S. Coast Guard
AI summaryThe U.S. Coast Guard (Civil Engineering Unit Miami) plans an invitation for bid (IFB, a sealed price bid) set aside for HUBZone firms to repair the Punta Borinquen Lighthouse at Base Borinquen, Aguadilla, Puerto Rico. Work includes lead paint and asbestos testing, wall repair, door and hatch replacement, and repainting. The estimated value is between $100,000 and $500,000, and bonds are required. More in the summary
Advance notice of a coming solicitation, not a bid yet. If it asks for capability statements, sending one is free and puts you on U.S. Coast Guard's list before the solicitation is posted. See the contact
AI summary Beta
Some details are in the notice's attachments, which this summary didn't read. Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
The U.S. Coast Guard (Civil Engineering Unit Miami) plans an invitation for bid (IFB, a sealed price bid) set aside for HUBZone firms to repair the Punta Borinquen Lighthouse at Base Borinquen, Aguadilla, Puerto Rico. Work includes lead paint and asbestos testing, wall repair, door and hatch replacement, and repainting. The estimated value is between $100,000 and $500,000, and bonds are required.
Who can bid
- Be a HUBZone-certified small business (Historically Underutilized Business Zone program); the project is set aside for total HUBZone concerns
- Provide bid, payment and performance bonds
- Be registered in SAM
Things to watch (6)
From the version posted Oct 26, 2026.
- Serious: HUBZone set-aside. Only HUBZone-certified small businesses can bid on this project.
- Serious: Bid, payment and performance bonds required. You need a surety (bonding company) to back the bid before you can submit.
- Worth checking: Set-aside wording is mixed. The text says the project is set aside for HUBZone, then repeats older sources-sought wording that the Coast Guard is still considering which set-aside to use.
Show all 6Show fewer
- Worth checking: NAICS code differs. SAM.gov lists NAICS 236220, but the text names 237990, so check which code and size standard the IFB uses.
- Worth checking: Performance period is written two ways. The text says one hundred eighty and gives 182 calendar days in the same phrase.
- Minor: Lead paint and asbestos work. The job includes stripping lead-based paint, so expect hazardous-material handling and testing duties.
Read from the notice text only.
Full summary
What they want
- Write an asbestos-containing material (ACM) and lead-based paint (LBP) investigation and analysis report
- Pressure-wash and spot-clean 3,200 SF of exterior surface; strip lead paint from 2,560 SF of interior walls and metal stairway
- Repair spalling damage on the exterior wall and overhang, and patch 160 SF of damaged areas and cracks
- Repair roof rust, replace a 2 SF roof access hatch and install 45 linear feet of metal guardrail
- Replace the entrance metal door and a metal louver window to match the existing ones
- Coat 6,000 SF of concrete with two coats of algae-resistant elastomeric acrylic paint
- Treat metal surfaces with rust converter and rust-resistant paint
- Contract type
- Invitation for bid (IFB) expected; contract type not stated
- Period of performance
- One hundred eighty (182) calendar days, as written in the notice
- Place of performance
- Punta Borinquen Lighthouse, U.S. Coast Guard Base Borinquen, Aguadilla, Puerto Rico
- Estimated value
- Between $100,000 and $500,000
What to include when you submit
- Wait for the IFB; this notice is not a solicitation and no bids are taken yet
- Be registered in the System for Award Management (SAM) as FAR 4.203-1(b) describes
Not in the notice text
- The response due date and bid opening date are not given; the text lists only tentative months
- Whether there is a site visit is not stated
- Which wage rule applies (a Davis-Bacon wage determination) is not stated
- The IFB, drawings and bid instructions have not been posted
Eligibility and how to respond
- Only HUBZone-certified small businesses can bid as the prime contractor. Not certified yet? Check whether your address is in a HUBZone. More open hubzone set-asides under NAICS 236220
- How and where to submit is in the notice text and its attachments on SAM.gov.
- Construction contracts over $2,000 pay at least the local Davis-Bacon wage rates, from the wage determination in the solicitation. Price your labor from it: How to price a government contract, and how Davis-Bacon differs from the Service Contract Act.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 26, 2026
- Notice type
- Presolicitation
- Office
- Ceu Miami, FL
- Product/service code
- Z2PZ · Repair or Alteration of Other Non-Building Facilities
- Business type
- Construction & renovation (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 236220)
- Versions
3 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 26, 2026 · Presolicitation (this version)No date on SAM.gov; the text gives Sep 11, 2026
- Oct 21, 2026 · Amendment 0001Due Sep 11, 2026
- Aug 28, 2026 · Sources SoughtDue Sep 11, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
- Open HUBZone set-aside contracts
- HUBZone map and eligibility
Terms on this notice: Solicitation, HUBZone, Set-aside
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- SHI Replace Lead Glazed Bathtubs at United States Coast Guard Rio Bayamon Housing Base San Juan, Puerto Rico PNUM 24658602Only service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSB) can bid.
- USCG Regional Multiple Award Construction Contract (Rmacc III)The U.S. Coast Guard (Civil Engineering Unit Juneau and other regional units) is buying a new set of construction contracts for the Department of Homeland Security.