Sources Sought
What Works Clearinghouse (WWC) Online Study Review Guide (OSRG)
Department of Education
AI summaryThis is a sources sought notice (market research), not a request for quotes: the U.S. Department of Education's Contracts and Acquisitions Management office, for the Institute of Education Sciences (IES), wants a commercial off-the-shelf (COTS) software alternative to the What Works Clearinghouse (WWC) Online Study Review Guide (OSRG). The OSRG is a web tool that captures data, computes statistics and manages workflows for reviewing academic studies. Firms send a capability statement of up to 10 pages by the response due date of November 10, 2026, 10:00 AM Eastern, and the Department says no solicitation is assured. More in the summary
Market research, not a bid. Replying is free and tells Department of Education who could do this work. Send a short reply to the contracting contact; no price is needed. See the contact
AI summary Beta
This is a sources sought notice (market research), not a request for quotes: the U.S. Department of Education's Contracts and Acquisitions Management office, for the Institute of Education Sciences (IES), wants a commercial off-the-shelf (COTS) software alternative to the What Works Clearinghouse (WWC) Online Study Review Guide (OSRG). The OSRG is a web tool that captures data, computes statistics and manages workflows for reviewing academic studies. Firms send a capability statement of up to 10 pages by the response due date of November 10, 2026, 10:00 AM Eastern, and the Department says no solicitation is assured.
How to submit: PDF attached to an email to Jana.Knapp@ed.gov, with a copy to Joseph.Gibbs@ed.gov. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (4)
From the version posted Oct 19, 2026.
- Worth checking: Market research only; no payment and no promise of a contract. The Department will not pay for responses and says it gives no assurance a solicitation will follow.
- Minor: Possible product demonstration. The Government may pick one to three vendors to demonstrate their software; no date or format for a demonstration is given.
- Minor: Attached PWS covers far more than software. The draft Task Order 4 PWS includes help desks, expert working groups, handbook writing and study reviews, so it is unclear whether the future buy is software only or software plus services.
Show all 4Show fewer
- Minor: Federal security and data-ownership questions. Respondents are asked about FedRAMP, SOC 2 or NIST-based controls and about government ownership of data and workflows, which can be hard for a small software firm to answer without certifications.
Read from the notice and 2 attachments. Show which files.
- RFI Instructions WWC OSRG.docx (read)
- Attachment 1 TOAST TO4 PWS.pdf (read)
Full summary
What they want
- Capability statements describing a commercial software product that could replace the OSRG, with examples of prior or current work
- Which features come out of the box, which need configuration and which need custom development
- How the software publishes data to the IES Drupal-based website (APIs, data exchange, authentication)
- How data and workflows could be moved to another product (export formats, APIs, audit history)
- System architecture and deployment model (software as a service (SaaS), cloud-hosted or hybrid), and what business users can configure themselves
- Federal security certifications (such as FedRAMP, SOC 2, NIST-based controls), role-based access and audit logging
- Government rights to data and configurations, the licensing model and any extra costs, and any embedded artificial intelligence or machine learning
- Feedback on any unduly restrictive language in the attached draft performance work statement (PWS)
- Period of performance
- Not stated for the future requirement; the attached draft Task Order 4 PWS describes a 24-month period
- Place of performance
- DC, USA (SAM.gov field)
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- Offers due
- November 10, 2026, 10:00 AM Eastern
- How to submit
- PDF attached to an email to Jana.Knapp@ed.gov, with a copy to Joseph.Gibbs@ed.gov
- Page limits
- Capability statement: 10 pages (single-spaced, minimum one-inch margins, 12-point font)
What to include when you submit
- State your entity name and address, with contact information including Unique Entity Identifier (UEI), entity email and website URL
- State your entity size status (large or small) under NAICS 541611 and list all socioeconomic categories with the matching NAICS code
- Say whether you believe the draft PWS has unduly restrictive language and cite specific examples
- List any questions you have about the contents of the PWS
- Respond to some or all of the eight questions, giving examples of prior or current work that show the recommended commercial software works
- Send the response as a PDF attachment by email
Current contractor
No incumbent is named. The notice says the OSRG is currently maintained by the Government's WWC contractor, and the attached draft PWS is from a prior task order (Task Order 4) under that contract.
Not in the notice text
- Whether a solicitation will follow, its contract type, value, period, set-aside and evaluation method are not stated.
- The detailed functional requirements for the OSRG are in the three videos linked in the notice, which were not read.
- The draft PWS appendixes (monthly report metrics, earned value format) are referenced but not included in the text read.
Eligibility and how to respond
- No set-aside. Any business can reply: this is market research, and no bid is being taken yet.
- To respond, send a short reply to the contracting contact near the top of this page. No price is needed.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 19, 2026
- Notice type
- Sources Sought
- Office
- Contracts and Acquistions Management, Washington, DC
- Product/service code
- B542 · Special Studies/Analysis – Educational
- Business type
- Consulting & professional services (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 541611)
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
Terms on this notice: Sources sought notice