Solicitation
666-27-102 Lightning Protection Update B71N
Department of Veterans Affairs
AI summaryThe VA's Network Contracting Office 19 (Greenwood Village, CO) plans to buy an update to the lightning protection at Building 71 N at the Sheridan VA Medical Center in Sheridan, Wyoming. The work is a construction job set aside 100% for service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses, with a stated size of between $25,000 and $100,000. This is a presolicitation: the actual request for quote is said to be posted on or about October 23, 2026 (an amendment moved it to Nov 27, 2026, 10:00 AM MST · 12:00 PM Eastern). More in the summary
A newer version of this notice was posted Oct 26, 2026. It moves the due date from Oct 30, 2026 to Nov 27, 2026, which is the date shown on this page. See the latest version.
AI summary Beta
Summary of the version posted Oct 9, 2026. The notice was amended Oct 26, 2026. The due date moved from Oct 23, 2026 to Nov 27, 2026. Check what else changed on SAM.gov. The notice looks incomplete: The request for quote, statement of work, specifications and drawings are not posted yet (the notice says the RFQ is posted on or about October 23, 2026). Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
The VA's Network Contracting Office 19 (Greenwood Village, CO) plans to buy an update to the lightning protection at Building 71 N at the Sheridan VA Medical Center in Sheridan, Wyoming. The work is a construction job set aside 100% for service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses, with a stated size of between $25,000 and $100,000. This is a presolicitation: the actual request for quote is said to be posted on or about October 23, 2026 (passed).
Who can bid (6)
- Total set-aside for service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSB); only eligible firms may be awarded the contract
- Must be both VISIBLE and VERIFIED in the SBA certification database at the time of offer submission (and at award); the notice says to submit veteran status, ownership and control documents to SBA if not already verified
- The attached VA clause also says the firm must be verified and listed in VA's Vendor Information Pages (VIP) database; offers from firms not VIP-listed at the time of offer will not be considered
Show all 6Show fewer
- Meet the small business size standard for NAICS 236220 ($19 million)
- Follow the limits on subcontracting: for general construction, the prime may not pay more than 85% of the amount paid by the government (excluding materials) to firms that are not VIP-listed veteran-owned small businesses; for special trade contractors the limit is 75%
- A joint venture may qualify only if the joint venture itself is listed in VIP and meets 13 CFR 125.18(b)
How to submit: due 10-23-2026 10:00 AM Mountain Time, Denver (SAM.gov field: Oct 23, 2026 10:00 -06:00). What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (6)
- Serious: SAM.gov and the solicitation disagree on the set-aside. SAM.gov lists no set-aside, but the solicitation the AI read says a set-aside for service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSB). Ask the contracting officer which applies before you bid.
- Serious: Date passed (Oct 23, 2026): Presolicitation only; the actual RFQ is not posted yet. The notice type is Presolicitation and the text says the request for quote is posted on or about October 23, 2026, yet the SAM.gov response deadline is also October 23, 2026 at 10:00 AM Mountain, so the real due date and the quote instructions may differ from what is shown here.
- Serious: SBA verification must be in place before you quote. A firm that is not both visible and verified in the SBA certification database when it submits its offer will be treated as non-compliant, and verification takes time to obtain.
Show all 6Show fewer
- Worth checking: Two different verification databases named. The notice text refers to the SBA certification database, while the attached VA clause says the firm must be VIP-listed (VetBiz); confirm with the contracting officer that your status satisfies both.
- Worth checking: Scope, drawings and quote instructions not yet available. The notice gives only one line about the work; the specifications, drawings, contract terms, evaluation method and period of performance are expected in the RFQ, so you cannot price or judge the job yet.
- Worth checking: Limits on subcontracting for construction. The clause caps how much of the contract price can go to firms that are not VIP-listed veteran-owned small businesses (85% for general construction, 75% for special trade), which affects how much you can subcontract.
Read from the notice and 1 attachment. Show which files.
- 36C25926Q0880.docx (read)
Full summary
What they want
- Update the lightning protection at Building 71 N, Sheridan VAMC, 1898 Fort Road, Sheridan, WY 82801
- Contract type
- Request for quote (RFQ) for construction; contract type not stated
- Place of performance
- Sheridan VAMC, 1898 Fort Road, Sheridan, WY 82801 (Building 71 N)
- Estimated value
- Between $25,000 and $100,000 (stated as the project magnitude)
- Offers due
- 10-23-2026 10:00 AM Mountain Time, Denver (SAM.gov field: Oct 23, 2026 10:00 -06:00) (from the version posted Oct 9, 2026; amended since)
What to include when you submit
- The notice says the request for quote itself is to be posted on or about October 23, 2026; how and where to send quotes is not stated in this notice
- Point of contact: Elia Laritza Ruiz Manzo, Elia-Laritza.Ruiz-Manzo@va.gov, 303-712-5727
- Offerors must be both visible and verified in the SBA certification database when they submit the offer
Not in the notice text
- The request for quote, statement of work, specifications and drawings are not posted yet (the notice says the RFQ is posted on or about October 23, 2026)
- How and where to submit a quote (email, portal) is not stated
- Evaluation method and factors
- Contract type, period of performance and completion schedule
- Whether a site visit, bonding, insurance or a wage determination applies
- Whether the October 23, 2026 response date in SAM.gov is the real quote due date or the date the RFQ is posted
Eligibility and how to respond
- No set-aside: any business, large or small, can bid unless the notice says otherwise.
- How and where to submit is in the notice text and its attachments on SAM.gov.
- Construction contracts over $2,000 pay at least the local Davis-Bacon wage rates, from the wage determination in the solicitation. Price your labor from it: How to price a government contract, and how Davis-Bacon differs from the Service Contract Act.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 26, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Office
- Network Contract Office 19 (36C259), Greenwood Village, CO
- Product/service code
- Z2DA · Repair or Alteration of Hospitals and Infirmaries
- Business type
- Construction & renovation (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 236220)
- Versions
4 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 26, 2026 · Amendment 0002Due Nov 27, 2026 (changed)
- Oct 26, 2026 · Amendment 0001 (this version)Due Oct 30, 2026
- Oct 26, 2026 · SolicitationDue Oct 30, 2026 (changed)
- Oct 9, 2026 · PresolicitationDate Oct 23, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
Terms on this notice: Solicitation