Sources Sought
Request for Information (RFI) Obtaining Food Franchise Rights in Washington, DC - National Capital Region (NCR)
Department of Justice · Federal Bureau of Investigation
AI summaryThe Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) issued a Request for Information (RFI), a market research notice and not a solicitation, to learn how it could obtain food franchise rights in the National Capital Region, Washington, DC. It specifically asks whether the FBI could arrange directly with individual food franchise brands, instead of one master food-service contractor, to run food service in the J. Edgar Hoover Building. SAM.gov shows responses due November 7, 2026, 12:00 PM Eastern, but the notice text asks for information by September 21, 2026 (passed), at 12:00 PM EDT. More in the summary
Market research, not a bid. Replying is free and tells Federal Bureau of Investigation who could do this work. Send a short reply to the contracting contact; no price is needed. See the contact
AI summary Beta
The Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) issued a Request for Information (RFI), a market research notice and not a solicitation, to learn how it could obtain food franchise rights in the National Capital Region, Washington, DC. It specifically asks whether the FBI could arrange directly with individual food franchise brands, instead of one master food-service contractor, to run food service in the J. Edgar Hoover Building. SAM.gov shows responses due November 7, 2026, 12:00 PM Eastern, but the notice text asks for information by September 21, 2026 (passed), at 12:00 PM EDT.
How to submit: Email to Ms. McKenzie P. Bucher (mpbucher@fbi.gov) and Mr. Tom Teets (twteets@fbi.gov), due SAM.gov: November 7, 2026, 12:00 PM Eastern; notice text: September 21, 2026, 12:00 PM EDT. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch
From the version posted Oct 14, 2026.
- Worth checking: Information request only; no contract is offered. The FBI says the RFI is for planning only and does not obligate the Government to pursue a later solicitation.
- Minor: Secure federal building. Any franchise would operate inside the J. Edgar Hoover Building, an access-controlled federal facility with its own standards.
Read from the notice text only.
Full summary
What they want
- Information on the requirements, processes and opportunities for obtaining food franchise rights in the National Capital Region
- Relevant documentation, points of contact, marketing materials and procedural information
- Feedback on a direct-engagement model, where the FBI deals with individual franchise brands for food service in the J. Edgar Hoover Building
- Typical franchise agreement structures, term lengths and capital investment (buildout, equipment, branding) inside a government-controlled facility
- Licensing, royalty and territory considerations for a single-tenant government building
- Food safety, supply chain and operational standards for a secure federal facility, plus any precedent for franchises in federal buildings, military installations or other access-controlled places and lessons learned
- Contract type
- Request for Information; no contract is stated
- Place of performance
- J. Edgar Hoover Building (JEH), Washington, DC
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- Offers due
- SAM.gov: November 7, 2026, 12:00 PM Eastern; notice text: September 21, 2026, 12:00 PM EDT
- How to submit
- Email to Ms. McKenzie P. Bucher (mpbucher@fbi.gov) and Mr. Tom Teets (twteets@fbi.gov)
What to include when you submit
- Send all requested documentation, points of contact, marketing materials and procedural information about obtaining food franchise rights
- Address the direct-engagement model questions: franchise agreement structures, term lengths, capital investment, licensing, royalty and territory, and food safety, supply chain and operational standards
- Describe any precedent for franchise operations in federal buildings, military installations or other access-controlled environments, with lessons learned
Not in the notice text
- Which response date is correct: November 7, 2026 on SAM.gov or September 21, 2026 in the text
- The size, term or value of any future food service arrangement is not stated
- No NAICS code or product service code is given
- Whether a solicitation will follow is not stated
Eligibility and how to respond
- No set-aside. Any business can reply: this is market research, and no bid is being taken yet.
- To respond, send a short reply to the contracting contact near the top of this page. No price is needed.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 14, 2026
- Notice type
- Sources Sought
- Office
- FBI-Jeh, Washington, DC
- Versions
4 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 14, 2026 · Amendment 0003 (this version)Due Nov 7, 2026
- Oct 14, 2026 · Amendment 0002Due Nov 7, 2026
- Oct 8, 2026 · Amendment 0001Due Nov 7, 2026 (changed)
- Sep 14, 2026 · Sources SoughtDue Sep 21, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
Terms on this notice: Sources sought notice