Solicitation
554-27-117 Conduct Concrete and Civil Site Repairs.
Department of Veterans Affairs
AI summaryThe VA Network Contracting Office 19 wants a contractor to carry out about 52 concrete and drainage repairs around the Rocky Mountain Regional VA Medical Center campus in Aurora, Colorado. The work is set aside for Service-Disabled Veteran-Owned Small Businesses and is priced as one lump-sum job, with a project range of $100,000 to $250,000 and a 90-day delivery schedule. Offers are due by email on October 30, 2026 at 10:00 AM Mountain Time (an amendment moved it to Nov 13, 2026, 10:00 AM MST · 12:00 PM Eastern). More in the summary
AI summary Beta
Summary of the version posted Sep 28, 2026. The notice was amended Oct 27, 2026. The due date moved from Oct 30, 2026 to Nov 13, 2026. Check what else changed on SAM.gov. This summary may miss requirements: 1 of 13 attachments weren't read (Prime and Sub Contractor Construction Breakdown.xlsx). Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
The VA Network Contracting Office 19 wants a contractor to carry out about 52 concrete and drainage repairs around the Rocky Mountain Regional VA Medical Center campus in Aurora, Colorado. The work is set aside for Service-Disabled Veteran-Owned Small Businesses and is priced as one lump-sum job, with a project range of $100,000 to $250,000 and a 90-day delivery schedule. Offers are due by email on October 30, 2026 at 10:00 AM Mountain Time.
Who can bid (8)
- Must be a certified Service-Disabled Veteran-Owned Small Business, both visible and verified in the SBA certification database when you submit your offer and at award
- Must be registered in SAM (System for Award Management) before the solicitation closes
- Must sign and return the limitations on subcontracting certification; for special trade construction, no more than 75% of the amount paid by the government may go to firms that are not certified SDVOSBs or VOSBs (materials excluded). The box that applies is not marked in the copy I read, but NAICS 238110 is a special trade code.
Show all 8Show fewer
- Offers without the signed limitations on subcontracting certification will not be considered
- Must show how much of the personnel cost your own firm or other eligible SDVOSBs will perform (at least 25% for specialty trade codes, per the worksheet)
- A competent person with an OSHA 30-hour card must be on site whenever work is performed, and all workers need at least OSHA 10-hour construction safety training, with documentation approved before work starts
- Must provide alternate payment protection after award (the text does not say what form or amount)
- Employees need VA identification badges before working on campus; Buy American rules for construction materials (FAR 52.225-9) appear in the clause list
How to submit: By email; the notice says proposals must be received by email by the closing date and time. Questions go to Elia-Laritza.Ruiz-Manzo@va.gov., due October 30, 2026, 10:00 AM Mountain Time (MDT). What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (9)
- Serious: SDVOSB status must be SBA-verified at offer time. If your firm is not both visible and verified in the SBA certification database when you submit, the offer is treated as non-compliant, and verification can take time.
- Serious: The site visit was Oct 6, 2026. Check the notice and its amendments for whether attendance was required, and whether another visit is offered.
- Serious: Limits on subcontracting. A small SDVOSB prime must keep a large share of the work in-house or with other eligible SDVOSBs and must prove it, which restricts how much you can hand to regular subcontractors.
Show all 9Show fewer
- Worth checking: Short schedule for a large, spread-out scope. The delivery schedule is 90 calendar days from NTP for about 52 items in many places, including new sidewalks, drainage under sidewalks and a 200 cy pit fill, while badges, safety plan approval and submittals all take time up front.
- Worth checking: Heavy safety and healthcare-site paperwork. You need a site-specific accident prevention plan (no boilerplate), activity hazard analyses, infection control measures, a cost-loaded schedule and a schedule of values, all approved by VA before work starts.
- Worth checking: Liability for damage on an operating hospital campus. You are responsible for any damage to VA property, finishes and furniture along work areas and travel paths, which raises insurance and risk costs.
- Worth checking: Prevailing wage rates and extra payment protection. A Davis-Bacon wage determination is attached and 'alternate protection' is required after award, both of which affect your price and cash flow; bond and insurance details were in sections I could not read.
- Minor: Attachments do not fully agree with each other. The NEPA/GEMS review file describes different work (dock leveler, trash platform, gate photos, piping reports and parts billing) than the repair list, and the address appears with different zip codes, so confirm the scope with the contracting officer in writing.
- Minor: Quantities are only approximate. Many items give rough sizes (for example 'approx 350 sf') or none at all, so pricing a single lump sum carries risk.
Read from the notice and 12 attachments. 1 of 13 not read. Show which files.
- 36C25926Q0826.pdf (read)
- Specifications 554-27-117 Conduct Concrete and Civil Repairs.pdf (read)
- S22-LOS Certification 852.219-75 JAN 2023 DEVIATION.docx (read)
- Self-Performed and Subcontracted Worksheet.docx (read)
- NEPA 554-27-117 Concrete and Civil Repairs - GEMS review.pdf (read)
- Attachment E - Sidewalk Standard Detail.pdf (read)
- Attachment D - Conceptual rebounding bollard repair.pdf (read)
- Attachment C - Emergency Planter Plan.pdf (read)
- Attachment B - Repair List.pdf (read)
- Attachment A - 00LS100 - Repair map.pdf (read)
- Past Performance Questionnaire_Blank.docx (read)
- ICRA 554-27-117 - Concrete and Civil Repairs - Only For Bidding.pdf (read)
- Prime and Sub Contractor Construction Breakdown.xlsx: not read (the AI doesn't read this file type yet): open it on SAM.gov
Full summary
What they want
- Repair or replace damaged and sunken sidewalks, driveway aprons and curbs across the campus, and level them to stop ponding, icing and trip hazards
- Fix drainage: replace French drains, install catch basins and drain lines under sidewalks, and trench roof-drain lines to the swale south of Building B
- Build new concrete: two sidewalk extensions (about 1,000 sf and 1,100 sf), widened sidewalk around a cell tower pole, and a concrete pad of about 700 sf with drains
- Install concrete planters at the emergency entrance and rebuild landscape wall corners to receive rebounding safety bollards
- Fill two sink pits (about 30 cy and 200 cy) with self-compacting fill and restore the surface
- Work around an operating hospital: coordinate with the VA's COR, protect VA property, and follow infection control, safety and stormwater rules
- Provide a site-specific safety plan, a cost-loaded schedule, a schedule of values and material submittals
- Contract type
- Construction contract on SF 1442 with a single lump-sum line item (1 job); uses commercial-item provisions 52.212-1 and 52.212-2; firm-fixed-price is not stated in the text I could read
- Period of performance
- Delivery schedule says 90 calendar days from notice to proceed (NTP); no option periods appear in the text read
- Place of performance
- Rocky Mountain Regional VA Medical Center, 1700 N. Wheeling St., Aurora, CO 80045 (outdoor areas around the campus)
- Estimated value
- Project magnitude between $100,000 and $250,000
- Offers due
- October 30, 2026, 10:00 AM Mountain Time (MDT) (from the version posted Sep 28, 2026; amended since)
- How to submit
- By email; the notice says proposals must be received by email by the closing date and time. Questions go to Elia-Laritza.Ruiz-Manzo@va.gov.
What to include when you submit
- Questions must be sent in writing by email before October 20, 2026, 10 AM MT
- Fill in the SF 1442 price schedule (one lump-sum line item) and sign the offer
- Return the signed limitations on subcontracting certification (VAAR 852.219-75) with the offer
- Complete the self-performed and subcontracted work worksheet and the Prime and Subcontractor Construction Breakdown spreadsheet attached to the solicitation (the full list of required offer contents is in sections of the solicitation I could not read)
- A blank Past Performance Questionnaire is attached; the client who gave you the work completes its blocks 5 to 8 (how many are required is not visible)
- Acknowledge any amendments
Not in the notice text
- How the award will be decided and which evaluation factors apply (the evaluation section, FAR 52.212-2, was in text left out of what I could read; a Past Performance Questionnaire is attached, which suggests past performance may count)
- Full instructions to offerors (FAR 52.212-1), including exactly what must be in the email and any file or page limits
- Whether a bid or offer guarantee, or specific bond or alternate protection form and amount, is required
- Required insurance limits (section 4.27 was not in the text I could read)
- Contents of the Prime and Subcontractor Construction Breakdown spreadsheet, which was not read
- The exact period of performance start and end dates (left blank in the price schedule)
- Contract type wording (firm-fixed-price is not stated in what I read)
- Whether site-visit attendance was required for an offer to be accepted
- Where the amendments, if any, are posted
- Whether there is an incumbent or earlier contract; none is named
Eligibility and how to respond
- Only service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSBs) certified through SBA's VetCert can bid as the prime contractor. Not certified through VetCert yet? Apply on VetCert (SBA), or start with the SDVOSB guide. More open service-disabled veteran-owned set-asides under NAICS 238110
- How to submit, from the AI summary: By email; the notice says proposals must be received by email by the closing date and time. Questions go to Elia-Laritza.Ruiz-Manzo@va.gov. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
- Construction contracts over $2,000 pay at least the local Davis-Bacon wage rates, from the wage determination in the solicitation. Price your labor from it: How to price a government contract, and how Davis-Bacon differs from the Service Contract Act.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 27, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Office
- Network Contract Office 19 (36C259), Greenwood Village, CO
- Product/service code
- Z1DA · Maintenance of Hospitals and Infirmaries
- Business type
- Construction & renovation (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 238110)
- Versions
5 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 27, 2026 · Amendment 0001 (this version)Due Nov 13, 2026 (changed)
- Sep 28, 2026 · SolicitationDue Oct 30, 2026
- Sep 21, 2026 · Amendment 0002Date Oct 30, 2026
- Sep 14, 2026 · Amendment 0001Date Oct 30, 2026
- Sep 14, 2026 · PresolicitationDate Oct 30, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
- Open SDVOSB set-aside contracts
Terms on this notice: Solicitation, SDVOSB (service-disabled veteran-owned small business), Set-aside
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- Loading Dock Concrete RepairsOnly certified service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSBs) can bid on solicitation 36C24626Q1099_1, Loading Dock Concrete Repairs.
- B. Everett Jordan Concrete Pad Installation