Solicitation
60 MM Mortar Mount
Department of Defense · Department of the Army
AI summaryOnly small businesses can bid on this Army buy of 60 mm mortar mounts, National Stock Number (NSN) 1010-01-561-9234, part number 13017350: 118 Each in Year 1 and 118 Each as a Year 2 option. It is a two-year firm-fixed-price (FFP) requirements contract (one set price, whatever the work costs) from Army Contracting Command Detroit Arsenal. You must hold Joint Certification Program (JCP) certification to see the technical data package (TDP: the Government's drawings and specs), and the response due date is November 12, 2026, 1:00 PM Eastern. More in the summary
A newer version of this notice was posted Oct 26, 2026. See the latest version.
AI summary Beta
Summary of the version posted Oct 13, 2026. The notice was amended Oct 26, 2026. Check what else changed on SAM.gov. This summary may miss requirements: 1 of 5 attachments weren't read (13017350-EH4C0379EH-1.zip). Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
Only small businesses can bid on this Army buy of 60 mm mortar mounts, National Stock Number (NSN) 1010-01-561-9234, part number 13017350: 118 Each in Year 1 and 118 Each as a Year 2 option. It is a two-year firm-fixed-price (FFP) requirements contract (one set price, whatever the work costs) from Army Contracting Command Detroit Arsenal. You must hold Joint Certification Program (JCP) certification to see the technical data package (TDP: the Government's drawings and specs), and the response due date is November 12, 2026, 1:00 PM Eastern.
Who can bid (4)
- Small business: this is a 100% small business set-aside; the offeror must be a self-certified U.S. small business under NAICS 332994 in SAM.gov
- Joint Certification Program (JCP) certification, which includes a current DD Form 2345 (Militarily Critical Technical Data Agreement) on file, to get the export-controlled drawings
- Active SAM.gov registration for NAICS 332994 before submitting an offer
Show all 4Show fewer
- Offer the full quantity of all items (all or none)
How to submit: Email to the Contract Specialist with a copy to the Contracting Officer, subject line 'Proposal Submission W912CH-26-R-A083 (company name)'. Fax, hard copy, disks and hand-carried offers are not accepted. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (14)
- Serious: Total small business set-aside. Only small businesses can bid, and the offeror must be a self-certified small business for North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) code 332994 in SAM.gov.
- Serious: Joint Certification Program certification required to see the drawings. The drawings are export-controlled. Without JCP certification you cannot request them and cannot write a complete offer.
- Serious: Certification takes an estimated 6 to 10 weeks. The solicitation estimates this processing time after the DD Form 2345 (the certification application) is received. Firms not yet certified may not get the drawings before the response due date of November 12, 2026.
Show all 14Show fewer
- Worth checking: Drawings are a restricted download on SAM.gov. Each person who needs the drawings must make their own access request and be registered in SAM.gov. A Use and Non-Disclosure Agreement may also be needed. Check a SAM.gov registration.
- Worth checking: First article test required unless waived. A first article test (FAT) is a tested first sample, due 120 days after award, with the Government invited to witness the test. A waiver needs a worksheet and is not assured; if refused, the full FAT price is evaluated.
- Worth checking: Late delivery: unawardable in Section L, rated Marginal in Section M. Section L says a delivery schedule later than the required one (150 days for contract line item numbers, CLINs, 0002AA and 0003AA) is unawardable. Section M rates up to 45 days late as Marginal. No document says which governs; ask the contracting officer.
- Worth checking: NSN differs inside the solicitation. The notice and schedule give NSN 1010-01-561-9234, but the basis-of-award section names NSN 1015-01-567-6067. Confirm the correct item with the contracting officer before pricing.
- Worth checking: Contact names and solicitation number differ. The notice names Richard Hall as Contract Specialist, but the solicitation says to email Michael Shammami and uses W912CH-26-R-A083 in the subject line and drawing reference. Ask which applies.
- Worth checking: All-or-none offer; one award. Offers for less than the total quantity are rejected, and only one award will be made.
- Worth checking: ISO 9001:2015 quality standard applies. The contractor must meet a tailored ISO 9001:2015 standard and pass it down to subcontractors on critical items.
- Minor: Offer must stay open at least 120 days. Offers allowing a shorter acceptance period, or none, may be rejected.
- Minor: Year 2 is an option. The Government may add all or part of the Year 2 quantity of 118 Each; it is not guaranteed.
- Minor: Drawing distribution code differs. The notice says distribution code D; the solicitation says Distribution Statement F. Both restrict access to the drawings.
- Minor: NAICS code on Year 1 line differs. CLIN 0002 shows NAICS 333310 while the solicitation and SAM.gov use 332994. The set-aside size standard follows 332994.
Read from the notice and 4 attachments. 1 of 5 not read. Show which files.
- Solicitation - W912CH27RA026.pdf (read)
- TACOM OPSEC Plan (1).pdf (read)
- Attach A -- CUI 2026.pdf (read)
- Exhibit 001- CDRLS EH4C0379EH.docx (read)
- 13017350-EH4C0379EH-1.zip: not read (access is restricted): request it on SAM.gov
Full summary
What they want
- Build and deliver 60 mm mortar mounts (NSN 1010-01-561-9234) to the Government's drawings: 118 Each in Year 1 (CLIN 0002), due 150 days after award
- Year 2 option: another 118 Each (CLIN 0003), due 150 days after the option is exercised
- First article test (FAT: testing of the first sample before production): 1 Lot (CLIN 0001), due 120 days after award, unless the Government grants a waiver
- Inspect with MIL-STD 1916 sampling (verification level IV for major, II for minor characteristics) at your plant, using your own calibrated acceptance inspection equipment
- Meet the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) 9001:2015 quality standard (tailored); pack to military preservation, packing level B, special packaging instruction 13015600 revision B; heat-treat wooden packaging
- Hold a start of work meeting within 30 calendar days of award and send minutes within 7 calendar days
- Name an operations security (OPSEC) coordinator trained to Level I; new staff finish OPSEC training within 30 calendar days of reporting for duty
- Protect controlled unclassified information (CUI: unclassified but restricted data) and destroy the drawings when finished
- Contract type
- Firm-fixed-price (FFP) requirements contract with delivery orders; one first article test line, a Year 1 production line and a Year 2 option line
- Period of performance
- Two one-year ordering periods starting at contract award, with Year 2 production as an option line; Year 1 delivery within 150 days of award, Year 2 within 150 days after option exercise, first article test report within 120 days of award
- Place of performance
- USA (as SAM.gov gives it); inspection and acceptance at the contractor's plant (origin), delivery free on board (FOB) destination with the contractor paying transportation; delivery address not stated in the text read
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- How they'll choose
- Best value tradeoff with two factors; delivery schedule is significantly more important than price, and price may be controlling when proposals are otherwise about equal
- Offers due
- November 12, 2026, 1:00 PM Eastern (from the version posted Oct 13, 2026; amended since)
- How to submit
- Email to the Contract Specialist with a copy to the Contracting Officer, subject line 'Proposal Submission W912CH-26-R-A083 (company name)'. Fax, hard copy, disks and hand-carried offers are not accepted
- Page limits
- Optional executive summary or transmittal letter: 5 pages at most. No page limit for the offer is stated in the text read
What they'll judge offers on
- Delivery Schedule: rated by line (CLIN 0002AA and 0003AA, about equal weight), from Outstanding (30 or more days sooner than the solicited schedule) through Acceptable (equal) to Unacceptable (more than 45 days later)
- Price: total evaluated price is each CLIN's unit price times its estimated quantity, added together; also checked for price reasonableness and unbalanced pricing. If a first article waiver is granted, the FAT line price is deducted
What to include when you submit
- Email the Contract Specialist (Michael.S.Shammami.Civ@Army.Mil) and copy the Contracting Officer (Elizabeth.L.LevineWelhouse.Civ@Army.Mil); the notice names a different Contract Specialist (see red flags)
- Each email is limited to 10 megabytes; split a large offer into numbered messages ('Message 1 of 3') with the same subject line
- Use Microsoft Office or PDF files; file names no longer than 50 characters, with no periods, spaces or special characters; no live links
- Send a scanned signed copy of the Standard Form 33 cover page, all completed fill-ins for Sections A through K, and any signed amendments
- Fill in Section B prices for every line (first article test, Year 1 and Year 2 production); offers for less than the full quantity are rejected
- Give a delivery date in days after award for CLIN 0002AA and 0003AA that is equal to or sooner than 150 days; the first article test line is fixed at 120 days
- State an offer acceptance period of at least 120 calendar days
- Include a statement of agreement with all terms, and one list of any assumptions with a statement that none take exception to the solicitation
- To ask for a first article waiver, submit the First Article Waiver Worksheet (in Section J) with supporting documents, on company letterhead and signed
- If Government property will be used, describe your property management system
- Be registered and valid in SAM.gov before award
After award, you must have
- Name an operations security (OPSEC) coordinator trained to Level I; new staff complete OPSEC training within 30 calendar days of reporting for duty From Solicitation - W912CH27RA026.pdf:
The contractor shall identify an individual who will be an OPSEC Coordinator.
Not in the notice text
- The solicitation PDF was read only in part: about 75,000 characters in the middle (clauses and the start of Section L) were left out. The restricted drawings file 13017350-EH4C0379EH-1.zip is attached on SAM.gov but not read.
- The delivery address and the contractor's inspection point are not stated in the text read.
- No deadline for questions is stated in the text read; send questions in writing to the Contract Specialist.
- The contract value or Government estimate is not stated.
- The type of contract in the provision at 52.216-1 is left as 'TBD' even though the Schedule calls it a requirements contract.
Eligibility and how to respond
- Set aside for small businesses: only a business that counts as small under this notice's NAICS code can bid as the prime contractor. The notice also names requirements: More open small business set-asides under NAICS 332994
- The notice mentions export-controlled data. You may need a Joint Certification Program (DD Form 2345) approval to see the drawings.
- How to submit, from the AI summary: Email to the Contract Specialist with a copy to the Contracting Officer, subject line 'Proposal Submission W912CH-26-R-A083 (company name)'. Fax, hard copy, disks and hand-carried offers are not accepted. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 13, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Office
- W6QK ACC- DTA, Warren, MI
- Product/service code
- 1010 · Guns, Over 30MM Up to 75MM
- Business type
- Weapons & ammunition (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 332994)
- Versions
3 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 26, 2026 · Amendment 0002Due Nov 12, 2026
- Oct 26, 2026 · Amendment 0001Due Nov 12, 2026
- Oct 13, 2026 · Solicitation (this version)Due Nov 12, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
- Set-aside contracts explained
Terms on this notice: Solicitation, Set-aside
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- Cover, Gun Mount
- Mount, Resilient, Weapon
- Mount, Machine Gun
- LidassemblyDefense Logistics Agency (DLA Weapons Support) wants quotes on NSN (National Stock Number) 1095015894635, LIDASSEMBLY: Line 0001, QTY 1, unit of issue EA (each), delivery 0176…
- W912CH-27-R-A027 for BUTTSTOCK ASSEMBLY; NSN: 1005-01-576-8901The Army (W6QK ACC- DTA) wants to buy the Buttstock Assembly, national stock number (NSN: the supply-system item code) 1005-01-576-8901, part number 13026046, from one small…