Solicitation
60 MM Mortar Mount
Department of Defense · Department of the Army
AI summaryThe U.S. Army Contracting Command Detroit Arsenal wants small businesses to bid on a two-year requirement contract for the 60 MM Mortar Mount, National Stock Number (NSN) 1010-01-561-9234, part number 13017350. Only small businesses can bid, and the response due date is November 12, 2026, 1:00 PM Eastern. The drawings (technical data package, TDP) are export controlled, so a bidder needs Joint Certification Program (JCP) approval first, which takes an estimated six to ten weeks. More in the summary
A newer version of this notice was posted Oct 26, 2026. See the latest version.
AI summary Beta
Summary of another version of this notice: check what changed on SAM.gov. This summary may miss requirements: 2 of 7 attachments weren't read (QA.xlsx, 13017350-EH4C0379EH-1.zip). Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
The U.S. Army Contracting Command Detroit Arsenal wants small businesses to bid on a two-year requirement contract for the 60 MM Mortar Mount, National Stock Number (NSN) 1010-01-561-9234, part number 13017350. Only small businesses can bid, and the response due date is November 12, 2026, 1:00 PM Eastern. The drawings (technical data package, TDP) are export controlled, so a bidder needs Joint Certification Program (JCP) approval first, which takes an estimated six to ten weeks.
Who can bid (4)
- Small business: the solicitation is a 100% small business set-aside, and the bidder must be a self-certified small business for NAICS 332994 in SAM.gov
- Joint Certification Program (JCP) certification (current DD Form 2345) to get access to the export-controlled technical data package; each person who needs the data must also request access in SAM.gov
- Be registered in SAM for NAICS code 332994 before submitting an offer
Show all 4Show fewer
- Offer the full quantity of every item; partial offers are rejected
How to submit: Email one signed copy of the offer. The notice names Contract Specialist Richard Hall (Richard.G.Hall64.civ@army.mil); the solicitation names a different contract specialist and subject line, so confirm which governs.. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (11)
From the version posted Oct 26, 2026.
- Serious: SAM.gov and the solicitation disagree on the set-aside. SAM.gov lists a set-aside for small businesses, but the solicitation the AI read says a set-aside for 8(a) firms. Ask the contracting officer which applies before you bid.
- Serious: Small business set-aside. Only small businesses can bid, and the offer is rejected if the bidder is not a self-certified small business for NAICS 332994 in SAM.
- Serious: Export-controlled drawings need JCP certification. A bidder needs the technical data package to price and build the part, and JCP approval is estimated at six to ten weeks, so a firm without it may not get access before the response due date.
Show all 11Show fewer
- Serious: Where to send the offer is unclear. The notice names Richard Hall as the email contact, but the solicitation names a different contract specialist and a subject line citing W912CH-26-R-A083; ask the contracting office which governs.
- Serious: All-or-none offer, one award. An offer that leaves out any item or quantity is non-responsive, and only one firm will win.
- Worth checking: Delivery schedule outweighs price. Offers are rated on how many days sooner than the solicited schedule they deliver, and that factor counts significantly more than price; the solicited days are in Section F, which was not read.
- Worth checking: First article test required. The first units must pass a government-accepted test before production; a waiver can be requested but is not assured, and a waiver brings an accelerated delivery schedule.
- Worth checking: Two different part numbers for the mount. The basis of award names NSN 1015-01-567-6067, while the rest of the solicitation and the notice use NSN 1010-01-561-9234; ask the contracting officer which is correct.
- Worth checking: Government may ask for data within 7 days. The Government can request financial, technical or production information or visit the plant, and a bidder that does not answer within 7 days may be found not responsible.
- Minor: Amendment 0001 changes the technical data restriction. Amendment 0001 changes the technical data package's distribution statement from F to D and removes the 8(a) program clauses; the set-aside stays small business.
- Minor: Security duties after award. The winner must name an OPSEC coordinator, follow controlled-information handling rules and destroy the technical data when done.
Read from the notice and 5 attachments. 2 of 7 not read. Show which files.
- Solicitation Amendment W912CH27RA0260001 SF 30.pdf (read)
- Solicitation - W912CH27RA026.pdf (read)
- TACOM OPSEC Plan (1).pdf (read)
- Attach A -- CUI 2026.pdf (read)
- Exhibit 001- CDRLS EH4C0379EH.docx (read)
- QA.xlsx: not read (the AI doesn't read this file type yet): open it on SAM.gov
- 13017350-EH4C0379EH-1.zip: not read (access is restricted): request it on SAM.gov
Full summary
What they want
- Build and deliver the 60 MM Mortar Mount, NSN 1010-01-561-9234, part number 13017350, to the Government's technical data package
- Year 1 production: 118 Each (CLIN 0002); Year 2 production: 118 Each (CLIN 0003, set up as an option quantity)
- First article test (CLIN 0001, 1 Lot): a test report on the first units, which the Government must accept; a waiver can be requested
- Price the work under a firm-fixed-price (FFP: one set price, whatever the work costs) requirement contract with delivery orders over two one-year ordering periods
- Offer a delivery schedule in days after delivery order award; sooner deliveries are rated higher
- Pack, mark and ship to military preservation and packing standards (Level B packing, special packaging instruction 13015600)
- Protect the controlled technical data: a named operations security (OPSEC) coordinator, controlled unclassified information (CUI) handling, and destruction of the data when the work ends
- Hold a start of work meeting within 30 calendar days after award and send minutes within 7 calendar days after the meeting
- Contract type
- Firm-fixed-price requirement contract with delivery orders
- Period of performance
- Two one-year ordering periods starting at contract award; Year 1 and Year 2 production quantities are 118 Each each
- Place of performance
- USA (as listed in the SAM.gov fields); delivery destination is not stated in the text read
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- How they'll choose
- Best value tradeoff between delivery schedule and price; delivery schedule is significantly more important than price. Price may control if offers are about equal on delivery.
- Offers due
- November 12, 2026, 1:00 PM Eastern
- How to submit
- Email one signed copy of the offer. The notice names Contract Specialist Richard Hall (Richard.G.Hall64.civ@army.mil); the solicitation names a different contract specialist and subject line, so confirm which governs.
What they'll judge offers on
- Delivery Schedule: rated per CLIN (0002AA and 0003AA, weighted about equally) as Outstanding, Good, Acceptable, Marginal or Unacceptable against the solicited schedule in Section F
- Price: total evaluated price (unit price times estimated quantity for each CLIN), plus price reasonableness and an unbalanced pricing check
What to include when you submit
- Send the offer by email to the Contract Specialist named in the notice; questions go to the same person in writing
- Bid the total quantity of every item; an offer for less than all quantities is non-responsive and only one award will be made
- Sign the offer form (Standard Form 33) and acknowledge Amendment 0001; the offer acceptance period is 60 calendar days unless the bidder inserts a different period
- Price the first article test (CLIN 0001), Year 1 (CLIN 0002) and Year 2 (CLIN 0003) lines, and state the delivery schedule in days after delivery order award
- To seek a first article test waiver, send the waiver worksheet with supporting documents on company letterhead, signed by an agent of the company, as part of the offer, and show the test price separately in CLIN 0001
- Complete and return the representations and certifications and all fill-in clauses, and state any objection to releasing unit prices in writing before the response due date
- Offers must be in English and in U.S. dollars
- Be a self-certified U.S. small business for NAICS 332994 in SAM before offering
After award, you must have
- Name an OPSEC coordinator who has Level I operations security training; new employees finish Level I training within 30 calendar days of reporting for duty From Solicitation - W912CH27RA026.pdf:
The contractor shall identify an individual who will be an OPSEC Coordinator.
Not in the notice text
- Much of the solicitation is attached but only partly read: the middle of the solicitation (instructions in Section L, inspection in Section E, delivery terms in Section F, clauses) and the spreadsheet QA.xlsx are attached on SAM.gov but not read. The technical data package zip (13017350-EH4C0379EH-1.zip) is controlled and needs access from SAM.gov.
- The solicited delivery schedule (days after order award) and the delivery destination are in Section F, which was not read.
- Whether Amendment 0001 changes the response due date; the amendment form's checkboxes couldn't be read, so check the amendment on SAM.gov.
- The part's drawings, specifications and quality requirements are in the controlled technical data package.
- The Government's estimate or budget for this requirement is not given.
Eligibility and how to respond
- Set aside for small businesses: only a business that counts as small under this notice's NAICS code can bid as the prime contractor. The notice also names requirements: More open small business set-asides under NAICS 332994
- The notice mentions export-controlled data. You may need a Joint Certification Program (DD Form 2345) approval to see the drawings.
- How to submit, from the AI summary: Email one signed copy of the offer. The notice names Contract Specialist Richard Hall (Richard.G.Hall64.civ@army.mil); the solicitation names a different contract specialist and subject line, so confirm which governs. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 26, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Office
- W6QK ACC- DTA, Warren, MI
- Product/service code
- 1010 · Guns, Over 30MM Up to 75MM
- Business type
- Weapons & ammunition (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 332994)
- Versions
3 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 26, 2026 · Amendment 0002Due Nov 12, 2026
- Oct 26, 2026 · Amendment 0001 (this version)Due Nov 12, 2026
- Oct 13, 2026 · SolicitationDue Nov 12, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
- Set-aside contracts explained
Terms on this notice: Solicitation, Set-aside
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- Cover, Gun Mount
- Mount, Resilient, Weapon
- Mount, Machine Gun
- LidassemblyDefense Logistics Agency (DLA Weapons Support) wants quotes on NSN (National Stock Number) 1095015894635, LIDASSEMBLY: Line 0001, QTY 1, unit of issue EA (each), delivery 0176…
- W912CH-27-R-A027 for BUTTSTOCK ASSEMBLY; NSN: 1005-01-576-8901The Army (W6QK ACC- DTA) wants to buy the Buttstock Assembly, national stock number (NSN: the supply-system item code) 1005-01-576-8901, part number 13026046, from one small…