Combined Synopsis/Solicitation
T-AH Class HOT START CONTROL BOXES
Department of Defense · Department of the Navy
AI summaryThe Navy (MSCHQ Norfolk) plans to buy 8 Each of T-AH Class Hot Start Control Boxes, part number PRA129069, and may issue the purchase order to Hotstart Sales as the sole source. Other firms may send quotes by the response due date of November 5, 2026, 10:00 AM Eastern, but the Government may award to Hotstart Sales after a technically acceptable quote at a fair and reasonable price. Delivery to Norfolk, Virginia is on or before December 1, 2026, at a firm-fixed-price (FFP: one set price, whatever the work ends up costing). More in the summary
AI summary Beta
The Navy (MSCHQ Norfolk) plans to buy 8 Each of T-AH Class Hot Start Control Boxes, part number PRA129069, and may issue the purchase order to Hotstart Sales as the sole source. Other firms may send quotes by the response due date of November 5, 2026, 10:00 AM Eastern, but the Government may award to Hotstart Sales after a technically acceptable quote at a fair and reasonable price. Delivery to Norfolk, Virginia is on or before December 1, 2026, at a firm-fixed-price (FFP: one set price, whatever the work ends up costing).
Who can bid
- Active System for Award Management (SAM) registration; the solicitation includes the SAM registration provision
How to submit: Email quotes to the contracting officer and contract specialist named in block 9 of the Standard Form 1449 (SF 1449), the solicitation form; Adobe or Microsoft Office format only. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (6)
From the version posted Oct 22, 2026.
- Serious: Intended sole source: Hotstart Sales. The Government may issue the order to Hotstart Sales as the sole source. Other firms may send a quote by November 5, 2026, 10:00 AM Eastern, but the justification says Hotstart is the only vendor that can make these items.
- Worth checking: Ship critical safety item. The Hot Start Control Boxes are designated ship critical safety items and get heightened quality assurance surveillance, which adds inspection and paperwork burden for a new supplier.
- Worth checking: Delivery on or before December 1, 2026. The quote must state that the required delivery date and part numbers can be met, and must give the lead time for delivery.
Show all 6Show fewer
- Worth checking: Duty free entry into the US required. The material needs duty free entry. The contractor must start the request in PIEE and the order will not be changed to repay customs fees if it does not.
- Worth checking: Vendor standard terms can get a quote rejected. A quote that includes the vendor's standard commercial terms may be treated as a material defect and rejected.
- Minor: Unique item identification (IUID) marking required. The line item requires DoD unique identification marks, and the unit price must include IUID if it applies.
Read from the notice and 2 attachments. Show which files.
- Solicitation - N3220527Q7015.pdf (read)
- REDACTED Use of Other than Full and Open for HOT START.pdf (read)
Full summary
What they want
- Supply T-AH Class Hot Start Control Boxes, vendor part number PRA129069, QTY 8 Each (CLIN 0001)
- Deliver on or before December 1, 2026 to the MSC Warehouse, 1968 Gilbert Street, Naval Base, Norfolk, VA
- Apply DoD unique item identification (IUID) marks to the item, as DFARS 252.211-7003 requires for this line
- Pack and mark per the packaging clause: wood packaging must meet ISPM 15, with a 48-hour advance delivery notice to the receiving team
- Request duty free entry through the Procurement Integrated Enterprise Environment (PIEE) Transportation module because the material needs duty free entry into the US
- Invoice through Wide Area WorkFlow (WAWF), the Defense Department's online invoicing system
- Accept the purchase order in writing to form a binding contract
- Contract type
- Firm-fixed-price (FFP) purchase order; combined synopsis/solicitation for commercial products
- Period of performance
- One delivery of 8 Each on or before December 1, 2026
- Place of performance
- Norfolk, VA, USA
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- How they'll choose
- Technically acceptable quote at a fair and reasonable price; the Government may issue the order to Hotstart Sales as the sole source vendor
- Offers due
- November 5, 2026, 10:00 AM Eastern
- How to submit
- Email quotes to the contracting officer and contract specialist named in block 9 of the Standard Form 1449 (SF 1449), the solicitation form; Adobe or Microsoft Office format only
What they'll judge offers on
- Technical: the quoted parts must meet the solicitation requirements, including required parts, delivery date and terms; the quote must state that all aspects, including delivery date and part numbers, can be met
- Price: the Government will evaluate quoted pricing for reasonableness
What to include when you submit
- Show the requested supplies, unit price (including packing, shipping and IUID if applicable), extended price and total firm fixed price
- Give any discount terms
- Describe each item, including part number, so the Government can check the quoted part matches the requirement
- Give the lead time for delivery and confirm the delivery method and destination
- Identify the country of product origin
- Complete and submit the representations and certifications provisions of the solicitation
- Do not include the company's standard commercial terms and conditions
- Quotes must be in Adobe or Microsoft Office format; no other submission method is accepted
After award, you must have
- Register in Wide Area WorkFlow (WAWF) to send invoices and receiving reports From Solicitation - N3220527Q7015.pdf:
Be registered to use WAWF at https://wawf.eb.mil/ following the step-by-step procedures for self-registration…
Current contractor
Hotstart Sales is named as the sole source vendor. The justification says Hotstart owns the proprietary data and is the sole vendor who can manufacture these items.
Not in the notice text
- The names and email addresses of the contracting officer and contract specialist are in block 9 of the SF 1449, which couldn't be read; check the form on SAM.gov
- The deadline for questions is not stated
- The justification memo is redacted: the form's checkboxes and several fields couldn't be read; check the memo on SAM.gov
Eligibility and how to respond
- No set-aside: any business, large or small, can bid unless the notice says otherwise.
- How to submit, from the AI summary: Email quotes to the contracting officer and contract specialist named in block 9 of the Standard Form 1449 (SF 1449), the solicitation form; Adobe or Microsoft Office format only. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 22, 2026
- Notice type
- Combined Synopsis/Solicitation
- Office
- MSCHQ Norfolk, VA
- Product/service code
- 2990 · Miscellaneous Engine Accessories, Nonaircraft
- Business type
- Manufactured parts & equipment (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 333414)
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
Terms on this notice: Solicitation
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- Heater, Water, Electric
- Actuator, GovernorThe U.S. Coast Guard Surface Forces Logistics Center (Baltimore, MD) wants quotes to inspect, report on and, if approved, overhaul one Woodward actuator/governor (part 8242-172)…
- 26-SIMACQ-D20-0005 D-Dept Control System Parts/Supplies BPASolicitation N6339426Q4060 (26-SIMACQ-D20-0005): the Naval Surface Warfare Center Port Hueneme, Department of the Navy, wants several small businesses on a five-year blanket…