Presolicitation
5995-01-394-8641; Ezn; Ticonderoga Class CG (47)
Department of Defense · Defense Logistics Agency
AI summaryOnly small businesses can bid. The Defense Logistics Agency (DLA) Aviation plans a five-year indefinite quantity contract for a station-to-station phone line, NSN 5995-01-394-8641 (NSN is a national stock number, the government's item ID), for Ticonderoga class cruisers. Estimated annual demand is 140 EA, and the solicitation release is tentatively 6 November 2026. More in the summary
Advance notice of a coming solicitation, not a bid yet. If it asks for capability statements, sending one is free and puts you on Defense Logistics Agency's list before the solicitation is posted. See the contact
AI summary Beta
Some details are in the notice's attachments, which this summary didn't read. Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
Only small businesses can bid. The Defense Logistics Agency (DLA) Aviation plans a five-year indefinite quantity contract for a station-to-station phone line, NSN 5995-01-394-8641 (NSN is a national stock number, the government's item ID), for Ticonderoga class cruisers. Estimated annual demand is 140 EA, and the solicitation release is tentatively 6 November 2026.
Who can bid
- Small business concern (total small business set-aside under NAICS 334419)
- To get the export-controlled technical data: an approved U.S./Canada Joint Certification Program (JCP) certification, the Introduction to Proper Handling of DOD Export-Controlled Technical Data training, the DLA Export-Controlled Technical Data Questionnaire, and approval by the DLA controlling authority
How to submit: Proposals go to the Bid Custodian; electronic DIBBS proposals are not accepted. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (6)
From the version posted Oct 22, 2026.
- Serious: Small business set-aside. Only small business concerns can bid. Larger firms will not be considered.
- Serious: Export-controlled technical data requires approval first. DLA limits the data to contractors with a Joint Certification Program certification, completed training and a questionnaire, and DLA approval. Getting this done takes time before you can price.
- Worth checking: Proposals are not accepted through DIBBS. Electronic submissions through DIBBS are unacceptable; proposals go to the Bid Custodian. The notice gives no address, so check the solicitation.
Show all 6Show fewer
- Worth checking: Reverse auction may be held. Bidders may compete on price live through the Procurex system. Review its help tutorials before the auction.
- Minor: Five-year commitment with a guaranteed minimum not yet stated. The contract runs five years with no option, and the guaranteed minimum order is only cited in the solicitation.
- Minor: Release date given as tentative. The solicitation release is tentatively 6 November 2026. SAM.gov's response date for a presolicitation is when the solicitation is expected.
Read from the notice text only.
Full summary
What they want
- NSN 5995-01-394-8641, STA-STA phone line (Ticonderoga class CG 47), estimated annual demand 140 EA
- Delivery required in 216 days, to any facility in the Continental United States as cited on each delivery
- Five-year contract (5 base years, no option); the guaranteed minimum will be cited in the solicitation
- Terms: FOB Origin (the government takes ownership when it leaves your site), with inspection and acceptance at destination
- Handle export-controlled technical data under the rules DLA sets
- Contract type
- Indefinite quantity contract (IQC: the government orders as needed, up to set limits)
- Period of performance
- 5-year base with no option, for a total of five years
- Place of performance
- Richmond, VA, USA (as SAM.gov states it); stock delivery goes to any facility in the Continental United States as cited on each delivery
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- How they'll choose
- Pricing is evaluated on the estimated annual demand; a reverse auction (bidders see and lower their prices live) may be held
- Offers due
- November 6, 2026, 3:00 PM Eastern
- How to submit
- Proposals go to the Bid Custodian; electronic DIBBS proposals are not accepted
What they'll judge offers on
- Price (evaluated on the Estimated Annual Demand of 140 EA)
What to include when you submit
- Send proposals to the Bid Custodian; do not submit them through DIBBS
- Get the solicitation from the DLA Internet Bid Board System (DIBBS) by selecting Request for Proposal (RFP) under Solicitations
Not in the notice text
- The solicitation (an RFP) is on DLA Internet Bid Board System (DIBBS) and was not read; the offer due date, full terms and clauses are there.
- The Bid Custodian's address for proposals is not given.
- The guaranteed minimum quantity is not stated.
- Contract value is not stated.
Eligibility and how to respond
- Set aside for small businesses: only a business that counts as small under this notice's NAICS code can bid as the prime contractor. The notice also names requirements: More open small business set-asides under NAICS 334419
- The notice mentions export-controlled data. You may need a Joint Certification Program (DD Form 2345) approval to see the drawings.
- How to submit, from the AI summary: Proposals go to the Bid Custodian; electronic DIBBS proposals are not accepted. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 22, 2026
- Notice type
- Presolicitation
- Office
- DLA Aviation, Richmond, VA
- Product/service code
- 5995 · Cable, Cord, and Wire Assemblies: Communication Equipment
- Business type
- Electronic parts & equipment (supplies) (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 334419)
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
- Set-aside contracts explained
- Limitations on subcontracting
Terms on this notice: Solicitation, Set-aside
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- NSN 5995-01-502-8002 - Cable Assembly, Radio Frequency
- Switch Assembly, ElevatDLA Weapons Support is asking for quotes on 65 EA of NSN 1005005184523, a SWITCH ASSEMBLY,ELEVAT, under a total small business set-aside.
- Cable Assembly, PrintedThe Defense Logistics Agency's DLA Aviation wants quotes for printed cable assemblies, National Stock Number (NSN) 5995015382048.
- 1553 Data Bus Test Cable Set, PN: 3239AS1510-1, NSN: 4920-01-505-5149; FMS Czech & NigeriaThe Naval Air Warfare Center Aircraft Division (NAWCAD) in Lakehurst, New Jersey intends to buy 1553 Data Bus Test Cable Sets, QTY 2, unit not stated, part number (PN)…
- Nom: Cable Assembly, Power WSDC FGZ End Item: Missile, Minuteman III, LGM-30 PR: 7014489918, NSN: 6150-001090979: Iaw P/N: 21-55000-4174 RFP: SPE4A527R0010Defense Logistics Agency (DLA) Aviation plans to buy a power cable assembly for the Minuteman III missile, National Stock Number (NSN) 6150-001090979, part number 21-55000-4174.